Opinion

Dean's Desk: IU McKinney dean reflects on first year on the job

June 4, 2014
Andrew Klein
It’s been nearly a year since I became dean of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law, and it would be impossible to fully describe the experience in this short column
More

Technology Untangled: Make sure Windows 8.1 computer can play DVD movies

June 4, 2014
Stephen Bour
Microsoft does not include DVD player software as a standard feature of Windows 8.1! Today’s article serves as both a caution and as an explanation about this DVD player issue.
More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about ethical responsibility for others’ conduct

June 4, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The recent disciplinary case, Matter of Anonymous, is not the only time someone in Indiana has been disciplined for the conduct of another.
More

DTCI: Young attorneys should rely on their own devices at work

June 4, 2014
Kevin Tyra

To the extent practicable, young attorneys should rely on their own devices to determine what needs to be done, and how to do it, rather than expect the more senior attorney to spell it out for them.

More

Start Page: 3 changes to make next time you open Microsoft Word

May 21, 2014
Seth Wilson
Microsoft Word is an essential tool in any lawyer’s toolbox. But, many of us don’t get the most out of this word processor. This article offers three things to change the next time you open Word to make it work better for you.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Le Week-End,' 'The Lunchbox'

May 21, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Lunchbox" is a tiny movie that reminds everyone that love is often found as a result of happy accidents.
More

Cochran/West: How to advise employees about government investigators

May 21, 2014
In-house attorneys advise employees on many topics, but do the employees of your company know what to do during a government investigation?
More

Tough Talks: Having difficult conversations about delicate situations

May 21, 2014
People – regardless of the industry – avoid having tough conversations.  They haven’t had “the talk” because there just hasn’t been the right time, or the issue hasn’t affected his or her work. But it may be best to rock the boat today, because tomorrow or next week or next month, it’s going to rock the entire company.
More

Sidebars: Café's limited menu features fresh, high-quality food

May 21, 2014
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Fred Vaiana gives Blue Moon Café 3.25 gavels!
More

Hammerle On … 'The Railway Man,' 'Under the Skin'

May 7, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Under the Skin" gives all aliens a bad name.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: SCOTUS rules anonymous 911 call reliable

May 7, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The Supreme Court of the United States recently held that an anonymous call to 911 was sufficient to initiate a traffic stop in certain specific circumstances. Navarette v. California, 2014 U.S. Lexis 2930 (2014). The decision set off a minor shockwave in the media with reports that the 5-4 opinion eroded Fourth Amendment protection.
More

Noyes: A short phone call can change the dynamic of a case

May 7, 2014
Jon Noyes encourages attorneys to network in order to gain insight and litigation strategies.
More

Foos: Microsoft Surface Pro for the mobile attorney

May 7, 2014
Robert Foos Jr. writes about how the Microsoft Surface Pro caught his eye as an alternative to the Apple iPad.
More

Badger: Supreme Court will hear death records dispute

May 7, 2014
Steven Badger
The Indiana Supreme Court will hear oral argument May 8 in a dispute over public access to county death records. The case, Evansville Courier & Press v. Vanderburgh County Health Department, raises the issue of whether a county health department’s death certificates, including the cause of death, are public records under the Indiana Access to Public Records Act.
More

Federal Bar Update: Free CLE, hyperlinks and award nominations

May 7, 2014
John Maley
As noted previously, a new pilot program was underway in the Southern District of Indiana for including hyperlinks in briefs.
More

Finney: 8 steps to evaluating and selecting your firm’s software

May 7, 2014
Deanna Finney
Oftentimes firms select software based upon performance during a software demonstration rather than evaluating what will provide the best results for specific firm needs. Finding the right software requires identification of job requirements including process workflows prior to selecting the tool.
More

Trimble: Avoiding and dealing with pessimism in mediation

April 23, 2014
More

Technology Untangled: Google Chromecast designed for entertainment, not business

April 23, 2014
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at an inexpensive device from Google designed to facilitate video streaming.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Judging from the mountaintop

April 23, 2014
David Dreyer
If judges wore wigs in the United States, there might be a marked increase, I say, in public confidence in our courts. Hopefully, it would not be outweighed by any marked increase in public satire, but it could not be any worse than the judge shows now on daytime TV. The public always needs to understand that courts are serious and judges are different. More importantly, it is necessary to understand why.
More

Inbox - 4/23/14

April 23, 2014
A reader asks the legal community to stop using the term "homosexual" because of its history.
More

Whaley: 'Multi-jurisdictional' cases complicate attorney-client privilege analysis

April 23, 2014
Litigators in discovery practice are certainly used to wrestling with attorney-client privilege decisions, which are interesting and challenging enough even when the case involves parties and a court that all share the same “citizenship.” But how is the analysis affected when the parties, the court and perhaps the source of the requested information (such as a non-party) are in different states?
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame dean provides perspective on ‘grading the graders’

April 9, 2014
Nell Jessup Netwon
Dean Nell Jessup Newton writes about how when she performs faculty reviews each spring, she is humbled by the amount of work undertaken by her colleagues to mentor students, contribute to the development of the law, increase the academic reputation of the law school, and build a great community.
More

Living Fit: Create a better work-life balance

April 9, 2014
Sharon McGoff
One of the main questions Sharon McGoff is asked as a wellness coach is, “How do I find balance in my life between work and home?”
More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about responding to disciplinary grievances

April 9, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
At some point, you may have the wonderful opportunity to respond to a disciplinary grievance. With that in mind, here are three things to know about responding to a disciplinary commission grievance.
More

Cox: Time records and billings are important risk management tools

April 9, 2014
Dina Cox
It’s sad but true: The work product of an attorney that clients study most closely is the attorney’s bill. Dina Cox says because of this close scrutiny, coupled with your own standards of professionalism, it is important that your time records and any invoice for services sent to the client be clear, detailed and accurate.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. All the lawyers involved in this don't add up to a hill of beans; mostly yes-men punching their tickets for future advancement. REMF types. Window dressing. Who in this mess was a real hero? the whistleblower that let the public know about the torture, whom the US sent to Jail. John Kyriakou. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/26/us/ex-officer-for-cia-is-sentenced-in-leak-case.html?_r=0 Now, considering that Torture is Illegal, considering that during Vietnam a soldier was court-martialed and imprisoned for waterboarding, why has the whistleblower gone to jail but none of the torturers have been held to account? It's amazing that Uncle Sam's sunk lower than Vietnam. But that's where we're at. An even more unjust and pointless war conducted in an even more bogus manner. this from npr: "On Jan. 21, 1968, The Washington Post ran a front-page photo of a U.S. soldier supervising the waterboarding of a captured North Vietnamese soldier. The caption said the technique induced "a flooding sense of suffocation and drowning, meant to make him talk." The picture led to an Army investigation and, two months later, the court martial of the soldier." Today, the US itself has become lawless.

  2. "Brain Damage" alright.... The lunatic is on the grass/ The lunatic is on the grass/ Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs/ Got to keep the loonies on the path.... The lunatic is in the hall/ The lunatics are in my hall/ The paper holds their folded faces to the floor/ And every day the paper boy brings more/ And if the dam breaks open many years too soon/ And if there is no room upon the hill/ And if your head explodes with dark forbodings too/ I'll see you on the dark side of the moon!!!

  3. It is amazing how selectively courts can read cases and how two very similar factpatterns can result in quite different renderings. I cited this very same argument in Brown v. Bowman, lost. I guess it is panel, panel, panel when one is on appeal. Sad thing is, I had Sykes. Same argument, she went the opposite. Her Rooker-Feldman jurisprudence is now decidedly unintelligible.

  4. November, 2014, I was charged with OWI/Endangering a person. I was not given a Breathalyzer test and the arresting officer did not believe that alcohol was in any way involved. I was self-overmedicated with prescription medications. I was taken to local hospital for blood draw to be sent to State Tox Lab. My attorney gave me a cookie-cutter plea which amounts to an ALCOHOL-related charge. Totally unacceptable!! HOW can I get my TOX report from the state lab???

  5. My mother got temporary guardianship of my children in 2012. my husband and I got divorced 2015 the judge ordered me to have full custody of all my children. Does this mean the temporary guardianship is over? I'm confused because my divorce papers say I have custody and he gets visits and i get to claim the kids every year on my taxes. So just wondered since I have in black and white that I have custody if I can go get my kids from my moms and not go to jail?

ADVERTISEMENT