Opinion

Hammerle On … 'Belle,' 'Locke'

June 4, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says buy a ticket for "Locke" and be prepared for a mesmerizing trip.
More

Dean's Desk: IU McKinney dean reflects on first year on the job

June 4, 2014
Andrew Klein
It’s been nearly a year since I became dean of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law, and it would be impossible to fully describe the experience in this short column
More

Technology Untangled: Make sure Windows 8.1 computer can play DVD movies

June 4, 2014
Stephen Bour
Microsoft does not include DVD player software as a standard feature of Windows 8.1! Today’s article serves as both a caution and as an explanation about this DVD player issue.
More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about ethical responsibility for others’ conduct

June 4, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The recent disciplinary case, Matter of Anonymous, is not the only time someone in Indiana has been disciplined for the conduct of another.
More

DTCI: Young attorneys should rely on their own devices at work

June 4, 2014
Kevin Tyra

To the extent practicable, young attorneys should rely on their own devices to determine what needs to be done, and how to do it, rather than expect the more senior attorney to spell it out for them.

More

Start Page: 3 changes to make next time you open Microsoft Word

May 21, 2014
Seth Wilson
Microsoft Word is an essential tool in any lawyer’s toolbox. But, many of us don’t get the most out of this word processor. This article offers three things to change the next time you open Word to make it work better for you.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Le Week-End,' 'The Lunchbox'

May 21, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Lunchbox" is a tiny movie that reminds everyone that love is often found as a result of happy accidents.
More

Cochran/West: How to advise employees about government investigators

May 21, 2014
In-house attorneys advise employees on many topics, but do the employees of your company know what to do during a government investigation?
More

Tough Talks: Having difficult conversations about delicate situations

May 21, 2014
People – regardless of the industry – avoid having tough conversations.  They haven’t had “the talk” because there just hasn’t been the right time, or the issue hasn’t affected his or her work. But it may be best to rock the boat today, because tomorrow or next week or next month, it’s going to rock the entire company.
More

Sidebars: Café's limited menu features fresh, high-quality food

May 21, 2014
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Fred Vaiana gives Blue Moon Café 3.25 gavels!
More

Hammerle On … 'The Railway Man,' 'Under the Skin'

May 7, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Under the Skin" gives all aliens a bad name.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: SCOTUS rules anonymous 911 call reliable

May 7, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The Supreme Court of the United States recently held that an anonymous call to 911 was sufficient to initiate a traffic stop in certain specific circumstances. Navarette v. California, 2014 U.S. Lexis 2930 (2014). The decision set off a minor shockwave in the media with reports that the 5-4 opinion eroded Fourth Amendment protection.
More

Noyes: A short phone call can change the dynamic of a case

May 7, 2014
Jon Noyes encourages attorneys to network in order to gain insight and litigation strategies.
More

Foos: Microsoft Surface Pro for the mobile attorney

May 7, 2014
Robert Foos Jr. writes about how the Microsoft Surface Pro caught his eye as an alternative to the Apple iPad.
More

Badger: Supreme Court will hear death records dispute

May 7, 2014
Steven Badger
The Indiana Supreme Court will hear oral argument May 8 in a dispute over public access to county death records. The case, Evansville Courier & Press v. Vanderburgh County Health Department, raises the issue of whether a county health department’s death certificates, including the cause of death, are public records under the Indiana Access to Public Records Act.
More

Federal Bar Update: Free CLE, hyperlinks and award nominations

May 7, 2014
John Maley
As noted previously, a new pilot program was underway in the Southern District of Indiana for including hyperlinks in briefs.
More

Finney: 8 steps to evaluating and selecting your firm’s software

May 7, 2014
Deanna Marquez
Oftentimes firms select software based upon performance during a software demonstration rather than evaluating what will provide the best results for specific firm needs. Finding the right software requires identification of job requirements including process workflows prior to selecting the tool.
More

Trimble: Avoiding and dealing with pessimism in mediation

April 23, 2014
More

Technology Untangled: Google Chromecast designed for entertainment, not business

April 23, 2014
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at an inexpensive device from Google designed to facilitate video streaming.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Judging from the mountaintop

April 23, 2014
David Dreyer
If judges wore wigs in the United States, there might be a marked increase, I say, in public confidence in our courts. Hopefully, it would not be outweighed by any marked increase in public satire, but it could not be any worse than the judge shows now on daytime TV. The public always needs to understand that courts are serious and judges are different. More importantly, it is necessary to understand why.
More

Inbox - 4/23/14

April 23, 2014
A reader asks the legal community to stop using the term "homosexual" because of its history.
More

Whaley: 'Multi-jurisdictional' cases complicate attorney-client privilege analysis

April 23, 2014
Litigators in discovery practice are certainly used to wrestling with attorney-client privilege decisions, which are interesting and challenging enough even when the case involves parties and a court that all share the same “citizenship.” But how is the analysis affected when the parties, the court and perhaps the source of the requested information (such as a non-party) are in different states?
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame dean provides perspective on ‘grading the graders’

April 9, 2014
Nell Jessup Netwon
Dean Nell Jessup Newton writes about how when she performs faculty reviews each spring, she is humbled by the amount of work undertaken by her colleagues to mentor students, contribute to the development of the law, increase the academic reputation of the law school, and build a great community.
More

Living Fit: Create a better work-life balance

April 9, 2014
Sharon McGoff
One of the main questions Sharon McGoff is asked as a wellness coach is, “How do I find balance in my life between work and home?”
More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about responding to disciplinary grievances

April 9, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
At some point, you may have the wonderful opportunity to respond to a disciplinary grievance. With that in mind, here are three things to know about responding to a disciplinary commission grievance.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. I gave tempparry guardship to a friend of my granddaughter in 2012. I went to prison. I had custody. My daughter went to prison to. We are out. My daughter gave me custody but can get her back. She was not order to give me custody . but now we want granddaughter back from friend. She's 14 now. What rights do we have

  2. This sure is not what most who value good governance consider the Rule of Law to entail: "In a letter dated March 2, which Brizzi forwarded to IBJ, the commission dismissed the grievance “on grounds that there is not reasonable cause to believe that you are guilty of misconduct.”" Yet two month later reasonable cause does exist? (Or is the commission forging ahead, the need for reasonable belief be damned? -- A seeming violation of the Rules of Profession Ethics on the part of the commission) Could the rule of law theory cause one to believe that an explanation is in order? Could it be that Hoosier attorneys live under Imperial Law (which is also a t-word that rhymes with infamy) in which the Platonic guardians can do no wrong and never owe the plebeian class any explanation for their powerful actions. (Might makes it right?) Could this be a case of politics directing the commission, as celebrated IU Mauer Professor (the late) Patrick Baude warned was happening 20 years ago in his controversial (whisteblowing) ethics lecture on a quite similar topic: http://www.repository.law.indiana.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1498&context=ilj

  3. I have a case presently pending cert review before the SCOTUS that reveals just how Indiana regulates the bar. I have been denied licensure for life for holding the wrong views and questioning the grand inquisitors as to their duties as to state and federal constitutional due process. True story: https://www.scribd.com/doc/299040839/2016Petitionforcert-to-SCOTUS Shorter, Amici brief serving to frame issue as misuse of govt licensure: https://www.scribd.com/doc/312841269/Thomas-More-Society-Amicus-Brown-v-Ind-Bd-of-Law-Examiners

  4. Here's an idea...how about we MORE heavily regulate the law schools to reduce the surplus of graduates, driving starting salaries up for those new grads, so that we can all pay our insane amount of student loans off in a reasonable amount of time and then be able to afford to do pro bono & low-fee work? I've got friends in other industries, radiology for example, and their schools accept a very limited number of students so there will never be a glut of new grads and everyone's pay stays high. For example, my radiologist friend's school accepted just six new students per year.

  5. I totally agree with John Smith.

ADVERTISEMENT