Opinion

Lucas: The pace of news, like life, changes fast

October 26, 2011
Kelly Lucas
The wave of technology that has swept the late 20th and early 21st centuries is taking us all for an interesting ride.
More

Sidebars: South of Chicago offers authentic 'Region' fare

October 26, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give South of Chicago 3.5 gavels!
More

IBJ Media names new IL editor

October 12, 2011
Kelly Lucas
Kelly Lucas is Indiana Lawyer's new editor.
More

TV drug court raises ethical concerns

October 12, 2011
Jenny Montgomery
Reporter Jenny Montgomery writes about a new TV drug court.
More

Column: Discussion on salable goodwill continues

September 28, 2011
On July 29, 2010, the Wisconsin Court of Appeals issued a decision that upheld the inclusion of salable professional (personal) goodwill in a marital estate in Wisconsin.
More

Column: 'Catch the rat' by using forensic accounting

September 28, 2011
Has your client experienced theft or maybe suffered from financial losses due to fraud? In hindsight did they wonder how the fraud was not discovered sooner? Help your client “catch the rat” by understanding how to better detect fraud and identify red flags that may indicate “a rat” is on the loose.
More

Indiana Judges Association:The Thinker 2.0

September 28, 2011
David Dreyer
Have you been thinking lately? Judges and lawyers make a profession of “thinking,” of analyzing, balancing, applying, and just plain old wondering. But do we think like we used to?
More

Sidebars: Black Market is a must-visit Mass. Ave. destination

September 28, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Black Market 4 gavels!
More

Baeverstad: Does M.D. allow expert to rely on junk science?

September 28, 2011
A patient comes to the hospital and receives twice the amount of thrombolytics ordered by the cardiologist. The thrombolytics have a risk of causing hemorrhagic stroke. Two days later, the patient strokes and dies. The treating cardiologist is of the opinion that the stroke was caused by the excessive dose given to the patient. Does this seem like a “no brainer” on causation?
More

Fehribach: What Labor Day means for people with disabilities

September 28, 2011
Earlier this month, the National Organization on Disability recognized nine U.S. companies for their work in hiring and engaging people with disabilities.
More

Robel: Preparing for seamlessly global profession

September 28, 2011
What does the future hold for the law students who began their studies a few weeks ago in Bloomington and across the United States?
More

Technology Untangled: Blu-ray players also stream Internet video

September 14, 2011
Stephen Bour
Stephen Bour takes a look into a HD Blu-ray disc player to expand his viewing options.
More

Federal Bar Update: Comments accepted on Rule 45 amendments

September 14, 2011
John Maley
John Maley discusses proposed rule amendments and a study on 12(b)(6) motions.
More

Terms of Art: From death row to SoHo

September 14, 2011
Wandini Riggins
Attorney Wandini Riggins writes about lawyer Rhonda Long-Sharp, who has a gallery in Indianapolis and plans to open others in Detroit and New York.
More

IL Editorial: The cynic asks: yVote! or why vote?

August 31, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
Marion County Clerk Beth White has started her yVote! program, which we believe to be a wonderful undertaking. She travels to any Marion County high school that will have her in to teach civics.
More

Sidebars: When in Buffalo, eat wings

August 17, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Fred Vaiana gives Anchor Bar in Buffalo, NY 4 gavels!
More

Technology Untangled: QR codes provide quick info for smartphones

July 20, 2011
Stephen Bour
While relatively new to smartphones, this type of two-dimensional matrix barcode has actually been in existence since 1994.
More

Nordstrom: Book disappoints seasoned jury consultant

July 20, 2011
Rodney Nordstrom
Trial consultant Rodney Nordstrom reviews "The Micro-script Rules."
More

SIDEBARS: A serving of history at the Pioneer Village

July 20, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys Jim Voyles and Jennifer Lukemeyer joined guests and Pioneer Village volunteers at an annual supper held as a prelude to the state fair in August.
More

Terms of Art: Attorney is a 'study in contrasts'

July 20, 2011
Wandini Riggins
Author Wandini Riggins writes about Norman G. Tabler, Indiana University Health's senior vice president and general counsel.
More

Barnes used as excuse to challenge merit selection

June 22, 2011
Editorial Indiana Lawyer
We surmised it would only be a matter of time before the clamor began, but we were a little taken aback at how few days passed after the Indiana Supreme Court decision in Barnes v. State was issued before a legislator told us he would put together a proposal to change the merit selection process that’s been in place for our appellate courts for nearly 40 years.
More

Sidebars: 'A Taste of Europe' found in Indianapolis

June 22, 2011
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Attorneys Jennifer Lukemeyer and Frederick Vaiana give the grocer three gavels.
More

DTCI: A refresher in insurance defense client and company reporting

June 22, 2011
Communication is vital to maintaining ethical obligation, professionalism, and civility in client representation.
More

Guest columnist: Indiana's texting ban is flawed and unenforceable

June 8, 2011
Indiana attorney Chris Pearcy discusses the new law banning texting while driving in Indiana, which takes effect July 1.
More

Nordstrom: Author provides jury selection strategies

May 25, 2011
Rodney Nordstrom
Rodney Nordstrom writes about the book "Principles and Practice of Trial Consultation."
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Today, I want to use this opportunity to tell everyone about Dr agbuza of agbuzaodera(at)gmail. com, on how he help me reunited with my husband after 2 months of divorce.My husband divorce me because he saw another woman in his office and he said to me that he is no longer in love with me anymore and decide to divorce me.I seek help from the Net and i saw good talk about Dr agbuza and i contact him and explain my problem to him and he cast a spell for me which i use to get my husband back within 2 days.am totally happy because there is no reparations and side-effect. If you need his help Email him at agbuzaodera(at)gmail. com

  2. The practitioners and judges who hail E-filing as the Saviour of the West need to contain their respective excitements. E-filing is federal court requires the practitioner to cram his motion practice into pigeonholes created by IT people. Compound motions or those seeking alternative relief are effectively barred, unless the practitioner wants to receive a tart note from some functionary admonishing about the "problem". E-filing is just another method by which courts and judges transfer their burden to practitioners, who are the really the only powerless components of the system. Of COURSE it is easier for the court to require all of its imput to conform to certain formats, but this imposition does NOT improve the quality of the practice of law and does NOT improve the ability of the practitioner to advocate for his client or to fashion pleadings that exactly conform to his client's best interests. And we should be very wary of the disingenuous pablum about the costs. The courts will find a way to stick it to the practitioner. Lake County is a VERY good example of this rapaciousness. Any one who does not believe this is invited to review the various special fees that system imposes upon practitioners- as practitioners- and upon each case ON TOP of the court costs normal in every case manually filed. Jurisprudence according to Aldous Huxley.

  3. Any attorneys who practice in federal court should be able to say the same as I can ... efiling is great. I have been doing it in fed court since it started way back. Pacer has its drawbacks, but the ability to hit an e-docket and pull up anything and everything onscreen is a huge plus for a litigator, eps the sole practitioner, who lacks a filing clerk and the paralegal support of large firms. Were I an Indiana attorney I would welcome this great step forward.

  4. Can we get full disclosure on lobbyist's payments to legislatures such as Mr Buck? AS long as there are idiots that are disrespectful of neighbors and intent on shooting fireworks every night, some kind of regulations are needed.

  5. I am the mother of the child in this case. My silence on the matter was due to the fact that I filed, both in Illinois and Indiana, child support cases. I even filed supporting documentation with the Indiana family law court. Not sure whether this information was provided to the court of appeals or not. Wish the case was done before moving to Indiana, because no matter what, there is NO WAY the state of Illinois would have allowed an appeal on a child support case!

ADVERTISEMENT