Opinion

Reed: ‘Gray divorce revolution’ alters traditional estate planning

July 16, 2014
Estate planning for “gray divorcees” presents unique challenges for their legal and financial planning professionals.
More

Andrews: Can you protect the stepparent bond after a divorce?

July 16, 2014
A subsequent divorce between a biological parent and stepparent can have a devastating impact on the stepparent/stepchild relationship that often rivals that of a biological parent and child. This relationship is so significant that nine of our states recognize stepparents as having a right to seek visitation of a child.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Officiating same-sex marriages leaves judge optimistic

July 16, 2014
David Dreyer
On June 25, 2014, and the next day, I officiated over 50 same-sex marriages. For reasons I did not expect, it may have changed my life.
More

Janzen: 4 tips for starting a law blog and finding your voice

July 16, 2014
Blogging is a great communication tool for lawyers. For other attorneys who are considering launching their career into the blogosphere, here are four tips.
More

Zoeller: State’s lawyer has duty to represent state in marriage suit

July 16, 2014
Not since my office had to represent the state in lawsuits arising from the State Fair disaster has a dispute been so seemingly impossible to address in a way that the public would accept as being fair to all concerned.
More

Technology Untangled: Regain some Internet privacy and anonymity

July 16, 2014
Stephen Bour
While no one should operate under the illusion that total Internet privacy is obtainable, there are at least a few things you can do to keep from being a complete open book when using the Internet.
More

Living Fit: Tips for those who are or will be in the 50 and Over Club

July 16, 2014
Sharon McGoff
Congratulations! You made it to the Fifty and Over Club – or hope to someday. After all, not making it means you’re a member of the Six Feet Under Club, a dirty place to be. As a bonafide member of the elite 50 and over team, you know the joys of waking up with more creaks than your wood floors.
More

Hammerle On… 'Obvious Child,' 'How to Train Your Dragon 2'

July 16, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "How to Train Your Dragon 2" is a sequel with meaning and is an animated film that you should hunt down.
More

Sidebars: Bloomington eatery’s Cajun food leaves diners satisfied

July 16, 2014
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Uptown Café 4 gavels!
More

DTCI: Would you choose to be a lawyer if you had a do-over?

July 2, 2014
Renee Mortimer
“If you could do it all over again, would you still be a lawyer?” Anyone reading this has probably been asked the question. I myself cannot think of anything else that I would do, and of course, my answer is “Yes!”
More

Federal Bar Update: Rule 30(b)(6) depositions

July 2, 2014
John Maley
One of the most useful tools in discovery is the Rule 30(b)(6) deposition, allowing a party to depose an entity, which must then produce one or more witnesses to testify to enumerated topics.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: Passive vs. forcible resistance

July 2, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The Court of Appeals recently brought us the story of a woman, her dog and her not-so Gandhi-like attempt at passive resistance when her dogs were investigated for biting. The question before the Court of Appeals was whether this passive resistance was criminal.
More

Hammerle On … '22 Jump Street,' 'The Grand Seduction'

July 2, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says if movie heroes are more irritable than loveable, no film can succeed. In "The Grand Seduction," they were dedicated to a fraud that you sadly grew to resent.
More

BGBC: 10 crushing questions to ask a business valuation expert

July 2, 2014
As part of your cross-examination, you wish to attack the expert’s work. You’re supposed to ask about the methodology, assumptions, procedures and how the opinion of value was determined. These are standard questions asked in cross-examination that we expect to hear. What about those questions that are not standard, but just as effective if not more?
More

A View From Gitmo: Proceedings lack transparency available in US courts

June 18, 2014
Indiana Court of Appeals Judge Patricia Riley writes in the first of a three-part series about what she observed while at Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, for hearings regarding the accused bomber of the USS Cole.
More

Torres: How to handle prayer before government meetings

June 18, 2014
How do governments work to ensure that their practices are such that they are wholly within the First Amendment’s Establishment Clause?
More

Start Page: ‘Excel-erate’ your practice by learning Microsoft Excel

June 18, 2014
Seth Wilson
This article (and maybe some YouTube searching) will give you a starting point to help turn your dreams of organized and easy-to-understand data into reality using Microsoft Excel.
More

Hammerle On…'The Fault in our Stars,' 'Chef'

June 18, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle suggests you see "Chef" before eating at a restaurant because you will warmly embrace every moment of that evening.
More

Hammerle On … 'Belle,' 'Locke'

June 4, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says buy a ticket for "Locke" and be prepared for a mesmerizing trip.
More

Dean's Desk: IU McKinney dean reflects on first year on the job

June 4, 2014
Andrew Klein
It’s been nearly a year since I became dean of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law, and it would be impossible to fully describe the experience in this short column
More

Technology Untangled: Make sure Windows 8.1 computer can play DVD movies

June 4, 2014
Stephen Bour
Microsoft does not include DVD player software as a standard feature of Windows 8.1! Today’s article serves as both a caution and as an explanation about this DVD player issue.
More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about ethical responsibility for others’ conduct

June 4, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The recent disciplinary case, Matter of Anonymous, is not the only time someone in Indiana has been disciplined for the conduct of another.
More

DTCI: Young attorneys should rely on their own devices at work

June 4, 2014
Kevin Tyra

To the extent practicable, young attorneys should rely on their own devices to determine what needs to be done, and how to do it, rather than expect the more senior attorney to spell it out for them.

More

Start Page: 3 changes to make next time you open Microsoft Word

May 21, 2014
Seth Wilson
Microsoft Word is an essential tool in any lawyer’s toolbox. But, many of us don’t get the most out of this word processor. This article offers three things to change the next time you open Word to make it work better for you.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Le Week-End,' 'The Lunchbox'

May 21, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Lunchbox" is a tiny movie that reminds everyone that love is often found as a result of happy accidents.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. The fee increase would be livable except for the 11% increase in spending at the Disciplinary Commission. The Commission should be focused on true public harm rather than going on witch hunts against lawyers who dare to criticize judges.

  2. Marijuana is safer than alcohol. AT the time the 1937 Marijuana Tax Act was enacted all major pharmaceutical companies in the US sold marijuana products. 11 Presidents of the US have smoked marijuana. Smoking it does not increase the likelihood that you will get lung cancer. There are numerous reports of canabis oil killing many kinds of incurable cancer. (See Rick Simpson's Oil on the internet or facebook).

  3. The US has 5% of the world's population and 25% of the world's prisoners. Far too many people are sentenced for far too many years in prison. Many of the federal prisoners are sentenced for marijuana violations. Marijuana is safer than alcohol.

  4. My daughter was married less than a week and her new hubbys picture was on tv for drugs and now I havent't seen my granddaughters since st patricks day. when my daughter left her marriage from her childrens Father she lived with me with my grand daughters and that was ok but I called her on the new hubby who is in jail and said didn't want this around my grandkids not unreasonable request and I get shut out for her mistake

  5. From the perspective of a practicing attorney, it sounds like this masters degree in law for non-attorneys will be useless to anyone who gets it. "However, Ted Waggoner, chair of the ISBA’s Legal Education Conclave, sees the potential for the degree program to actually help attorneys do their jobs better. He pointed to his practice at Peterson Waggoner & Perkins LLP in Rochester and how some clients ask their attorneys to do work, such as filling out insurance forms, that they could do themselves. Waggoner believes the individuals with the legal master’s degrees could do the routine, mundane business thus freeing the lawyers to do the substantive legal work." That is simply insulting to suggest that someone with a masters degree would work in a role that is subpar to even an administrative assistant. Even someone with just a certificate or associate's degree in paralegal studies would be overqualified to sit around helping clients fill out forms. Anyone who has a business background that they think would be enhanced by having a legal background will just go to law school, or get an MBA (which typically includes a business law class that gives a generic, broad overview of legal concepts). No business-savvy person would ever seriously consider this ridiculous master of law for non-lawyers degree. It reeks of desperation. The only people I see getting it are the ones who did not get into law school, who see the degree as something to add to their transcript in hopes of getting into a JD program down the road.

ADVERTISEMENT