Opinion

Adolay: The consequences of improper employee classification

March 22, 2017
A dangerous yet continued way of thinking by some companies is that the company can enter into a contract with an individual and call it an independent contractor agreement, agree on how that agreement will be structured, and be protected from liability normally attributed to an employer. This misconception carries a potential for significant damages for the company and its decision-makers.
More

Walker: EEOC investigative subpoena power to be tested

March 22, 2017
The Supreme Court of the United States is specifically addressing how appellate courts should review district courts’ decisions to quash or enforce an EEOC subpoena.
More

Plugged In: 5 features to help you Excel

March 22, 2017
Deanna Marquez
When thinking of Excel, many think of numbers and formulas and begin to have nightmares about high school math. However, this program can be used for so much more than number crunching and complex data models.
More

Federal Bar Update: Motions to reconsider; 7th Circuit conference in Indy

March 22, 2017
John Maley
Judge Robert L. Miller recently addressed a motion to reconsider a ruling denying in part a defense motion for summary judgment; the opinion provides good guidance on whether and when such motions are appropriate.
More

Dunn: Indiana law, precedent lead to $2.6M settlement for sales rep

March 22, 2017
This article summarizes how a terminated commissioned sales representative achieved a settlement of over $2.6 million from an Indiana company.
More

DTCI: Counsel, can you spare the time?

March 22, 2017
A famous saying which came to exemplify the Great Depression was, “Brother, can you spare a dime?” My question posed to Hoosier attorneys is, “Counsel, can you spare some time?”
More

Hammerle on ... 'Logan,' 'Kong: Skull Island'

March 22, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Logan" may end up being one of the better movies this year.
More

Waterhouse: Lessons from Flint: law, economics, equity and the environment

March 8, 2017
Behind the very technical laws we have in our state and across the country, there are broader goals and ends. When we lose sight of these, laws, like other tools, can become destructive forces that strip people of their dignity, well-being and their lives.
More

Sugarman/Tuley: Hazardous waste rule changes may impact Indiana businesses

March 8, 2017
In November 2016, the Indiana Department of Environmental Management incorporated the EPA’s alterations to its Definition of Solid Waste (or DSW) Rule into the Indiana Administrative Code.
More

Technology Untangled: Sideline app adds second line to your smartphone

March 8, 2017
Stephen Bour
I recently ran across an advertisement for an app that allows you to add a separate phone line to your existing smartphone. This idea seemed practical, especially in this age where virtually everyone carries a personal smartphone at all times.
More

In memory of Indiana Justice Roger Owen DeBruler

March 8, 2017
Following are excerpts from a eulogy delivered by retired Indiana Supreme Court Justice Frank Sullivan Jr. at the funeral of the late Indiana Justice Roger DeBruler.
More

Hewedak: Clashes between immigration law and family law

March 8, 2017
As a Marion County public defender, I have come across cases involving foreign nationals who were deported and therefore unable to be available to care for their U.S.-born children in children in need of services and termination of parental rights cases.
More

Baker: What does treatment look like for lawyers, judges in need?

March 8, 2017
The careers and lives of judges, lawyers and law students can be jeopardized by mental health issues, chemical dependency and other debilitating conditions. These threats to legal professionals’ well-being come in many different forms. Fortunately, so do treatment options.
More

Hammerle on... 'A United Kingdom,' 'Get Out'

March 8, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Get Out" is a great horror movie.
More

Reuhs: Insurance coverage for the internet of things

February 22, 2017
The “internet of things” appears to represent the next wave of new liabilities: cars being remotely controlled by hackers or medical devices being used as access points for theft of medical records.
More

WKW: Automobile insurance coverage without entering your car

February 22, 2017
One of the lesser known benefits of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is that it does not require insureds to be inside an automobile. This is because most policies frame the coverage as applying when the insured is legally entitled to recover from an uninsured or underinsured motorist because of an accident, but they do not specify where the insured has to be when the accident occurs.
More

Eye on the Profession: Dr. King’s timeless words from 50 years ago still ring true

February 22, 2017
John Trimble
Is our legal profession confronted with “fierce urgency?” I submit that we are.
More

Neutral Corner: Experts advise to ‘think slow’ when handling mediations

February 22, 2017
John Van Winkle
The tendency for decision-makers to respond first with an intuitive (and often wrong) response has significant implications for both mediators and advocates.
More

DTCI: I’m prepared for life’s emergencies, but are you?

February 22, 2017
Jason Massaro
This article raises some simple questions about the way we function in our day-to-day lives and honestly assesses how “prepared” we really are.
More

Start Page: Microsoft Word for the legal profession: reformat documents

February 22, 2017
Seth Wilson
For 2017, the Start Page column will focus on Microsoft Word. Each article will help build skills you can use each day in your practice to be more efficient and effective for your clients.
More

Hammerle’s 2016 Oscar predictions

February 22, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Once again, the Oscars are upon us, and it’s time that I stare into my admitted fuzzy crystal ball. I wouldn’t go to Vegas and bet on my predictions, but I’m not afraid to be wrong.
More

Borissov: Broadband access in rural areas and mandatory e-filing

February 8, 2017
Would I welcome mandatory e-filing with such open arms if I practiced in a small town or rural area in Indiana, as many of our distinguished colleagues do, where access to broadband is limited?
More

Indiana Judges Association: Presidential inaugurations show judicial power

February 8, 2017
David Dreyer
United States Chef Justice John Roberts administered the oath of office for President Donald Trump on Jan. 20. There is no law or provision indicating who shall give the presidential oath.
More

BGBC: A closer look at the GOP proposal for corporate tax reform

February 8, 2017
The Republican blueprint believes that the current corporate tax structure encourages businesses to move money overseas.
More

Hammerle on ... '20th Century Women,' Tribute to Mary Tyler Moore, John Hurt and Barbara Hale

February 8, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle wanted "20th Century Women" to be a better movie than it was.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. The number one way to reduce suffering would be to ban the breeding of fighting dogs. Fighting dogs maim and kill victim dogs Fighting dogs are the most essential piece of dog fighting Dog fighting will continue as long as fighting dogs are struggling to reach each other and maul another fih.longaphernalia

  2. Oh, and you fail to mention that you deprived the father of far FAR more time than he ever did you, even requiring officers to escort the children back into his care. Please, can you see that you had a huge part in "starting the war?" Patricia, i can't understand how painfully heartbreak ithis ordeal must have been for you. I read the appellate case and was surprised to see both sides of the story because your actions were harmful to your child; more so than the fathers. The evidence wasn't re weighed. It was properly reviewed for abuse of discretion as the trial court didn't consider whether a change of circumstance occurred or follow and define the statutes that led to their decision. Allowing a child to call a boyfriend "daddy" and the father by his first name is unacceptable. The first time custody was reversed to father was for very good reason. Self reflection in how you ultimately lost primary custody is the only way you will be able heal and move forward. Forgiveness of yourself comes after recognition and I truly hope you can get past the hurt and pain to allow your child the stability and care you recognized yourself that the father provides.

  3. Patricia, i can't understand how painfully heartbreak ithis ordeal must have been for you. I read the appellate case and was surprised to see both sides of the story because your actions were harmful to your child; more so than the fathers. The evidence wasn't re weighed. It was properly reviewed for abuse of discretion as the trial court didn't consider whether a change of circumstance occurred or follow and define the statutes that led to their decision. Allowing a child to call a boyfriend "daddy" and the father by his first name is unacceptable. The first time custody was reversed to father was for very good reason. Self reflection in how you ultimately lost primary custody is the only way you will be able heal and move forward. Forgiveness of yourself comes after recognition and I truly hope you can get past the hurt and pain to allow your child the stability and care you recognized yourself that the father provides.

  4. He TIL team,please zap this comment too since it was merely marking a scammer and not reflecting on the story. Thanks, happy Monday, keep up the fine work.

  5. You just need my social security number sent to your Gmail account to process then loan, right? Beware scammers indeed.

ADVERTISEMENT