Opinion

Techology Untangled: The Android alternative to the iPhone

December 8, 2010
Stephen Bour
Today’s review will discuss the latest Droid phones by Motorola and their Android software.
More

Viewpoint: I hope you read this

November 24, 2010
An anonymous young lawyer in Indianapolis discusses her anxiety issues and the Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program.
More

DTCI: Medical Negligence vs. Premises Liability

November 24, 2010
From DTCI
When a patient is harmed during a medical procedure, a patient may elect to file a medical negligence claim against his physician and the health care facility in which the procedure occurred. However, when a patient is harmed during a hospitalization, should the claim still be pursued as one of medical negligence or is it more appropriately a premises liability claim?
More

Sidebars: Gamba Ristorante consistently top notch

November 24, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys give Merrillville's Gamba Ristorante four gavels.
More

Editorial: Human trafficking is local issue

November 10, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
It’s a silent and devastating problem going on right under our noses, and it’s going to take courage and a willingness to ask invasive and uncomfortable questions to stop it.
More

Editorial: Ted Boehm not headed toward retirement

October 27, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
This was one retirement ceremony we were not looking forward to attending, fearing that the gentleman stepping away from the bench would slip away from public life and live quietly with his family, indulging his interests outside the law, while working as a mediator at Van Winkle Baten Rimstidt and senior judging for the Indiana Court of Appeals.
More

Sidebars: Landmark serves up more than history

October 27, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Lukemeyer and Vaiana visit Zaharakos in Columbus, Ind.
More

DTCI: Take time to smell flowers along the way

October 27, 2010
Jeffrey Crabill
When the name Rabb Emison comes to my mind, I immediately think of the word “great.”
More

Letters to a new lawyer: Some general advice

October 27, 2010
Donald D. Doxsee gives advice in the first letter in an occasional series.
More

Technology Untangled: Overcome odd twists to solve tech issues

October 13, 2010
Stephen Bour
Let’s review some technical problems and solutions that have come across my desk in the past few months. It seems like even the apparently straightforward issues often take an odd twist
More

Quality of Life: Making significant life changes with purposeRestricted Content

September 29, 2010
Jonna Kane MacDougall
If you have ever considered making a major life change, you know that it isn’t easy.
More

Editorial: New justice brings much to appreciate

September 29, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
The state still needs to address the elephant in the room.
More

Federal Bar Update: Client representative at settlement conferences

September 29, 2010
John Maley
In the Southern District of Indiana, settlement conferences are routinely held in most civil cases before the assigned magistrate judge.
More

DTCI: Existing duty is prerequisite of negligence

September 29, 2010
From DTCI
To prevail on a claim of negligence, a plaintiff must show that a duty exists, that the duty was breached, and that damages resulted from that breach. It goes without saying that there can be no negligence or liability where there is no duty.
More

Editorial: Maybe there's a reason she doesn't just leave

September 15, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Why doesn’t she just leave?
More

In-box: IBA's move is a step in the right direction

September 15, 2010
Read a letter to the editor from the Indianapolis Bar Association president about the recently formed PAC for judicial campaign contributions.
More

Opinions Sept. 1, 2010

September 1, 2010
Indiana Supreme Court

Suzanne Eads and James Atterhold, Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Insurance v. Community Hospital
No. 45S03-1001-CV-33
Civil. Rules general negligence claims filed with the Indiana Department of Insurance can continue an action already filed in state court relating to medical malpractice issues.
More

Editorial: Preservation of judicial impartiality a win

September 1, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Here at the newspaper, we don’t like to see anything put the brakes on the sharing of opinions.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Plain English? Revisions plain common senseRestricted Content

September 1, 2010
David Dreyer
“The Indiana Model Civil Jury Instructions, written in plain English, are now available. … The new instructions were prepared by the Civil Instructions Committee of the Indiana Judges Association.”
More

DTCI: Hands-free cell calls while driving are not safer

September 1, 2010
James Hehner
It is hoped that you had the opportunity to read an article written by my friend, Dave Temple, regarding the dangers of using your cell phone or PDA while driving, which was published in the March 17-30, 2010, edition of the Indiana Lawyer.
More

Federal Bar Update: More federal rule changes on horizonRestricted Content

August 18, 2010
John Maley
For 2010, the Supreme Court approved a package of amendments in late April that will amend several appellate rules, bankruptcy rules, criminal rules, civil rules, and an evidence rule.
More

Sidebars: Lunch at Pioneer Village most fulfilling, leisurely

August 18, 2010
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Remember folks, the premise behind this article is not merely to make eatery suggestions, it is also to encourage a bit of leisure over the lunch hour with your colleague, mentor/mentee, opposing counsel, or a friend.
More

Editorial: Nature of work requires adequate safety plan

August 18, 2010
IL Staff
A few days after then-U.S. District Court Judge David Hamilton ruled in late 2005 in Anthony Hinrichs, et al. v. Brian Bosma, et al., that sectarian prayer could not be used to open legislative sessions, we received a phone call from someone who wanted the judge’s e-mail address and contact information. We declined to give that information.
More

Editorial: Remove obstacles that discourage voters

August 4, 2010
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Casting a ballot in an election ought to be a simple thing for a citizen to do. But there are those who would make it as difficult as possible for some to exercise their franchise.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Instructions in plain language a natural next stepRestricted Content

August 4, 2010
John Pera
The Judicial Administration Committee of the Judicial Conference of Indiana began conducting research on jury reform in 1997. At approximately the same time, the Indiana Supreme Court organized citizens, attorneys, and judges to form the Citizens Commission for the Future of Indiana Courts.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. "Am I bugging you? I don't mean to bug ya." If what I wrote below is too much social philosophy for Indiana attorneys, just take ten this vacay to watch The Lego Movie with kiddies and sing along where appropriate: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etzMjoH0rJw

  2. I've got some free speech to share here about who is at work via the cat's paw of the ACLU stamping out Christian observances.... 2 Thessalonians chap 2: "And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as a human word, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe. For you, brothers and sisters, became imitators of God’s churches in Judea, which are in Christ Jesus: You suffered from your own people the same things those churches suffered from the Jews who killed the Lord Jesus and the prophets and also drove us out. They displease God and are hostile to everyone in their effort to keep us from speaking to the Gentiles so that they may be saved. In this way they always heap up their sins to the limit. The wrath of God has come upon them at last."

  3. Did someone not tell people who have access to the Chevy Volts that it has a gas engine and will run just like a normal car? The batteries give the Volt approximately a 40 mile range, but after that the gas engine will propel the vehicle either directly through the transmission like any other car, or gas engine recharges the batteries depending on the conditions.

  4. Catholic, Lutheran, even the Baptists nuzzling the wolf! http://www.judicialwatch.org/press-room/press-releases/judicial-watch-documents-reveal-obama-hhs-paid-baptist-children-family-services-182129786-four-months-housing-illegal-alien-children/ YET where is the Progressivist outcry? Silent. I wonder why?

  5. Thank you, Honorable Ladies, and thank you, TIL, for this interesting interview. The most interesting question was the last one, which drew the least response. Could it be that NFP stamps are a threat to the very foundation of our common law American legal tradition, a throwback to the continental system that facilitated differing standards of justice? A throwback to Star Chamber’s protection of the landed gentry? If TIL ever again interviews this same panel, I would recommend inviting one known for voicing socio-legal dissent for the masses, maybe Welch, maybe Ogden, maybe our own John Smith? As demographics shift and our social cohesion precipitously drops, a consistent judicial core will become more and more important so that Justice and Equal Protection and Due Process are yet guiding stars. If those stars fall from our collective social horizon (and can they be seen even now through the haze of NFP opinions?) then what glue other than more NFP decisions and TRO’s and executive orders -- all backed by more and more lethally armed praetorians – will prop up our government institutions? And if and when we do arrive at such an end … will any then dare call that tyranny? Or will the cost of such dissent be too high to justify?

ADVERTISEMENT