Opinion

Start Page: 5 tips to better manage your digital data

June 20, 2012
Kim Brand
Kim Brand scolds you for your bloated inbox, chaotic file system and unkempt photos but offers tips to manage all that digital data.
More

Technology Untangled: Samsung 7-inch tablet fills a portable niche

June 6, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will review the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0. The first two things that caught my attention were the low $250 price and the small 7-inch size.
More

Federal Bar Update: 6-month update on changes to removal statutes

June 6, 2012
John Maley
As readers will recall, the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act of 2011 took effect Jan. 6. Since the act took effect, it has been cited by name in 13 reported decisions, most of which simply deal with the effective date of the act.
More

Finney: Give power to your point at trial

May 23, 2012
Deanna Finney writes about using PowerPoint as a trial presentation tool.
More

Column: Practical and legal differences of class and mass actions

May 23, 2012
Scott Starr and Mario Massillamany write about what to consider when decided whether to file a class- or mass-action case.
More

Lucas: Judges say all young lawyers face challenges

May 23, 2012
Kelly Lucas
My seat at the recent Indiana Supreme Court Bar Admission Ceremony provided a perfect vantage point to witness the mix of emotions young lawyers feel when they have the opportunity to present themselves for the first time to members of the state’s highest-ranking courts.
More

Sidebars: Indianapolis pizza place provides different lunch option

May 23, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Coal Pizza Company 3.25 gavels!
More

Behind the News: Vaunted attorney Conour has lots of explaining to do

May 23, 2012
Greg Andrews
A large question looms in the wake of the April 27 announcement that Bill Conour has been charged in a federal criminal complaint with misappropriating more than $2.5 million in client funds from December 2000 to March 2012. If the 64-year-old is indeed guilty of the wire-fraud charge he faces, where did all the money go?
More

Terms of Art: effecting viral social change

May 9, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about Indianapolis attorney Kenan L. Farrell and his work with the arts community.
More

McGoff: Go on vacation

May 9, 2012
Sharon McGoff writes about why our bodies need vacations and how to take one.
More

Inbox: Balancing the scales of justice

May 9, 2012
A letter from Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller on his brother, a well-known criminal defense attorney.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Is it time for an electoral college for judges?

May 9, 2012
David Dreyer
Some people just do not like judges. But according to Indiana University Maurer School of Law professor Charles Geyh, most people do – at least up to a point.
More

DTCI: Take a moment to breathe before hitting 'send'

May 9, 2012
Robert Thornburg writes about civility among the legal profession.
More

Start Page: Going paperless doesn't have to be painful

May 9, 2012
Kim Brand
You promised your-self this would be the year you went “paperless.” The year is half over. How’s that working out for you?
More

Indiana Lawyer announces Leadership in Law honorees

April 25, 2012
Kelly Lucas
The nominations received tell the story of impressive court victories and decisions that have had an impact on Indiana law. But even more telling is the passion that comes through in many of the nomination packets and letters of recommendation from colleagues, peers and even adversaries who say they are better lawyers for having worked with the individual nominated.
More

Sidebars: Restaurant's sandwiches fail to impress diners

April 25, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Forkey's in Martinsville 1.5 gavels!
More

Dean's Desk: Effective legal education depends on strong partnerships

April 11, 2012
Hannah Buxbaum
To be effective and relevant, law education must provide students with a bridge to a legal career. Building this bridge between law schools and law practice calls for strong and successful partnerships among law schools, practicing lawyers and other professionals. At Indiana University Maurer School of Law, we are committed to the pursuit of these partnerships.
More

Start Page: Follow 5 email commandments to streamline use

April 11, 2012
Kim Brand
You are an email sinner. Follow these 5 email commandments to turn your email messaging life around.
More

Federal Bar Update: Uniform Case Management Plan changes

April 11, 2012
John Maley
The Southern District of Indiana recently modified two sections of the court’s Uniform Case Management Plan regarding experts.
More

Quality of Life: 10 tips for living a happier and healthier life

March 28, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
It is March, so if you are like me, all of your New Year’s resolutions have been abandoned.
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame expands course, clinical offerings

March 14, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
Dean Nell Jessup Newton writes about how Notre Dame Law School is working to prepare students for the practice of law.
More

Technology Untangled: Need parking or eBook? Your phone can help

March 14, 2012
Stephen Bour
With iPhones and Android smartphones, there are plenty of apps to help you navigate to where you want to go – except for that last crucial distance to an open parking spot. One of our topics in this column is a new technology that helps you find a parking spot with your smartphone. I’ll also describe how to download free eBooks.
More

IL celebrates 22 years covering legal community

March 14, 2012
Kelly Lucas
You may not have realized it, but with this issue of the Indiana Lawyer – Volume 23, Number 1 – we celebrate an anniversary.
More

McGoff: Take care of your most valuable asset

March 14, 2012
We all have excuses for not taking care of ourselves: too busy, too tired, don’t know where to begin, don’t know how to relax/de-stress. Let’s get past these excuses, one choice at a time.
More

Sidebars: Restaurant built on lifelong family traditions

March 14, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Jennifer Lukemeyer and Fredrick Vaiana give Maxine's Chicken and Waffles three gavels on the food but four when it comes to the motivation of those honoring Maxine and Ollie’s obvious love for their children.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. It's a big fat black mark against the US that they radicalized a lot of these Afghan jihadis in the 80s to fight the soviets and then when they predictably got around to biting the hand that fed them, the US had to invade their homelands, install a bunch of corrupt drug kingpins and kleptocrats, take these guys and torture the hell out of them. Why for example did the US have to sodomize them? Dubya said "they hate us for our freedoms!" Here, try some of that freedom whether you like it or not!!! Now they got even more reasons to hate us-- lets just keep bombing the crap out of their populations, installing more puppet regimes, arming one faction against another, etc etc etc.... the US is becoming a monster. No wonder they hate us. Here's my modest recommendation. How about we follow "Just War" theory in the future. St Augustine had it right. How about we treat these obvious prisoners of war according to the Geneva convention instead of torturing them in sadistic and perverted ways.

  2. As usual, John is "spot-on." The subtle but poignant points he makes are numerous and warrant reflection by mediators and users. Oh but were it so simple.

  3. ACLU. Way to step up against the police state. I see a lot of things from the ACLU I don't like but this one is a gold star in its column.... instead of fighting it the authorities should apologize and back off.

  4. Duncan, It's called the RIGHT OF ASSOCIATION and in the old days people believed it did apply to contracts and employment. Then along came title vii.....that aside, I believe that I am free to work or not work for whomever I like regardless: I don't need a law to tell me I'm free. The day I really am compelled to ignore all the facts of social reality in my associations and I blithely go along with it, I'll be a slave of the state. That day is not today......... in the meantime this proposed bill would probably be violative of 18 usc sec 1981 that prohibits discrimination in contracts... a law violated regularly because who could ever really expect to enforce it along the millions of contracts made in the marketplace daily? Some of these so-called civil rights laws are unenforceable and unjust Utopian Social Engineering. Forcing people to love each other will never work.

  5. I am the father of a sweet little one-year-old named girl, who happens to have Down Syndrome. To anyone who reads this who may be considering the decision to terminate, please know that your child will absolutely light up your life as my daughter has the lives of everyone around her. There is no part of me that condones abortion of a child on the basis that he/she has or might have Down Syndrome. From an intellectual standpoint, however, I question the enforceability of this potential law. As it stands now, the bill reads in relevant part as follows: "A person may not intentionally perform or attempt to perform an abortion . . . if the person knows that the pregnant woman is seeking the abortion solely because the fetus has been diagnosed with Down syndrome or a potential diagnosis of Down syndrome." It includes similarly worded provisions abortion on "any other disability" or based on sex selection. It goes so far as to make the medical provider at least potentially liable for wrongful death. First, how does a medical provider "know" that "the pregnant woman is seeking the abortion SOLELY" because of anything? What if the woman says she just doesn't want the baby - not because of the diagnosis - she just doesn't want him/her? Further, how can the doctor be liable for wrongful death, when a Child Wrongful Death claim belongs to the parents? Is there any circumstance in which the mother's comparative fault will not exceed the doctor's alleged comparative fault, thereby barring the claim? If the State wants to discourage women from aborting their children because of a Down Syndrome diagnosis, I'm all for that. Purporting to ban it with an unenforceable law, however, is not the way to effectuate this policy.

ADVERTISEMENT