Opinion

Inbox: Sometimes it is enough to be 'good enough'

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Inbox: Personal values and experiences define 'all'

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Dean's Desk: Career planning innovation at Valparaiso Law

August 29, 2012
Jay Conison
This fall, Valparaiso Law is launching a new program that will help students organize their three years of career-related activities and complete the steps essential to fulfilling career goals. The program is provided through a mobile website named VOLT, which the school believe is the first of its kind.
More

Terms of Art: Musical background helps attorney connect with clients

August 15, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about attorney Trezanay Atikins, whose interests in music and sports led to her launching her own intellectual property firm.
More

Start Page: Tips to make Google searches more effective

August 15, 2012
Kim Brand
G-O-O-G-L-E will replace Q-W-E-R-T-Y on keyboards of the future. It has already replaced S-E-A-R-C-H. Problem is you probably aren’t very good at Google. Like a bad golf swing, without training, you just keep practicing the wrong swing and haven’t taken lessons.
More

More on Laurie Gray

August 10, 2012
I was raised in rural Indiana where good wives submit and obey and good children are seen and not heard. I went to college with the understanding that an educated good woman is a teacher or a nurse. So I became a high school teacher.
More

Federal Bar Update: No changes to federal rules this year

August 1, 2012
John Maley
Federal rule amendments take affect Dec. 1 of each year after a lengthy, time-consuming process of transmittal from the Judicial Conference to the Supreme Court and then to Congress. This coming December, for the first time in many years, there are no amendments on the horizon for the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, or Federal Rules of Evidence.
More

Lucas: In 2012, can women in the law really have it all?

August 1, 2012
Kelly Lucas
I wonder what it is really like to be a woman – or a man, for that matter – trying to balance the demands of work and family in today’s law firms. Let me know if you believe it is possible to work long hours but still have a balanced family life.
More

Inbox: Group advocates for court reporter to be used in pilot project

August 1, 2012
The Indiana Shorthand Reporters Association explains its concerns with a recently announced pilot project in courts involving video transcripts.
More

Lucas: The majority will ultimately do the right thing

July 18, 2012
Kelly Lucas
IL editor and publisher Kelly Lucas sees the silver lining when faced with crime.
More

Van Winkle: Decision pits mediation confidentiality against contract law

July 18, 2012
John Van Winkle
Attorney and mediator John Van Winkle discusses the difficulties that occur when mediation confidentiality provisions collide with long-established contract common law.
More

Lucas: Consider where you stand in the national debate

July 4, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Last week was a difficult one for those covering the news to avoid taking sides. The constitutionality of several very important issues – including the Arizona immigration law and the Affordable Care Act – were ruled on by the Supreme Court of the United States.
More

Adams: Relief for immigrant 'Dreamers' soon to be a reality

July 4, 2012
Just minutes before attending my first session of the second day of the American Immigration Lawyers Association annual conference in Nashville, Tenn., I began to receive a flood of emails and tweets on my phone about an announcement which would completely change the lives of an estimated 1.4 million immigrant youth, commonly called “Dreamers,” across the country and between 21,000 and 29,000 immigrant youth in Indiana.
More

DTCI: Note from the defense - Stop the 'unnecessary roughness'

July 4, 2012
From DTCI
While I am sure this writing could be deemed just another one that promotes civility, and while I am sure that there is a long list of ethical rules that promote that, too, I cite none here. I simply say this: Stop the (to use a football phrase) “unnecessary roughness.” I am hereby throwing a “flag on the play.”
More

BGBC Partners: Fraud can happen anywhere without prevention measures

July 4, 2012
Small businesses historically have suffered disproportionately larger losses due to fraud than larger organizations.
More

Start Page: 5 tips to better manage your digital data

June 20, 2012
Kim Brand
Kim Brand scolds you for your bloated inbox, chaotic file system and unkempt photos but offers tips to manage all that digital data.
More

Technology Untangled: Samsung 7-inch tablet fills a portable niche

June 6, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will review the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0. The first two things that caught my attention were the low $250 price and the small 7-inch size.
More

Federal Bar Update: 6-month update on changes to removal statutesRestricted Content

June 6, 2012
John Maley
As readers will recall, the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act of 2011 took effect Jan. 6. Since the act took effect, it has been cited by name in 13 reported decisions, most of which simply deal with the effective date of the act.
More

Finney: Give power to your point at trial

May 23, 2012
Deanna Finney writes about using PowerPoint as a trial presentation tool.
More

Column: Practical and legal differences of class and mass actions

May 23, 2012
Scott Starr and Mario Massillamany write about what to consider when decided whether to file a class- or mass-action case.
More

Lucas: Judges say all young lawyers face challenges

May 23, 2012
Kelly Lucas
My seat at the recent Indiana Supreme Court Bar Admission Ceremony provided a perfect vantage point to witness the mix of emotions young lawyers feel when they have the opportunity to present themselves for the first time to members of the state’s highest-ranking courts.
More

Sidebars: Indianapolis pizza place provides different lunch option

May 23, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Coal Pizza Company 3.25 gavels!
More

Behind the News: Vaunted attorney Conour has lots of explaining to do

May 23, 2012
Greg Andrews
A large question looms in the wake of the April 27 announcement that Bill Conour has been charged in a federal criminal complaint with misappropriating more than $2.5 million in client funds from December 2000 to March 2012. If the 64-year-old is indeed guilty of the wire-fraud charge he faces, where did all the money go?
More

Terms of Art: effecting viral social change

May 9, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about Indianapolis attorney Kenan L. Farrell and his work with the arts community.
More

McGoff: Go on vacation

May 9, 2012
Sharon McGoff writes about why our bodies need vacations and how to take one.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Oh my lordy Therapist Oniha of the winexbackspell@gmail.com I GOT Briggs BACK. Im so excited, It only took 2days for him to come home. bless divinity and bless god. i must be dreaming as i never thoughts he would be back to me after all this time. I am so much shock and just cant believe my eyes. thank you thank you thank you from the bottom of my heart,he always kiss and hug me now at all times,am so happy my heart is back to me with your help Therapist Oniha.

  2. Hail to our Constitutional Law Expert in the Executive Office! “What you’re not paying attention to is the fact that I just took an action to change the law,” Obama said.

  3. What is this, the Ind Supreme Court thinking that there is a separation of powers and limited enumerated powers as delegated by a dusty old document? Such eighteen century thinking, so rare and unwanted by the elites in this modern age. Dictate to us, dictate over us, the massess are chanting! George Soros agrees. Time to change with times Ind Supreme Court, says all President Snows. Rule by executive decree is the new black.

  4. I made the same argument before a commission of the Indiana Supreme Court and then to the fedeal district and federal appellate courts. Fell flat. So very glad to read that some judges still beleive that evidentiary foundations matter.

  5. KUDOS to the Indiana Supreme Court for realizing that some bureacracies need to go to the stake. Recall what RWR said: "No government ever voluntarily reduces itself in size. Government programs, once launched, never disappear. Actually, a government bureau is the nearest thing to eternal life we'll ever see on this earth!" NOW ... what next to this rare and inspiring chopping block? Well, the Commission on Gender and Race (but not religion!?!) is way overdue. And some other Board's could be cut with a positive for State and the reputation of the Indiana judiciary.

ADVERTISEMENT