Opinion

Plugged In: File names matter when it comes to searching, sorting

November 16, 2016
Deanna Marquez
Most of us probably assume the contents of the file are far more important than what we name it and do not realize that improper file names can make it both harder on us and our computer to find and open the file again in the future.
More

Biederman and Burke: Is use of keywords in e-discovery a game of ‘Go Fish?’

November 16, 2016
Raymond Biederman, Sean Burke
Inherent limitations aside, the question the legal community should be asking is not whether, but rather how, keyword searches should be used in e-discovery.
More

Dean's Desk: A troubling focus by the ABA on the bar exam

November 16, 2016
Austen Parrish
For those in legal education, the bar exam has oddly emerged as a key focus.
More

Hammerle On… 'A Man Called Ove,' 'Doctor Strange'

November 16, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "A Man Called Ove" has many strengths and will bring you to the edge of tears.
More

Metzel: Your view on the practice of law will shape your career

November 2, 2016
I challenge you to consider — early in your career — how you perceive the practice of law. This process may impact your career decisions and the manner in which you choose or choose not to utilize your legal education.
More

Hammerle on... 'Denial'

November 2, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says trial lawyers must see "Denial."
More

Start Page: Outlook Quick Steps can break email full-court press

November 2, 2016
Seth Wilson
Create one to three Quick Steps that you will commit to using for the next week. Then, practice those quick first steps.
More

Eye on Profession: Our profession needs to be ready for rocky times ahead

November 2, 2016
John Trimble
I have the pleasure today to launch the inaugural offering of a new Indiana Lawyer column entitled, “Eye on the Profession.” The plan is to do my best to share commentary and insight on issues of the day that are or will be impacting our profession.
More

DTCI: Calling corporate counsel! Join your defense colleagues

November 2, 2016
Kevin Tyra
While the roles of defense trial counsel (particularly “outside” counsel or panel counsel in the law firm setting) and corporate and in-house counsel are often different, we have much in common.
More

In-Box: Using police body cameras

November 2, 2016
Keffer Barnhart attorneys write that police departments should want to use body cameras, as they can serve as data gathering and quality control tools.
More

Price: A look at the past, present and future of mediation

October 5, 2016
Whether experience will show one “model” prevailing or whether we have an environment where mediation is an amalgam of each type driven by the circumstances of the case, one thing is beyond dispute: Mediation is here to stay.
More

Hussmann: Early intervention can provide desired effects

October 5, 2016
For those of us in the dispute resolution business, “desired effects” — justice — must remain an important component of the outcome if the system is to be perceived as fair and useful.
More

Neutral Corner: Indiana’s ADR Rules adopted 25 years ago

October 5, 2016
John Van Winkle
Although mediation became the main thrust of the ADR Rules, mediation as now known was not the central feature of the rules originally proposed.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Will paper remain at the end of the e-filing tunnel?

October 5, 2016
David Dreyer
The benefits of “going paperless” can be exciting. A municipal court in suburban Seattle recently reported saving $500,000 annually by e-filing.
More

DTCI: Some lessons learned while on the DTCI board

October 5, 2016
Jamie Oss
Since I am soon leaving the DTCI board of directors and moving on to the ISBA Board of Governors, I thought that I would share a few lessons that I have learned over the years, both on the board and off, as my last director’s column.
More

Hammerle on... 'The Magnificent Seven,' 'Snowden,' 'The Hollars'

October 5, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Snowden" serves as a reminder to Americans how we have largely lost our privacy.
More

Young: Remembering US Probation Officer Tom Gahl

September 21, 2016
Sept. 22, 2016, marks the 30th anniversary of the most tragic day in the history of the Southern District of Indiana: the murder of United States Probation Officer Thomas E. Gahl.
More

Start Page: The appeal of the newest Apple iPhone? The core

September 21, 2016
Seth Wilson
This article will provide a brief overview of the new features available on the iPhone 7 to help you determine if it’s time to upgrade.
More

Federal Bar Update: Show up and pay attention to court matters

September 21, 2016
John Maley
In the Northern and Southern Districts of Indiana, from time to time the federal bench has found it necessary to comment on deficient practitioner performance. A recent example also serves as a reminder of some basic principles in this age of phone conferences.
More

Hammerle on…'The Light Between Oceans,' 'Sully'

September 21, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends "The Light Between Oceans," but will never watch it again.
More

Sugarman: SCOTUS affirms wetland determinations subject to review

September 7, 2016
On May 31, the United States Supreme Court once again unanimously delivered a victory for landowners who wish to challenge wetlands determinations handed down by the federal government.
More

Wagner: Who will pay to clean up Indiana's polluted deep aquifers?

September 7, 2016
Bill Wagner
With fewer taxpayer dollars to fund the Superfund program, the responsible parties left standing would have to bear the costs for others that have either gone out of business or filed for bankruptcy.
More

Bell/Whelan: 3 things to know about requests for client information

September 7, 2016
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
Here are three things to know when a third party requests information about your client, including don’t be cooperative, civil or otherwise charming.
More

Quality of Life: When it feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day

September 7, 2016
Jonna Kane MacDougall
How’s life going these days? Are we having fun yet? The name of this column is “Quality of Life.” How would you assess the quality of your life?
More

DTCI: The need for federal anti-SLAPP legislation is great

September 7, 2016
Christopher Lee
Whether it is The Speak Free Act or some other federal legislation, there appears to be a growing consensus that a federal uniform anti-SLAPP statute will eventually be enacted.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. File under the Sociology of Hoosier Discipline ... “We will be answering the complaint in due course and defending against the commission’s allegations,” said Indianapolis attorney Don Lundberg, who’s representing Hudson in her disciplinary case. FOR THOSE WHO DO NOT KNOW ... Lundberg ran the statist attorney disciplinary machinery in Indy for decades, and is now the "go to guy" for those who can afford him .... the ultimate insider for the well-to-do and/or connected who find themselves in the crosshairs. It would appear that this former prosecutor knows how the game is played in Circle City ... and is sacrificing accordingly. See more on that here ... http://www.theindianalawyer.com/supreme-court-reprimands-attorney-for-falsifying-hours-worked/PARAMS/article/43757 Legal sociologists could have a field day here ... I wonder why such things are never studied? Is a sacrifice to the well connected former regulators a de facto bribe? Such questions, if probed, could bring about a more just world, a more equal playing field, less Stalinist governance. All of the things that our preambles tell us to value could be advanced if only sunshine reached into such dark worlds. As a great jurist once wrote: "Publicity is justly commended as a remedy for social and industrial diseases. Sunlight is said to be the best of disinfectants; electric light the most efficient policeman." Other People's Money—and How Bankers Use It (1914). Ah, but I am certifiable, according to the Indiana authorities, according to the ISC it can be read, for believing such trite things and for advancing such unwanted thoughts. As a great albeit fictional and broken resistance leaders once wrote: "I am the dead." Winston Smith Let us all be dead to the idea of maintaining a patently unjust legal order.

  2. The Department of Education still has over $100 million of ITT Education Services money in the form of $100+ million Letters of Credit. That money was supposed to be used by The DOE to help students. The DOE did nothing to help students. The DOE essentially stole the money from ITT Tech and still has the money. The trustee should be going after the DOE to get the money back for people who are owed that money, including shareholders.

  3. Do you know who the sponsor of the last-minute amendment was?

  4. Law firms of over 50 don't deliver good value, thats what this survey really tells you. Anybody that has seen what they bill for compared to what they deliver knows that already, however.

  5. My husband left me and the kids for 2 years, i did everything humanly possible to get him back i prayed i even fasted nothing worked out. i was so diver-stated, i was left with nothing no money to pay for kids up keep. my life was tearing apart. i head that he was trying to get married to another lady in Italy, i look for urgent help then i found Dr.Mack in the internet by accident, i was skeptical because i don’t really believe he can bring husband back because its too long we have contacted each other, we only comment on each other status on Facebook and when ever he come online he has never talks anything about coming back to me, i really had to give Dr.Mack a chance to help me out, luckily for me he was God sent and has made everything like a dream to me, Dr.Mack told me that everything will be fine, i called him and he assured me that my Husband will return, i was having so many doubt but now i am happy,i can’t believe it my husband broke up with his Italian lady and he is now back to me and he can’t even stay a minute without me, all he said to me was that he want me back, i am really happy and i cried so much because it was unbelievable, i am really happy and my entire family are happy for me but they never know whats the secret behind this…i want you all divorce lady or single mother, unhappy relationship to please contact this man for help and everything will be fine i really guarantee you….if you want to contact him you can reach him through dr.mac@yahoo. com..,

ADVERTISEMENT