Opinion

DTCI: Perception and psychology shape interactions

June 5, 2013
Kevin Tyra
Kevin Tyra takes a look at how how perception and psychology shape interactions in general, and interactions among adverse lawyers in particular.
More

Cox: Implement a system of checks to avoid conflicts of interest

June 5, 2013
Dina Cox
Loyalty and independence of judgment are essential to the effective representation of a client. A conflict of interest may make it impossible to exercise these essentials, or it may create an appearance that is injurious to the health of the lawyer-client relationship.
More

Hammerle on ... 'The Company You Keep', 'Star Trek Into Darkness'

June 5, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says that "Start Trek Into Darkness" captures all the goofy charm that made the TV series so lovable.
More

Technology Untangled: GoPro action cam for work and summer fun

June 5, 2013
Stephen Bour
The summer vacation season is upon us, so today’s article will review a camera that you may find both useful and fun for your summer adventures. This camera is also useful for video documentation functions at work. It provides a superior video to the typical cell phone.
More

Inbox: Court guts medical hearsay exception for children

May 22, 2013
Laurie Gray, a former prosecutor, writes about the recent Indiana Supreme Court decision's impact on medical hearsay exception for child victims.
More

Hammerle on...'The Great Gatsby,' 'Iron Man 3'

May 22, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends you see "The Great Gatsby" on the big screen.
More

Start Page: Fighting interruption addiction, continued

May 22, 2013
Kim Brand
In my last column, I confessed I was addicted to interruptions: email, voice mail, texts, phone calls, Twitter feeds, etc. Studies have shown multitasking lowers IQ.
More

Finney: The OneNote tool you actually need

May 22, 2013
In this on-demand era of instant gratification, we expect that information should always be at our fingertips. Our time is precious and we all want others to respect that fact; in return doesn’t that mean we should all be respectful of the time that others give to us?
More

Dean's Desk: Legal education is navigating turbulent waters

May 8, 2013
Gary Roberts
On April 24, the McKinney School was privileged to host a plenary session of the American Bar Association Task Force that Randy Shepard is chairing on the future of legal education. It was an eye-opening, interesting and, at the same time, unsettling day.
More

Technology Untangled: Display your iPad on the big screen at trial

May 8, 2013
Stephen Bour
The iPad is a convenient and useful personal device for many daily work (and play) activities. However, when it comes time to show what is on your 9.7-inch screen and share it with others, the iPad can use a little help.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Judges need to take control of cultural standing

May 8, 2013
David Dreyer
Have you ever Googled “lawyer dog”? If you do, be prepared to see a limitless line of websites all featuring identical photos of the same canine seated behind his desk, along with various one-liners related to the law, dogs and just silliness.
More

Federal Bar Update: Supreme Court takes rare steps on procedural decisions

May 8, 2013
John Maley
With its limited docket, the U.S. Supreme Court rarely decides procedural issues, focusing instead on weighty constitutional issues or resolving split interpretations of federal statutes. This term, however, the Supreme Court has addressed several procedural issues.
More

DTCI: As attorneys, conflict is our business

May 8, 2013
From DTCI
This is not a call for more “civility.” To be candid, I have heard that so many times from so many people that it has lost all significance to me.
More

Hammerle on ... ‘Mud,’ ‘No’

May 8, 2013
Robert Hammerle
It wasn’t that long ago that I would have given Matthew McConaughey the same chance of receiving an Oscar nomination as the Supreme Leader of North Korea receiving a Nobel Peace Prize. Times haven’t changed on the Korean Peninsula, but they certainly have in Hollywood.
More

Lucas: 2013 Leadership in Law Award winners revealed

April 24, 2013
Kelly Lucas
Through the profiles in the Leadership in Law award supplement, it is our goal to introduce IL readers to the men and women behind the public and professional personas.
More

Hammerle on ... '42'

April 24, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Before reviewing the movie "42," Bob Hammerle pays tribute to the recent passing of Roger Ebert, Jonathan Winters and Annette Funicello.
More

Dean's Desk: IU Maurer professor’s legacy lives on at law school

April 10, 2013
Hannah Buxbaum
Two months ago, the Maurer School of Law lost an esteemed colleague, friend and teacher who touched the lives of more than 6,000 of our alumni during his 33 years at the law school.
More

Living Fit: Get ready for summer

April 10, 2013
Sharon McGoff
I know what you’re thinking – the task of getting in shape is all too daunting, and I don’t have time to do it because there are too many areas in my wellness plan that need focus. I hear you! So, together, let’s set a plan for taking small steps NOW to make big progress by June 1.
More

INBOX: Voter Experience Project

April 10, 2013
A letter to the editor looks at Marion County's voting technology.
More

DTCI: Rookie seminar will take defense practice to new levels

April 10, 2013
From DTCI
Are you ready to learn what you really need to know to practice defense law? Well, the DTCI is ready to teach you!
More

Sidebars: Unassuming storefront houses flavorful Mexican food

April 10, 2013
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give La Escollera 3.25 gavels!
More

Federal Bar Update: Pilot program for discovery in employment cases

March 27, 2013
John Maley
In the Southern District of Indiana, if you are litigating an adverse-action employment case you might be part of a pilot program that aims to streamline and tailor discovery and scheduling.
More

Quality of Life: Embrace the gray days of March

March 27, 2013
Jonna Kane MacDougall
As far as I can tell, March has no redeeming qualities. Of course, it’s the month for basketball and spring break, but beyond that, there isn’t much to recommend – especially if you are in Indiana. Since I’m a native Hoosier, my familiarity with March in other locales is somewhat limited.
More

Mediation confidentiality; ADR rules review coming

March 27, 2013
The Indiana Supreme Court reiterated in its opinion that Indiana has not adopted the UMA. They also acknowledged that the two amici organizations have further worked to create a task force to review the rules for Alternative Dispute Resolution (now formally recognized by the court).
More

Hammerle on ... 'West of Memphis,' 'Emperor'

March 27, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends that all lawyers go see the documentary "West of Memphis."
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
ADVERTISEMENT