Opinion

SIDEBARS: A serving of history at the Pioneer Village

July 20, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys Jim Voyles and Jennifer Lukemeyer joined guests and Pioneer Village volunteers at an annual supper held as a prelude to the state fair in August.
More

Terms of Art: Attorney is a 'study in contrasts'

July 20, 2011
Wandini Riggins
Author Wandini Riggins writes about Norman G. Tabler, Indiana University Health's senior vice president and general counsel.
More

Barnes used as excuse to challenge merit selection

June 22, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We surmised it would only be a matter of time before the clamor began, but we were a little taken aback at how few days passed after the Indiana Supreme Court decision in Barnes v. State was issued before a legislator told us he would put together a proposal to change the merit selection process that’s been in place for our appellate courts for nearly 40 years.
More

Sidebars: 'A Taste of Europe' found in Indianapolis

June 22, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys Jennifer Lukemeyer and Frederick Vaiana give the grocer three gavels.
More

DTCI: A refresher in insurance defense client and company reporting

June 22, 2011
Communication is vital to maintaining ethical obligation, professionalism, and civility in client representation.
More

Guest columnist: Indiana's texting ban is flawed and unenforceable

June 8, 2011
Indiana attorney Chris Pearcy discusses the new law banning texting while driving in Indiana, which takes effect July 1.
More

Nordstrom: Author provides jury selection strategies

May 25, 2011
Rodney Nordstrom
Rodney Nordstrom writes about the book "Principles and Practice of Trial Consultation."
More

Valuing a business is not an exact science

May 25, 2011
Authors Howard I. Gross, Steven W. Reed, and Erika M. Gowan of BGBC Partners, write about determining a business' worth.
More

Editorial: Threats are inappropriate way to voice an opinion

May 25, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
What we want to address here is the troubling descent into madness that has appeared alongside the reasonable discourse on the subject of the recent Indiana Supreme Court decision Barnes v. State .
More

Sidebars: Tavern on South gains favorable ruling

May 25, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
The authors give Tavern on South in Indianapolis 3 1/2 gavels.
More

DTCI: The anatomy of jobsite accident claims

May 25, 2011
From DTCI
In the unfortunate event of a construction jobsite accident that results in bodily injury or, in the worst-case scenario, a fatality, the resulting claims and litigation can be extremely complex. Construction jobsite accident claims often play out as follows.
More

Justices reverse forfeiture of truck

April 27, 2011
Jennifer Nelson
The Indiana Supreme Court agreed with the lower appellate court that a man’s truck shouldn’t have been lost in a civil forfeiture action because the state didn’t prove any substantial connection between the truck and the commission of a crime.
More

Technology Untangled: Use caution with PC speed-up software

April 27, 2011
Stephen Bour
It seems like just about everyone feels like their PC is running slowly, or it is slowing down compared to when it was new. It doesn’t really matter how fast your newest PC is, the desire for faster and smoother operation is a common thread of complaint. Software vendors are well aware of this.
More

Editorial: Lake Co. merit selection is back on the table

April 27, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
It’s at the end of House Bill 1266, and we have no idea whether the legislation has a chance at passage by the April 29 session deadline, but we had to go back and read it twice before we believed what we were seeing.
More

Sidebars: Savor the taste of Italy in Shelby County

April 27, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Panzarotti's Italian Cafe 3 gavels!
More

In-box: Hat club needs more members

April 27, 2011
A reader responds to a column by Mickey Maurer.
More

In-box: Bigotry and prejudice must be fought

April 27, 2011
A letter to the editor on Mickey Maurer's column on diversity.
More

In-box: Don't we have more pressing business?

April 27, 2011
A reader writes in about a diversity column by Mickey Maurer.
More

Editorial: More of the same?

April 13, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
They’re back, and like most citizens who watch with interest the goings on in the Indiana General Assembly, we’re not sure it’s altogether a good thing.
More

In-box: Diversity is of critical importance to state

April 13, 2011
A letter to the editor on a previous column by Mickey Maurer on diversity.
More

In-box: 'Keep up the good words'

April 13, 2011
A reader responds to a column by Mickey Maurer on diversity.
More

In-box: Focus should not be on 'social issues'

April 13, 2011
A letter to the editor regarding Mickey Maurer's column on diversity.
More

Federal Bar Update: Confidentiality not always enforceableRestricted Content

April 13, 2011
John Maley
As federal practitioners know, the 7th Circuit is particularly strict about protecting public access to federal court filings.
More

Quality of Life: Techniques to help kick the worry habitRestricted Content

March 30, 2011
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Jonna Kane MacDougall offers advice on banishing the worry from your life.
More

Editorial: In this war of words, will anyone win?

March 30, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
At more than 30 days and counting, at least at Indiana Lawyer deadline, we’re not sure what will cause the Democrats elected to the Indiana House of Representatives to return to their posts at the Statehouse.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. You can put your photos anywhere you like... When someone steals it they know it doesn't belong to them. And, a man getting a divorce is automatically not a nice guy...? That's ridiculous. Since when is need of money a conflict of interest? That would mean that no one should have a job unless they are already financially solvent without a job... A photographer is also under no obligation to use a watermark (again, people know when a photo doesn't belong to them) or provide contact information. Hey, he didn't make it easy for me to pay him so I'll just take it! Well heck, might as well walk out of the grocery store with a cart full of food because the lines are too long and you don't find that convenient. "Only in Indiana." Oh, now you're passing judgement on an entire state... What state do you live in? I need to characterize everyone in your state as ignorant and opinionated. And the final bit of ignorance; assuming a photo anyone would want is lucky and then how much does your camera have to cost to make it a good photo, in your obviously relevant opinion?

  2. Seventh Circuit Court Judge Diane Wood has stated in “The Rule of Law in Times of Stress” (2003), “that neither laws nor the procedures used to create or implement them should be secret; and . . . the laws must not be arbitrary.” According to the American Bar Association, Wood’s quote drives home this point: The rule of law also requires that people can expect predictable results from the legal system; this is what Judge Wood implies when she says that “the laws must not be arbitrary.” Predictable results mean that people who act in the same way can expect the law to treat them in the same way. If similar actions do not produce similar legal outcomes, people cannot use the law to guide their actions, and a “rule of law” does not exist.

  3. Linda, I sure hope you are not seeking a law license, for such eighteenth century sentiments could result in your denial in some jurisdictions minting attorneys for our tolerant and inclusive profession.

  4. Mazel Tov to the newlyweds. And to those bakers, photographers, printers, clerks, judges and others who will lose careers and social standing for not saluting the New World (Dis)Order, we can all direct our Two Minutes of Hate as Big Brother asks of us. Progress! Onward!

  5. My daughter was taken from my home at the end of June/2014. I said I would sign the safety plan but my husband would not. My husband said he would leave the house so my daughter could stay with me but the case worker said no her mind is made up she is taking my daughter. My daughter went to a friends and then the friend filed a restraining order which she was told by dcs if she did not then they would take my daughter away from her. The restraining order was not in effect until we were to go to court. Eventually it was dropped but for 2 months DCS refused to allow me to have any contact and was using the restraining order as the reason but it was not in effect. This was Dcs violating my rights. Please help me I don't have the money for an attorney. Can anyone take this case Pro Bono?

ADVERTISEMENT