Opinion

Dean's Desk: A troubling focus by the ABA on the bar exam

November 16, 2016
Austen Parrish
For those in legal education, the bar exam has oddly emerged as a key focus.
More

Hammerle On… 'A Man Called Ove,' 'Doctor Strange'

November 16, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "A Man Called Ove" has many strengths and will bring you to the edge of tears.
More

Metzel: Your view on the practice of law will shape your career

November 2, 2016
I challenge you to consider — early in your career — how you perceive the practice of law. This process may impact your career decisions and the manner in which you choose or choose not to utilize your legal education.
More

Hammerle on... 'Denial'

November 2, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says trial lawyers must see "Denial."
More

Start Page: Outlook Quick Steps can break email full-court press

November 2, 2016
Seth Wilson
Create one to three Quick Steps that you will commit to using for the next week. Then, practice those quick first steps.
More

Eye on Profession: Our profession needs to be ready for rocky times ahead

November 2, 2016
John Trimble
I have the pleasure today to launch the inaugural offering of a new Indiana Lawyer column entitled, “Eye on the Profession.” The plan is to do my best to share commentary and insight on issues of the day that are or will be impacting our profession.
More

DTCI: Calling corporate counsel! Join your defense colleagues

November 2, 2016
Kevin Tyra
While the roles of defense trial counsel (particularly “outside” counsel or panel counsel in the law firm setting) and corporate and in-house counsel are often different, we have much in common.
More

In-Box: Using police body cameras

November 2, 2016
Keffer Barnhart attorneys write that police departments should want to use body cameras, as they can serve as data gathering and quality control tools.
More

Price: A look at the past, present and future of mediation

October 5, 2016
Whether experience will show one “model” prevailing or whether we have an environment where mediation is an amalgam of each type driven by the circumstances of the case, one thing is beyond dispute: Mediation is here to stay.
More

Hussmann: Early intervention can provide desired effects

October 5, 2016
For those of us in the dispute resolution business, “desired effects” — justice — must remain an important component of the outcome if the system is to be perceived as fair and useful.
More

Neutral Corner: Indiana’s ADR Rules adopted 25 years ago

October 5, 2016
John Van Winkle
Although mediation became the main thrust of the ADR Rules, mediation as now known was not the central feature of the rules originally proposed.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Will paper remain at the end of the e-filing tunnel?

October 5, 2016
David Dreyer
The benefits of “going paperless” can be exciting. A municipal court in suburban Seattle recently reported saving $500,000 annually by e-filing.
More

DTCI: Some lessons learned while on the DTCI board

October 5, 2016
Jamie Oss
Since I am soon leaving the DTCI board of directors and moving on to the ISBA Board of Governors, I thought that I would share a few lessons that I have learned over the years, both on the board and off, as my last director’s column.
More

Hammerle on... 'The Magnificent Seven,' 'Snowden,' 'The Hollars'

October 5, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Snowden" serves as a reminder to Americans how we have largely lost our privacy.
More

Young: Remembering US Probation Officer Tom Gahl

September 21, 2016
Sept. 22, 2016, marks the 30th anniversary of the most tragic day in the history of the Southern District of Indiana: the murder of United States Probation Officer Thomas E. Gahl.
More

Start Page: The appeal of the newest Apple iPhone? The core

September 21, 2016
Seth Wilson
This article will provide a brief overview of the new features available on the iPhone 7 to help you determine if it’s time to upgrade.
More

Federal Bar Update: Show up and pay attention to court matters

September 21, 2016
John Maley
In the Northern and Southern Districts of Indiana, from time to time the federal bench has found it necessary to comment on deficient practitioner performance. A recent example also serves as a reminder of some basic principles in this age of phone conferences.
More

Hammerle on…'The Light Between Oceans,' 'Sully'

September 21, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends "The Light Between Oceans," but will never watch it again.
More

Sugarman: SCOTUS affirms wetland determinations subject to review

September 7, 2016
On May 31, the United States Supreme Court once again unanimously delivered a victory for landowners who wish to challenge wetlands determinations handed down by the federal government.
More

Wagner: Who will pay to clean up Indiana's polluted deep aquifers?

September 7, 2016
Bill Wagner
With fewer taxpayer dollars to fund the Superfund program, the responsible parties left standing would have to bear the costs for others that have either gone out of business or filed for bankruptcy.
More

Bell/Whelan: 3 things to know about requests for client information

September 7, 2016
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
Here are three things to know when a third party requests information about your client, including don’t be cooperative, civil or otherwise charming.
More

Quality of Life: When it feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day

September 7, 2016
Jonna Kane MacDougall
How’s life going these days? Are we having fun yet? The name of this column is “Quality of Life.” How would you assess the quality of your life?
More

DTCI: The need for federal anti-SLAPP legislation is great

September 7, 2016
Christopher Lee
Whether it is The Speak Free Act or some other federal legislation, there appears to be a growing consensus that a federal uniform anti-SLAPP statute will eventually be enacted.
More

Hammerle On…'Kubo and the Two Strings,' 'Hell or High Water,' 'Don't Think Twice'

September 7, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Kubo and the Two Strings" is a magnificent animated film for adults and older children.
More

Patterson: Trial by jury ensures justice for the people

August 24, 2016
As the state of Indiana celebrates its bicentennial year, we should all remember the importance of the right to trial by jury and commit to ensuring that this right remains inviolate.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Im very happy for you, getting ready to go down that dirt road myself, and im praying for the same outcome, because it IS sometimes in the childs best interest to have visitation with grandparents. Thanks for sharing, needed to hear some positive posts for once.

  2. Been there 4 months with 1 paycheck what can i do

  3. our hoa has not communicated any thing that takes place in their "executive meetings" not executive session. They make decisions in these meetings, do not have an agenda, do not notify association memebers and do not keep general meetings minutes. They do not communicate info of any kind to the member, except annual meeting, nobody attends or votes because they think the board is self serving. They keep a deposit fee from club house rental for inspection after someone uses it, there is no inspection I know becausee I rented it, they did not disclose to members that board memebers would be keeping this money, I know it is only 10 dollars but still it is not their money, they hire from within the board for paid positions, no advertising and no request for bids from anyone else, I atteended last annual meeting, went into executive session to elect officers in that session the president brought up the motion to give the secretary a raise of course they all agreed they hired her in, then the minutes stated that a diffeerent board member motioned to give this raise. This board is very clickish and has done things anyway they pleased for over 5 years, what recourse to members have to make changes in the boards conduct

  4. Where may I find an attorney working Pro Bono? Many issues with divorce, my Disability, distribution of IRA's, property, money's and pressured into agreement by my attorney. Leaving me far less than 5% of all after 15 years of marriage. No money to appeal, disabled living on disability income. Attorney's decision brought forward to judge, no evidence ever to finalize divorce. Just 2 weeks ago. Please help.

  5. For the record no one could answer the equal protection / substantive due process challenge I issued in the first post below. The lawless and accountable only to power bureaucrats never did either. All who interface with the Indiana law examiners or JLAP be warned.

ADVERTISEMENT