Opinion

Hammerle On... 'A Walk in the Woods', 'Meru', 'Jimmy's Hall'

September 23, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes of "A Walk in the Woods": "Despite negative reviews, this film should be seen by everyone over 50 or anyone wondering what it will be like at that age."
More

3 things to know about the ethics of files

September 9, 2015
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
A formal opinion recently issued by the American Bar Association’s Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility sheds light on what materials belong to the client.
More

DTCI: Candor toward tribunal trumps attorney-client privilege

September 9, 2015
Jamie Oss
The requirement for candor toward the tribunal is set forth in Indiana Rule of Professional Conduct 3.3, and it qualifies the attorney-client privilege.
More

Nothing is more important to democracy than civic literacy

September 9, 2015
Kelly Sharp
As we approach the 228th anniversary of the signing of the U.S. Constitution this Sept. 17, we might consider where civic literacy is taking place.
More

Hammerle On... 'Best of Enemies', 'The End of the Tour'

September 9, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The End of the Tour": "This film does a disservice to both Mr. Wallace and the audience. How could brilliance be displayed in such a dull fashion?"
More

Hammerle On... 'Straight Outta Compton', 'The Man from U.N.C.L.E.'

August 26, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The Man from U.N.C.L.E.": "Be prepared to say, 'I really enjoyed it, although I can't say I liked it.'"
More

Start Page: Scanning solutions

August 12, 2015
Seth Wilson
Mobile device scanning doesn’t take long to learn and helps when you wish you had a copy machine nearby.
More

Hammerle On... 'Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation', 'The Stanford Prison Experiment'

August 12, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The Stanford Prison Experiment": "If the re-creation of an event is destructive, think what the actual event is like."
More

Hammerle On…'Mr. Holmes', 'Testament of Youth'

July 29, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that "Mr. Holmes" is a tiny film that will remind many of you why guys like him love the cinema.
More

DTCI: Legal questions abound for hands-free driving

July 15, 2015
Matthew Trainor
Although fully autonomous cars will take years to reach the general public, several car manufacturers already sell or have plans within the next year to begin selling cars with hands-free driving features.
More

I’d walk a mile for a cheeseburger – better make that six

July 15, 2015
Sharon McGoff
Do not despair and throw in the towel on your daily exercise routine because you don’t think you could ever burn enough calories to eat burgers. Exercise is, without a doubt, the best medicine for our bodies, minds and spirit.
More

Ponzi scheme remains white collar fraud of choice

July 15, 2015
Casey Higgs
Since the fall of Bernard Madoff, the Securities and Exchange Commission has upped its enforcement on Ponzi schemes.
More

Hammerle On…'Mad Max: Fury Road,' 'Me and Earl and the Dying Girl'

July 15, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that he's curious as to why "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl" won both major awards at last year's Sundance Film Festival.
More

Start Page: Secure your life with a password manager

July 1, 2015
Seth Wilson
This article will offer some suggestions on how to protect yourself using a password manager.
More

Hammerle on ...'Jurassic World,' 'Inside Out'

July 1, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that "Jurassic World" poses a small, interesting questions for the obvious sequel. What if the U.S. could release Velociraptors of enemies like ISIS?
More

DTCI: Impact and questions from EPA draft study on fracking

June 17, 2015
From DTCI
Just shy of 600 pages with a 28-page executive summary to boot, the EPA report concludes that that the agency was unable to find “evidence that ‘mechanisms’ [identified in the report] have led to widespread, systemic impacts on drinking water resources in the United States."
More

Technology Untangled: Can software save money on printer ink?

June 17, 2015
Stephen Bour
There is some evidence suggesting that simply using a different font could save significant volumes of ink.
More

Klein: McKinney Law trains leaders for success in life sciences

June 17, 2015
Andrew Klein
In so many ways, Indianapolis helps us thrive. But the converse is also true. The McKinney School of Law is critical to Indianapolis’ success.
More

Hammerle On…'Spy,' 'The Connection'

June 17, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Robert Hammerle writes about "Spy" that international spies have not been this frenetic and madcap since Peter Sellers died.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: The duty to correct the trial court in a criminal case

June 17, 2015
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
Prosecutors and criminal defense lawyers need to know that there are times they are required to correct the trial court’s record.
More

Abrams: Engage with professionals to discover opportunities

June 3, 2015
Jeffrey Abrams
I would encourage recent law school graduates to remain optimistic, work hard and network with as many attorneys as you can find since you never know when the next law firm or employer will need to hire a recent graduate.
More

Federal Bar Update: Removing state-court actions to federal court

June 3, 2015
John Maley
Removal of state-court actions to federal court has provided a seemingly never-ending source of procedural disputes. Fortunately many of those mind-numbing issues have been resolved in the last several years by Congress and the courts, with the Supreme Court of the United States addressing one key issue recently.
More

Abeska: St. Joseph County Bar Foundation is hitting its stride

June 3, 2015
The St. Joseph County Bar Foundation's philanthropic efforts are made possible by support from attorneys and law firms, though fundraising remains a challenge for the board.
More

Quick: How to get noticed by the media

June 3, 2015
Swallow your pride. Sometimes the media doesn’t believe your law firm is as important as you do.
More

Kissel: Keeping the business in the family

June 3, 2015
Passing the family business to the next generation is likely to be one of the biggest projects of the owner’s lifetime. Family business succession is the process of transitioning the governance and ownership of a closely held business to the next generation.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Unfortunately, the court doesn't understand the difference between ebidta and adjusted ebidta as they clearly got the ruling wrong based on their misunderstanding

  2. A common refrain in the comments on this website comes from people who cannot locate attorneys willing put justice over retainers. At the same time the judiciary threatens to make pro bono work mandatory, seemingly noting the same concern. But what happens to attorneys who have the chumptzah to threatened the legal status quo in Indiana? Ask Gary Welch, ask Paul Ogden, ask me. Speak truth to power, suffer horrendously accordingly. No wonder Hoosier attorneys who want to keep in good graces merely chase the dollars ... the powers that be have no concerns as to those who are ever for sale to the highest bidder ... for those even willing to compromise for $$$ never allow either justice or constitutionality to cause them to stand up to injustice or unconstitutionality. And the bad apples in the Hoosier barrel, like this one, just keep rotting.

  3. I am one of Steele's victims and was taken for $6,000. I want my money back due to him doing nothing for me. I filed for divorce after a 16 year marriage and lost everything. My kids, my home, cars, money, pension. Every attorney I have talked to is not willing to help me. What can I do? I was told i can file a civil suit but you have to have all of Steelers info that I don't have. Of someone can please help me or tell me what info I need would be great.

  4. It would appear that news breaking on Drudge from the Hoosier state (link below) ties back to this Hoosier story from the beginning of the recent police disrespect period .... MCBA president Cassandra Bentley McNair issued the statement on behalf of the association Dec. 1. The association said it was “saddened and disappointed” by the decision not to indict Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson for shooting Michael Brown. “The MCBA does not believe this was a just outcome to this process, and is disheartened that the system we as lawyers are intended to uphold failed the African-American community in such a way,” the association stated. “This situation is not just about the death of Michael Brown, but the thousands of other African-Americans who are disproportionately targeted and killed by police officers.” http://www.thestarpress.com/story/news/local/2016/07/18/hate-cops-sign-prompts-controversy/87242664/

  5. What form or who do I talk to about a d felony which I hear is classified as a 6 now? Who do I talk to. About to get my degree and I need this to go away it's been over 7 years if that helps.

ADVERTISEMENT