Opinion

Federal Bar Update: Removal and venue changes now in effectRestricted Content

January 18, 2012
John Maley
Maley writes about the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act of 2011.
More

Lucas: Trial reports give glimpse into litigation strategies

January 4, 2012
The Indiana Lawyer would like to revive the trial report section of the newspaper in 2012.
More

Start Page: Protecting those pesky passwords is necessary evil

January 4, 2012
Kim Brand
Author Kim Brand says: you don’t like passwords or complicated password policies and you don’t think a secure password is worth the trouble.
More

Book review: 'Judge the Jury' looks at juror handwriting

December 21, 2011
Rodney Nordstrom
Trial consultant Rodney Nordstrom offers his thoughts on Alice Weiser's book on using graphoanalysis to pick jurors.
More

Federal Bar Update: Removal and venue changes are on the horizonRestricted Content

December 21, 2011
John Maley
With the recent passage of the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act of 2011, key statutory changes to removal and venue are on the horizon.
More

Judge in high-stakes suit praises lawyers

December 21, 2011
Greg Andrews
Indianapolis class-action attorney Irwin Levin just helped lead a legal team that is going to collect more than $6.7 million in fees in a high-profile Iowa lawsuit involving price fixing in the concrete industry.
More

Technology Untangled: Using smartphones to enhance shopping

December 7, 2011
Stephen Bour
With the holiday season in full swing, Stephen Bour looks at some smartphone applications that you may find helpful in your quest for the perfect gifts at the perfect price.
More

Lucas: Expanded coverage helps you stay informed

December 7, 2011
Kelly Lucas

Editor Kelly Lucas discusses changes to the Indiana Lawyer daily.

More

Indiana Judges Association: Dealing with different takes on language

December 7, 2011
David Dreyer
A trial judge’s job is often befuddling. We have to differentiate between peoples’ language, their values, even their competing views about what language means.
More

Column: Innovative trial techniques on a shoestring budget

November 23, 2011
Editorial Indiana
Legal technology consultant Deanna Finney offers inexpensive trail and practice strategies that all lawyers can incorporate.
More

Lucas: Maintaining your Thanksgiving state of mind

November 23, 2011
Kelly Lucas
IL Editor Kelly Lucas writes about keeping a focus on issues of importance and that maintain sense of gratitude.
More

Column: Learning to be thankful can improve your life

November 23, 2011
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Quality of Life columnist Jonna Kane MacDougall discusses how gratitude can improve a person's life.
More

Column: Does your client's business have a will?

November 9, 2011
Investment firm managing director Greg Maurer wants attorneys to ask their business clients "What happens to my business if I die tomorrow?"
More

Column: ISBA Young Lawyers Section has busy year

November 9, 2011
Michael Jasaitis writes about the activities performed by the state bar's Young Lawyers Section and the benefits of joining.
More

Morris: It's election season - is anyone paying attention?

November 9, 2011
IBJ Media president Greg Morris writes about the importance of participating in civic life.
More

Lucas: State bar emphasizes attorney wellness in 2012

November 9, 2011
Kelly Lucas
Editor Kelly Lucas writes about the Indiana State Bar Association's emphasis on attorney fitness and wellness.
More

Federal Bar Update: Comments sought for changes to local rulesRestricted Content

November 9, 2011
John Maley
John Maley writes about changes coming to local rules in each District Court.
More

Van Winkle: Should Indiana adopt Uniform Mediation Act?

October 26, 2011
John Van Winkle
John Van Winkle writes that the incorporation of all or parts of the Uniform Mediation Act into the Indiana ADR Rule 2 covering mediation would bring clarity to the scope and extent of confidentiality in mediation.
More

Technology Untangled: Cloud computing - a glimpse from the cloud

October 26, 2011
Stephen Bour
Just what exactly is the cloud?
More

Lucas: The pace of news, like life, changes fast

October 26, 2011
Kelly Lucas
The wave of technology that has swept the late 20th and early 21st centuries is taking us all for an interesting ride.
More

Sidebars: South of Chicago offers authentic 'Region' fare

October 26, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give South of Chicago 3.5 gavels!
More

IBJ Media names new IL editor

October 12, 2011
Kelly Lucas
Kelly Lucas is Indiana Lawyer's new editor.
More

TV drug court raises ethical concerns

October 12, 2011
Jenny Montgomery
Reporter Jenny Montgomery writes about a new TV drug court.
More

Column: Discussion on salable goodwill continuesRestricted Content

September 28, 2011
On July 29, 2010, the Wisconsin Court of Appeals issued a decision that upheld the inclusion of salable professional (personal) goodwill in a marital estate in Wisconsin.
More

Column: 'Catch the rat' by using forensic accountingRestricted Content

September 28, 2011
Has your client experienced theft or maybe suffered from financial losses due to fraud? In hindsight did they wonder how the fraud was not discovered sooner? Help your client “catch the rat” by understanding how to better detect fraud and identify red flags that may indicate “a rat” is on the loose.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. I was wondering about the 6 million put aside for common attorney fees?does that mean that if you are a plaintiff your attorney fees will be partially covered?

  2. My situation was hopeless me and my husband was on the verge of divorce. I was in a awful state and felt that I was not able to cope with life any longer. I found out about this great spell caster drlawrencespelltemple@hotmail.com and tried him. Well, he did return and now we are doing well again, more than ever before. Thank you so much Drlawrencespelltemple@hotmail.comi will forever be grateful to you Drlawrencespelltemple@hotmail.com

  3. I expressed my thought in the title, long as it was. I am shocked that there is ever immunity from accountability for ANY Government agency. That appears to violate every principle in the US Constitution, which exists to limit Government power and to ensure Government accountability. I don't know how many cases of legitimate child abuse exist, but in the few cases in which I knew the people involved, in every example an anonymous caller used DCS as their personal weapon to strike at innocent people over trivial disagreements that had no connection with any facts. Given that the system is vulnerable to abuse, and given the extreme harm any action by DCS causes to families, I would assume any degree of failure to comply with the smallest infraction of personal rights would result in mandatory review. Even one day of parent-child separation in the absence of reasonable cause for a felony arrest should result in severe penalties to those involved in the action. It appears to me, that like all bureaucracies, DCS is prone to interpret every case as legitimate. This is not an accusation against DCS. It is a statement about the nature of bureaucracies, and the need for ADDED scrutiny of all bureaucratic actions. Frankly, I question the constitutionality of bureaucracies in general, because their power is delegated, and therefore unaccountable. No Government action can be unaccountable if we want to avoid its eventual degeneration into irrelevance and lawlessness, and the law of the jungle. Our Constitution is the source of all Government power, and it is the contract that legitimizes all Government power. To the extent that its various protections against intrusion are set aside, so is the power afforded by that contract. Eventually overstepping the limits of power eliminates that power, as a law of nature. Even total tyranny eventually crumbles to nothing.

  4. Being dedicated to a genre keeps it alive until the masses catch up to the "trend." Kent and Bill are keepin' it LIVE!! Thank you gentlemen..you know your JAZZ.

  5. Hemp has very little THC which is needed to kill cancer cells! Growing cannabis plants for THC inside a hemp field will not work...where is the fear? From not really knowing about Cannabis and Hemp or just not listening to the people teaching you through testimonies and packets of info over the last few years! Wake up Hoosier law makers!

ADVERTISEMENT