Opinion

In-box: Don't we have more pressing business?

April 27, 2011
A reader writes in about a diversity column by Mickey Maurer.
More

Editorial: More of the same?

April 13, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
They’re back, and like most citizens who watch with interest the goings on in the Indiana General Assembly, we’re not sure it’s altogether a good thing.
More

In-box: Diversity is of critical importance to state

April 13, 2011
A letter to the editor on a previous column by Mickey Maurer on diversity.
More

In-box: 'Keep up the good words'

April 13, 2011
A reader responds to a column by Mickey Maurer on diversity.
More

In-box: Focus should not be on 'social issues'

April 13, 2011
A letter to the editor regarding Mickey Maurer's column on diversity.
More

Federal Bar Update: Confidentiality not always enforceableRestricted Content

April 13, 2011
John Maley
As federal practitioners know, the 7th Circuit is particularly strict about protecting public access to federal court filings.
More

Quality of Life: Techniques to help kick the worry habitRestricted Content

March 30, 2011
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Jonna Kane MacDougall offers advice on banishing the worry from your life.
More

Editorial: In this war of words, will anyone win?

March 30, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
At more than 30 days and counting, at least at Indiana Lawyer deadline, we’re not sure what will cause the Democrats elected to the Indiana House of Representatives to return to their posts at the Statehouse.
More

Maurer: Is this the Indiana we've always wanted?

March 30, 2011
My fellow Tea Party Republicans, I have an idea. Let’s enact legislation requiring immigrants and homosexuals to wear purple hats.
More

Tablets, smartphones, and netbooks converge

March 16, 2011
Stephen Bour
It is obvious that tablet computers like the iPad and its many competitors are the hottest segment in mobile computing today. Today’s article will look at some of the approaches being taken toward the convergence between smartphones, tablets, netbooks and notebooks.
More

Morris: Internet is the Wild West of blog posting

March 16, 2011
When you post a comment to a story on a media website, you are responsible for your words. At least that is the case at this time. Contrary to that opinion, many people think hiding behind an anonymous identity online should be a protected right.
More

Editorial: Stalemate leaves constituents without a voice

March 2, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
There’s a lot of shouting and political posturing going on, but we’re not at all certain there’s much in the way of listening and compromising taking place.
More

In-box: Improving the way courts do business

March 2, 2011
Indiana courts are tackling a giant technology project. It matters because it affects both our efficiency and your ability to access court information for free. Right now, our state’s 400 trial courts don’t share case information with each other or with state agencies in the electronic ways that are so common in modern life. There are 21 different computer systems managing court information in our state. As you can imagine, we believe that is a bad business practice and we’re working to do better.
More

Salinas: Senate Bill 590 is a step back for Indiana

March 2, 2011
I believe that members of Indiana’s legal profession have a duty to voice their concerns when laws are proposed that could dramatically affect the civil liberties of individuals living in Indiana. Think about it, what if you could have voiced your opinion when laws imposing poll taxes or prohibitions against interracial marriages were being considered in some state legislatures. Would you have done it?
More

Editorial: All who serve as judges should be lawyers

February 16, 2011
Judges Mark Stoner and Terry Shewmaker explain why a proposed bill would protect Hoosiers' rights by making sure that law-trained judges preside over all cases in Indiana.
More

Sidebars: Court House Grounds serves up 'comfort' food

February 16, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Authors give Danville restaurant three gavels.
More

Letters to a New Lawyer: Building blocks for a successful legal career

February 16, 2011
After practicing law for nearly four decades, it is a joy to share some thoughts with new lawyers who are beginning their practice.
More

Editorial: Home is where the heart is for Mr. Copsey

February 2, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We often think of law enforcement officers and firefighters as first-responder types who venture into situations where others are reluctant to go. We’d like to expand the definition of first responder a bit, and bring your attention to an Indianapolis lawyer who after retiring from his day job years ago decided he wasn’t quite done practicing law.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Incivility Anonymous - help is availableRestricted Content

February 2, 2011
David Dreyer
Judge David Dreyer discusses being an uncivil-holic.
More

Technology Untangled: Dropbox offers simple file storage and sharing

February 2, 2011
Stephen Bour
If you find that you are often having to e-mail files to yourself or are constantly transferring files via USB drive, then Dropbox online file storage and syncing may be for you.
More

Editorial: Subpoenas for advocates raise concerns

January 19, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
In our culture, someone accused of a crime gets a vigorous defense to make certain all of the accused person’s constitutional rights are protected. This is as it should be. Those faced with the loss of their liberty or life deserve no less than the best defense that can be put forth.
More

Sidebars: Detour off U.S. 31 to Big Mike's Cafe

January 19, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Nestled in a bland little strip mall just north of 96th Street on College Avenue, Big Mike’s Café is worth the small detour it takes to get there.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District amends civil and criminal rules

January 19, 2011
John Maley
Effective Jan. 1, the Southern District of Indiana amended three local rules affecting civil practice, plus Local Criminal Rule 13.1 affecting criminal practice and sentencing (see the court’s website for the text of all rule changes).
More

Letters to a New Lawyer: Laying the groundwork for private practice

January 19, 2011
Attorney Donald Doxsee offers advice on opening a private practice.
More

Sidebars: Find a little Mardi Gras any time at The Bar

December 22, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give The Bar 3 gavels!
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. I just wanted to point out that Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner, Senator Feinstein, former Senate majority leader Bill Frist, and former attorney general John Ashcroft are responsible for this rubbish. We need to keep a eye on these corrupt, arrogant, and incompetent fools.

  2. Well I guess our politicians have decided to give these idiot federal prosecutors unlimited power. Now if I guy bounces a fifty-dollar check, the U.S. attorney can intentionally wait for twenty-five years or so and have the check swabbed for DNA and file charges. These power hungry federal prosecutors now have unlimited power to mess with people. we can thank Wisconsin's Jim Sensenbrenner and Diane Feinstein, John Achcroft and Bill Frist for this one. Way to go, idiots.

  3. I wonder if the USSR had electronic voting machines that changed the ballot after it was cast? Oh well, at least we have a free media serving as vicious watchdog and exposing all of the rot in the system! (Insert rimshot)

  4. Jose, you are assuming those in power do not wish to be totalitarian. My experience has convinced me otherwise. Constitutionalists are nearly as rare as hens teeth among the powerbrokers "managing" us for The Glorious State. Oh, and your point is dead on, el correcta mundo. Keep the Founders’ (1791 & 1851) vision alive, my friend, even if most all others, and especially the ruling junta, chase only power and money (i.e. mammon)

  5. Hypocrisy in high places, absolute immunity handed out like Halloween treats (it is the stuff of which tyranny is made) and the belief that government agents are above the constitutions and cannot be held responsible for mere citizen is killing, perhaps has killed, The Republic. And yet those same power drunk statists just reel on down the hallway toward bureaucratic fascism.

ADVERTISEMENT