Opinion

DTCI: Note from the defense - Stop the 'unnecessary roughness'

July 4, 2012
From DTCI
While I am sure this writing could be deemed just another one that promotes civility, and while I am sure that there is a long list of ethical rules that promote that, too, I cite none here. I simply say this: Stop the (to use a football phrase) “unnecessary roughness.” I am hereby throwing a “flag on the play.”
More

BGBC Partners: Fraud can happen anywhere without prevention measures

July 4, 2012
Small businesses historically have suffered disproportionately larger losses due to fraud than larger organizations.
More

Start Page: 5 tips to better manage your digital data

June 20, 2012
Kim Brand
Kim Brand scolds you for your bloated inbox, chaotic file system and unkempt photos but offers tips to manage all that digital data.
More

Technology Untangled: Samsung 7-inch tablet fills a portable niche

June 6, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will review the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0. The first two things that caught my attention were the low $250 price and the small 7-inch size.
More

Federal Bar Update: 6-month update on changes to removal statutes

June 6, 2012
John Maley
As readers will recall, the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act of 2011 took effect Jan. 6. Since the act took effect, it has been cited by name in 13 reported decisions, most of which simply deal with the effective date of the act.
More

Finney: Give power to your point at trial

May 23, 2012
Deanna Finney writes about using PowerPoint as a trial presentation tool.
More

Column: Practical and legal differences of class and mass actions

May 23, 2012
Scott Starr and Mario Massillamany write about what to consider when decided whether to file a class- or mass-action case.
More

Lucas: Judges say all young lawyers face challenges

May 23, 2012
Kelly Lucas
My seat at the recent Indiana Supreme Court Bar Admission Ceremony provided a perfect vantage point to witness the mix of emotions young lawyers feel when they have the opportunity to present themselves for the first time to members of the state’s highest-ranking courts.
More

Sidebars: Indianapolis pizza place provides different lunch option

May 23, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Coal Pizza Company 3.25 gavels!
More

Behind the News: Vaunted attorney Conour has lots of explaining to do

May 23, 2012
Greg Andrews
A large question looms in the wake of the April 27 announcement that Bill Conour has been charged in a federal criminal complaint with misappropriating more than $2.5 million in client funds from December 2000 to March 2012. If the 64-year-old is indeed guilty of the wire-fraud charge he faces, where did all the money go?
More

Terms of Art: effecting viral social change

May 9, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about Indianapolis attorney Kenan L. Farrell and his work with the arts community.
More

McGoff: Go on vacation

May 9, 2012
Sharon McGoff writes about why our bodies need vacations and how to take one.
More

Inbox: Balancing the scales of justice

May 9, 2012
A letter from Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller on his brother, a well-known criminal defense attorney.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Is it time for an electoral college for judges?

May 9, 2012
David Dreyer
Some people just do not like judges. But according to Indiana University Maurer School of Law professor Charles Geyh, most people do – at least up to a point.
More

DTCI: Take a moment to breathe before hitting 'send'

May 9, 2012
Robert Thornburg writes about civility among the legal profession.
More

Start Page: Going paperless doesn't have to be painful

May 9, 2012
Kim Brand
You promised your-self this would be the year you went “paperless.” The year is half over. How’s that working out for you?
More

Indiana Lawyer announces Leadership in Law honorees

April 25, 2012
Kelly Lucas
The nominations received tell the story of impressive court victories and decisions that have had an impact on Indiana law. But even more telling is the passion that comes through in many of the nomination packets and letters of recommendation from colleagues, peers and even adversaries who say they are better lawyers for having worked with the individual nominated.
More

Sidebars: Restaurant's sandwiches fail to impress diners

April 25, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Forkey's in Martinsville 1.5 gavels!
More

Dean's Desk: Effective legal education depends on strong partnerships

April 11, 2012
Hannah Buxbaum
To be effective and relevant, law education must provide students with a bridge to a legal career. Building this bridge between law schools and law practice calls for strong and successful partnerships among law schools, practicing lawyers and other professionals. At Indiana University Maurer School of Law, we are committed to the pursuit of these partnerships.
More

Start Page: Follow 5 email commandments to streamline use

April 11, 2012
Kim Brand
You are an email sinner. Follow these 5 email commandments to turn your email messaging life around.
More

Federal Bar Update: Uniform Case Management Plan changes

April 11, 2012
John Maley
The Southern District of Indiana recently modified two sections of the court’s Uniform Case Management Plan regarding experts.
More

Quality of Life: 10 tips for living a happier and healthier life

March 28, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
It is March, so if you are like me, all of your New Year’s resolutions have been abandoned.
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame expands course, clinical offerings

March 14, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
Dean Nell Jessup Newton writes about how Notre Dame Law School is working to prepare students for the practice of law.
More

Technology Untangled: Need parking or eBook? Your phone can help

March 14, 2012
Stephen Bour
With iPhones and Android smartphones, there are plenty of apps to help you navigate to where you want to go – except for that last crucial distance to an open parking spot. One of our topics in this column is a new technology that helps you find a parking spot with your smartphone. I’ll also describe how to download free eBooks.
More

IL celebrates 22 years covering legal community

March 14, 2012
Kelly Lucas
You may not have realized it, but with this issue of the Indiana Lawyer – Volume 23, Number 1 – we celebrate an anniversary.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Two cops shot execution style in NYC. Was it first amendment protest, or was it incitement to lawlessness? Some are keeping track of the body bags: http://www.breitbart.com/big-government/2014/12/13/al-sharpton-leads-thousands-in-saturday-march-on-washington-dc/

  2. From the MCBA: “This situation is not just about the death of Michael Brown, but the thousands of other African-Americans who are disproportionately targeted and killed by police officers.” The association said it was “saddened and disappointed” by the decision not to indict Ferguson police officer. HOPING that the MCBA will denouce the execution style killig of two NYC police officers this day, seemingly the act of one who likewise believes that the police are targeting blacks for murder and getting away with it. http://www.mediaite.com/online/two-nypd-cops-fatally-shot-in-ambush-in-brooklyn/ Pray this violence soon ends, and pray it stays far away from Indiana.

  3. "Am I bugging you? I don't mean to bug ya." If what I wrote below is too much social philosophy for Indiana attorneys, just take ten this vacay to watch The Lego Movie with kiddies and sing along where appropriate: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etzMjoH0rJw

  4. I've got some free speech to share here about who is at work via the cat's paw of the ACLU stamping out Christian observances.... 2 Thessalonians chap 2: "And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as a human word, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe. For you, brothers and sisters, became imitators of God’s churches in Judea, which are in Christ Jesus: You suffered from your own people the same things those churches suffered from the Jews who killed the Lord Jesus and the prophets and also drove us out. They displease God and are hostile to everyone in their effort to keep us from speaking to the Gentiles so that they may be saved. In this way they always heap up their sins to the limit. The wrath of God has come upon them at last."

  5. Did someone not tell people who have access to the Chevy Volts that it has a gas engine and will run just like a normal car? The batteries give the Volt approximately a 40 mile range, but after that the gas engine will propel the vehicle either directly through the transmission like any other car, or gas engine recharges the batteries depending on the conditions.

ADVERTISEMENT