Opinion

Dean's Desk: Legal clinics cultivate essential lawyering skills

October 21, 2015
Andrea D. Lyon
I am certainly awarethat those of you reading this article know what legal clinics are and do – you all know that students in clinics learn how to interact with clients, opposing counsel and judges; but they also learn that actual clients are more important than they seem in casebooks and that their work makes a positive difference in their client’s lives.
More

Retzner: The family vacation home: harmony or chaos?

October 21, 2015
In most instances, vacation homes achieve the goal of family harmony. After the parents pass away, however, that family harmony can quickly turn to chaos.
More

Living Fit: 10 changes that make big strides for better health

October 21, 2015
Sharon McGoff
It is feasible and fairly simple to make a few small changes to enjoy a healthier body. If you take these steps, you will lose weight and feel energetic. Even if you just choose one of them, your health will improve over what it is today. No more excuses!
More

Technology Untangled: Making good use of older technology

October 21, 2015
Stephen Bour
Sometimes there is wisdom in making better use of things we already have or in choosing gently used items. This article will look at some recent examples of where I chose not to automatically go with the newest technology and will detail how those choices worked out.
More

Dean's Desk: Surveys give insight on graduates’ careers

October 7, 2015
Nell Jessup Netwon
Lately I have been spending some fruitful hours reviewing a treasure trove of data collected by a 12-year-long longitudinal study of law graduates who passed the bar in the year 2000. The survey results are available in a publication called “After the JD.” I commend it to your attention.
More

Indiana Judges Association: The online life of judges requires prudence

October 7, 2015
David Dreyer
We legal professionals have a unique role to translate ancient theorems into optic fiber. Along with that obligation arises a longstanding devotion to ensuring the world understands what law is and has always been: an imperfect process to determine “facts” and apply the rules.
More

DTCI: Second chair is not second fiddle

October 7, 2015
From DTCI
I had the privilege of being the second chair at my first jury trial in March of this year. As I begin preparations for my next trial as second chair, I have been reflecting on what I learned the first go-round. I share my thoughts here with the hope that they will help other young attorneys – or even a seasoned attorney when he or she mentors young attorneys.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: New playbook for prosecuting white collar crime

October 7, 2015
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
There is a theme that permeates the news reporting of the 2008 financial crisis: no one went to jail as a consequence. In possible reaction to this theme, the U.S. Department of Justice recently issued a bulletin that has since been referred to as the “Yates Memo.”
More

Hammerle On … 'Grandma,''Black Mass'

October 7, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that "Black Mass" demonstrates the downside of our national character.
More

Neutral Corner: Mediation communications in legal malpractice actions

October 7, 2015
John Van Winkle
The legal malpractice case of Cassel v. Superior Court of Los Angeles County, 244 P. 3d 1080 (2011), continues to ricochet through the California mediation community and court system, and the issue it raised is now headed to the Legislature.
More

Start Page: to-do list adjustments to help beat procrastination

September 23, 2015
Seth Wilson
While a legal pad and pen are forms of technology, and can be very effective, you should be tracking your to- do’s with digital tools.
More

Reuben didn’t forget when local club turned him away

September 23, 2015
Mickey Maurer
Note my musings on friend Larry Reuben on the occasion of the spring opening of the Riviera Club pool.
More

Hammerle On... 'A Walk in the Woods', 'Meru', 'Jimmy's Hall'

September 23, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes of "A Walk in the Woods": "Despite negative reviews, this film should be seen by everyone over 50 or anyone wondering what it will be like at that age."
More

3 things to know about the ethics of files

September 9, 2015
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
A formal opinion recently issued by the American Bar Association’s Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility sheds light on what materials belong to the client.
More

DTCI: Candor toward tribunal trumps attorney-client privilege

September 9, 2015
Jamie Oss
The requirement for candor toward the tribunal is set forth in Indiana Rule of Professional Conduct 3.3, and it qualifies the attorney-client privilege.
More

Nothing is more important to democracy than civic literacy

September 9, 2015
Kelly Sharp
As we approach the 228th anniversary of the signing of the U.S. Constitution this Sept. 17, we might consider where civic literacy is taking place.
More

Hammerle On... 'Best of Enemies', 'The End of the Tour'

September 9, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The End of the Tour": "This film does a disservice to both Mr. Wallace and the audience. How could brilliance be displayed in such a dull fashion?"
More

Hammerle On... 'Straight Outta Compton', 'The Man from U.N.C.L.E.'

August 26, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The Man from U.N.C.L.E.": "Be prepared to say, 'I really enjoyed it, although I can't say I liked it.'"
More

Start Page: Scanning solutions

August 12, 2015
Seth Wilson
Mobile device scanning doesn’t take long to learn and helps when you wish you had a copy machine nearby.
More

Hammerle On... 'Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation', 'The Stanford Prison Experiment'

August 12, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The Stanford Prison Experiment": "If the re-creation of an event is destructive, think what the actual event is like."
More

Hammerle On…'Mr. Holmes', 'Testament of Youth'

July 29, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that "Mr. Holmes" is a tiny film that will remind many of you why guys like him love the cinema.
More

DTCI: Legal questions abound for hands-free driving

July 15, 2015
Matthew Trainor
Although fully autonomous cars will take years to reach the general public, several car manufacturers already sell or have plans within the next year to begin selling cars with hands-free driving features.
More

I’d walk a mile for a cheeseburger – better make that six

July 15, 2015
Sharon McGoff
Do not despair and throw in the towel on your daily exercise routine because you don’t think you could ever burn enough calories to eat burgers. Exercise is, without a doubt, the best medicine for our bodies, minds and spirit.
More

Ponzi scheme remains white collar fraud of choice

July 15, 2015
Casey Higgs
Since the fall of Bernard Madoff, the Securities and Exchange Commission has upped its enforcement on Ponzi schemes.
More

Hammerle On…'Mad Max: Fury Road,' 'Me and Earl and the Dying Girl'

July 15, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that he's curious as to why "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl" won both major awards at last year's Sundance Film Festival.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Nice work, Courtney!

  2. The O'Banions also sued Ford claiming the Roush vehicle's throttle cable was defective and stuck, and did not present evidence or argue to the contrary at trial. The proceedings were delayed by an appeal on the admissibility of expert testimony in which O' Banions also joined with the Roush Estate.

  3. AP writes "The justices will hear the appeal of the Colorado baker that pits his claims of religious freedom against the rights of the same-sex couple who wanted a wedding cake to commemorate their marriage." HOW ABOUT IF THIS WERE THIS ISSUE: "The justices will hear the appeal of the Colorado Jewish videographer that pits his claims of religious freedom against the rights of the Holocaust deniers who wanted to hire his photography studio to shoot their documentary debunking the six-million-cremated-theory ..." Would anyone doubt that the Jewish fellow's rights triumphed? Or how about "The justices will hear the appeal of the Colorado black carpenter that pits his claims of religious freedom against the rights of a white supremacist who wants a gallows built on his property to stage the mock hanging of former president Obama." Hey, would anyone doubt that the Black fellow's rights to contract triumphed? BUT ... make the "villain" in the story Christian conservatives (insert two minute hate here) and the victims gay (so cute they are), and it is bar the door Katie, for Big Brother's judicial stormtroopers simply must weigh in to wash clean the minds of any who would DARE to dissent from the elists' mandated spiritus mundi.

  4. The voices of the prophets are more on blogs than subway walls these days, Dawn. Here is the voice of one calling out in the wilderness ... against a corrupted judiciary ... that remains corrupt a decade and a half later ... due to, so sadly, the acquiescence of good judges unwilling to shake the forest ... for fear that is not faith .. http://www.ogdenonpolitics.com/2013/09/prof-alan-dershowitz-on-indiana.html

  5. So I purchased a vehicle cash from the lot on West Washington in Feb 2017. Since then I found it the vehicle had been declared a total loss and had sat in a salvage yard due to fire. My title does not show any of that. I also have had to put thousands of dollars into repairs because it was not a solid vehicle like they stated. I need to find out how to contact the lawyers on this lawsuit.

ADVERTISEMENT