Opinion

DTCI: Kick off your heels with the new Women in the Law Division

April 9, 2014
From DTCI
While there is no right or wrong answer, mentoring and networking can go a long way in helping women feel like they are not alone in their personal and professional lives. DTCI wants to make this even easier by expanding the available network of strong and successful women lawyers. DTCI has created the Women in the Law Division.
More

Hammerle On… 'Noah,' 'The Grand Budapest Hotel'

April 9, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says the beauty of “Noah” is that it forces you to look into mankind’s soul. Our Creator has to be disgusted with our lack of progress.
More

Dean's Desk: Are we satisfied with the color of the legal profession?

March 26, 2014
Ivan Bodensteiner
Ivan Bodensteiner writes about why it is difficult to achieve racial equity within law schools and the profession.
More

Adams: Is Indy Rezone long overdue or cutting edge?

March 26, 2014
David Adams writes that unless you are a land use lawyer, you may not know that there are some very interesting things happening with Indianapolis’ city zoning ordinance and associated development regulations.
More

Start Page: Make the most of your 24 hours with workflow planning

March 26, 2014
Seth Wilson
Lawyers are hardworking professionals. But, most feel like there is more work to get done than is possible in the 24 hours everyone has each day.
More

Quality of Life: Don’t be a slug when dealing with a workplace bully

March 26, 2014
Jonna Kane MacDougall
According to a 2010 survey by the Workplace Bullying Institute, a nonprofit organization in Bellingham, Wash., 35 percent of American workers reported being bullied at work.
More

Sidebars: Delicious comfort food is made with care at Indy eatery

March 26, 2014
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give DeeGusto’s Southern Cooking 3 1/2 gavels!
More

Hammerle On … 'Mr. Peabody & Sherman,' '300: Rise of an Empire'

March 26, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says the leader of the Persian naval fleet in "300: Rise of an Empire" is not the kind of woman you would bring home to your mother.
More

Boulukos: Guiding clients through an executive intervention

March 12, 2014
When an executive’s substance abuse triggers a personal and professional free fall, colleagues may be slow to recognize that the bottom is coming – and fast. At some point, and hopefully before permanent damage has been done, the fact that the leader has become a liability is impossible to ignore.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: Can a defendant be convicted for being ‘annoying?’

March 12, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
In 2012, the General Assembly amended Indiana’s public intoxication statute to provide, in part, that a person was guilty of public intoxication if the individual is intoxicated “in a public place” and “annoys … another person.” Indiana Code §7.1-5-1-3(a)(4). But what constitutes “annoying?”
More

DTCI: What happened to practicing ‘civil’ litigation?

March 12, 2014
From DTCI
It is unusual to open a lawyers’ magazine without seeing an article about civility. What happened to “civil” litigation? It must be like the weather – a lot of people are writing about it, but no one seems to be doing anything about it.
More

Federal Bar Update: ND requires e-filing; SD launches hyperlink pilot

March 12, 2014
John Maley
Effective Feb. 24, all new complaints and removals in the Northern District of Indiana must be e-filed.
More

Hammerle On … '3 Days to Kill' and 'Non-Stop'

March 12, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle reviews two action movies where the heroes are aging, alcoholic men with lost hopes and dreams. Is there any question why both are male trial lawyers' dream films?
More

Dean's Desk: Legal education partners enhance law school experience

February 26, 2014
Peter Alexander
At Indiana Tech Law School, we have decided to partner with our local legal community in order to break out of the mold of the “traditional law school.” The judges and lawyers in Northeast Indiana and Northwest Ohio have been invited to invest themselves in the success of our school and in the professional development of our students, and they have stepped up in a big way to help us.
More

Pashos: Is cost-of-service regulation relevant in today's world?

February 26, 2014
Today, public utilities are experiencing significant cost increases, due to issues such as federal environmental and other mandates, and the need to upgrade decades-old infrastructure. These cost pressures, combined with fast-paced technology, market changes and other states’ experimentation with retail deregulation, are causing policymakers and others to ask whether cost-of-service regulation remains relevant or whether deregulation might be a preferable alternative.
More

Ladendorf: Footage protected by work-product doctrine

February 26, 2014
My law firm recently confronted the discoverability of settlement documentary footage in a case involving a tractor-trailer collision in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Indiana, Hammond Division. Our firm retained an outside vendor to assist in the preparation of a “settlement video brochure” to present at the federal settlement conference. The video depicted the human toll of the plaintiff’s catastrophic injuries through lay and expert witness statements and home videos.
More

Technology Untangled: Windows 8.1’s good points bundled with annoyances

February 26, 2014
Stephen Bour
If you read no further than this paragraph, here is the most important advice I have to offer. Be sure to choose a laptop that has a touch-enabled screen. Windows 8.1 is clearly designed to work best with a 10-point multi-touch screen.
More

Hammerle On … 'The Lego Movie,' 'The Monuments Men'

February 26, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle believes "The Lego Movie" should be nominated for an Oscar next year.
More

Essley: The land of (health care lien) confusion

February 12, 2014
Eric Essley writes about a few of the health care-related lien statutes often encountered and/or cited by the plaintiff’s bar and their in-house/defense counterparts when trying to settle claims.
More

Lucas: Our current gun control approach is not working

February 12, 2014
Kelly Lucas
While I am not arguing against a person’s right to own guns or protect himself from threat, here is the question I can not shake: When does one person’s right to own a gun trump another person’s right to return home alive? In fiercely protecting one, we are clearly not doing enough to ensure the other.
More

DTCI: 'Caring for' family under FMLA

February 12, 2014

What happens when a family member is diagnosed with a terminal illness and begins the somber review of their bucket list, noticing that a trip to Las Vegas is still unchecked? Would taking time to accompany and care for that family member be included in the definition of caring for under the FMLA?

More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about withdrawing from a case

February 12, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
Unfortunately, there comes a time in some attorney-client relationships when breakup is inevitable. You may have tried to “work things out” with your client, but things only got worse. So what do you do?
More

Start Page: Tips for catching up after snow days

February 12, 2014
We’re already over a month in to 2014. So far, the weather has wreaked havoc on school and work schedules. If you are like me, the list of things to accomplish has only gotten longer as a result. The solution? Use your technology tools more efficiently. Here are three concepts and related tips to help you (and me) dig out and catch up.
More

Hammerle on ... 'American Hustle' leads favorites for 2014 Oscars

February 12, 2014
Robert Hammerle
It's that time of the year when Bob Hammerle makes his Oscar picks. See if you agree with his choices.
More

Papageorge: Predictive coding gaining support in courts

January 29, 2014
Attorneys now are faced with the monumental task of collecting, reviewing and producing their own client’s electronic documents while also reviewing the opposing side’s electronic documents. This can lead to uncomfortable conversations with clients regarding the significant cost of the process.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Someone off their meds? C'mon John, it is called the politics of Empire. Get with the program, will ya? How can we build one world under secularist ideals without breaking a few eggs? Of course, once it is fully built, is the American public who will feel the deadly grip of the velvet glove. One cannot lay down with dogs without getting fleas. The cup of wrath is nearly full, John Smith, nearly full. Oops, there I go, almost sounding as alarmist as Smith. Guess he and I both need to listen to this again: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRnQ65J02XA

  2. Charles Rice was one of the greatest of the so-called great generation in America. I was privileged to count him among my mentors. He stood firm for Christ and Christ's Church in the Spirit of Thomas More, always quick to be a good servant of the King, but always God's first. I had Rice come speak to 700 in Fort Wayne as Obama took office. Rice was concerned that this rise of aggressive secularism and militant Islam were dual threats to Christendom,er, please forgive, I meant to say "Western Civilization". RIP Charlie. You are safe at home.

  3. It's a big fat black mark against the US that they radicalized a lot of these Afghan jihadis in the 80s to fight the soviets and then when they predictably got around to biting the hand that fed them, the US had to invade their homelands, install a bunch of corrupt drug kingpins and kleptocrats, take these guys and torture the hell out of them. Why for example did the US have to sodomize them? Dubya said "they hate us for our freedoms!" Here, try some of that freedom whether you like it or not!!! Now they got even more reasons to hate us-- lets just keep bombing the crap out of their populations, installing more puppet regimes, arming one faction against another, etc etc etc.... the US is becoming a monster. No wonder they hate us. Here's my modest recommendation. How about we follow "Just War" theory in the future. St Augustine had it right. How about we treat these obvious prisoners of war according to the Geneva convention instead of torturing them in sadistic and perverted ways.

  4. As usual, John is "spot-on." The subtle but poignant points he makes are numerous and warrant reflection by mediators and users. Oh but were it so simple.

  5. ACLU. Way to step up against the police state. I see a lot of things from the ACLU I don't like but this one is a gold star in its column.... instead of fighting it the authorities should apologize and back off.

ADVERTISEMENT