Opinion

Hammerle On… 'Captain America: Civil War', 'Sing Street'

May 18, 2016
Robert Hammerle
The latest Marvel superhero film 'Captain America: Civil War' leaves Hammerle singing, 'I Hate Myself for Loving You.'
More

Dean's Desk: New faculty continue legacy of legal scholarship

May 4, 2016
Austen Parrish
Inspired and challenged by the school's awesome legacy, IU Maurer has been fortunate to recruit some of the most promising rising stars in legal education today, all of whom are classroom standouts as well.

More

Keyes: An alternative alternative dispute resolution process

May 4, 2016
The components of structured negotiation are not new; people resolve problems every day without resorting to litigation. But now the process has been better defined, refined and expanded.
More

Neutral Corner: Recent appellate case raises mediation issues

May 4, 2016
John Van Winkle
The recent Indiana Court of Appeals decision Jonas v. State Farm Life Ins. Co., ____N.E. 3d ______, 2016 WL 1248589 (Ind. Ct. App. 2016) highlights several issues concerning mediation and settlement in both state and federal courts.
More

Jones: Examining the evolution of hospitals’ vicarious liability

May 4, 2016
The evolution of legal precedent regarding vicarious liability claims has left hospitals shifting in their seats.
More

Hammerle on ... 'The Jungle Book,' 'Elvis & Nixon'

May 4, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Elvis & Nixon" is a hidden cinematic gem.
More

Davee: Initial trademark considerations when advising clients

April 20, 2016
When helping the client form their business, there are several items that should be discussed early on, particularly if the client has any desire to pursue federal trademark registration.
More

Nguyen: Is Circuit jurisdictional battle judicial wisdom or patent envy?

April 20, 2016
Having legitimate grounds to hear cases involving patent issues comes with a responsibility that regional circuits must address.
More

Hammerle on ... 'City of Gold,' 'Hardcore Henry,' 'I Saw the Light,' 'Midnight Special'

April 20, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says you might consider looking up these movies for home viewing.
More

Making Rain: Allocating resources to keep your clients

April 20, 2016
Dona Stohler
Recent studies indicate that firms that increase client retention by just 5 percent grow revenues by 25 percent. Who wouldn’t vote for 25 percent more revenue?
More

Living Fit: Could you be diabetic and not know it?

April 20, 2016
Sharon McGoff
Type 2 diabetes cases have quadrupled in the past three decades, largely (pun intended) due to our lifestyle choices.
More

Hammerle On …

April 6, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Take Bob Hammerle's advice on the latest superhero blockbuster: Forget the hokey script and see "Batman v Superman" at an IMAX theater.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: When your client is speaking to others

March 23, 2016
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
“Say nothing.” This advice seems simple enough, but any attorney with a few years under his or her belt knows that the advice is often not heeded.
More

Editorial: Rule changes still lack needed transparency

March 23, 2016
IL Staff
A proposed overhaul of Admission and Discipline Rule 23 contains some good ideas among the 108 pages of side-by-side comparisons of the old and the new. But the proposals would do little to deprogram the Supreme Court Disciplinary Commission’s culture of confidentiality or boost public confidence in the agency that polices Indiana attorneys.
More

Federal Bar Update: Offers of judgment and class actions

March 23, 2016
John Maley
The U.S. Supreme Court recently held that an unaccepted offer of judgment under Rule 68 does not moot a class representative’s claim, even when the offer is made prior to class certification.
More

DTCI: Senate obstruction on appointments harms entire judiciary

March 23, 2016
From DTCI
Since the Republicans took control of the Senate after the 2014 elections, the Obama administration has made only one judicial appointment as Republican senators have refused to sign off ahead of time on nominees for judgeships in their states. This is in stark contrast to President Obama’s predecessors since Ronald Reagan who also faced a Senate controlled by the opposing party, yet appointed between 10-18 appellate judges in their last two years in office.
More

Plugged In: 3 easy ways to add value to PDF documents

March 23, 2016
Deanna Marquez
With a rise in the number of mobile-friendly offices, voluminous PDF files have quickly become the norm in today’s society. PDFs have retained popularity with their innate ability to easily share across operating systems, protect content and ensure formatting remains intact across platforms.
More

Hammerle On … 'Eddie the Eagle,' 'Zootopia'

March 23, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle wonders why the American public seems to reject inspiring films. Does everything have to be a cross between “Star Wars,” “The Avengers” and “Jurassic Park”?
More

Waterfill: EEOC alleges gender discrimination in 2 suits

March 23, 2016
Mark Waterfill
In light of development in gender discrimination cases, what should wise employment counsel advise clients to do?
More

Vlink: Should unions charge free-rider fees for grievances?

March 23, 2016
David VlinkMore

Waterhouse: An environmental justice challenge for Indiana

March 9, 2016
Sadly, many Indiana children are at an even greater risk than children in other states for lead poisoning.
More

Technology Untangled: Streamline Web research with the Pocket app

March 9, 2016
Stephen Bour
The Pocket app allows users to save and organize articles, websites, and videos and have them easily available for viewing later on any device at any time.
More

Nelson: Politics put U.S. Supreme Court precedent in peril

March 9, 2016
Jennifer Nelson
If you voted for President Barack Obama in 2012, sorry, but your vote no longer counts. That’s effectively what the Republican members of the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary said in a Feb. 23 letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell.
More

In-Box: Cellphone encryption

March 9, 2016
Prosecutor Todd Meyer writes why companies like Apple and Google should work with government agencies on criminal cases.
More

Protecting Your Practice: Organizing as a limited liability entity under Indiana A&D Rule 27

March 9, 2016
Practicing law with partners can bring tremendous benefit to you and your practice. Partners can provide intellectual collaboration, moral support, camaraderie, and help with business development. However, partnership carries risks as well as benefits.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Access to the court (judiciary branch of government) is the REAL problem, NOT necessarily lack of access to an attorney. Unfortunately, I've lived in a legal and financial hell for the past six years due to a divorce (where I was, supposedly, represented by an attorney) in which I was defrauded of settlement and the other party (and helpers) enriched through the fraud. When I attempted to introduce evidence and testify (pro se) in a foreclosure/eviction, I was silenced (apparently on procedural grounds, as research I've done since indicates). I was thrown out of a residence which was to be sold, by a judge who refused to allow me to speak in (the supposedly "informal") small claims court where the eviction proceeding (by ex-brother-in-law) was held. Six years and I can't even get back on solid or stable ground ... having bank account seized twice, unlawfully ... and now, for the past year, being dragged into court - again, contrary to law and appellate decisions - by former attorney, who is trying to force payment from exempt funds. Friday will mark fifth appearance. Hopefully, I'll be allowed to speak. The situation I find myself in shouldn't even be possible, much less dragging out with no end in sight, for years. I've done nothing wrong, but am watching a lot of wrong being accomplished under court jurisdiction; only because I was married to someone who wanted and was granted a divorce (but was not willing to assume the responsibilities that come with granting the divorce). In fact, the recalcitrant party was enriched by well over $100k, although it was necessarily split with other actors. Pro bono help? It's a nice dream ... but that's all it is, for too many. Meanwhile, injustice marches on.

  2. Both sites mentioned in the article appear to be nonfunctional to date (March 28, 2017). http://indianalegalanswers.org/ returns a message stating the "server is taking too long to respond" and http://www.abafreelegalasnswers.org/ "can't find the server". Although this does not surprise me, it is disheartening to know that access to the judicial branch of government remains out of reach for too many citizens (for procedural rather than meritorious reasons) of Indiana. Any updates regarding this story?

  3. We have a direct genuine provider for BG/SBLC specifically for lease, at leasing price of 4+2 of face value, Issuance by HSBC London/Hong Kong or any other AA rated Bank in Europe, Middle East or USA. Contact : Mr. Johnson Hatton Email:johnsonhatton@gmail.com Skype ID: johnson.hatton007 Intermediaries/Consultants/Brokers are welcome to bring their clients and are 100% protected. In complete confidence, we will work together for the benefits of all parties involved. All inquires to Mr. Johnson Hatton should include the following minimum information so I can quickly address your needs: Complete contact information: What exactly do you need? How long do you need it for? Are you a principal borrower or a broker? Contact me for more details. Johnson Hatton

  4. I've been denied I appeal court date took a year my court date was Nov 9,2016 and have not received a answer yet

  5. Warsaw indiana dcs lying on our case. We already proved that in our first and most recent court appearance i need people to contact me who have evidence of dcs malpractice please email or facebook nathaniel hollett thank you

ADVERTISEMENT