Opinion

Maing Rain: Utilize the 1-page strategy to eliminate dust bunnies

July 26, 2017
Dona Stohler
Here are some tips on how to create a simple plan that will not collect dust and can have a significant impact on your marketing and business development success.
More

Vaidik/Diaz-Bonilla: Let's talk about motion hearings

July 26, 2017
Most attorneys come to a hearing ready to lecture at the judge with a set agenda while judges crave a hearing full of clarifying conversation with the advocate clearing up any confusion.
More

Technology Untangled: Video editing technology can put words in your mouth

July 26, 2017
Stephen Bour
Sometimes in my technical work I am asked to analyze a video to see if it has been edited or altered. The argument typically goes along the lines that something has been added to a recording to make things appear worse than they really were, that words were added and essentially put in a person’s mouth.
More

Hammerle on ... 'War for the Planet of the Apes,' 'The Big Sick'

July 26, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Big Sick" is the best movie of 2017 so far.
More

Taft: Data breach tips and recovery plans for health care

July 12, 2017
Here are some brief tips about preventing and dealing with cyberattacks from Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness & Response materials for those entities that operate in the health care field.
More

Kiefer: Health care fraud enforcement still top priority under Trump

July 12, 2017
Despite election rhetoric that led many to believe that Donald Trump, if elected, would reduce enforcement of criminal laws against U.S. corporations and business executives, President Trump has instead ratcheted up the enforcement of laws involving health care fraud.
More

Van der Cruysse: What do Indiana law schools do for students in need?

July 12, 2017
The intent of law schools is to prepare students to become lawyers who know when and where to seek help when they deal with professional and personal stressors, mental health issues, or substance abuse issues. JLAP has partnered with the Indiana law schools to help fulfill these needs.
More

Living Fit: Lawyers find ways to stay active, make healthy choices

July 12, 2017
Sharon Buechler
In the past year, I returned to the practice of law and living the billable life. Having written this column about the importance of health and wellness for lawyers for the past seven years, I realized that staying in shape in the legal profession was easier said than done.
More

DTCI: Bravo! Brava! Bravi! Ballet company to grace Indianapolis

July 12, 2017
From DTCI
Indianapolis will soon join New York, San Francisco, Chicago, Boston, Nashville, Cincinnati, Milwaukee and other great cities as a home to a professional ballet company.
More

BGBC: Prohibited transactions can result in deemed IRA distributions

July 12, 2017
As self-directed Individual Retirement Accounts become more popular, their owners and beneficiaries need to be aware of the rules regarding prohibited transactions to avoid pitfalls.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Band Aid,' 'Baby Driver'

July 12, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle encourages readers to hunt down "Band Aid" at home when they get a chance.
More

Scopelitis: HB 1002 balances higher trucking fees, infrastructure help

June 28, 2017
The trucking industry, a vital part of the state’s economy, had a special interest in House Bill 1002, both because the state looked to the industry to bear a significant share of the funding and because the industry relies on well maintained, free-flowing roads.
More

Mills: Updates to Indiana’s Medical Malpractice Act are here

June 28, 2017
In 2016, the Indiana Legislature made significant changes to Indiana’s Medical Malpractice Act to take effect on July 1, 2017, giving insurance companies and health care providers time to adapt and implement the changes.
More

Start Page: Wrapping your head(ers) around footers

June 28, 2017
Seth Wilson
Hopefully this article will help you wrap your head around the header and footer tools in Microsoft Word.
More

Mental Fitness: Sharing my diagnosis gives other attorneys courage to do same

June 28, 2017
Reid Murtaugh
The fact that publicly sharing a mental health diagnosis is still considered to be such a big deal is unfortunate. I hope people in our profession will realize that the idea that you must hide a mental health diagnosis to have a successful law career is absurd.
More

Bell: 3 things to know when receiving inadvertent disclosures

June 28, 2017
James Bell
When you receive an inadvertent disclosure, you need to act.
More

BGD: ‘Disclosure-only’ bank merger lawsuits and Indiana’s solution

June 28, 2017
An increase in mergers and acquisitions, however, could mean an increase in a recent trend in Indiana and the rest of the country — the “disclosure-only lawsuit.”
More

Hammerle on... 'It Comes at Night,' 'Megan Leavey'

June 28, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "It Comes at Night" grabs you by the throat.
More

Eye on the Profession: Attorneys, change is here but you will eventually like it

June 14, 2017
John Trimble
I was at a bar association meeting within the last week that had a cross-section of lawyers of all ages and practice areas. There was one overriding theme of the conversations among the lawyers in attendance: They were hating change.
More

Lindman: Determining where to incorporate after TC Heartland

June 14, 2017
Recently, the Supreme Court of the United States made the problem of deciding where to incorporate a little more complicated. Sure, your client could still choose Delaware for its well-developed business laws. But how does Delaware stack up in patent litigation?
More

Hammerle on... 'Wonder Woman,' 'Churchill'

June 14, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Wonder Woman" is a special film that should not be missed.
More

Technology Untangled: Fujitsu document scanner is ideal small law office tool

June 14, 2017
Stephen Bour
I searched Amazon for Fujitsu scanners and was pleased to see that the ScanSnap iX500 is the Amazon Number One Best Seller in computer scanners.
More

Ira: The future of cyber liability in Indiana

June 14, 2017
There is no shortage of headlines reporting on major data security breaches across the United States. It is no surprise that the wheels of justice have turned slowly in defining the scope and extent of liability for data security breaches.
More

Boldt: Estate planning essentials for newlyweds and new parents

May 31, 2017
Amid all of the anticipation and excitement surrounding new unions and new babies, estate planning often falls by the wayside. Nevertheless, newlyweds and new parents are wise to make their estate planning goals a priority.
More

Retzner: Estate planning second step is more important than first

May 31, 2017
Most clients, and indeed more than a few attorneys, believe that once step one is completed, so is the client’s estate planning. The file is closed and, maybe a reminder to check back with the client in a few years for any updates. Maybe there is correspondence discussing “step two,” but in too many cases nothing is done. Step two, however, is by far the most important part of the estate planning process.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. All of these comments you see on the internet about Dr matamah are not just comments, they are truthful words of experience written by those who have been there and found help in reuniting with the ones they hold dear to their heart and other marital and financial problems just like i did. am Svein Erik Bjerke from Gardermoen, Norway I can tell you this because I also asked him for help to cast a spell to fix my relationship with the only woman I have ever loved after been married four time in the last four years cos i didn't believe in love but in the power of being rich. When it came to meet my wife it was a different case because I fell for her in every way. At the time i met her it was only a while before the relationship became serious cos I bet she love me also. We moved in together and our relationship blossomed. we got married but couldn't have a baby and then I discovered my wife was barren. I had to try some spell casters but to no avail until I contacted Dr matamah. HE restored my wife's womb and just like that she got pregnant, she has given birth now and our baby is growing very healthy. I later casted a money spell through him which he did and today we are rich and doing very fine. Thank God for our lives and also to Dr matamah who God has used to blessed us. I know that not everybody will believe this moreover its just something on the internet but my heart knows every of this word that formed this entire comment is true. Am Leaving Dr matamah's contact for those who believe this and need help as well. his contact is: guruvoodoospellcast@yahoo.com

  2. Or does the study merely wish they fade away? “It just hasn’t risen substantially in decades,” Joan Williams, director of the Center for WorkLife Law at the University of California Hastings College of the Law told Law360. “What we should be looking for is progress, and that’s not what we’re seeing.” PROGRESS = less white males in leadership. Thus the heading and honest questions here ....

  3. One need not wonder why we are importing sex slaves into North America. Perhaps these hapless victims of human trafficking were being imported for a book of play with the Royal Order of Jesters? https://medium.com/@HeapingHelping/who-are-the-royal-order-of-jesters-55ffe6f6acea Indianapolis hosts these major pervs in a big way .... https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Royal-Order-of-Jesters-National-Office/163360597025389 I wonder what affect they exert on Hoosier politics? And its judiciary? A very interesting program on their history and preferences here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VtgBdUtw26c

  4. Joseph Buser, Montgomery County Chief Prosecutor, has been involved in both representing the State of Indiana as Prosecutor while filing as Representing Attorney on behalf of himself and the State of Indiana in Civil Proceedings for seized cash and merchandise using a Verified Complaint For Forfeiture of Motor Vehicle, Us Currency And Reimbursement Of Costs, as is evident in Montgomery County Circuit Court Case Number 54C01-1401-MI-000018, CCS below, seen before Judge Harry Siamas, and filed on 01/13/2014. Sheriff Mark Castille is also named. All three defendants named by summons have prior convictions under Mr. Buser, which as the Indiana Supreme Court, in the opinion of The Matter of Mark R. McKinney, No. 18S00-0905-DI-220, stated that McKinney created a conflict of interest by simultaneously prosecuting drug offender cases while pocketing assets seized from defendants in those cases. All moneys that come from forfeitures MUST go to the COMMON SCHOOL FUND.

  5. I was incarcerated at that time for driving while suspended I have no felonies...i was placed on P block I remember several girls and myself asking about voting that day..and wasn't given a answer or means of voting..we were told after the election who won that was it.

ADVERTISEMENT