Opinion

Sidebars: Lunch at Pioneer Village most fulfilling, leisurely

August 18, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Remember folks, the premise behind this article is not merely to make eatery suggestions, it is also to encourage a bit of leisure over the lunch hour with your colleague, mentor/mentee, opposing counsel, or a friend.
More

Editorial: Nature of work requires adequate safety plan

August 18, 2010
IL Staff
A few days after then-U.S. District Court Judge David Hamilton ruled in late 2005 in Anthony Hinrichs, et al. v. Brian Bosma, et al., that sectarian prayer could not be used to open legislative sessions, we received a phone call from someone who wanted the judge’s e-mail address and contact information. We declined to give that information.
More

Editorial: Remove obstacles that discourage voters

August 4, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Casting a ballot in an election ought to be a simple thing for a citizen to do. But there are those who would make it as difficult as possible for some to exercise their franchise.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Instructions in plain language a natural next stepRestricted Content

August 4, 2010
John Pera
The Judicial Administration Committee of the Judicial Conference of Indiana began conducting research on jury reform in 1997. At approximately the same time, the Indiana Supreme Court organized citizens, attorneys, and judges to form the Citizens Commission for the Future of Indiana Courts.
More

DTCI: Anchors away! Navigate to the DRI annual meeting

August 4, 2010
Thomas Schultz
Have you ever considered what it would be like to stand aboard an aircraft carrier? Have you ever wanted to meet and learn from a Navy Seal who survived on his own behind enemy lines in Afghanistan?
More

Editorial: Concerns about budget cuts warranted

July 21, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We believe the state of Indiana has hit bone with a budget cut instituted earlier this month.
More

Sidebars: Despite detour, lunch did not disappoint

July 21, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Sometimes you have to go with Plan B when it comes to finding a place to eat.
More

Technology Untangled: Multifunction copier lacks key functions

July 21, 2010
Stephen Bour
Bour takes a look at a multifunction copier from Canon that disappointed him.
More

Federal Bar Update: Permissible fishing in discovery processRestricted Content

July 7, 2010
John Maley
John Maley writes about how one recent discovery order is interesting and has potential broader significance beyond the dispute between the parties.
More

Editorial: Next choice for Indiana Supreme Court must be a woman

July 7, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
The future is now for the high court.
More

Technology Untangled: New conference phone offers unique features

June 23, 2010
Stephen Bour
Stephen Bour purchased a new piece of office technology recently: a high-quality conference phone with impressive features.
More

Editorial: New judges add more than needed diversity

June 23, 2010
Rebecca Collier
Those of us on staff here at the newspaper that grew up in Indiana and were of a certain age to pay attention to the news can likely recall when Judge Sarah Evans Barker was confirmed to the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana.
More

Editorial: Don't keep quiet, join a healthy debate

June 9, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We know you have opinions – thoughtful, reasonable ones that would make for great discourse in the newspaper. But getting you to share them is more difficult than we would like.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Choose between the good and the goodRestricted Content

June 9, 2010
David Dreyer
Judge David J. Dreyer urges the governor to appoint a Notre Dame Law School alum.
More

DTCI: The broad scope of MDA preemption

June 9, 2010
John Twohy
In a series of decisions culminating in Riegel v. Medtronic, Inc.,  federal courts came to recognize that the Medial Device Amendments preempted not only traditional products liability claims such as those based on an alleged defect or implied warranty but also causes of action premised on theories such as consumer fraud.
More

Editorial: Hunt for victims' rights

May 26, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer

Here at the newspaper, we’re big fans of the First Amendment to the United States Constitution. But we understand the need for and exuberance some individuals feel for the Second Amendment: “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”

More

Letter to the editor: Distracted driving results in tragedy

April 28, 2010
The other day as I was reading through the March 17-30, 2010 issue of Indiana Lawyer, my attention was called to David Temple's article "Be smart: Don't use cell phone while driving!"
More

Letter to editor: Articles attack integrity

April 28, 2010
You can imagine my surprise upon reading articles in the Indiana Lawyer, The Indianapolis Star, and the Indianapolis Business Journal falsely impugning my integrity and the integrity of our law firm.
More

Editorial: Political pomposity a disservice to public

April 28, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Dawn Johnsen deserved the nomination, and definitely was the right woman for the job, but unfortunately partisan vitriol appears to be worth more in Washington, D.C., than doing the right thing.
More

Technology Untangled: Windows 7 provides compatibility with XP

April 28, 2010
Stephen Bour
One of the problems with upgrading to a new computer every few years is that you often must upgrade to a new version of Windows. This time around, it's Windows 7.
More

Opinion: One inattentive moment is all it takes

April 28, 2010
Lee Christie
In the March 17-30, 2010, issue of Indiana Lawyer, my colleague David A. Temple authored an informative article on cellular phone use while driving. In closing his article, he posed the question, "[w]ho will care for, raise and play with your family when you are disabled or dead?"
More

Opinion: Stay focused on the road, not the phone

April 28, 2010
Ryan Klitzsch
We've all been there. Driving the same route day-in and day-out, a hundred times before, with little to differentiate one trip from another. Then there's that one moment when something unforeseen occurs requiring you to instantly maneuver your vehicle and test how good your reflexes and anti-lock brakes really are - making this all-too-routine trip very different from the rest.
More

DTCI: EPA addresses lead paint renovation issues

April 14, 2010
Jason Massaro
After April 22, 2010, an act mandates that no person or company may perform, offer, or claim to perform renovations without first being certified by the Environmental Protection Agency where such renovations occur in structures that were, inter alia, constructed before 1978 and visited regularly or occupied by a child under the age of 6 or by a pregnant woman in which such structures are shown to have a high enough level of lead-based paint after testing.
More

Editorial: We the People team's civics study heartens many

April 14, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Like it or not, we live in a time where, for some people at least, it's become acceptable to speak about "reloading" when doing battle against political opponents and to mark their political districts with gun sites, and where members of a Midwestern church believe it's their duty to travel the nation and spew hate-laced messages in places where people are mourning tragedy.
More

Editorial: Lawmakers don't inspire confidence

March 17, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Indiana Supreme Court Justice Frank Sullivan certainly spoke for us when he asked this question a couple of weeks ago: "Wouldn't we feel better about all of this if it hadn't been enacted on partyline votes, though?"
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. I just wanted to point out that Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner, Senator Feinstein, former Senate majority leader Bill Frist, and former attorney general John Ashcroft are responsible for this rubbish. We need to keep a eye on these corrupt, arrogant, and incompetent fools.

  2. Well I guess our politicians have decided to give these idiot federal prosecutors unlimited power. Now if I guy bounces a fifty-dollar check, the U.S. attorney can intentionally wait for twenty-five years or so and have the check swabbed for DNA and file charges. These power hungry federal prosecutors now have unlimited power to mess with people. we can thank Wisconsin's Jim Sensenbrenner and Diane Feinstein, John Achcroft and Bill Frist for this one. Way to go, idiots.

  3. I wonder if the USSR had electronic voting machines that changed the ballot after it was cast? Oh well, at least we have a free media serving as vicious watchdog and exposing all of the rot in the system! (Insert rimshot)

  4. Jose, you are assuming those in power do not wish to be totalitarian. My experience has convinced me otherwise. Constitutionalists are nearly as rare as hens teeth among the powerbrokers "managing" us for The Glorious State. Oh, and your point is dead on, el correcta mundo. Keep the Founders’ (1791 & 1851) vision alive, my friend, even if most all others, and especially the ruling junta, chase only power and money (i.e. mammon)

  5. Hypocrisy in high places, absolute immunity handed out like Halloween treats (it is the stuff of which tyranny is made) and the belief that government agents are above the constitutions and cannot be held responsible for mere citizen is killing, perhaps has killed, The Republic. And yet those same power drunk statists just reel on down the hallway toward bureaucratic fascism.

ADVERTISEMENT