Opinion

Cotterill: Commercial courts will enhance economic development

June 29, 2016
Indiana’s judiciary has been added to the long list of what makes Indiana so favorable a place to do business.
More

Start Page: Clear your Outlook inbox, clear your mind

June 29, 2016
Seth Wilson
Unfortunately, leaving emails unprocessed in your inbox waiting for you drains your energy, causes you to procrastinate, and takes up mental capacity. Thankfully, there’s a better way to deal with email. It’s called getting to “Inbox Zero.”
More

Hammerle on…'Finding Dory,' 'Weiner'

June 29, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Abandoned by my two grandchildren and Saudi foreign exchange student, I was forced to bite the bullet and go alone to see “Finding Dory.”
More

Jerrells: Thoughts on the Ad Hoc Tax Court Task Force report

June 15, 2016
Though naysayers may decry the costs of adding a magistrate, two additional judges, or both, it would be a small cost to avoid justice delayed and, therefore, justice denied.
More

Quick: Showcase your face in internet videos to attract new clients

June 15, 2016
More law firms are spending more of their marketing dollars on web-based online videos instead of traditional television advertising. Done right, this strategy can actually save you a ton of money and be more effective as you can really target your customers wherever they are.
More

DTCI: Experience New England in the fall with defense colleagues

June 15, 2016
Renee Mortimer
My dear defense lawyer colleagues, it is time to plan to attend the Defense Research Institute 2016 Annual Meeting!
More

Technology Untangled: Some thoughts on email security and encryption

June 15, 2016
Stephen Bour
Email security is about more than just keeping attachments secure until they reach the intended destination. There is also the concern about who may be looking at the body of your transmissions along the way.
More

Hammerle on…'Me Before You,' 'Love & Friendship'

June 15, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Love & Friendship" defines why people like him love movies.
More

Glenn: Estate planning for Florida snowbirds

June 1, 2016
Indiana attorneys are well-advised to have Florida counsel engaged in the planning of any strategies involving their snowbird clients’ Florida interests, and certainly in the preparation of any Florida estate planning documents.
More

Munson: Lawyer. Hero. Human. All in a day’s work

June 1, 2016
As a new attorney, I was amazed at the power three little letters, E-S-Q, carried behind my name. Signing my title behind my name was akin to donning a superhero cape.
More

Ira: Artificial intelligence raises questions, has great promise

June 1, 2016
New lawyers face a volatile future given the recent surge of technology capable of automating many tasks traditionally performed by lawyers.
More

Column: Federal Trade Secrets Act signed into law

June 1, 2016
On May 11, President Barack Obama signed the Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016 into law, thereby creating, for the first time, a federal system of trade secrets law.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District’s proposed local rule on court appointments

June 1, 2016
John Maley
As an active participant in drafting and review of the Local Rule, this author has observed first-hand the careful, thoughtful and patient consideration by the court of the clear need for more lawyers to take on more pro bono cases in the court, and the balance of limits on an individual lawyer’s time and resources to take on these cases.
More

Plugged In: Untangling those unwanted emails from your inbox

June 1, 2016
Deanna Marquez
One of the most mismanaged items across businesses today is the email inbox.
More

Dean's Desk: Students, faculty, alumni changing lives for the better

June 1, 2016
Andrew Klein
A legal education gives people the power to change lives for the better. I am proud to share some examples based on efforts from students, faculty and alumni of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law.
More

Hammerle On… 'The Nice Guys,' 'Money Monster'

June 1, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Money Monster" is a very entertaining film.
More

Billionaires are allowed to pay for people to sue their enemies

May 26, 2016
Bloomberg Analysis
One of the weirder court cases in recent memory became even stranger this week when news broke that Hulk Hogan’s lawsuit against Gawker was being secretly funded by billionaire Peter Thiel.
More

Dean's Desk: Anatomy of a decision to start a tax clinic

May 18, 2016
Nell Jessup Netwon
Notre Dame Law students will soon have the opportunity to learn tax law by practicing it under the close supervision of full-time expert faculty. It is an exciting development for all of us at the law school. Moreover, at a time of straitened budgets, we have secured financing from the IRS for the clinic, a Low Income Taxpayer Clinic.
More

Start Page: Give yourself a fresh perspective on Outlook

May 18, 2016
Seth Wilson
A few suggestions on modifying Outlook can help you get more out of the email system by better organizing to boost efficiency and productivity.
More

Biederman and Burke: Quality ESI governance good strategy

May 18, 2016
Raymond Biederman, Sean Burke
Good information governance entails creating processes by which companies can reduce the amount of unnecessary data they keep while using the remainder more efficiently. It consists of a set of interwoven policies carefully designed to help companies defensibly and responsibly reduce the amount of their useless data while being mindful of their regulatory and business requirements to keep data for specified periods of time.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Are we heading toward a ‘gig’ legal profession?

May 18, 2016
David Dreyer
Changes in the legal landscape are of course parallel to what is happening everywhere. Lawyers used to function and prosper well during any economic or social circumstances. Law firms seemed to be immune to barriers and uncertainties facing other business entities. But today, as Jerry Garcia once wrote, "if the thunder don't get ya, the lightnin' will."
More

Hammerle On… 'Captain America: Civil War', 'Sing Street'

May 18, 2016
Robert Hammerle
The latest Marvel superhero film 'Captain America: Civil War' leaves Hammerle singing, 'I Hate Myself for Loving You.'
More

Dean's Desk: New faculty continue legacy of legal scholarship

May 4, 2016
Austen Parrish
Inspired and challenged by the school's awesome legacy, IU Maurer has been fortunate to recruit some of the most promising rising stars in legal education today, all of whom are classroom standouts as well.

More

Keyes: An alternative alternative dispute resolution process

May 4, 2016
The components of structured negotiation are not new; people resolve problems every day without resorting to litigation. But now the process has been better defined, refined and expanded.
More

Neutral Corner: Recent appellate case raises mediation issues

May 4, 2016
John Van Winkle
The recent Indiana Court of Appeals decision Jonas v. State Farm Life Ins. Co., ____N.E. 3d ______, 2016 WL 1248589 (Ind. Ct. App. 2016) highlights several issues concerning mediation and settlement in both state and federal courts.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. OK, take notice. Those wondering just how corrupt the Indiana system is can see the picture in this post. Attorney Donald James did not criticize any judges, he merely, it would seem, caused some clients to file against him and then ignored his own defense. James thus disrespected the system via ignoring all and was also ordered to reimburse the commission $525.88 for the costs of prosecuting the first case against him. Yes, nearly $526 for all the costs, the state having proved it all. Ouch, right? Now consider whistleblower and constitutionalist and citizen journalist Paul Ogden who criticized a judge, defended himself in such a professional fashion as to have half the case against him thrown out by the ISC and was then handed a career ending $10,000 bill as "half the costs" of the state crucifying him. http://www.theindianalawyer.com/ogden-quitting-law-citing-high-disciplinary-fine/PARAMS/article/35323 THE TAKEAWAY MESSAGE for any who have ears to hear ... resist Star Chamber and pay with your career ... welcome to the Indiana system of (cough) justice.

  2. GMA Ranger, I, too, was warned against posting on how the Ind govt was attempting to destroy me professionally, and visit great costs and even destitution upon my family through their processing. No doubt the discussion in Indy today is likely how to ban me from this site (I expect I soon will be), just as they have banned me from emailing them at the BLE and Office of Bar Admission and ADA coordinator -- or, if that fails, whether they can file a complaint against my Kansas or SCOTUS law license for telling just how they operate and offering all of my files over the past decade to any of good will. The elitist insiders running the Hoosier social control mechanisms realize that knowledge and a unified response will be the end of their unjust reign. They fear exposure and accountability. I was banned for life from the Indiana bar for questioning government processing, that is, for being a whistleblower. Hoosier whistleblowers suffer much. I have no doubt, Gma Ranger, of what you report. They fear us, but realize as long as they keep us in fear of them, they can control us. Kinda like the kids' show Ants. Tyrannical governments the world over are being shaken by empowered citizens. Hoosiers dealing with The Capitol are often dealing with tyranny. Time to rise up: https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2017/jan/17/governments-struggling-to-retain-trust-of-citizens-global-survey-finds Back to the Founders! MAGA!

  3. Science is showing us the root of addiction is the lack of connection (with people). Criminalizing people who are lonely is a gross misinterpretation of what data is revealing and the approach we must take to combat mental health. Harsher crimes from drug dealers? where there is a demand there is a market, so make it legal and encourage these citizens to be functioning members of a society with competitive market opportunities. Legalize are "drugs" and quit wasting tax payer dollars on frivolous incarceration. The system is destroying lives and doing it in the name of privatized profits. To demonize loneliness and destroy lives in the land of opportunity is not freedom.

  4. Good luck, but as I have documented in three Hail Mary's to the SCOTUS, two applications (2007 & 2013),a civil rights suit and my own kicked-to-the-curb prayer for mandamus. all supported in detailed affidavits with full legal briefing (never considered), the ISC knows that the BLE operates "above the law" (i.e. unconstitutionally) and does not give a damn. In fact, that is how it was designed to control the lawyers. IU Law Prof. Patrick Baude blew the whistle while he was Ind Bar Examiner President back in 1993, even he was shut down. It is a masonic system that blackballs those whom the elite disdain. Here is the basic thrust:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blackballing When I asked why I was initially denied, the court's foremost jester wrote back that the ten examiners all voted, and I did not gain the needed votes for approval (whatever that is, probably ten) and thus I was not in .. nothing written, no explanation, just go away or appeal ... and if you appeal and disagree with their system .. proof positive you lack character and fitness. It is both arbitrary and capricious by its very design. The Hoosier legal elites are monarchical minded, and rejected me for life for ostensibly failing to sufficiently respect man's law (due to my stated regard for God's law -- which they questioned me on, after remanding me for a psych eval for holding such Higher Law beliefs) while breaking their own rules, breaking federal statutory law, and violating federal and state constitutions and ancient due process standards .. all well documented as they "processed me" over many years.... yes years ... they have few standards that they will not bulldoze to get to the end desired. And the ISC knows this, and they keep it in play. So sad, And the fed courts refuse to do anything, and so the blackballing show goes on ... it is the Indy way. My final experience here: https://www.scribd.com/document/299040062/Brown-ind-Bar-memo-Pet-cert I will open my files to anyone interested in seeing justice dawn over Indy. My cases are an open book, just ask.

  5. Looks like 2017 will be another notable year for these cases. I have a Grandson involved in a CHINS case that should never have been. He and the whole family are being held hostage by CPS and the 'current mood' of the CPS caseworker. If the parents disagree with a decision, they are penalized. I, along with other were posting on Jasper County Online News, but all were quickly warned to remove posts. I totally understand that some children need these services, but in this case, it was mistakes, covered by coorcement of father to sign papers, lies and cover-ups. The most astonishing thing was within 2 weeks of this child being placed with CPS, a private adoption agency was asking questions regarding child's family in the area. I believe a photo that was taken by CPS manager at the very onset during the CHINS co-ocerment and the intent was to make money. I have even been warned not to post or speak to anyone regarding this case. Parents have completed all requirements, met foster parents, get visitation 2 days a week, and still the next court date is all the way out till May 1, which gives them(CPS) plenty of to time make further demands (which I expect) No trust of these 'seasoned' case managers, as I have already learned too much about their dirty little tricks. If they discover that I have posted here, I expect they will not be happy and penalized parents again. Still a Hostage.

ADVERTISEMENT