Opinion

Quality of Life: Making significant life changes with purposeRestricted Content

September 29, 2010
Jonna Kane MacDougall
If you have ever considered making a major life change, you know that it isn’t easy.
More

Editorial: New justice brings much to appreciate

September 29, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
The state still needs to address the elephant in the room.
More

Federal Bar Update: Client representative at settlement conferences

September 29, 2010
John Maley
In the Southern District of Indiana, settlement conferences are routinely held in most civil cases before the assigned magistrate judge.
More

DTCI: Existing duty is prerequisite of negligence

September 29, 2010
From DTCI
To prevail on a claim of negligence, a plaintiff must show that a duty exists, that the duty was breached, and that damages resulted from that breach. It goes without saying that there can be no negligence or liability where there is no duty.
More

Editorial: Maybe there's a reason she doesn't just leave

September 15, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Why doesn’t she just leave?
More

In-box: IBA's move is a step in the right direction

September 15, 2010
Read a letter to the editor from the Indianapolis Bar Association president about the recently formed PAC for judicial campaign contributions.
More

Opinions Sept. 1, 2010

September 1, 2010
Indiana Supreme Court

Suzanne Eads and James Atterhold, Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Insurance v. Community Hospital
No. 45S03-1001-CV-33
Civil. Rules general negligence claims filed with the Indiana Department of Insurance can continue an action already filed in state court relating to medical malpractice issues.
More

Editorial: Preservation of judicial impartiality a win

September 1, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Here at the newspaper, we don’t like to see anything put the brakes on the sharing of opinions.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Plain English? Revisions plain common senseRestricted Content

September 1, 2010
David Dreyer
“The Indiana Model Civil Jury Instructions, written in plain English, are now available. … The new instructions were prepared by the Civil Instructions Committee of the Indiana Judges Association.”
More

DTCI: Hands-free cell calls while driving are not safer

September 1, 2010
James Hehner
It is hoped that you had the opportunity to read an article written by my friend, Dave Temple, regarding the dangers of using your cell phone or PDA while driving, which was published in the March 17-30, 2010, edition of the Indiana Lawyer.
More

Federal Bar Update: More federal rule changes on horizonRestricted Content

August 18, 2010
John Maley
For 2010, the Supreme Court approved a package of amendments in late April that will amend several appellate rules, bankruptcy rules, criminal rules, civil rules, and an evidence rule.
More

Sidebars: Lunch at Pioneer Village most fulfilling, leisurely

August 18, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Remember folks, the premise behind this article is not merely to make eatery suggestions, it is also to encourage a bit of leisure over the lunch hour with your colleague, mentor/mentee, opposing counsel, or a friend.
More

Editorial: Nature of work requires adequate safety plan

August 18, 2010
IL Staff
A few days after then-U.S. District Court Judge David Hamilton ruled in late 2005 in Anthony Hinrichs, et al. v. Brian Bosma, et al., that sectarian prayer could not be used to open legislative sessions, we received a phone call from someone who wanted the judge’s e-mail address and contact information. We declined to give that information.
More

Editorial: Remove obstacles that discourage voters

August 4, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Casting a ballot in an election ought to be a simple thing for a citizen to do. But there are those who would make it as difficult as possible for some to exercise their franchise.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Instructions in plain language a natural next stepRestricted Content

August 4, 2010
John Pera
The Judicial Administration Committee of the Judicial Conference of Indiana began conducting research on jury reform in 1997. At approximately the same time, the Indiana Supreme Court organized citizens, attorneys, and judges to form the Citizens Commission for the Future of Indiana Courts.
More

DTCI: Anchors away! Navigate to the DRI annual meeting

August 4, 2010
Thomas Schultz
Have you ever considered what it would be like to stand aboard an aircraft carrier? Have you ever wanted to meet and learn from a Navy Seal who survived on his own behind enemy lines in Afghanistan?
More

Editorial: Concerns about budget cuts warranted

July 21, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We believe the state of Indiana has hit bone with a budget cut instituted earlier this month.
More

Sidebars: Despite detour, lunch did not disappoint

July 21, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Sometimes you have to go with Plan B when it comes to finding a place to eat.
More

Technology Untangled: Multifunction copier lacks key functions

July 21, 2010
Stephen Bour
Bour takes a look at a multifunction copier from Canon that disappointed him.
More

Federal Bar Update: Permissible fishing in discovery processRestricted Content

July 7, 2010
John Maley
John Maley writes about how one recent discovery order is interesting and has potential broader significance beyond the dispute between the parties.
More

Editorial: Next choice for Indiana Supreme Court must be a woman

July 7, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
The future is now for the high court.
More

Technology Untangled: New conference phone offers unique features

June 23, 2010
Stephen Bour
Stephen Bour purchased a new piece of office technology recently: a high-quality conference phone with impressive features.
More

Editorial: New judges add more than needed diversity

June 23, 2010
Rebecca Collier
Those of us on staff here at the newspaper that grew up in Indiana and were of a certain age to pay attention to the news can likely recall when Judge Sarah Evans Barker was confirmed to the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana.
More

Editorial: Don't keep quiet, join a healthy debate

June 9, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We know you have opinions – thoughtful, reasonable ones that would make for great discourse in the newspaper. But getting you to share them is more difficult than we would like.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Choose between the good and the goodRestricted Content

June 9, 2010
David Dreyer
Judge David J. Dreyer urges the governor to appoint a Notre Dame Law School alum.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. I am compelled to announce that I am not posting under any Smith monikers here. That said, the post below does have a certain ring to it that sounds familiar to me: http://www.catholicnewworld.com/cnwonline/2014/0907/cardinal.aspx

  2. As an adoptive parent, I have to say this situation was as shameful as it gets. While the state government opens its wallet to the Simons and their friends, it denied payments to the most vulnerable in our state. Thanks Mitch!

  3. We as lawyers who have given up the range of First amendment freedom that other people possess, so that we can have a license to practice in the courts of the state and make gobs of money, that we agree to combat the hateful and bigoted discrimination enshrined in the law by democratic majorities, that Law Lord Posner has graciously explained for us....... We must now unhesitatingly condemn the sincerely held religious beliefs of religiously observant Catholics, Muslims, Christians, and Jewish persons alike who yet adhere to Scriptural exhortations concerning sodomites and catamites..... No tolerance will be extended to intolerance, and we must hate the haters most zealously! And in our public explanations of this constitutional garbledygook, when doing the balancing act, we must remember that the state always pushes its finger down on the individualism side of the scale at every turn and at every juncture no matter what the cost to society.....to elevate the values of a minority over the values of the majority is now the defining feature of American "Democracy..." we must remember our role in tricking Americans to think that this is desirable in spite of their own democratically expressed values being trashed. As a secular republic the United States might as well be officially atheist, religious people are now all bigots and will soon be treated with the same contempt that kluckers were in recent times..... The most important thing is that any source of moral authority besides the state be absolutely crushed.

  4. In my recent article in Indiana Lawyer, I noted that grass roots marketing -- reaching out and touching people -- is still one of the best forms of advertising today. It's often forgotten in the midst of all of today's "newer wave" marketing techniques. Shaking hands and kissing babies is what politicians have done for year and it still works. These are perfect examples of building goodwill. Kudos to these firms. Make "grass roots" an essential part of your marketing plan. Jon Quick QPRmarketing.com

  5. Hi, Who can I speak to regarding advertising today? Thanks, Gary

ADVERTISEMENT