Opinion

Hammerle On…'Kubo and the Two Strings,' 'Hell or High Water,' 'Don't Think Twice'

September 7, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Kubo and the Two Strings" is a magnificent animated film for adults and older children.
More

Patterson: Trial by jury ensures justice for the people

August 24, 2016
As the state of Indiana celebrates its bicentennial year, we should all remember the importance of the right to trial by jury and commit to ensuring that this right remains inviolate.
More

Jones/Schocke: What to do about peeping drones

August 24, 2016
The FAA does not appear to be taking a stance on privacy any time soon as they have remarked that the question of privacy should be determined under state law. So where do our state laws stand on privacy issues?
More

DeVoe/Escoffery: Acquiring UI accounts in asset purchase deals

August 24, 2016
Although the seller’s Indiana unemployment insurance account may not be the focus of an asset purchase transaction, it is important for the buyer and seller to consider the subject before closing on the purchase.
More

Hanson/Eckhart: Class wage-and-hour litigation is an ongoing threat

August 24, 2016
Employers face countless labor and employment challenges every day. Wage-and-hour compliance issues are near the top of that list because employers have experienced an increase in the number of class- and collective-action lawsuits filed against them.
More

Hammerle on... 'Indignation,' 'Sausage Party,' 'Bad Moms'

August 24, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Indignation" should be knocking on the door when Oscar nominations are announced next year.
More

Cohen and Mattingly: ESI review protocols: No more shots in the dark

August 10, 2016
Document productions, if done incorrectly, are often overly and underly broad; unnecessarily expensive and inefficient; and potentially damaging. These days if you, knowingly or unknowingly, produce a needle in a stack of hay, it will be (or should be) found.
More

Keaton: NIED: Impact, involvement and injury

August 10, 2016
Must a physical injury occur before a plaintiff may recover for negligent infliction of emotional distress? Perhaps not.
More

Start Page: Are you (tech) ready for back to school?

August 10, 2016
Seth Wilson
This article offers some ideas to help you use technology to take charge of the back-to-school chaos and make this school year great.
More

DTCI: Want to stop the lawyer jokes? Change the perception

August 10, 2016
Matthew King
It troubles me when our profession is reduced to jokes. If the public perception of lawyers perpetuates the jokes and negative portrayals, and if those jokes and portrayals bother us, what can we do to change the public perception?
More

Hammerle On…'Captain Fantastic,' 'Star Trek Beyond'

August 10, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Captain Fantastic" is a creative, daring film that encourages you to think.
More

Hammerle On…'The Secret Life of Pets,' 'Hunt for the Wilderpeople,' 'Ghostbusters'

July 27, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Secret Life of Pets" will leave a smile on your face.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District’s local rule on indigent appointments

July 27, 2016
John Maley
Although referred to by some as the “mandatory pro bono rule,” in fact the rule is entitled “Representation of Indigent Litigants,” and is multi-faceted.
More

Morris: Indy Legal Aid Society to roast Jim Voyles

July 27, 2016
Greg Morris
I’m taking a break from these two weeks of political conventions and attempting instead to refocus on important local topics. A perfect example is the fun evening coming up to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Indianapolis Legal Aid Society.
More

Making Rain: Change is necessary for firms to survive

July 27, 2016
Dona Stohler
Law firms today must change their approach toward business development and marketing and embrace the change.
More

Eichholtz: Effects of opioid overdose on third-party custody issues

July 27, 2016
Opioid and heroin abuse or overdose commonly result in the temporary removal of a child from the custody of her natural parents; prevention of reunification with natural parents; or termination of parental rights. Thus, family law practitioners would be well suited to review the relevant statutes and case law involving custody and third-party custody proceedings, among other things.
More

Christensen/Laurin: Should lawyers report child abuse learned in representation?

July 27, 2016
When — if ever — is it appropriate for an attorney to report child abuse learned through client representation? The answer centers on the difference between confidentiality and privilege.
More

Technology Untangled: Yes, they really are tracking your every move

July 27, 2016
Stephen Bour
In my last article, I alerted you to some of the issues involving email privacy and encryption. Today’s article will look at another area of concern regarding privacy: smartphone location tracking and activity logging.
More

Schocke: The future of the Indiana Medical Malpractice Act

July 13, 2016

With the advent of the new medical malpractice caps, what will be the effect on the volume of malpractice claims? Moreover, will the cap alterations sufficiently protect the act from constitutional challenges?

More

Larimore and Riddle: FDA loses a First Amendment challenge

July 13, 2016
Mary Nold Larimore and Nancy Menard Riddle recap exciting developments in drug and device law.
More

BGBC: Avoiding potential pitfalls of payroll service providers

July 13, 2016
If you’re an attorney who provides advice to small businesses, it’s not uncommon for a new (or existing) business owner to ask your advice on which payroll service provider to use.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: The exclusionary rule is on a losing streak

July 13, 2016
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The latest defeat for the exclusionary rule came in the case of Utah v. Strieff.
More

Living Fit: Sharon’s top 5 for getting and staying in shape

July 13, 2016
Sharon McGoff
People from all walks of life transform their health and bodies with one common denominator — they are consistent with the positive changes they make.
More

Hammerle on... 'Free State of Jones,' 'The Legend of Tarzan'

July 13, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says don't be misled about "The Legend of Tarzan" by critics with a bad attitude.
More

Adams: Setting standards for 'silver tsunami' preparedness

June 29, 2016
A popular topic in the media lately is the “silver tsunami” — the huge wave of baby boomers who will leave the workforce in the coming years and become eligible for the senior discount. The legal system needs to prepare today for the influx of issues that will wash ashore.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. As one of the many consumers affected by this breach, I found my bank data had been lifted and used to buy over $200 of various merchandise in New York. I did a pretty good job of tracing the purchases to stores around a college campus just from the info on my bank statement. Hm. Mr. Hill, I would like my $200 back! It doesn't belong to the state, in my opinion. Give it back to the consumers affected. I had to freeze my credit and take out data protection, order a new debit card and wait until it arrived. I deserve something for my trouble!

  2. Don't we have bigger issues to concern ourselves with?

  3. Anyone who takes the time to study disciplinary and bar admission cases in Indiana ... much of which is, as a matter of course and by intent, off the record, would have a very difficult time drawing lines that did not take into account things which are not supposed to matter, such as affiliations, associations, associates and the like. Justice Hoosier style is a far departure than what issues in most other parts of North America. (More like Central America, in fact.) See, e.g., http://www.theindianalawyer.com/indiana-attorney-illegally-practicing-in-florida-suspended-for-18-months/PARAMS/article/42200 When while the Indiana court system end the cruel practice of killing prophets of due process and those advocating for blind justice?

  4. Wouldn't this call for an investigation of Government corruption? Chief Justice Loretta Rush, wrote that the case warranted the high court’s review because the method the Indiana Court of Appeals used to reach its decision was “a significant departure from the law.” Specifically, David wrote that the appellate panel ruled after reweighing of the evidence, which is NOT permissible at the appellate level. **But yet, they look the other way while an innocent child was taken by a loving mother who did nothing wrong"

  5. Different rules for different folks....

ADVERTISEMENT