Opinion

Technology Untangled: Blu-ray players also stream Internet video

September 14, 2011
Stephen Bour
Stephen Bour takes a look into a HD Blu-ray disc player to expand his viewing options.
More

Federal Bar Update: Comments accepted on Rule 45 amendmentsRestricted Content

September 14, 2011
John Maley
John Maley discusses proposed rule amendments and a study on 12(b)(6) motions.
More

Terms of Art: From death row to SoHo

September 14, 2011
Wandini Riggins
Attorney Wandini Riggins writes about lawyer Rhonda Long-Sharp, who has a gallery in Indianapolis and plans to open others in Detroit and New York.
More

IL Editorial: The cynic asks: yVote! or why vote?

August 31, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Marion County Clerk Beth White has started her yVote! program, which we believe to be a wonderful undertaking. She travels to any Marion County high school that will have her in to teach civics.
More

Sidebars: When in Buffalo, eat wings

August 17, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Fred Vaiana gives Anchor Bar in Buffalo, NY 4 gavels!
More

Technology Untangled: QR codes provide quick info for smartphones

July 20, 2011
Stephen Bour
While relatively new to smartphones, this type of two-dimensional matrix barcode has actually been in existence since 1994.
More

Nordstrom: Book disappoints seasoned jury consultant

July 20, 2011
Rodney Nordstrom
Trial consultant Rodney Nordstrom reviews "The Micro-script Rules."
More

SIDEBARS: A serving of history at the Pioneer Village

July 20, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys Jim Voyles and Jennifer Lukemeyer joined guests and Pioneer Village volunteers at an annual supper held as a prelude to the state fair in August.
More

Terms of Art: Attorney is a 'study in contrasts'

July 20, 2011
Wandini Riggins
Author Wandini Riggins writes about Norman G. Tabler, Indiana University Health's senior vice president and general counsel.
More

Barnes used as excuse to challenge merit selection

June 22, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We surmised it would only be a matter of time before the clamor began, but we were a little taken aback at how few days passed after the Indiana Supreme Court decision in Barnes v. State was issued before a legislator told us he would put together a proposal to change the merit selection process that’s been in place for our appellate courts for nearly 40 years.
More

Sidebars: 'A Taste of Europe' found in Indianapolis

June 22, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys Jennifer Lukemeyer and Frederick Vaiana give the grocer three gavels.
More

DTCI: A refresher in insurance defense client and company reporting

June 22, 2011
Communication is vital to maintaining ethical obligation, professionalism, and civility in client representation.
More

Guest columnist: Indiana's texting ban is flawed and unenforceable

June 8, 2011
Indiana attorney Chris Pearcy discusses the new law banning texting while driving in Indiana, which takes effect July 1.
More

Nordstrom: Author provides jury selection strategies

May 25, 2011
Rodney Nordstrom
Rodney Nordstrom writes about the book "Principles and Practice of Trial Consultation."
More

Valuing a business is not an exact science

May 25, 2011
Authors Howard I. Gross, Steven W. Reed, and Erika M. Gowan of BGBC Partners, write about determining a business' worth.
More

Editorial: Threats are inappropriate way to voice an opinion

May 25, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
What we want to address here is the troubling descent into madness that has appeared alongside the reasonable discourse on the subject of the recent Indiana Supreme Court decision Barnes v. State .
More

Sidebars: Tavern on South gains favorable ruling

May 25, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
The authors give Tavern on South in Indianapolis 3 1/2 gavels.
More

DTCI: The anatomy of jobsite accident claims

May 25, 2011
From DTCI
In the unfortunate event of a construction jobsite accident that results in bodily injury or, in the worst-case scenario, a fatality, the resulting claims and litigation can be extremely complex. Construction jobsite accident claims often play out as follows.
More

Justices reverse forfeiture of truck

April 27, 2011
Jennifer Nelson
The Indiana Supreme Court agreed with the lower appellate court that a man’s truck shouldn’t have been lost in a civil forfeiture action because the state didn’t prove any substantial connection between the truck and the commission of a crime.
More

Technology Untangled: Use caution with PC speed-up software

April 27, 2011
Stephen Bour
It seems like just about everyone feels like their PC is running slowly, or it is slowing down compared to when it was new. It doesn’t really matter how fast your newest PC is, the desire for faster and smoother operation is a common thread of complaint. Software vendors are well aware of this.
More

Editorial: Lake Co. merit selection is back on the table

April 27, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
It’s at the end of House Bill 1266, and we have no idea whether the legislation has a chance at passage by the April 29 session deadline, but we had to go back and read it twice before we believed what we were seeing.
More

Sidebars: Savor the taste of Italy in Shelby County

April 27, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Panzarotti's Italian Cafe 3 gavels!
More

In-box: Hat club needs more members

April 27, 2011
A reader responds to a column by Mickey Maurer.
More

In-box: Bigotry and prejudice must be fought

April 27, 2011
A letter to the editor on Mickey Maurer's column on diversity.
More

In-box: Don't we have more pressing business?

April 27, 2011
A reader writes in about a diversity column by Mickey Maurer.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Bill Satterlee is, indeed, a true jazz aficionado. Part of my legal career was spent as an associate attorney with Hoeppner, Wagner & Evans in Valparaiso. Bill was instrumental (no pun intended) in introducing me to jazz music, thereby fostering my love for this genre. We would, occasionally, travel to Chicago on weekends and sit in on some outstanding jazz sessions at Andy's on Hubbard Street. Had it not been for Bill's love of jazz music, I never would have had the good fortune of hearing it played live at Andy's. And, most likely, I might never have begun listening to it as much as I do. Thanks, Bill.

  2. The child support award is many times what the custodial parent earns, and exceeds the actual costs of providing for the children's needs. My fiance and I have agreed that if we divorce, that the children will be provided for using a shared checking account like this one(http://www.mediate.com/articles/if_they_can_do_parenting_plans.cfm) to avoid the hidden alimony in Indiana's child support guidelines.

  3. Fiat justitia ruat caelum is a Latin legal phrase, meaning "Let justice be done though the heavens fall." The maxim signifies the belief that justice must be realized regardless of consequences.

  4. Indiana up holds this behavior. the state police know they got it made.

  5. Additional Points: -Civility in the profession: Treating others with respect will not only move others to respect you, it will show a shared respect for the legal system we are all sworn to protect. When attorneys engage in unnecessary personal attacks, they lose the respect and favor of judges, jurors, the person being attacked, and others witnessing or reading the communication. It's not always easy to put anger aside, but if you don't, you will lose respect, credibility, cases, clients & jobs or job opportunities. -Read Rule 22 of the Admission & Discipline Rules. Capture that spirit and apply those principles in your daily work. -Strive to represent clients in a manner that communicates the importance you place on the legal matter you're privileged to handle for them. -There are good lawyers of all ages, but no one is perfect. Older lawyers can learn valuable skills from younger lawyers who tend to be more adept with new technologies that can improve work quality and speed. Older lawyers have already tackled more legal issues and worked through more of the problems encountered when representing clients on various types of legal matters. If there's mutual respect and a willingness to learn from each other, it will help make both attorneys better lawyers. -Erosion of the public trust in lawyers wears down public confidence in the rule of law. Always keep your duty to the profession in mind. -You can learn so much by asking questions & actively listening to instructions and advice from more experienced attorneys, regardless of how many years or decades you've each practiced law. Don't miss out on that chance.

ADVERTISEMENT