Opinion

In-box: Improving the way courts do business

March 2, 2011
Indiana courts are tackling a giant technology project. It matters because it affects both our efficiency and your ability to access court information for free. Right now, our state’s 400 trial courts don’t share case information with each other or with state agencies in the electronic ways that are so common in modern life. There are 21 different computer systems managing court information in our state. As you can imagine, we believe that is a bad business practice and we’re working to do better.
More

Salinas: Senate Bill 590 is a step back for Indiana

March 2, 2011
I believe that members of Indiana’s legal profession have a duty to voice their concerns when laws are proposed that could dramatically affect the civil liberties of individuals living in Indiana. Think about it, what if you could have voiced your opinion when laws imposing poll taxes or prohibitions against interracial marriages were being considered in some state legislatures. Would you have done it?
More

Editorial: All who serve as judges should be lawyers

February 16, 2011
Judges Mark Stoner and Terry Shewmaker explain why a proposed bill would protect Hoosiers' rights by making sure that law-trained judges preside over all cases in Indiana.
More

Sidebars: Court House Grounds serves up 'comfort' food

February 16, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Authors give Danville restaurant three gavels.
More

Letters to a New Lawyer: Building blocks for a successful legal career

February 16, 2011
After practicing law for nearly four decades, it is a joy to share some thoughts with new lawyers who are beginning their practice.
More

Editorial: Home is where the heart is for Mr. Copsey

February 2, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We often think of law enforcement officers and firefighters as first-responder types who venture into situations where others are reluctant to go. We’d like to expand the definition of first responder a bit, and bring your attention to an Indianapolis lawyer who after retiring from his day job years ago decided he wasn’t quite done practicing law.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Incivility Anonymous - help is availableRestricted Content

February 2, 2011
David Dreyer
Judge David Dreyer discusses being an uncivil-holic.
More

Technology Untangled: Dropbox offers simple file storage and sharing

February 2, 2011
Stephen Bour
If you find that you are often having to e-mail files to yourself or are constantly transferring files via USB drive, then Dropbox online file storage and syncing may be for you.
More

Editorial: Subpoenas for advocates raise concerns

January 19, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
In our culture, someone accused of a crime gets a vigorous defense to make certain all of the accused person’s constitutional rights are protected. This is as it should be. Those faced with the loss of their liberty or life deserve no less than the best defense that can be put forth.
More

Sidebars: Detour off U.S. 31 to Big Mike's Cafe

January 19, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Nestled in a bland little strip mall just north of 96th Street on College Avenue, Big Mike’s Café is worth the small detour it takes to get there.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District amends civil and criminal rules

January 19, 2011
John Maley
Effective Jan. 1, the Southern District of Indiana amended three local rules affecting civil practice, plus Local Criminal Rule 13.1 affecting criminal practice and sentencing (see the court’s website for the text of all rule changes).
More

Letters to a New Lawyer: Laying the groundwork for private practice

January 19, 2011
Attorney Donald Doxsee offers advice on opening a private practice.
More

Sidebars: Find a little Mardi Gras any time at The Bar

December 22, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give The Bar 3 gavels!
More

Federal Bar Update: Dec. 1 rule changes now in effect

December 22, 2010
John Maley
As previewed in prior columns, effective Dec. 1 various amendments took effect to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (as well as appellate, criminal, and evidence rules).
More

Editorial: Election Day 2010 provides cause for concern

December 8, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Here's to hoping reason and sanity will prevail, but we're not holding our breath.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Protect 'We (All) the People'Restricted Content

December 8, 2010
David Dreyer
Judge David Dreyer writes about judges doing their jobs on controversial topics.
More

In-box: Marion County slating system works well

December 8, 2010
A reader writes a letter in support of Marion County's hybrid method of selecting trial judges.
More

Techology Untangled: The Android alternative to the iPhone

December 8, 2010
Stephen Bour
Today’s review will discuss the latest Droid phones by Motorola and their Android software.
More

Viewpoint: I hope you read this

November 24, 2010
An anonymous young lawyer in Indianapolis discusses her anxiety issues and the Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program.
More

DTCI: Medical Negligence vs. Premises Liability

November 24, 2010
From DTCI
When a patient is harmed during a medical procedure, a patient may elect to file a medical negligence claim against his physician and the health care facility in which the procedure occurred. However, when a patient is harmed during a hospitalization, should the claim still be pursued as one of medical negligence or is it more appropriately a premises liability claim?
More

Sidebars: Gamba Ristorante consistently top notch

November 24, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys give Merrillville's Gamba Ristorante four gavels.
More

Editorial: Human trafficking is local issue

November 10, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
It’s a silent and devastating problem going on right under our noses, and it’s going to take courage and a willingness to ask invasive and uncomfortable questions to stop it.
More

Editorial: Ted Boehm not headed toward retirement

October 27, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
This was one retirement ceremony we were not looking forward to attending, fearing that the gentleman stepping away from the bench would slip away from public life and live quietly with his family, indulging his interests outside the law, while working as a mediator at Van Winkle Baten Rimstidt and senior judging for the Indiana Court of Appeals.
More

Sidebars: Landmark serves up more than history

October 27, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Lukemeyer and Vaiana visit Zaharakos in Columbus, Ind.
More

DTCI: Take time to smell flowers along the way

October 27, 2010
Jeffrey Crabill
When the name Rabb Emison comes to my mind, I immediately think of the word “great.”
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Future generations will be amazed that we prosecuted people for possessing a harmless plant. The New York Times came out in favor of legalization in Saturday's edition of the newspaper.

  2. Well, maybe it's because they are unelected, and, they have a tendency to strike down laws by elected officials from all over the country. When you have been taught that "Democracy" is something almost sacred, then, you will have a tendency to frown on such imperious conduct. Lawyers get acculturated in law school into thinking that this is the very essence of high minded government, but to people who are more heavily than King George ever did, they may not like it. Thanks for the information.

  3. I pd for a bankruptcy years ago with Mr Stiles and just this week received a garnishment from my pay! He never filed it even though he told me he would! Don't let this guy practice law ever again!!!

  4. Excellent initiative on the part of the AG. Thankfully someone takes action against predators taking advantage of people who have already been through the wringer. Well done!

  5. Conour will never turn these funds over to his defrauded clients. He tearfully told the court, and his daughters dutifully pledged in interviews, that his first priority is to repay every dime of the money he stole from his clients. Judge Young bought it, much to the chagrin of Conour’s victims. Why would Conour need the $2,262 anyway? Taxpayers are now supporting him, paying for his housing, utilities, food, healthcare, and clothing. If Conour puts the money anywhere but in the restitution fund, he’s proved, once again, what a con artist he continues to be and that he has never had any intention of repaying his clients. Judge Young will be proven wrong... again; Conour has no remorse and the Judge is one of the many conned.

ADVERTISEMENT