Opinion

Editorial: Election Day 2010 provides cause for concern

December 8, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Here's to hoping reason and sanity will prevail, but we're not holding our breath.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Protect 'We (All) the People'Restricted Content

December 8, 2010
David Dreyer
Judge David Dreyer writes about judges doing their jobs on controversial topics.
More

In-box: Marion County slating system works well

December 8, 2010
A reader writes a letter in support of Marion County's hybrid method of selecting trial judges.
More

Techology Untangled: The Android alternative to the iPhone

December 8, 2010
Stephen Bour
Today’s review will discuss the latest Droid phones by Motorola and their Android software.
More

Viewpoint: I hope you read this

November 24, 2010
An anonymous young lawyer in Indianapolis discusses her anxiety issues and the Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program.
More

DTCI: Medical Negligence vs. Premises Liability

November 24, 2010
From DTCI
When a patient is harmed during a medical procedure, a patient may elect to file a medical negligence claim against his physician and the health care facility in which the procedure occurred. However, when a patient is harmed during a hospitalization, should the claim still be pursued as one of medical negligence or is it more appropriately a premises liability claim?
More

Sidebars: Gamba Ristorante consistently top notch

November 24, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys give Merrillville's Gamba Ristorante four gavels.
More

Editorial: Human trafficking is local issue

November 10, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
It’s a silent and devastating problem going on right under our noses, and it’s going to take courage and a willingness to ask invasive and uncomfortable questions to stop it.
More

Editorial: Ted Boehm not headed toward retirement

October 27, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
This was one retirement ceremony we were not looking forward to attending, fearing that the gentleman stepping away from the bench would slip away from public life and live quietly with his family, indulging his interests outside the law, while working as a mediator at Van Winkle Baten Rimstidt and senior judging for the Indiana Court of Appeals.
More

Sidebars: Landmark serves up more than history

October 27, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Lukemeyer and Vaiana visit Zaharakos in Columbus, Ind.
More

DTCI: Take time to smell flowers along the way

October 27, 2010
Jeffrey Crabill
When the name Rabb Emison comes to my mind, I immediately think of the word “great.”
More

Letters to a new lawyer: Some general advice

October 27, 2010
Donald D. Doxsee gives advice in the first letter in an occasional series.
More

Technology Untangled: Overcome odd twists to solve tech issues

October 13, 2010
Stephen Bour
Let’s review some technical problems and solutions that have come across my desk in the past few months. It seems like even the apparently straightforward issues often take an odd twist
More

Quality of Life: Making significant life changes with purposeRestricted Content

September 29, 2010
Jonna Kane MacDougall
If you have ever considered making a major life change, you know that it isn’t easy.
More

Editorial: New justice brings much to appreciate

September 29, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
The state still needs to address the elephant in the room.
More

Federal Bar Update: Client representative at settlement conferences

September 29, 2010
John Maley
In the Southern District of Indiana, settlement conferences are routinely held in most civil cases before the assigned magistrate judge.
More

DTCI: Existing duty is prerequisite of negligence

September 29, 2010
From DTCI
To prevail on a claim of negligence, a plaintiff must show that a duty exists, that the duty was breached, and that damages resulted from that breach. It goes without saying that there can be no negligence or liability where there is no duty.
More

Editorial: Maybe there's a reason she doesn't just leave

September 15, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Why doesn’t she just leave?
More

In-box: IBA's move is a step in the right direction

September 15, 2010
Read a letter to the editor from the Indianapolis Bar Association president about the recently formed PAC for judicial campaign contributions.
More

Opinions Sept. 1, 2010

September 1, 2010
Indiana Supreme Court

Suzanne Eads and James Atterhold, Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Insurance v. Community Hospital
No. 45S03-1001-CV-33
Civil. Rules general negligence claims filed with the Indiana Department of Insurance can continue an action already filed in state court relating to medical malpractice issues.
More

Editorial: Preservation of judicial impartiality a win

September 1, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Here at the newspaper, we don’t like to see anything put the brakes on the sharing of opinions.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Plain English? Revisions plain common senseRestricted Content

September 1, 2010
David Dreyer
“The Indiana Model Civil Jury Instructions, written in plain English, are now available. … The new instructions were prepared by the Civil Instructions Committee of the Indiana Judges Association.”
More

DTCI: Hands-free cell calls while driving are not safer

September 1, 2010
James Hehner
It is hoped that you had the opportunity to read an article written by my friend, Dave Temple, regarding the dangers of using your cell phone or PDA while driving, which was published in the March 17-30, 2010, edition of the Indiana Lawyer.
More

Federal Bar Update: More federal rule changes on horizonRestricted Content

August 18, 2010
John Maley
For 2010, the Supreme Court approved a package of amendments in late April that will amend several appellate rules, bankruptcy rules, criminal rules, civil rules, and an evidence rule.
More

Sidebars: Lunch at Pioneer Village most fulfilling, leisurely

August 18, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Remember folks, the premise behind this article is not merely to make eatery suggestions, it is also to encourage a bit of leisure over the lunch hour with your colleague, mentor/mentee, opposing counsel, or a friend.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Bill Satterlee is, indeed, a true jazz aficionado. Part of my legal career was spent as an associate attorney with Hoeppner, Wagner & Evans in Valparaiso. Bill was instrumental (no pun intended) in introducing me to jazz music, thereby fostering my love for this genre. We would, occasionally, travel to Chicago on weekends and sit in on some outstanding jazz sessions at Andy's on Hubbard Street. Had it not been for Bill's love of jazz music, I never would have had the good fortune of hearing it played live at Andy's. And, most likely, I might never have begun listening to it as much as I do. Thanks, Bill.

  2. The child support award is many times what the custodial parent earns, and exceeds the actual costs of providing for the children's needs. My fiance and I have agreed that if we divorce, that the children will be provided for using a shared checking account like this one(http://www.mediate.com/articles/if_they_can_do_parenting_plans.cfm) to avoid the hidden alimony in Indiana's child support guidelines.

  3. Fiat justitia ruat caelum is a Latin legal phrase, meaning "Let justice be done though the heavens fall." The maxim signifies the belief that justice must be realized regardless of consequences.

  4. Indiana up holds this behavior. the state police know they got it made.

  5. Additional Points: -Civility in the profession: Treating others with respect will not only move others to respect you, it will show a shared respect for the legal system we are all sworn to protect. When attorneys engage in unnecessary personal attacks, they lose the respect and favor of judges, jurors, the person being attacked, and others witnessing or reading the communication. It's not always easy to put anger aside, but if you don't, you will lose respect, credibility, cases, clients & jobs or job opportunities. -Read Rule 22 of the Admission & Discipline Rules. Capture that spirit and apply those principles in your daily work. -Strive to represent clients in a manner that communicates the importance you place on the legal matter you're privileged to handle for them. -There are good lawyers of all ages, but no one is perfect. Older lawyers can learn valuable skills from younger lawyers who tend to be more adept with new technologies that can improve work quality and speed. Older lawyers have already tackled more legal issues and worked through more of the problems encountered when representing clients on various types of legal matters. If there's mutual respect and a willingness to learn from each other, it will help make both attorneys better lawyers. -Erosion of the public trust in lawyers wears down public confidence in the rule of law. Always keep your duty to the profession in mind. -You can learn so much by asking questions & actively listening to instructions and advice from more experienced attorneys, regardless of how many years or decades you've each practiced law. Don't miss out on that chance.

ADVERTISEMENT