Opinion

Dean's Desk: Law students benefit from alumni's professional experience

September 12, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
One of the benefits of writing this column is that it gives me time to reflect on aspects of Notre Dame Law School that are known and appreciated in South Bend and among our graduates, but are perhaps not as well known to the Indiana bench and bar.
More

Start Page: Disaster! It lurks around the corner – protect data now

September 12, 2012
Kim Brand
You are hanging by a thread and you don’t even know it. Your Internet connection is delivered by two wires that connect to a box on the outside of your office – and all that separates you from disaster is a cable removed from a jack on the wall.
More

Lucas: Make this the year to support civic education

September 12, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Indiana lawyers will have a unique opportunity to participate in a civic education program that will cast a national spotlight on our state and legal community. The 2013 National High School Mock Trial Championship will be held in Indianapolis May 9 to 11.
More

Cox: Avoid client problems by avoiding problem clients

September 12, 2012
Dina Cox
In this column, basic tips for preventing legal malpractice claims and other risk management strategies will be explored. Here are this author’s Top Ten client screening suggestions.
More

Federal Bar Update: Opinion provides insight on attorney fees in FDCPA cases

September 12, 2012
John Maley
Federal courts routinely determine fee petitions for prevailing parties in various fee-shifting cases. A recent opinion from Magistrate Judge Denise LaRue illustrates guiding principles here.
More

Technology Untangled: easy printing from phone or tablet

August 29, 2012
Stephen Bour
Stephen Bour writes about an app that makes it easy for Android users to print from their mobile devices.
More

DTCI: Throw your cell phone into the spaghetti bowl

August 29, 2012
From DTCI
James Strenski writes about why lawyers need to get away from their cell phones occasionally.
More

Quality of Life: Take action to make next year a better one

August 29, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
The drought has made MacDougall think about how people often say "next year will be better" but do nothing to make that happen.
More

Inbox: Society doesn't value genders equally

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Inbox: Sometimes it is enough to be 'good enough'

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Inbox: Personal values and experiences define 'all'

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Dean's Desk: Career planning innovation at Valparaiso Law

August 29, 2012
Jay Conison
This fall, Valparaiso Law is launching a new program that will help students organize their three years of career-related activities and complete the steps essential to fulfilling career goals. The program is provided through a mobile website named VOLT, which the school believe is the first of its kind.
More

Terms of Art: Musical background helps attorney connect with clients

August 15, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about attorney Trezanay Atikins, whose interests in music and sports led to her launching her own intellectual property firm.
More

Start Page: Tips to make Google searches more effective

August 15, 2012
Kim Brand
G-O-O-G-L-E will replace Q-W-E-R-T-Y on keyboards of the future. It has already replaced S-E-A-R-C-H. Problem is you probably aren’t very good at Google. Like a bad golf swing, without training, you just keep practicing the wrong swing and haven’t taken lessons.
More

More on Laurie Gray

August 10, 2012
I was raised in rural Indiana where good wives submit and obey and good children are seen and not heard. I went to college with the understanding that an educated good woman is a teacher or a nurse. So I became a high school teacher.
More

Federal Bar Update: No changes to federal rules this year

August 1, 2012
John Maley
Federal rule amendments take affect Dec. 1 of each year after a lengthy, time-consuming process of transmittal from the Judicial Conference to the Supreme Court and then to Congress. This coming December, for the first time in many years, there are no amendments on the horizon for the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, or Federal Rules of Evidence.
More

Lucas: In 2012, can women in the law really have it all?

August 1, 2012
Kelly Lucas
I wonder what it is really like to be a woman – or a man, for that matter – trying to balance the demands of work and family in today’s law firms. Let me know if you believe it is possible to work long hours but still have a balanced family life.
More

Inbox: Group advocates for court reporter to be used in pilot project

August 1, 2012
The Indiana Shorthand Reporters Association explains its concerns with a recently announced pilot project in courts involving video transcripts.
More

Lucas: The majority will ultimately do the right thing

July 18, 2012
Kelly Lucas
IL editor and publisher Kelly Lucas sees the silver lining when faced with crime.
More

Van Winkle: Decision pits mediation confidentiality against contract law

July 18, 2012
John Van Winkle
Attorney and mediator John Van Winkle discusses the difficulties that occur when mediation confidentiality provisions collide with long-established contract common law.
More

Lucas: Consider where you stand in the national debate

July 4, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Last week was a difficult one for those covering the news to avoid taking sides. The constitutionality of several very important issues – including the Arizona immigration law and the Affordable Care Act – were ruled on by the Supreme Court of the United States.
More

Adams: Relief for immigrant 'Dreamers' soon to be a reality

July 4, 2012
Just minutes before attending my first session of the second day of the American Immigration Lawyers Association annual conference in Nashville, Tenn., I began to receive a flood of emails and tweets on my phone about an announcement which would completely change the lives of an estimated 1.4 million immigrant youth, commonly called “Dreamers,” across the country and between 21,000 and 29,000 immigrant youth in Indiana.
More

DTCI: Note from the defense - Stop the 'unnecessary roughness'

July 4, 2012
From DTCI
While I am sure this writing could be deemed just another one that promotes civility, and while I am sure that there is a long list of ethical rules that promote that, too, I cite none here. I simply say this: Stop the (to use a football phrase) “unnecessary roughness.” I am hereby throwing a “flag on the play.”
More

BGBC Partners: Fraud can happen anywhere without prevention measures

July 4, 2012
Small businesses historically have suffered disproportionately larger losses due to fraud than larger organizations.
More

Start Page: 5 tips to better manage your digital data

June 20, 2012
Kim Brand
Kim Brand scolds you for your bloated inbox, chaotic file system and unkempt photos but offers tips to manage all that digital data.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. State Farm is sad and filled with woe Edward Rust is no longer CEO He had knowledge, but wasn’t in the know The Board said it was time for him to go All American Girl starred Margaret Cho The Miami Heat coach is nicknamed Spo I hate to paddle but don’t like to row Edward Rust is no longer CEO The Board said it was time for him to go The word souffler is French for blow I love the rain but dislike the snow Ten tosses for a nickel or a penny a throw State Farm is sad and filled with woe Edward Rust is no longer CEO Bambi’s mom was a fawn who became a doe You can’t line up if you don’t get in a row My car isn’t running, “Give me a tow” He had knowledge but wasn’t in the know The Board said it was time for him to go Plant a seed and water it to make it grow Phases of the tide are ebb and flow If you head isn’t hairy you don’t have a fro You can buff your bald head to make it glow State Farm is sad and filled with woe Edward Rust is no longer CEO I like Mike Tyson more than Riddick Bowe A mug of coffee is a cup of joe Call me brother, don’t call me bro When I sing scat I sound like Al Jarreau State Farm is sad and filled with woe The Board said it was time for him to go A former Tigers pitcher was Lerrin LaGrow Ursula Andress was a Bond girl in Dr. No Brian Benben is married to Madeline Stowe Betsy Ross couldn’t knit but she sure could sew He had knowledge but wasn’t in the know Edward Rust is no longer CEO Grand Funk toured with David Allan Coe I said to Shoeless Joe, “Say it ain’t so” Brandon Lee died during the filming of The Crow In 1992 I didn’t vote for Ross Perot State Farm is sad and filled with woe The Board said it was time for him to go A hare is fast and a tortoise is slow The overhead compartment is for luggage to stow Beware from above but look out below I’m gaining momentum, I’ve got big mo He had knowledge but wasn’t in the know Edward Rust is no longer CEO I’ve travelled far but have miles to go My insurance company thinks I’m their ho I’m not their friend but I am their foe Robin Hood had arrows, a quiver and a bow State Farm has a lame duck CEO He had knowledge, but wasn’t in the know The Board said it was time for him to go State Farm is sad and filled with woe

  2. The ADA acts as a tax upon all for the benefit of a few. And, most importantly, the many have no individual say in whether they pay the tax. Those with handicaps suffered in military service should get a pass, but those who are handicapped by accident or birth do NOT deserve that pass. The drivel about "equal access" is spurious because the handicapped HAVE equal access, they just can't effectively use it. That is their problem, not society's. The burden to remediate should be that of those who seek the benefit of some social, constructional, or dimensional change, NOT society generally. Everybody wants to socialize the costs and concentrate the benefits of government intrusion so that they benefit and largely avoid the costs. This simply maintains the constant push to the slop trough, and explains, in part, why the nation is 20 trillion dollars in the hole.

  3. Hey 2 psychs is never enough, since it is statistically unlikely that three will ever agree on anything! New study admits this pseudo science is about as scientifically valid as astrology ... done by via fortune cookie ....John Ioannidis, professor of health research and policy at Stanford University, said the study was impressive and that its results had been eagerly awaited by the scientific community. “Sadly, the picture it paints - a 64% failure rate even among papers published in the best journals in the field - is not very nice about the current status of psychological science in general, and for fields like social psychology it is just devastating,” he said. http://www.theguardian.com/science/2015/aug/27/study-delivers-bleak-verdict-on-validity-of-psychology-experiment-results

  4. Indianapolis Bar Association President John Trimble and I are on the same page, but it is a very large page with plenty of room for others to join us. As my final Res Gestae article will express in more detail in a few days, the Great Recession hastened a fundamental and permanent sea change for the global legal service profession. Every state bar is facing the same existential questions that thrust the medical profession into national healthcare reform debates. The bench, bar, and law schools must comprehensively reconsider how we define the practice of law and what it means to access justice. If the three principals of the legal service profession do not recast the vision of their roles and responsibilities soon, the marketplace will dictate those roles and responsibilities without regard for the public interests that the legal profession professes to serve.

  5. I have met some highly placed bureaucrats who vehemently disagree, Mr. Smith. This is not your father's time in America. Some ideas are just too politically incorrect too allow spoken, says those who watch over us for the good of their concept of order.

ADVERTISEMENT