Opinion

DTCI: Some lessons learned while on the DTCI board

October 5, 2016
Jamie Oss
Since I am soon leaving the DTCI board of directors and moving on to the ISBA Board of Governors, I thought that I would share a few lessons that I have learned over the years, both on the board and off, as my last director’s column.
More

Hammerle on... 'The Magnificent Seven,' 'Snowden,' 'The Hollars'

October 5, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Snowden" serves as a reminder to Americans how we have largely lost our privacy.
More

Young: Remembering US Probation Officer Tom Gahl

September 21, 2016
Sept. 22, 2016, marks the 30th anniversary of the most tragic day in the history of the Southern District of Indiana: the murder of United States Probation Officer Thomas E. Gahl.
More

Start Page: The appeal of the newest Apple iPhone? The core

September 21, 2016
Seth Wilson
This article will provide a brief overview of the new features available on the iPhone 7 to help you determine if it’s time to upgrade.
More

Federal Bar Update: Show up and pay attention to court matters

September 21, 2016
John Maley
In the Northern and Southern Districts of Indiana, from time to time the federal bench has found it necessary to comment on deficient practitioner performance. A recent example also serves as a reminder of some basic principles in this age of phone conferences.
More

Hammerle on…'The Light Between Oceans,' 'Sully'

September 21, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends "The Light Between Oceans," but will never watch it again.
More

Sugarman: SCOTUS affirms wetland determinations subject to review

September 7, 2016
On May 31, the United States Supreme Court once again unanimously delivered a victory for landowners who wish to challenge wetlands determinations handed down by the federal government.
More

Wagner: Who will pay to clean up Indiana's polluted deep aquifers?

September 7, 2016
Bill Wagner
With fewer taxpayer dollars to fund the Superfund program, the responsible parties left standing would have to bear the costs for others that have either gone out of business or filed for bankruptcy.
More

Bell/Whelan: 3 things to know about requests for client information

September 7, 2016
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
Here are three things to know when a third party requests information about your client, including don’t be cooperative, civil or otherwise charming.
More

Quality of Life: When it feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day

September 7, 2016
Jonna Kane MacDougall
How’s life going these days? Are we having fun yet? The name of this column is “Quality of Life.” How would you assess the quality of your life?
More

DTCI: The need for federal anti-SLAPP legislation is great

September 7, 2016
Christopher Lee
Whether it is The Speak Free Act or some other federal legislation, there appears to be a growing consensus that a federal uniform anti-SLAPP statute will eventually be enacted.
More

Hammerle On…'Kubo and the Two Strings,' 'Hell or High Water,' 'Don't Think Twice'

September 7, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Kubo and the Two Strings" is a magnificent animated film for adults and older children.
More

Patterson: Trial by jury ensures justice for the people

August 24, 2016
As the state of Indiana celebrates its bicentennial year, we should all remember the importance of the right to trial by jury and commit to ensuring that this right remains inviolate.
More

Jones/Schocke: What to do about peeping drones

August 24, 2016
The FAA does not appear to be taking a stance on privacy any time soon as they have remarked that the question of privacy should be determined under state law. So where do our state laws stand on privacy issues?
More

DeVoe/Escoffery: Acquiring UI accounts in asset purchase deals

August 24, 2016
Although the seller’s Indiana unemployment insurance account may not be the focus of an asset purchase transaction, it is important for the buyer and seller to consider the subject before closing on the purchase.
More

Hanson/Eckhart: Class wage-and-hour litigation is an ongoing threat

August 24, 2016
Employers face countless labor and employment challenges every day. Wage-and-hour compliance issues are near the top of that list because employers have experienced an increase in the number of class- and collective-action lawsuits filed against them.
More

Hammerle on... 'Indignation,' 'Sausage Party,' 'Bad Moms'

August 24, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Indignation" should be knocking on the door when Oscar nominations are announced next year.
More

Cohen and Mattingly: ESI review protocols: No more shots in the dark

August 10, 2016
Document productions, if done incorrectly, are often overly and underly broad; unnecessarily expensive and inefficient; and potentially damaging. These days if you, knowingly or unknowingly, produce a needle in a stack of hay, it will be (or should be) found.
More

Keaton: NIED: Impact, involvement and injury

August 10, 2016
Must a physical injury occur before a plaintiff may recover for negligent infliction of emotional distress? Perhaps not.
More

Start Page: Are you (tech) ready for back to school?

August 10, 2016
Seth Wilson
This article offers some ideas to help you use technology to take charge of the back-to-school chaos and make this school year great.
More

DTCI: Want to stop the lawyer jokes? Change the perception

August 10, 2016
Matthew King
It troubles me when our profession is reduced to jokes. If the public perception of lawyers perpetuates the jokes and negative portrayals, and if those jokes and portrayals bother us, what can we do to change the public perception?
More

Hammerle On…'Captain Fantastic,' 'Star Trek Beyond'

August 10, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Captain Fantastic" is a creative, daring film that encourages you to think.
More

Hammerle On…'The Secret Life of Pets,' 'Hunt for the Wilderpeople,' 'Ghostbusters'

July 27, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Secret Life of Pets" will leave a smile on your face.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District’s local rule on indigent appointments

July 27, 2016
John Maley
Although referred to by some as the “mandatory pro bono rule,” in fact the rule is entitled “Representation of Indigent Litigants,” and is multi-faceted.
More

Morris: Indy Legal Aid Society to roast Jim Voyles

July 27, 2016
Greg Morris
I’m taking a break from these two weeks of political conventions and attempting instead to refocus on important local topics. A perfect example is the fun evening coming up to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Indianapolis Legal Aid Society.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. It's an appreciable step taken by the government to curb the child abuse that are happening in the schools. Employees in the schools those are selected without background check can not be trusted. A thorough background check on the teachers or any other other new employees must be performed to choose the best and quality people. Those who are already employed in the past should also be checked for best precaution. The future of kids can be saved through this simple process. However, the checking process should be conducted by the help of a trusted background checking agency(https://www.affordablebackgroundchecks.com/).

  2. Almost everything connects to internet these days. From your computers and Smartphones to wearable gadgets and smart refrigerators in your home, everything is linked to the Internet. Although this convenience empowers usto access our personal devices from anywhere in the world such as an IP camera, it also deprives control of our online privacy. Cyber criminals, hackers, spies and everyone else has realized that we don’t have complete control on who can access our personal data. We have to take steps to to protect it like keeping Senseless password. Dont leave privacy unprotected. Check out this article for more ways: https://www.purevpn.com/blog/data-privacy-in-the-age-of-internet-of-things/

  3. You need to look into Celadon not paying sign on bonuses. We call get the run

  4. My parents took advantage of the fact that I was homeless in 2012 and went to court and got Legal Guardianship I my 2 daughters. I am finally back on my feet and want them back, but now they want to fight me on it. I want to raise my children and have them almost all the time on the weekends. Mynparents are both almost 70 years old and they play favorites which bothers me a lot. Do I have a leg to stand on if I go to court to terminate lehal guardianship? My kids want to live with me and I want to raise them, this was supposed to be temporary, and now it is turning into a fight. Ridiculous

  5. Here's my two cents. While in Texas in 2007 I was not registered because I only had to do it for ten years. So imagine my surprise as I find myself forced to register in Texas because indiana can't get their head out of their butt long enough to realize they passed an ex post facto law in 2006. So because Indiana had me listed as a failure to register Texas said I had to do it there. Now if Indiana had done right by me all along I wouldn't need the aclu to defend my rights. But such is life.

ADVERTISEMENT