Opinion

Editorial: Threats are inappropriate way to voice an opinion

May 25, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
What we want to address here is the troubling descent into madness that has appeared alongside the reasonable discourse on the subject of the recent Indiana Supreme Court decision Barnes v. State .
More

Sidebars: Tavern on South gains favorable ruling

May 25, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
The authors give Tavern on South in Indianapolis 3 1/2 gavels.
More

DTCI: The anatomy of jobsite accident claims

May 25, 2011
From DTCI
In the unfortunate event of a construction jobsite accident that results in bodily injury or, in the worst-case scenario, a fatality, the resulting claims and litigation can be extremely complex. Construction jobsite accident claims often play out as follows.
More

Justices reverse forfeiture of truck

April 27, 2011
Jennifer Nelson
The Indiana Supreme Court agreed with the lower appellate court that a man’s truck shouldn’t have been lost in a civil forfeiture action because the state didn’t prove any substantial connection between the truck and the commission of a crime.
More

Technology Untangled: Use caution with PC speed-up software

April 27, 2011
Stephen Bour
It seems like just about everyone feels like their PC is running slowly, or it is slowing down compared to when it was new. It doesn’t really matter how fast your newest PC is, the desire for faster and smoother operation is a common thread of complaint. Software vendors are well aware of this.
More

Editorial: Lake Co. merit selection is back on the table

April 27, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
It’s at the end of House Bill 1266, and we have no idea whether the legislation has a chance at passage by the April 29 session deadline, but we had to go back and read it twice before we believed what we were seeing.
More

Sidebars: Savor the taste of Italy in Shelby County

April 27, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Panzarotti's Italian Cafe 3 gavels!
More

In-box: Hat club needs more members

April 27, 2011
A reader responds to a column by Mickey Maurer.
More

In-box: Bigotry and prejudice must be fought

April 27, 2011
A letter to the editor on Mickey Maurer's column on diversity.
More

In-box: Don't we have more pressing business?

April 27, 2011
A reader writes in about a diversity column by Mickey Maurer.
More

Editorial: More of the same?

April 13, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
They’re back, and like most citizens who watch with interest the goings on in the Indiana General Assembly, we’re not sure it’s altogether a good thing.
More

In-box: Diversity is of critical importance to state

April 13, 2011
A letter to the editor on a previous column by Mickey Maurer on diversity.
More

In-box: 'Keep up the good words'

April 13, 2011
A reader responds to a column by Mickey Maurer on diversity.
More

In-box: Focus should not be on 'social issues'

April 13, 2011
A letter to the editor regarding Mickey Maurer's column on diversity.
More

Federal Bar Update: Confidentiality not always enforceableRestricted Content

April 13, 2011
John Maley
As federal practitioners know, the 7th Circuit is particularly strict about protecting public access to federal court filings.
More

Quality of Life: Techniques to help kick the worry habitRestricted Content

March 30, 2011
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Jonna Kane MacDougall offers advice on banishing the worry from your life.
More

Editorial: In this war of words, will anyone win?

March 30, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
At more than 30 days and counting, at least at Indiana Lawyer deadline, we’re not sure what will cause the Democrats elected to the Indiana House of Representatives to return to their posts at the Statehouse.
More

Maurer: Is this the Indiana we've always wanted?

March 30, 2011
My fellow Tea Party Republicans, I have an idea. Let’s enact legislation requiring immigrants and homosexuals to wear purple hats.
More

Tablets, smartphones, and netbooks converge

March 16, 2011
Stephen Bour
It is obvious that tablet computers like the iPad and its many competitors are the hottest segment in mobile computing today. Today’s article will look at some of the approaches being taken toward the convergence between smartphones, tablets, netbooks and notebooks.
More

Morris: Internet is the Wild West of blog posting

March 16, 2011
When you post a comment to a story on a media website, you are responsible for your words. At least that is the case at this time. Contrary to that opinion, many people think hiding behind an anonymous identity online should be a protected right.
More

Editorial: Stalemate leaves constituents without a voice

March 2, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
There’s a lot of shouting and political posturing going on, but we’re not at all certain there’s much in the way of listening and compromising taking place.
More

In-box: Improving the way courts do business

March 2, 2011
Indiana courts are tackling a giant technology project. It matters because it affects both our efficiency and your ability to access court information for free. Right now, our state’s 400 trial courts don’t share case information with each other or with state agencies in the electronic ways that are so common in modern life. There are 21 different computer systems managing court information in our state. As you can imagine, we believe that is a bad business practice and we’re working to do better.
More

Salinas: Senate Bill 590 is a step back for Indiana

March 2, 2011
I believe that members of Indiana’s legal profession have a duty to voice their concerns when laws are proposed that could dramatically affect the civil liberties of individuals living in Indiana. Think about it, what if you could have voiced your opinion when laws imposing poll taxes or prohibitions against interracial marriages were being considered in some state legislatures. Would you have done it?
More

Editorial: All who serve as judges should be lawyers

February 16, 2011
Judges Mark Stoner and Terry Shewmaker explain why a proposed bill would protect Hoosiers' rights by making sure that law-trained judges preside over all cases in Indiana.
More

Sidebars: Court House Grounds serves up 'comfort' food

February 16, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Authors give Danville restaurant three gavels.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. The sad thing is that no fish were thrown overboard The "greenhorn" who had never fished before those 5 days was interrogated for over 4 hours by 5 officers until his statement was illicited, "I don't want to go to prison....." The truth is that these fish were measured frozen off shore and thawed on shore. The FWC (state) officer did not know fish shrink, so the only reason that these fish could be bigger was a swap. There is no difference between a 19 1/2 fish or 19 3/4 fish, short fish is short fish, the ticket was written. In addition the FWC officer testified at trial, he does not measure fish in accordance with federal law. There was a document prepared by the FWC expert that said yes, fish shrink and if these had been measured correctly they averaged over 20 inches (offshore frozen). This was a smoke and mirror prosecution.

  2. I love this, Dave! Many congrats to you! We've come a long way from studying for the bar together! :)

  3. This outbreak illustrates the absurdity of the extreme positions taken by today's liberalism, specifically individualism and the modern cult of endless personal "freedom." Ebola reminds us that at some point the person's own "freedom" to do this and that comes into contact with the needs of the common good and "freedom" must be curtailed. This is not rocket science, except, today there is nonstop propaganda elevating individual preferences over the common good, so some pundits have a hard time fathoming the obvious necessity of quarantine in some situations....or even NATIONAL BORDERS...propagandists have also amazingly used this as another chance to accuse Western nations of "racism" which is preposterous and offensive. So one the one hand the idolatry of individualism has to stop and on the other hand facts people don't like that intersect with race-- remain facts nonetheless. People who respond to facts over propaganda do better in the long run. We call it Truth. Sometimes it seems hard to find.

  4. It would be hard not to feel the Kramers' anguish. But Catholic Charities, by definition, performed due diligence and held to the statutory standard of care. No good can come from punishing them for doing their duty. Should Indiana wish to change its laws regarding adoption agreements and or putative fathers, the place for that is the legislature and can only apply to future cases. We do not apply new laws to past actions, as the Kramers seem intent on doing, to no helpful end.

  5. I am saddened to hear about the loss of Zeff Weiss. He was an outstanding member of the Indianapolis legal community. My thoughts are with his family.

ADVERTISEMENT