Opinion

Quality of Life: 10 tips for living a happier and healthier life

March 28, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
It is March, so if you are like me, all of your New Year’s resolutions have been abandoned.
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame expands course, clinical offerings

March 14, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
Dean Nell Jessup Newton writes about how Notre Dame Law School is working to prepare students for the practice of law.
More

Technology Untangled: Need parking or eBook? Your phone can help

March 14, 2012
Stephen Bour
With iPhones and Android smartphones, there are plenty of apps to help you navigate to where you want to go – except for that last crucial distance to an open parking spot. One of our topics in this column is a new technology that helps you find a parking spot with your smartphone. I’ll also describe how to download free eBooks.
More

IL celebrates 22 years covering legal community

March 14, 2012
Kelly Lucas
You may not have realized it, but with this issue of the Indiana Lawyer – Volume 23, Number 1 – we celebrate an anniversary.
More

McGoff: Take care of your most valuable asset

March 14, 2012
We all have excuses for not taking care of ourselves: too busy, too tired, don’t know where to begin, don’t know how to relax/de-stress. Let’s get past these excuses, one choice at a time.
More

Sidebars: Restaurant built on lifelong family traditions

March 14, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Jennifer Lukemeyer and Fredrick Vaiana give Maxine's Chicken and Waffles three gavels on the food but four when it comes to the motivation of those honoring Maxine and Ollie’s obvious love for their children.
More

Nordstrom: Book offers advice on treatment of jurors

March 14, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
The theme of the book, “Twelve Heroes, One Voice,” is why should jurors care? Why should they care enough to let go of the natural tendency to do nothing? This question is at the heart of every trial.
More

Morris: Shepard's legacy is transparent government

February 29, 2012
Greg Morris
Greg Morris writes about Indiana Chief Justice Randall Shepard receiving the Frank O'Bannon Sunshine Award.
More

Terms of Art: James Strain

February 29, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about attorney and photographer James Strain.
More

Neumann: Digital treasures play a role in estate planning

February 29, 2012
Matthew Neumann writes about how Facebook and estate planning relate.
More

Andrews: Couple accused of tax fraud turning the tables

February 29, 2012
Greg Andrews
Greg Andrews writes his "Behind the News" column about a Carmel couple's federal lawsuit stemming from a tax fraud investigation.
More

Lucas: Is diversity within the judiciary important?

February 15, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Editor Kelly Lucas wants to know whether the racial or gender diversity of candidates should be considered when evaluating candidates.
More

Badger: Free speech over the Internet put to the test

February 15, 2012
Free expression in this country has withstood repeated assault during times of political upheaval.
More

DeGroote: The new social network - return to the bar

February 15, 2012
With more demands on my time, I find myself less involved in the state, local, and firm activities and social events. Apparently, I am not alone.
More

Dean's Desk: Value and delivery in law school education

February 15, 2012
Jay Conison
Valparaiso University Law School Dean Jay Conison writes that criticizing law schools is the new national pastime.
More

Start Page: Exploring alternatives to using email

February 15, 2012
Kim Brand
Email is war – you are a prisoner. Your inbox, once littered with annoying spam, now delivers a super-abundance of information. The torrent defies your effort to organize, classify, prioritize and respond to those that are critical versus those that are merely interesting. Bad news: it’s only going to get worse.
More

Technology Untangled: Intel WiDi laptops provide wireless HDTV display

February 1, 2012
Stephen Bour
Stephen Bour looks at using WiDi for law firm and courtroom presentations.
More

BGBC: Calculating lost profits requires analysis

February 1, 2012
Computing the lost profits of a business as a result of a wrongful act is a complex task. And many times, the question to ask is: “But for” a wrongful act, what would the profits be? What would the value be?
More

Dean's Desk: Indianapolis law school enters new era

January 18, 2012
Robert H. McKinney School of Law Dean Gary R. Roberts writes about the multi-million dollar gift the Indianapolis law school received in December 2011.
More

Lucas: IL puts the call out for leaders in the law

January 18, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Lucas encourages nominations for an up-and-coming lawyer or distinguished barrister for Indiana Lawyer's Leadership in Law awards.
More

Sidebars: Super sandwich list misses the mark

January 18, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Frederick Vaiana suggests what sandwiches should have made the list of the state's top 46 sandwiches.
More

Federal Bar Update: Removal and venue changes now in effect

January 18, 2012
John Maley
Maley writes about the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act of 2011.
More

Lucas: Trial reports give glimpse into litigation strategies

January 4, 2012
The Indiana Lawyer would like to revive the trial report section of the newspaper in 2012.
More

Start Page: Protecting those pesky passwords is necessary evil

January 4, 2012
Kim Brand
Author Kim Brand says: you don’t like passwords or complicated password policies and you don’t think a secure password is worth the trouble.
More

Book review: 'Judge the Jury' looks at juror handwriting

December 21, 2011
Rodney Nordstrom
Trial consultant Rodney Nordstrom offers his thoughts on Alice Weiser's book on using graphoanalysis to pick jurors.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
2015 Distinguished Barrister &
Up and Coming Lawyer Reception

Tuesday, May 5, 2015 • 4:30 - 7:00 pm
Learn More


ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Sociologist of religion Peter Berger once said that the US is a “nation of Indians ruled by Swedes.” He meant an irreligious elite ruling a religious people, as that Sweden is the world’s least religious country and India the most religious. The idea is that American social elites tend to be much less religious than just about everyone else in the country. If this is true, it helps explain the controversy raking Indiana over Hollywood, San Fran, NYC, academia and downtown Indy hot coals. Nevermind logic, nevermind it is just the 1993 fed bill did, forget the Founders, abandon of historic dedication to religious liberty. The Swedes rule. You cannot argue with elitists. They have the power, they will use the power, sit down and shut up or feel the power. I know firsthand, having been dealt blows from the elite's high and mighty hands often as a mere religious plebe.

  2. I need helping gaining custody of my 5 and 1 year old from my alcoholic girlfriend. This should be an easy case for any lawyer to win... I've just never had the courage to take her that far. She has a record of public intox and other things. She has no job and no where to live othe than with me. But after 5 years of trying to help her with her bad habit, she has put our kids in danger by driving after drinking with them... She got detained yesterday and the police chief released my kids to me from the police station. I live paycheck to paycheck and Im under alot of stress dealing with this situation. Can anyone please help?

  3. The more a state tries to force people to associate, who don't like each other and simply want to lead separate lives, the more that state invalidates itself....... This conflict has shown clearly that the advocates of "tolerance" are themselves intolerant, the advocates of "diversity" intend to inflict themselves on an unwilling majority by force if necessary, until that people complies and relents and allows itself to be made homogenous with the politically correct preferences of the diversity-lobbies. Let's clearly understand, this is force versus force and democracy has nothing to do with this. Democracy is a false god in the first place, even if it is a valid ideal for politics, but it is becoming ever more just an empty slogan that just suckers a bunch of cattle into paying their taxes and volunteering for stupid wars.

  4. I would like to discuss a commercial litigation case. If you handle such cases, respond for more details.

  5. Great analysis, Elizabeth. Thank you for demonstrating that abortion leads, in logic and acceptance of practice, directly to infanticide. Women of the world unite, you have only your offspring to lose!

ADVERTISEMENT