Opinion

Jones: Examining the evolution of hospitals’ vicarious liability

May 4, 2016
The evolution of legal precedent regarding vicarious liability claims has left hospitals shifting in their seats.
More

Hammerle on ... 'The Jungle Book,' 'Elvis & Nixon'

May 4, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Elvis & Nixon" is a hidden cinematic gem.
More

Davee: Initial trademark considerations when advising clients

April 20, 2016
When helping the client form their business, there are several items that should be discussed early on, particularly if the client has any desire to pursue federal trademark registration.
More

Nguyen: Is Circuit jurisdictional battle judicial wisdom or patent envy?

April 20, 2016
Having legitimate grounds to hear cases involving patent issues comes with a responsibility that regional circuits must address.
More

Hammerle on ... 'City of Gold,' 'Hardcore Henry,' 'I Saw the Light,' 'Midnight Special'

April 20, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says you might consider looking up these movies for home viewing.
More

Making Rain: Allocating resources to keep your clients

April 20, 2016
Dona Stohler
Recent studies indicate that firms that increase client retention by just 5 percent grow revenues by 25 percent. Who wouldn’t vote for 25 percent more revenue?
More

Living Fit: Could you be diabetic and not know it?

April 20, 2016
Sharon McGoff
Type 2 diabetes cases have quadrupled in the past three decades, largely (pun intended) due to our lifestyle choices.
More

Hammerle On …

April 6, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Take Bob Hammerle's advice on the latest superhero blockbuster: Forget the hokey script and see "Batman v Superman" at an IMAX theater.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: When your client is speaking to others

March 23, 2016
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
“Say nothing.” This advice seems simple enough, but any attorney with a few years under his or her belt knows that the advice is often not heeded.
More

Editorial: Rule changes still lack needed transparency

March 23, 2016
IL Staff
A proposed overhaul of Admission and Discipline Rule 23 contains some good ideas among the 108 pages of side-by-side comparisons of the old and the new. But the proposals would do little to deprogram the Supreme Court Disciplinary Commission’s culture of confidentiality or boost public confidence in the agency that polices Indiana attorneys.
More

Federal Bar Update: Offers of judgment and class actions

March 23, 2016
John Maley
The U.S. Supreme Court recently held that an unaccepted offer of judgment under Rule 68 does not moot a class representative’s claim, even when the offer is made prior to class certification.
More

DTCI: Senate obstruction on appointments harms entire judiciary

March 23, 2016
From DTCI
Since the Republicans took control of the Senate after the 2014 elections, the Obama administration has made only one judicial appointment as Republican senators have refused to sign off ahead of time on nominees for judgeships in their states. This is in stark contrast to President Obama’s predecessors since Ronald Reagan who also faced a Senate controlled by the opposing party, yet appointed between 10-18 appellate judges in their last two years in office.
More

Plugged In: 3 easy ways to add value to PDF documents

March 23, 2016
Deanna Marquez
With a rise in the number of mobile-friendly offices, voluminous PDF files have quickly become the norm in today’s society. PDFs have retained popularity with their innate ability to easily share across operating systems, protect content and ensure formatting remains intact across platforms.
More

Hammerle On … 'Eddie the Eagle,' 'Zootopia'

March 23, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle wonders why the American public seems to reject inspiring films. Does everything have to be a cross between “Star Wars,” “The Avengers” and “Jurassic Park”?
More

Waterfill: EEOC alleges gender discrimination in 2 suits

March 23, 2016
Mark Waterfill
In light of development in gender discrimination cases, what should wise employment counsel advise clients to do?
More

Vlink: Should unions charge free-rider fees for grievances?

March 23, 2016
David VlinkMore

Waterhouse: An environmental justice challenge for Indiana

March 9, 2016
Sadly, many Indiana children are at an even greater risk than children in other states for lead poisoning.
More

Technology Untangled: Streamline Web research with the Pocket app

March 9, 2016
Stephen Bour
The Pocket app allows users to save and organize articles, websites, and videos and have them easily available for viewing later on any device at any time.
More

Nelson: Politics put U.S. Supreme Court precedent in peril

March 9, 2016
Jennifer Nelson
If you voted for President Barack Obama in 2012, sorry, but your vote no longer counts. That’s effectively what the Republican members of the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary said in a Feb. 23 letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell.
More

In-Box: Cellphone encryption

March 9, 2016
Prosecutor Todd Meyer writes why companies like Apple and Google should work with government agencies on criminal cases.
More

Protecting Your Practice: Organizing as a limited liability entity under Indiana A&D Rule 27

March 9, 2016
Practicing law with partners can bring tremendous benefit to you and your practice. Partners can provide intellectual collaboration, moral support, camaraderie, and help with business development. However, partnership carries risks as well as benefits.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Deadpool,' 'Race'

March 9, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Deadpool" is creative, pungent and unique.
More

Gardner: Judicial deference and the Clean Power Plan

March 9, 2016
Justice Scalia’s long and momentous career on the U.S. Supreme Court gave us innumerable important decisions (and scathing dissents) that have shaped the intersection of administrative and environmental law.
More

Start Page: Why you should consider Microsoft Office 365

February 24, 2016
Seth Wilson
Migrating to Office 365 is a decision that should be made with careful planning and consideration of the risks and benefits of a cloud-based system. That said, the trend toward using other people’s computers to lower your own operating costs will only continue in the future.
More

DTCI: Rights of refusal and ‘cooling-off periods’

February 24, 2016
Jason Massaro
I find myself often representing companies that are subject to all sorts of tangential laws that they must know about and adhere to. Many times these laws require certain notice requirements to the clients with whom my clients do business.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. OK, take notice. Those wondering just how corrupt the Indiana system is can see the picture in this post. Attorney Donald James did not criticize any judges, he merely, it would seem, caused some clients to file against him and then ignored his own defense. James thus disrespected the system via ignoring all and was also ordered to reimburse the commission $525.88 for the costs of prosecuting the first case against him. Yes, nearly $526 for all the costs, the state having proved it all. Ouch, right? Now consider whistleblower and constitutionalist and citizen journalist Paul Ogden who criticized a judge, defended himself in such a professional fashion as to have half the case against him thrown out by the ISC and was then handed a career ending $10,000 bill as "half the costs" of the state crucifying him. http://www.theindianalawyer.com/ogden-quitting-law-citing-high-disciplinary-fine/PARAMS/article/35323 THE TAKEAWAY MESSAGE for any who have ears to hear ... resist Star Chamber and pay with your career ... welcome to the Indiana system of (cough) justice.

  2. GMA Ranger, I, too, was warned against posting on how the Ind govt was attempting to destroy me professionally, and visit great costs and even destitution upon my family through their processing. No doubt the discussion in Indy today is likely how to ban me from this site (I expect I soon will be), just as they have banned me from emailing them at the BLE and Office of Bar Admission and ADA coordinator -- or, if that fails, whether they can file a complaint against my Kansas or SCOTUS law license for telling just how they operate and offering all of my files over the past decade to any of good will. The elitist insiders running the Hoosier social control mechanisms realize that knowledge and a unified response will be the end of their unjust reign. They fear exposure and accountability. I was banned for life from the Indiana bar for questioning government processing, that is, for being a whistleblower. Hoosier whistleblowers suffer much. I have no doubt, Gma Ranger, of what you report. They fear us, but realize as long as they keep us in fear of them, they can control us. Kinda like the kids' show Ants. Tyrannical governments the world over are being shaken by empowered citizens. Hoosiers dealing with The Capitol are often dealing with tyranny. Time to rise up: https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2017/jan/17/governments-struggling-to-retain-trust-of-citizens-global-survey-finds Back to the Founders! MAGA!

  3. Science is showing us the root of addiction is the lack of connection (with people). Criminalizing people who are lonely is a gross misinterpretation of what data is revealing and the approach we must take to combat mental health. Harsher crimes from drug dealers? where there is a demand there is a market, so make it legal and encourage these citizens to be functioning members of a society with competitive market opportunities. Legalize are "drugs" and quit wasting tax payer dollars on frivolous incarceration. The system is destroying lives and doing it in the name of privatized profits. To demonize loneliness and destroy lives in the land of opportunity is not freedom.

  4. Good luck, but as I have documented in three Hail Mary's to the SCOTUS, two applications (2007 & 2013),a civil rights suit and my own kicked-to-the-curb prayer for mandamus. all supported in detailed affidavits with full legal briefing (never considered), the ISC knows that the BLE operates "above the law" (i.e. unconstitutionally) and does not give a damn. In fact, that is how it was designed to control the lawyers. IU Law Prof. Patrick Baude blew the whistle while he was Ind Bar Examiner President back in 1993, even he was shut down. It is a masonic system that blackballs those whom the elite disdain. Here is the basic thrust:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blackballing When I asked why I was initially denied, the court's foremost jester wrote back that the ten examiners all voted, and I did not gain the needed votes for approval (whatever that is, probably ten) and thus I was not in .. nothing written, no explanation, just go away or appeal ... and if you appeal and disagree with their system .. proof positive you lack character and fitness. It is both arbitrary and capricious by its very design. The Hoosier legal elites are monarchical minded, and rejected me for life for ostensibly failing to sufficiently respect man's law (due to my stated regard for God's law -- which they questioned me on, after remanding me for a psych eval for holding such Higher Law beliefs) while breaking their own rules, breaking federal statutory law, and violating federal and state constitutions and ancient due process standards .. all well documented as they "processed me" over many years.... yes years ... they have few standards that they will not bulldoze to get to the end desired. And the ISC knows this, and they keep it in play. So sad, And the fed courts refuse to do anything, and so the blackballing show goes on ... it is the Indy way. My final experience here: https://www.scribd.com/document/299040062/Brown-ind-Bar-memo-Pet-cert I will open my files to anyone interested in seeing justice dawn over Indy. My cases are an open book, just ask.

  5. Looks like 2017 will be another notable year for these cases. I have a Grandson involved in a CHINS case that should never have been. He and the whole family are being held hostage by CPS and the 'current mood' of the CPS caseworker. If the parents disagree with a decision, they are penalized. I, along with other were posting on Jasper County Online News, but all were quickly warned to remove posts. I totally understand that some children need these services, but in this case, it was mistakes, covered by coorcement of father to sign papers, lies and cover-ups. The most astonishing thing was within 2 weeks of this child being placed with CPS, a private adoption agency was asking questions regarding child's family in the area. I believe a photo that was taken by CPS manager at the very onset during the CHINS co-ocerment and the intent was to make money. I have even been warned not to post or speak to anyone regarding this case. Parents have completed all requirements, met foster parents, get visitation 2 days a week, and still the next court date is all the way out till May 1, which gives them(CPS) plenty of to time make further demands (which I expect) No trust of these 'seasoned' case managers, as I have already learned too much about their dirty little tricks. If they discover that I have posted here, I expect they will not be happy and penalized parents again. Still a Hostage.

ADVERTISEMENT