Opinion

And the Winner is: Hammerle's Preliminary 2013 Oscar Picks

February 13, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Read attorney Bob Hammerle's picks for this year's Oscars.
More

Lucas: Had a tough day? Escape to the movies!

February 13, 2013
Kelly Lucas
With this issue of IL, we begin presenting movie reviews by Indianapolis criminal defense lawyer Bob Hammerle. Bob is known to many lawyers and businesspeople for his passion about cinema and his colorful commentary about the latest shows to hit the theaters.
More

Dean's Desk: A new curriculum at Valparaiso Law School

February 13, 2013
Jay Conison
Law schools have two natures. On the one hand, they are graduate academic programs, generally in universities. On the other hand, a law school is a path to a career. Through the educational program and other services, it develops professional skills in students and supports their entry into law or other professional practice.
More

BGBC: Understand how the new tax law affects you

January 30, 2013
On Jan. 2, 2013, President Barack Obama signed into law the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012. We’ve compiled some key takeaways from the Act so you have a better understanding of how it affects your clients and you
More

Indiana Lawyer launches ‘Lawyers on the Move’ email

January 30, 2013
Kelly Lucas
We're excited about bringing readers another opportunity to learn about and maintain connections with lawyers around the state.
More

Steuerwald: Lawmakers rewriting Indiana's outdated criminal code

January 30, 2013
Rewriting Indiana’s criminal code is an issue that my colleagues and I have spent years analyzing. The code has been enhanced in the past, but there has not been a significant overhaul since 1977.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Judges are good government partners

January 30, 2013
David Dreyer
Judge David Dreyer writes a letter to Gov. Mike Pence about how to make people more legally literate.
More

LaBret: Demystifying online reputation defense

January 30, 2013
Jabez LaBret writes about how lawyers can control what shows up about them in online searches.
More

Technology Untangled: Add communication flexibility to tablets and smartphones

January 16, 2013
Stephen Bour
I was looking for ways to make Wi-Fi tablets more versatile as communication tools and found several interesting applications. Today we will look at apps to turn your Wi-Fi tablet, or iPod Touch, into a push-to-talk (PTT) walkie-talkie, a device for standard SMS texting, and even a free wireless telephone.
More

Badger: Using arbitration clauses to reduce potential liability risk

January 16, 2013
Steven Badger
In the first part of this column, I outlined the advantages and disadvantages of arbitration as an alternative to litigation in court and concluded that neither arbitration nor litigation is preferable in all situations. This second part provides more specific suggestions on when to use arbitration in certain high-risk, “bet-the-company” situations.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District of Indiana adopts rule amendments

January 16, 2013
John Maley
The Southern District has amended several Local Rules. These were approved in late December and took effect Jan. 1.
More

Lucas: 2013 brings opportunities to effect change

January 2, 2013
Kelly Lucas
As I write the first of my 2013 columns, my inclination is to put on my rose-colored glasses and look with optimism toward the year ahead. While I feel that I am truly a glass-half-full kind of gal, I am also a realist and not a fan of people who stick their heads in the sand and pretend things are OK when they are not.
More

Badger: To arbitrate or litigate, that is the question

January 2, 2013
Steven Badger
In my world of dispute resolution, one of the most basic questions is whether a particular business dispute should be resolved in arbitration or in a court of law. Like many of the questions I am frequently asked by clients, there is no simple answer that fits all occasions and situations.
More

McGoff: It is a new year, start creating a new 'you'

January 2, 2013
Sharon McGoff
Each year, as Jan. 1 approaches and we gaze in the mirror at the after effects of the holidays … dark circles under our eyes, too many cookies and an over-abundance of cocktail parties, we set our sights on resolutions. We vow that “this time” we are going to do it! However, the statistics show that over 80 percent of us who set New Year’s resolutions will fail.
More

Start Page: Top 5 New Year's (IT) resolutions for 2013

December 19, 2012
Kim Brand
Make this the year you get out of the poor-productivity ditch.
More

Technology Untangled: Easy video security with Internet cloud camera

December 19, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at a simple and effective Web-based network video security camera from D-Link that makes it easy to remotely monitor your home or office over the Internet.
More

Federal Bar Update: Rule changes, 7th Circuit procedural decisions

December 19, 2012
John Maley
As federal practitioners know, each Dec. 1 new federal rule amendments take effect. In most recent years there have been significant changes to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure each December.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Do media measure up in court coverage?

December 5, 2012
David Dreyer
We judges are obligated to actually ignore popular opinion or preference and apply the law, but we are further constrained to not discuss our decisions on talk shows or interviews. Yet, public confidence in courts is more important than any other branch of government because people need to believe in us or they will not believe or obey our rulings.
More

Quality of Life: Let your inner child out this holiday season

November 21, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Wouldn’t it be wonderful to live every moment in color, instead of black and white?
More

Sidebars: 'The Local' features the best of Indiana home-grown foods

November 21, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give the restaurant 3.5 gavels!
More

DTCI: Client relationships and effective case management

November 21, 2012
From DTCI
Both authors of this article recently had experiences in which our clients have shown us the true emotional impact that litigation can have on a new litigant.
More

Lucas: Dedication of clerks leads to smooth elections

November 21, 2012
Kelly Lucas
The 2012 elections are finally over. And while I think most people, with the possible exception of mail carriers and holiday Scrooges, are happy to have gift catalogs replace political flyers in their mailboxes, I would bet that no group is happier to see election season come to an end than the county clerks.
More

Book review: 'The Science of Attorney Advocacy'

November 21, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
Unlike other books I have recently reviewed, the book “The Science of Attorney Advocacy targets a different type of reader.
More

Finney: Overwhelmed by email? Try changing your outlook!

November 7, 2012
Deanna Finney explains how readers can use tools in their Outlook email program to make emails easier to manage.
More

Federal Bar Update: Northern, Southern District courts cleaning up local rules

November 7, 2012
John Maley
Local Rule amendments are in the works in the Northern District and Southern District of Indiana, with amendments to take effect Jan. 1.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
2015 Distinguished Barrister &
Up and Coming Lawyer Reception

Tuesday, May 5, 2015 • 4:30 - 7:00 pm
Learn More


ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
ADVERTISEMENT