Opinion

Larimore and Riddle: FDA loses a First Amendment challenge

July 13, 2016
Mary Nold Larimore and Nancy Menard Riddle recap exciting developments in drug and device law.
More

BGBC: Avoiding potential pitfalls of payroll service providers

July 13, 2016
If you’re an attorney who provides advice to small businesses, it’s not uncommon for a new (or existing) business owner to ask your advice on which payroll service provider to use.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: The exclusionary rule is on a losing streak

July 13, 2016
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The latest defeat for the exclusionary rule came in the case of Utah v. Strieff.
More

Living Fit: Sharon’s top 5 for getting and staying in shape

July 13, 2016
Sharon McGoff
People from all walks of life transform their health and bodies with one common denominator — they are consistent with the positive changes they make.
More

Hammerle on... 'Free State of Jones,' 'The Legend of Tarzan'

July 13, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says don't be misled about "The Legend of Tarzan" by critics with a bad attitude.
More

Adams: Setting standards for 'silver tsunami' preparedness

June 29, 2016
A popular topic in the media lately is the “silver tsunami” — the huge wave of baby boomers who will leave the workforce in the coming years and become eligible for the senior discount. The legal system needs to prepare today for the influx of issues that will wash ashore.
More

Editorial: Modest proposal to state, IBM lawyers: Settle for nothing

June 29, 2016
IL Staff
Six years have passed since Indiana sued IBM over the failed $1 billion contract for the computer giant to modernize a punch-card-era system for determining welfare eligibility. After the contract was famously canceled, IBM blamed the state, the state blamed IBM, and they’ve been fighting in court since.
More

Hammond: Loss of love and companionship: Tough love for minors

June 29, 2016
The situation: a single mother is killed in a crash leaving behind a young daughter. The defense attorney refuses to consider paying any damages to the young daughter beyond her 18th birthday, including for the loss of love, care and affection of her deceased mother. Can that be right?
More

Cotterill: Commercial courts will enhance economic development

June 29, 2016
Indiana’s judiciary has been added to the long list of what makes Indiana so favorable a place to do business.
More

Start Page: Clear your Outlook inbox, clear your mind

June 29, 2016
Seth Wilson
Unfortunately, leaving emails unprocessed in your inbox waiting for you drains your energy, causes you to procrastinate, and takes up mental capacity. Thankfully, there’s a better way to deal with email. It’s called getting to “Inbox Zero.”
More

Hammerle on…'Finding Dory,' 'Weiner'

June 29, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Abandoned by my two grandchildren and Saudi foreign exchange student, I was forced to bite the bullet and go alone to see “Finding Dory.”
More

Jerrells: Thoughts on the Ad Hoc Tax Court Task Force report

June 15, 2016
Though naysayers may decry the costs of adding a magistrate, two additional judges, or both, it would be a small cost to avoid justice delayed and, therefore, justice denied.
More

Quick: Showcase your face in internet videos to attract new clients

June 15, 2016
More law firms are spending more of their marketing dollars on web-based online videos instead of traditional television advertising. Done right, this strategy can actually save you a ton of money and be more effective as you can really target your customers wherever they are.
More

DTCI: Experience New England in the fall with defense colleagues

June 15, 2016
Renee Mortimer
My dear defense lawyer colleagues, it is time to plan to attend the Defense Research Institute 2016 Annual Meeting!
More

Technology Untangled: Some thoughts on email security and encryption

June 15, 2016
Stephen Bour
Email security is about more than just keeping attachments secure until they reach the intended destination. There is also the concern about who may be looking at the body of your transmissions along the way.
More

Hammerle on…'Me Before You,' 'Love & Friendship'

June 15, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Love & Friendship" defines why people like him love movies.
More

Glenn: Estate planning for Florida snowbirds

June 1, 2016
Indiana attorneys are well-advised to have Florida counsel engaged in the planning of any strategies involving their snowbird clients’ Florida interests, and certainly in the preparation of any Florida estate planning documents.
More

Munson: Lawyer. Hero. Human. All in a day’s work

June 1, 2016
As a new attorney, I was amazed at the power three little letters, E-S-Q, carried behind my name. Signing my title behind my name was akin to donning a superhero cape.
More

Ira: Artificial intelligence raises questions, has great promise

June 1, 2016
New lawyers face a volatile future given the recent surge of technology capable of automating many tasks traditionally performed by lawyers.
More

Column: Federal Trade Secrets Act signed into law

June 1, 2016
On May 11, President Barack Obama signed the Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016 into law, thereby creating, for the first time, a federal system of trade secrets law.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District’s proposed local rule on court appointments

June 1, 2016
John Maley
As an active participant in drafting and review of the Local Rule, this author has observed first-hand the careful, thoughtful and patient consideration by the court of the clear need for more lawyers to take on more pro bono cases in the court, and the balance of limits on an individual lawyer’s time and resources to take on these cases.
More

Plugged In: Untangling those unwanted emails from your inbox

June 1, 2016
Deanna Marquez
One of the most mismanaged items across businesses today is the email inbox.
More

Dean's Desk: Students, faculty, alumni changing lives for the better

June 1, 2016
Andrew Klein
A legal education gives people the power to change lives for the better. I am proud to share some examples based on efforts from students, faculty and alumni of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law.
More

Hammerle On… 'The Nice Guys,' 'Money Monster'

June 1, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Money Monster" is a very entertaining film.
More

Billionaires are allowed to pay for people to sue their enemies

May 26, 2016
Bloomberg Analysis
One of the weirder court cases in recent memory became even stranger this week when news broke that Hulk Hogan’s lawsuit against Gawker was being secretly funded by billionaire Peter Thiel.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. So if I am reading it right, only if and when African American college students agree to receive checks labeling them as "Negroes" do they receive aid from the UNCF or the Quaker's Educational Fund? In other words, to borrow from the Indiana Appellate Court, "the [nonprofit] supposed to be [their] advocate, refers to [students] in a racially offensive manner. While there is no evidence that [the nonprofits] intended harm to [African American students], the harm was nonetheless inflicted. [Black students are] presented to [academia and future employers] in a racially offensive manner. For these reasons, [such] performance [is] deficient and also prejudice[ial]." Maybe even DEPLORABLE???

  2. I'm the poor soul who spent over 10 years in prison with many many other prisoners trying to kill me for being charged with a sex offense THAT I DID NOT COMMIT i was in jail for a battery charge for helping a friend leave a boyfriend who beat her I've been saying for over 28 years that i did not and would never hurt a child like that mine or anybody's child but NOBODY wants to believe that i might not be guilty of this horrible crime or think that when i say that ALL the paperwork concerning my conviction has strangely DISAPPEARED or even when the long beach judge re-sentenced me over 14 months on a already filed plea bargain out of another districts court then had it filed under a fake name so i could not find while trying to fight my conviction on appeal in a nut shell people are ALWAYS quick to believe the worst about some one well I DID NOT HURT ANY CHILD EVER IN MY LIFE AND HAVE SAID THIS FOR ALMOST 30 YEARS please if anybody can me get some kind of justice it would be greatly appreciated respectfully written wrongly accused Brian Valenti

  3. A high ranking Indiana supreme Court operative caught red handed leading a group using the uber offensive N word! She must denounce or be denounced! (Or not since she is an insider ... rules do not apply to them). Evidence here: http://m.indianacompanies.us/friends-educational-fund-for-negroes.364110.company.v2#top_info

  4. A high ranking bureaucrat with Ind sup court is heading up an organization celebrating the formal N word!!! She must resign and denounce! http://m.indianacompanies.us/friends-educational-fund-for-negroes.364110.company.v2#top_info

  5. ND2019, don't try to confuse the Left with facts. Their ideologies trump facts, trump due process, trump court rules, even trump federal statutes. I hold the proof if interested. Facts matter only to those who are not on an agenda-first mission.

ADVERTISEMENT