Opinion

Indiana Judges Association: Will paper remain at the end of the e-filing tunnel?

October 5, 2016
David Dreyer
The benefits of “going paperless” can be exciting. A municipal court in suburban Seattle recently reported saving $500,000 annually by e-filing.
More

DTCI: Some lessons learned while on the DTCI board

October 5, 2016
Jamie Oss
Since I am soon leaving the DTCI board of directors and moving on to the ISBA Board of Governors, I thought that I would share a few lessons that I have learned over the years, both on the board and off, as my last director’s column.
More

Hammerle on... 'The Magnificent Seven,' 'Snowden,' 'The Hollars'

October 5, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Snowden" serves as a reminder to Americans how we have largely lost our privacy.
More

Young: Remembering US Probation Officer Tom Gahl

September 21, 2016
Sept. 22, 2016, marks the 30th anniversary of the most tragic day in the history of the Southern District of Indiana: the murder of United States Probation Officer Thomas E. Gahl.
More

Start Page: The appeal of the newest Apple iPhone? The core

September 21, 2016
Seth Wilson
This article will provide a brief overview of the new features available on the iPhone 7 to help you determine if it’s time to upgrade.
More

Federal Bar Update: Show up and pay attention to court matters

September 21, 2016
John Maley
In the Northern and Southern Districts of Indiana, from time to time the federal bench has found it necessary to comment on deficient practitioner performance. A recent example also serves as a reminder of some basic principles in this age of phone conferences.
More

Hammerle on…'The Light Between Oceans,' 'Sully'

September 21, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends "The Light Between Oceans," but will never watch it again.
More

Sugarman: SCOTUS affirms wetland determinations subject to review

September 7, 2016
On May 31, the United States Supreme Court once again unanimously delivered a victory for landowners who wish to challenge wetlands determinations handed down by the federal government.
More

Wagner: Who will pay to clean up Indiana's polluted deep aquifers?

September 7, 2016
Bill Wagner
With fewer taxpayer dollars to fund the Superfund program, the responsible parties left standing would have to bear the costs for others that have either gone out of business or filed for bankruptcy.
More

Bell/Whelan: 3 things to know about requests for client information

September 7, 2016
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
Here are three things to know when a third party requests information about your client, including don’t be cooperative, civil or otherwise charming.
More

Quality of Life: When it feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day

September 7, 2016
Jonna Kane MacDougall
How’s life going these days? Are we having fun yet? The name of this column is “Quality of Life.” How would you assess the quality of your life?
More

DTCI: The need for federal anti-SLAPP legislation is great

September 7, 2016
Christopher Lee
Whether it is The Speak Free Act or some other federal legislation, there appears to be a growing consensus that a federal uniform anti-SLAPP statute will eventually be enacted.
More

Hammerle On…'Kubo and the Two Strings,' 'Hell or High Water,' 'Don't Think Twice'

September 7, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Kubo and the Two Strings" is a magnificent animated film for adults and older children.
More

Patterson: Trial by jury ensures justice for the people

August 24, 2016
As the state of Indiana celebrates its bicentennial year, we should all remember the importance of the right to trial by jury and commit to ensuring that this right remains inviolate.
More

Jones/Schocke: What to do about peeping drones

August 24, 2016
The FAA does not appear to be taking a stance on privacy any time soon as they have remarked that the question of privacy should be determined under state law. So where do our state laws stand on privacy issues?
More

DeVoe/Escoffery: Acquiring UI accounts in asset purchase deals

August 24, 2016
Although the seller’s Indiana unemployment insurance account may not be the focus of an asset purchase transaction, it is important for the buyer and seller to consider the subject before closing on the purchase.
More

Hanson/Eckhart: Class wage-and-hour litigation is an ongoing threat

August 24, 2016
Employers face countless labor and employment challenges every day. Wage-and-hour compliance issues are near the top of that list because employers have experienced an increase in the number of class- and collective-action lawsuits filed against them.
More

Hammerle on... 'Indignation,' 'Sausage Party,' 'Bad Moms'

August 24, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Indignation" should be knocking on the door when Oscar nominations are announced next year.
More

Cohen and Mattingly: ESI review protocols: No more shots in the dark

August 10, 2016
Document productions, if done incorrectly, are often overly and underly broad; unnecessarily expensive and inefficient; and potentially damaging. These days if you, knowingly or unknowingly, produce a needle in a stack of hay, it will be (or should be) found.
More

Keaton: NIED: Impact, involvement and injury

August 10, 2016
Must a physical injury occur before a plaintiff may recover for negligent infliction of emotional distress? Perhaps not.
More

Start Page: Are you (tech) ready for back to school?

August 10, 2016
Seth Wilson
This article offers some ideas to help you use technology to take charge of the back-to-school chaos and make this school year great.
More

DTCI: Want to stop the lawyer jokes? Change the perception

August 10, 2016
Matthew King
It troubles me when our profession is reduced to jokes. If the public perception of lawyers perpetuates the jokes and negative portrayals, and if those jokes and portrayals bother us, what can we do to change the public perception?
More

Hammerle On…'Captain Fantastic,' 'Star Trek Beyond'

August 10, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Captain Fantastic" is a creative, daring film that encourages you to think.
More

Hammerle On…'The Secret Life of Pets,' 'Hunt for the Wilderpeople,' 'Ghostbusters'

July 27, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Secret Life of Pets" will leave a smile on your face.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District’s local rule on indigent appointments

July 27, 2016
John Maley
Although referred to by some as the “mandatory pro bono rule,” in fact the rule is entitled “Representation of Indigent Litigants,” and is multi-faceted.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. @BryanJBrown, You are totally correct. I have no words, you nailed it.....

  2. You have not overstated the reality of the present situation. The government inquisitor in my case, who demanded that I, on the record, to choose between obedience to God's law or man's law, remains on the BLE, even an officer of the BLE, and was recently renewed in her contract for another four years. She has a long history in advancing LGBQT rights. http://www.realjock.com/article/1071 THINK WITH ME: What if a currently serving BLE officer or analogous court official (ie discplinary officer) asked an atheist to affirm the Existence, or demanded a transsexual to undergo a mental evaluation to probe his/her alleged mindcrime? That would end a career. The double standard is glaring, see the troubling question used to ban me for life from the Ind bar right here: https://www.scribd.com/doc/312841269/Thomas-More-Society-Amicus-Brown-v-Ind-Bd-of-Law-Examiners (see page 8 of 21) Again, what if I had been a homosexual rights activist before law school rather than a prolife activist? A gay rights activist after law school admitted to the SCOTUS and Kansas since 1996, without discipline? A homosexual rights activist who had argued before half the federal appellate courts in the country? I am pretty certain that had I been that LGBQT activist, and not a pro-life activist, my passing of the Indiana bar exam would have rendered me an Indiana attorney .... rather than forever banished. So yes, there is a glaring double standard. And some are even beyond the reach of constitutional and statutory protections. I was.

  3. Historically speaking pagans devalue children and worship animals. How close are we? Consider the ruling above plus today's tidbit from the politically correct high Court: http://indianacourts.us/times/2016/12/are-you-asking-the-right-questions-intimate-partner-violence-and-pet-abuse/

  4. The father is a convicted of spousal abuse. 2 restaining orders been put on him, never made any difference the whole time she was there. The time he choked the mother she dropped the baby the police were called. That was the only time he was taken away. The mother was suppose to have been notified when he was released no call was ever made. He made his way back, kicked the door open and terrified the mother. She ran down the hallway and locked herself and the baby in the bathroom called 911. The police came and said there was nothing they could do (the policeman was a old friend from highschool, good ole boy thing).They told her he could burn the place down as long as she wasn't in it.The mother got another resataining order, the judge told her if you were my daughter I would tell you to leave. So she did. He told her "If you ever leave me I will make your life hell, you don't know who your f!@#$%^ with". The fathers other 2 grown children from his 1st exwife havent spoke 1 word to him in almost 15yrs not 1 word.This is what will be a forsure nightmare for this little girl who is in the hands of pillar of the community. Totally corrupt system. Where I come from I would be in jail not only for that but non payment of child support. Unbelievably pitiful...

  5. dsm 5 indicates that a lot of kids with gender dysphoria grow out of it. so is it really a good idea to encourage gender reassignment? Perhaps that should wait for the age of majority. I don't question the compassionate motives of many of the trans-advocates, but I do question their wisdom. Likewise, they should not question the compassion of those whose potty policies differ. too often, any opposition to the official GLBT agenda is instantly denounced as "homophobia" etc.

ADVERTISEMENT