Opinion

Start Page: Not so wonderful wireless comes with hitches

September 11, 2013
Kim Brand
The last personal computer you bought probably wasn’t a PC. It was a ‘mobile’ device – a tablet or laptop or smartphone. The common denominator of these devices is their dependence on wireless connectivity to your local area network and/or the Internet. The ‘jack’ is gone.
More

Dean's Desk: Dean excited to teach, interact more with students this semester

July 31, 2013
Nell Jessup Netwon
I am sitting at my desk, back from vacation, swamped under the combination of the paperwork that accrued while I was gone and what seems like an unusual amount of pre-term work. I am realizing that I am also just four weeks away from teaching a four-credit contracts course for the first time in 10 years and wondering “What was I thinking?” Although some professors can glance at their notes, stroll into class and conduct a brilliant session, I’ve always been the kind that has to review everything, rewrite my notes and build up a certain level of anxiety before teaching, like the actor who falls flat if she doesn’t experience stage fright. In other words, I’ve signed up for what could be a world of pain in the fall semester of 2013.
More

Hammerle On: Hammerle pays tribute to colleague’s spirit and humor

July 31, 2013
Robert Hammerle
In this issue, Robert Hammerle reviews “The Way Way Back” and also remembers C. Joseph Russell, an Indianapolis attorney who died July 17.
More

Stevenson: Plane crash litigation may improve travel safety

July 31, 2013
Modern airliners are filled with technology that has made flying safer than ever. According to MIT statistics professor Arnold Barnett, in the last five years, the death rate for airline passengers in the United States has been one in 45 million flights. At that rate, a passenger could fly daily for an average of 123,000 years before being involved in a fatal crash. While technology such as GPS and auto-landing systems has minimized the chance for human error, especially in poor-visibility landing conditions, there is a drawback. Asiana Flight 214 is likely to become a prime example of how technology can actually cause aviation disasters instead of preventing them. Flight 214’s collision with the seawall just short of the runway at San Francisco International Airport demonstrates what can happen when technology does not work as intended.
More

Lucas: Send us your 2014 Leadership in Law award nominations

July 31, 2013
Kelly Lucas
Regardless of our career paths, we’ve all experienced a moment when we’ve watched a peer in action – doing his or her job and doing it very well – and the realization came that this person truly is a role model for our respective professions. Whether the admiration you feel is the result of a big win in court and is splashed across newspapers and TV screens, or the quiet day-to-day way the person works with clients and mentors young lawyers, the Indiana Lawyer would like to recognize the work ethic and dedication that makes certain lawyers stand out.
More

In-Box: Reader responds concerning proposed changes to state's bar exam

July 31, 2013
New lawyer responds to Indiana Lawyer about changes being considered to state's bar exam.
More

Hammerle on ... 'The Lone Ranger,' 'The Heat'

July 17, 2013
Robert Hammerle
On "The Heat," Bob Hammerle says isn't vulgarity a priceless work of art if done with energy and style?
More

Technology Untangled: GoToMyPC for iPad or Android has some shortcomings

July 17, 2013
Stephen Bour
Today’s article will look at lightening the travel load by using an iPad to remotely access your computers back at home and the office. This is accomplished with the mobile device versions of GoToMyPC.
More

Living Fit: Every step leads you in the right direction to better health

July 17, 2013
Sharon McGoff
Of course, we all know that a sedentary lifestyle leads to heart disease, stroke, cancer, diabetes, muscle stiffness, poor balance, depression, anxiety, insomnia, high blood pressure, lung disease, weight gain, lethargy, and back, neck and hip pain. But we are largely (pun intended) unaware that exercise alone will not eliminate the health risks associated with too much sitting.
More

Kohlhaas: Notable changes to Indiana’s Parenting Time Guidelines

July 17, 2013
Michael Kohlhaas points out notable changes to the Indiana Parenting Time Guidelines, including to school breaks.
More

BGBC: ‘RAIDS’ may be behind spouse’s drop in income

July 17, 2013
In family disputes, we’re often faced with a dilemma in which the supporting spouse’s income suddenly and/or dramatically decreases without valid support or explanation. In the valuation industry, this disorder is commonly known as “R.A.I.D.S.” or Recently Acquired Income Deficiency Syndrome.
More

Sidebars: Fort Wayne eatery provides tasty respite from depositions

July 3, 2013
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Don Hall’s Old Gas House 3 gavels!
More

Bell/Gaerte: SCOTUS guides trial courts’ involvement in plea offers

July 3, 2013
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
In the last term, the United States Supreme Court, in Missouri v. Frye, 132 S. Ct. 1399 (2012), took a small step toward inviting trial courts into plea negotiations.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District starts pilot program for employment cases

July 3, 2013
John Maley
The Southern District of Indiana has been experimenting this year with a pilot program for certain employment cases. The only eligible cases are individual Title VII, ADA and ADEA actions.
More

Hammerle on … 'The East,' 'The Purge'

July 3, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends you see "The East" to find out how domestic terrorists can be the good guys.
More

Lucas: Ever wonder ‘What do reporters really want?’

June 19, 2013
Kelly Lucas
Lucas offers a few suggestions to a list created about what reporters want - and don't want - when interviewing attorneys.
More

Start Page: Prepare your firm for a disaster before one strikes

June 19, 2013
Kim Brand
You don’t need to be a technology expert to understand disaster planning. In fact, it may be an advantage not to be.
More

Hammerle on … 'Frances Ha,' 'Fast & Furious 6'

June 19, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Hammerle's take on "Frances Ha": This is a movie that every woman should see who remembers the thrill and torment of being 27.
More

DTCI: Perception and psychology shape interactions

June 5, 2013
Kevin Tyra
Kevin Tyra takes a look at how how perception and psychology shape interactions in general, and interactions among adverse lawyers in particular.
More

Hammerle on ... 'The Company You Keep', 'Star Trek Into Darkness'

June 5, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says that "Start Trek Into Darkness" captures all the goofy charm that made the TV series so lovable.
More

Technology Untangled: GoPro action cam for work and summer fun

June 5, 2013
Stephen Bour
The summer vacation season is upon us, so today’s article will review a camera that you may find both useful and fun for your summer adventures. This camera is also useful for video documentation functions at work. It provides a superior video to the typical cell phone.
More

Inbox: Court guts medical hearsay exception for children

May 22, 2013
Laurie Gray, a former prosecutor, writes about the recent Indiana Supreme Court decision's impact on medical hearsay exception for child victims.
More

Hammerle on...'The Great Gatsby,' 'Iron Man 3'

May 22, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends you see "The Great Gatsby" on the big screen.
More

Start Page: Fighting interruption addiction, continued

May 22, 2013
Kim Brand
In my last column, I confessed I was addicted to interruptions: email, voice mail, texts, phone calls, Twitter feeds, etc. Studies have shown multitasking lowers IQ.
More

Finney: The OneNote tool you actually need

May 22, 2013
In this on-demand era of instant gratification, we expect that information should always be at our fingertips. Our time is precious and we all want others to respect that fact; in return doesn’t that mean we should all be respectful of the time that others give to us?
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Good riddance to this dangerous activist judge

  2. What is the one thing the Hoosier legal status quo hates more than a whistleblower? A lawyer whistleblower taking on the system man to man. That must never be rewarded, must always, always, always be punished, lest the whole rotten tree be felled.

  3. I want to post this to keep this tread alive and hope more of David's former clients might come forward. In my case, this coward of a man represented me from June 2014 for a couple of months before I fired him. I knew something was wrong when he blatantly lied about what he had advised me in my contentious and unfortunate divorce trial. His impact on the proceedings cast a very long shadow and continues to impact me after a lengthy 19 month divorce. I would join a class action suit.

  4. The dispute in LB Indiana regarding lake front property rights is typical of most beach communities along our Great Lakes. Simply put, communication to non owners when visiting the lakefront would be beneficial. The Great Lakes are designated navigational waters (including shorelines). The high-water mark signifies the area one is able to navigate. This means you can walk, run, skip, etc. along the shores. You can't however loiter, camp, sunbath in front of someones property. Informational signs may be helpful to owners and visitors. Our Great Lakes are a treasure that should be enjoyed by all. PS We should all be concerned that the Long Beach, Indiana community is on septic systems.

  5. Dear Fan, let me help you correct the title to your post. "ACLU is [Left] most of the time" will render it accurate. Just google it if you doubt that I am, err, "right" about this: "By the mid-1930s, Roger Nash Baldwin had carved out a well-established reputation as America’s foremost civil libertarian. He was, at the same time, one of the nation’s leading figures in left-of-center circles. Founder and long time director of the American Civil Liberties Union, Baldwin was a firm Popular Fronter who believed that forces on the left side of the political spectrum should unite to ward off the threat posed by right-wing aggressors and to advance progressive causes. Baldwin’s expansive civil liberties perspective, coupled with his determined belief in the need for sweeping socioeconomic change, sometimes resulted in contradictory and controversial pronouncements. That made him something of a lightning rod for those who painted the ACLU with a red brush." http://www.harvardsquarelibrary.org/biographies/roger-baldwin-2/ "[George Soros underwrites the ACLU' which It supports open borders, has rushed to the defense of suspected terrorists and their abettors, and appointed former New Left terrorist Bernardine Dohrn to its Advisory Board." http://www.discoverthenetworks.org/viewSubCategory.asp?id=1237 "The creation of non-profit law firms ushered in an era of progressive public interest firms modeled after already established like the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People ("NAACP") and the American Civil Liberties Union ("ACLU") to advance progressive causes from the environmental protection to consumer advocacy." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cause_lawyering

ADVERTISEMENT