Opinion

Technology Untangled: Samsung 7-inch tablet fills a portable niche

June 6, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will review the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0. The first two things that caught my attention were the low $250 price and the small 7-inch size.
More

Federal Bar Update: 6-month update on changes to removal statutes

June 6, 2012
John Maley
As readers will recall, the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act of 2011 took effect Jan. 6. Since the act took effect, it has been cited by name in 13 reported decisions, most of which simply deal with the effective date of the act.
More

Finney: Give power to your point at trial

May 23, 2012
Deanna Finney writes about using PowerPoint as a trial presentation tool.
More

Column: Practical and legal differences of class and mass actions

May 23, 2012
Scott Starr and Mario Massillamany write about what to consider when decided whether to file a class- or mass-action case.
More

Lucas: Judges say all young lawyers face challenges

May 23, 2012
Kelly Lucas
My seat at the recent Indiana Supreme Court Bar Admission Ceremony provided a perfect vantage point to witness the mix of emotions young lawyers feel when they have the opportunity to present themselves for the first time to members of the state’s highest-ranking courts.
More

Sidebars: Indianapolis pizza place provides different lunch option

May 23, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Coal Pizza Company 3.25 gavels!
More

Behind the News: Vaunted attorney Conour has lots of explaining to do

May 23, 2012
Greg Andrews
A large question looms in the wake of the April 27 announcement that Bill Conour has been charged in a federal criminal complaint with misappropriating more than $2.5 million in client funds from December 2000 to March 2012. If the 64-year-old is indeed guilty of the wire-fraud charge he faces, where did all the money go?
More

Terms of Art: effecting viral social change

May 9, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about Indianapolis attorney Kenan L. Farrell and his work with the arts community.
More

McGoff: Go on vacation

May 9, 2012
Sharon McGoff writes about why our bodies need vacations and how to take one.
More

Inbox: Balancing the scales of justice

May 9, 2012
A letter from Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller on his brother, a well-known criminal defense attorney.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Is it time for an electoral college for judges?

May 9, 2012
David Dreyer
Some people just do not like judges. But according to Indiana University Maurer School of Law professor Charles Geyh, most people do – at least up to a point.
More

DTCI: Take a moment to breathe before hitting 'send'

May 9, 2012
Robert Thornburg writes about civility among the legal profession.
More

Start Page: Going paperless doesn't have to be painful

May 9, 2012
Kim Brand
You promised your-self this would be the year you went “paperless.” The year is half over. How’s that working out for you?
More

Indiana Lawyer announces Leadership in Law honorees

April 25, 2012
Kelly Lucas
The nominations received tell the story of impressive court victories and decisions that have had an impact on Indiana law. But even more telling is the passion that comes through in many of the nomination packets and letters of recommendation from colleagues, peers and even adversaries who say they are better lawyers for having worked with the individual nominated.
More

Sidebars: Restaurant's sandwiches fail to impress diners

April 25, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Forkey's in Martinsville 1.5 gavels!
More

Dean's Desk: Effective legal education depends on strong partnerships

April 11, 2012
Hannah Buxbaum
To be effective and relevant, law education must provide students with a bridge to a legal career. Building this bridge between law schools and law practice calls for strong and successful partnerships among law schools, practicing lawyers and other professionals. At Indiana University Maurer School of Law, we are committed to the pursuit of these partnerships.
More

Start Page: Follow 5 email commandments to streamline use

April 11, 2012
Kim Brand
You are an email sinner. Follow these 5 email commandments to turn your email messaging life around.
More

Federal Bar Update: Uniform Case Management Plan changes

April 11, 2012
John Maley
The Southern District of Indiana recently modified two sections of the court’s Uniform Case Management Plan regarding experts.
More

Quality of Life: 10 tips for living a happier and healthier life

March 28, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
It is March, so if you are like me, all of your New Year’s resolutions have been abandoned.
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame expands course, clinical offerings

March 14, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
Dean Nell Jessup Newton writes about how Notre Dame Law School is working to prepare students for the practice of law.
More

Technology Untangled: Need parking or eBook? Your phone can help

March 14, 2012
Stephen Bour
With iPhones and Android smartphones, there are plenty of apps to help you navigate to where you want to go – except for that last crucial distance to an open parking spot. One of our topics in this column is a new technology that helps you find a parking spot with your smartphone. I’ll also describe how to download free eBooks.
More

IL celebrates 22 years covering legal community

March 14, 2012
Kelly Lucas
You may not have realized it, but with this issue of the Indiana Lawyer – Volume 23, Number 1 – we celebrate an anniversary.
More

McGoff: Take care of your most valuable asset

March 14, 2012
We all have excuses for not taking care of ourselves: too busy, too tired, don’t know where to begin, don’t know how to relax/de-stress. Let’s get past these excuses, one choice at a time.
More

Sidebars: Restaurant built on lifelong family traditions

March 14, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Jennifer Lukemeyer and Fredrick Vaiana give Maxine's Chicken and Waffles three gavels on the food but four when it comes to the motivation of those honoring Maxine and Ollie’s obvious love for their children.
More

Nordstrom: Book offers advice on treatment of jurors

March 14, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
The theme of the book, “Twelve Heroes, One Voice,” is why should jurors care? Why should they care enough to let go of the natural tendency to do nothing? This question is at the heart of every trial.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. I'm going to court the beginning of Oct. 2015 to establish visitation and request my daughters visits while she is in jail. I raised my grandchild for the first two and half years. She was born out of wedlock and the father and his adopted mother wantwd her aborted, they went as far as sueing my daughter for abortion money back 5mo. After my grandchild was born. Now because of depression and drug abuse my daughter lost custody 2 and a half years ago. Everyting went wrong in court when i went for custody my lawyer was thrown out and a replacment could only stay 45 min. The judge would not allow a postponement. So the father won. Now he is aleinating me and my daughter. No matter the amount of time spent getting help for my daughter and her doing better he runs her in the ground to the point of suicide because he wants her to be in a relationship with him. It is a sick game of using my grandchild as a pawn to make my daughter suffer for not wanting to be with him. I became the intervener in the case when my daughter first got into trouble. Because of this they gave me her visitation. Im hoping to get it again there is questions of abuse on his part and I want to make sure my grandchild is doing alright. I really dont understand how the parents have rights to walk in and do whatever they want when the refuse to stand up and raise the child at first . Why should it take two and a half years to decide you want to raise your child.The father used me so he could finish college get a job and stop paying support by getting custody. Support he was paying my daughter that I never saw.

  2. Pence said when he ordered the investigation that Indiana residents should be troubled by the allegations after the video went viral. Planned Parenthood has asked the government s top health scientists at the National Institutes of Health to convene a panel of independent experts to study the issues surrounding the little-known branch of medicine.

  3. State Farm is sad and filled with woe Edward Rust is no longer CEO He had knowledge, but wasn’t in the know The Board said it was time for him to go All American Girl starred Margaret Cho The Miami Heat coach is nicknamed Spo I hate to paddle but don’t like to row Edward Rust is no longer CEO The Board said it was time for him to go The word souffler is French for blow I love the rain but dislike the snow Ten tosses for a nickel or a penny a throw State Farm is sad and filled with woe Edward Rust is no longer CEO Bambi’s mom was a fawn who became a doe You can’t line up if you don’t get in a row My car isn’t running, “Give me a tow” He had knowledge but wasn’t in the know The Board said it was time for him to go Plant a seed and water it to make it grow Phases of the tide are ebb and flow If you head isn’t hairy you don’t have a fro You can buff your bald head to make it glow State Farm is sad and filled with woe Edward Rust is no longer CEO I like Mike Tyson more than Riddick Bowe A mug of coffee is a cup of joe Call me brother, don’t call me bro When I sing scat I sound like Al Jarreau State Farm is sad and filled with woe The Board said it was time for him to go A former Tigers pitcher was Lerrin LaGrow Ursula Andress was a Bond girl in Dr. No Brian Benben is married to Madeline Stowe Betsy Ross couldn’t knit but she sure could sew He had knowledge but wasn’t in the know Edward Rust is no longer CEO Grand Funk toured with David Allan Coe I said to Shoeless Joe, “Say it ain’t so” Brandon Lee died during the filming of The Crow In 1992 I didn’t vote for Ross Perot State Farm is sad and filled with woe The Board said it was time for him to go A hare is fast and a tortoise is slow The overhead compartment is for luggage to stow Beware from above but look out below I’m gaining momentum, I’ve got big mo He had knowledge but wasn’t in the know Edward Rust is no longer CEO I’ve travelled far but have miles to go My insurance company thinks I’m their ho I’m not their friend but I am their foe Robin Hood had arrows, a quiver and a bow State Farm has a lame duck CEO He had knowledge, but wasn’t in the know The Board said it was time for him to go State Farm is sad and filled with woe

  4. The ADA acts as a tax upon all for the benefit of a few. And, most importantly, the many have no individual say in whether they pay the tax. Those with handicaps suffered in military service should get a pass, but those who are handicapped by accident or birth do NOT deserve that pass. The drivel about "equal access" is spurious because the handicapped HAVE equal access, they just can't effectively use it. That is their problem, not society's. The burden to remediate should be that of those who seek the benefit of some social, constructional, or dimensional change, NOT society generally. Everybody wants to socialize the costs and concentrate the benefits of government intrusion so that they benefit and largely avoid the costs. This simply maintains the constant push to the slop trough, and explains, in part, why the nation is 20 trillion dollars in the hole.

  5. Hey 2 psychs is never enough, since it is statistically unlikely that three will ever agree on anything! New study admits this pseudo science is about as scientifically valid as astrology ... done by via fortune cookie ....John Ioannidis, professor of health research and policy at Stanford University, said the study was impressive and that its results had been eagerly awaited by the scientific community. “Sadly, the picture it paints - a 64% failure rate even among papers published in the best journals in the field - is not very nice about the current status of psychological science in general, and for fields like social psychology it is just devastating,” he said. http://www.theguardian.com/science/2015/aug/27/study-delivers-bleak-verdict-on-validity-of-psychology-experiment-results

ADVERTISEMENT