Opinion

Dean's Desk: Anatomy of a decision to start a tax clinic

May 18, 2016
Nell Jessup Netwon
Notre Dame Law students will soon have the opportunity to learn tax law by practicing it under the close supervision of full-time expert faculty. It is an exciting development for all of us at the law school. Moreover, at a time of straitened budgets, we have secured financing from the IRS for the clinic, a Low Income Taxpayer Clinic.
More

Start Page: Give yourself a fresh perspective on Outlook

May 18, 2016
Seth Wilson
A few suggestions on modifying Outlook can help you get more out of the email system by better organizing to boost efficiency and productivity.
More

Biederman and Burke: Quality ESI governance good strategy

May 18, 2016
Raymond Biederman, Sean Burke
Good information governance entails creating processes by which companies can reduce the amount of unnecessary data they keep while using the remainder more efficiently. It consists of a set of interwoven policies carefully designed to help companies defensibly and responsibly reduce the amount of their useless data while being mindful of their regulatory and business requirements to keep data for specified periods of time.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Are we heading toward a ‘gig’ legal profession?

May 18, 2016
David Dreyer
Changes in the legal landscape are of course parallel to what is happening everywhere. Lawyers used to function and prosper well during any economic or social circumstances. Law firms seemed to be immune to barriers and uncertainties facing other business entities. But today, as Jerry Garcia once wrote, "if the thunder don't get ya, the lightnin' will."
More

Hammerle On… 'Captain America: Civil War', 'Sing Street'

May 18, 2016
Robert Hammerle
The latest Marvel superhero film 'Captain America: Civil War' leaves Hammerle singing, 'I Hate Myself for Loving You.'
More

Dean's Desk: New faculty continue legacy of legal scholarship

May 4, 2016
Austen Parrish
Inspired and challenged by the school's awesome legacy, IU Maurer has been fortunate to recruit some of the most promising rising stars in legal education today, all of whom are classroom standouts as well.

More

Keyes: An alternative alternative dispute resolution process

May 4, 2016
The components of structured negotiation are not new; people resolve problems every day without resorting to litigation. But now the process has been better defined, refined and expanded.
More

Neutral Corner: Recent appellate case raises mediation issues

May 4, 2016
John Van Winkle
The recent Indiana Court of Appeals decision Jonas v. State Farm Life Ins. Co., ____N.E. 3d ______, 2016 WL 1248589 (Ind. Ct. App. 2016) highlights several issues concerning mediation and settlement in both state and federal courts.
More

Jones: Examining the evolution of hospitals’ vicarious liability

May 4, 2016
The evolution of legal precedent regarding vicarious liability claims has left hospitals shifting in their seats.
More

Hammerle on ... 'The Jungle Book,' 'Elvis & Nixon'

May 4, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Elvis & Nixon" is a hidden cinematic gem.
More

Davee: Initial trademark considerations when advising clients

April 20, 2016
When helping the client form their business, there are several items that should be discussed early on, particularly if the client has any desire to pursue federal trademark registration.
More

Nguyen: Is Circuit jurisdictional battle judicial wisdom or patent envy?

April 20, 2016
Having legitimate grounds to hear cases involving patent issues comes with a responsibility that regional circuits must address.
More

Hammerle on ... 'City of Gold,' 'Hardcore Henry,' 'I Saw the Light,' 'Midnight Special'

April 20, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says you might consider looking up these movies for home viewing.
More

Making Rain: Allocating resources to keep your clients

April 20, 2016
Dona Stohler
Recent studies indicate that firms that increase client retention by just 5 percent grow revenues by 25 percent. Who wouldn’t vote for 25 percent more revenue?
More

Living Fit: Could you be diabetic and not know it?

April 20, 2016
Sharon McGoff
Type 2 diabetes cases have quadrupled in the past three decades, largely (pun intended) due to our lifestyle choices.
More

Hammerle On …

April 6, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Take Bob Hammerle's advice on the latest superhero blockbuster: Forget the hokey script and see "Batman v Superman" at an IMAX theater.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: When your client is speaking to others

March 23, 2016
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
“Say nothing.” This advice seems simple enough, but any attorney with a few years under his or her belt knows that the advice is often not heeded.
More

Editorial: Rule changes still lack needed transparency

March 23, 2016
IL Staff
A proposed overhaul of Admission and Discipline Rule 23 contains some good ideas among the 108 pages of side-by-side comparisons of the old and the new. But the proposals would do little to deprogram the Supreme Court Disciplinary Commission’s culture of confidentiality or boost public confidence in the agency that polices Indiana attorneys.
More

Federal Bar Update: Offers of judgment and class actions

March 23, 2016
John Maley
The U.S. Supreme Court recently held that an unaccepted offer of judgment under Rule 68 does not moot a class representative’s claim, even when the offer is made prior to class certification.
More

DTCI: Senate obstruction on appointments harms entire judiciary

March 23, 2016
From DTCI
Since the Republicans took control of the Senate after the 2014 elections, the Obama administration has made only one judicial appointment as Republican senators have refused to sign off ahead of time on nominees for judgeships in their states. This is in stark contrast to President Obama’s predecessors since Ronald Reagan who also faced a Senate controlled by the opposing party, yet appointed between 10-18 appellate judges in their last two years in office.
More

Plugged In: 3 easy ways to add value to PDF documents

March 23, 2016
Deanna Marquez
With a rise in the number of mobile-friendly offices, voluminous PDF files have quickly become the norm in today’s society. PDFs have retained popularity with their innate ability to easily share across operating systems, protect content and ensure formatting remains intact across platforms.
More

Hammerle On … 'Eddie the Eagle,' 'Zootopia'

March 23, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle wonders why the American public seems to reject inspiring films. Does everything have to be a cross between “Star Wars,” “The Avengers” and “Jurassic Park”?
More

Waterfill: EEOC alleges gender discrimination in 2 suits

March 23, 2016
Mark Waterfill
In light of development in gender discrimination cases, what should wise employment counsel advise clients to do?
More

Vlink: Should unions charge free-rider fees for grievances?

March 23, 2016
David VlinkMore

Waterhouse: An environmental justice challenge for Indiana

March 9, 2016
Sadly, many Indiana children are at an even greater risk than children in other states for lead poisoning.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Call it unauthorized law if you must, a regulatory wrong, but it was fraud and theft well beyond that, a seeming crime! "In three specific cases, the hearing officer found that Westerfield did little to no work for her clients but only issued a partial refund or no refund at all." That is theft by deception, folks. "In its decision to suspend Westerfield, the Supreme Court noted that she already had a long disciplinary history dating back to 1996 and had previously been suspended in 2004 and indefinitely suspended in 2005. She was reinstated in 2009 after finally giving the commission a response to the grievance for which she was suspended in 2004." WOW -- was the Indiana Supreme Court complicit in her fraud? Talk about being on notice of a real bad actor .... "Further, the justices noted that during her testimony, Westerfield was “disingenuous and evasive” about her relationship with Tope and attempted to distance herself from him. They also wrote that other aggravating factors existed in Westerfield’s case, such as her lack of remorse." WOW, and yet she only got 18 months on the bench, and if she shows up and cries for them in a year and a half, and pays money to JLAP for group therapy ... back in to ride roughshod over hapless clients (or are they "marks") once again! Aint Hoosier lawyering a great money making adventure!!! Just live for the bucks, even if filthy lucre, and come out a-ok. ME on the other hand??? Lifetime banishment for blowing the whistle on unconstitutional governance. Yes, had I ripped off clients or had ANY disciplinary history for doing that I would have fared better, most likely, as that it would have revealed me motivated by Mammon and not Faith. Check it out if you doubt my reading of this, compare and contrast the above 18 months with my lifetime banishment from court, see appendix for Bar Examiners report which the ISC adopted without substantive review: https://www.scribd.com/doc/299040839/2016Petitionforcert-to-SCOTUS

  2. Wow, over a quarter million dollars? That is a a lot of commissary money! Over what time frame? Years I would guess. Anyone ever try to blow the whistle? Probably not, since most Hoosiers who take notice of such things realize that Hoosier whistleblowers are almost always pilloried. If someone did blow the whistle, they were likely fired. The persecution of whistleblowers is a sure sign of far too much government corruption. Details of my own personal experience at the top of Hoosier governance available upon request ... maybe a "fake news" media outlet will have the courage to tell the stories of Hoosier whistleblowers that the "real" Hoosier media (cough) will not deign to touch. (They are part of the problem.)

  3. So if I am reading it right, only if and when African American college students agree to receive checks labeling them as "Negroes" do they receive aid from the UNCF or the Quaker's Educational Fund? In other words, to borrow from the Indiana Appellate Court, "the [nonprofit] supposed to be [their] advocate, refers to [students] in a racially offensive manner. While there is no evidence that [the nonprofits] intended harm to [African American students], the harm was nonetheless inflicted. [Black students are] presented to [academia and future employers] in a racially offensive manner. For these reasons, [such] performance [is] deficient and also prejudice[ial]." Maybe even DEPLORABLE???

  4. I'm the poor soul who spent over 10 years in prison with many many other prisoners trying to kill me for being charged with a sex offense THAT I DID NOT COMMIT i was in jail for a battery charge for helping a friend leave a boyfriend who beat her I've been saying for over 28 years that i did not and would never hurt a child like that mine or anybody's child but NOBODY wants to believe that i might not be guilty of this horrible crime or think that when i say that ALL the paperwork concerning my conviction has strangely DISAPPEARED or even when the long beach judge re-sentenced me over 14 months on a already filed plea bargain out of another districts court then had it filed under a fake name so i could not find while trying to fight my conviction on appeal in a nut shell people are ALWAYS quick to believe the worst about some one well I DID NOT HURT ANY CHILD EVER IN MY LIFE AND HAVE SAID THIS FOR ALMOST 30 YEARS please if anybody can me get some kind of justice it would be greatly appreciated respectfully written wrongly accused Brian Valenti

  5. A high ranking Indiana supreme Court operative caught red handed leading a group using the uber offensive N word! She must denounce or be denounced! (Or not since she is an insider ... rules do not apply to them). Evidence here: http://m.indianacompanies.us/friends-educational-fund-for-negroes.364110.company.v2#top_info

ADVERTISEMENT