Opinion

Start Page: Goal setting and habit development for the new year

December 16, 2015
Seth Wilson
This year, join me in a different approach: setting goals and developing habits. Neither concept is new and both take effort to be effective. Here are some pointers and tech tools you can use to help support achieving your goals and developing good habits in the new year.
More

Indiana Judges Association: 7 hopes on a judicial holiday wish list

December 16, 2015
David Dreyer
As we complete a long, complicated year, my great judge journey leads me to a wish list. While wish lists are not uncommon for gift-giving season, or the start of a new year, this one is intended for regular rumination.
More

Neutral Corner: Case reaffirms enforceability of settlement agreements

December 16, 2015
John Van Winkle
A recent Indiana Court of Appeals opinion reaffirmed prior Indiana cases holding that settlement agreements, whether reached with or without mediation, are governed by the general principle of contract law and generally not required to be in writing.
More

Quick: Time to develop a social media marketing strategy

December 16, 2015
Jon Quick
If I told you there was a way to market your law firm for absolutely no cost and get responses from thousands and thousands of people globally, would you be interested in doing it?
More

Schantz: Infringing IP in your home with 3-D printing

December 16, 2015
Adherence to a few principles will avoid many of the intellectual property potholes on the road of 3-D printing.
More

Warr: Cybersecurity lessons learned from an ostrich

December 16, 2015
When the topic of cybersecurity arises, many companies react by burying their heads in the sand. However, playing an ostrich when it comes to cybersecurity will not save you.
More

Nguyen: Banking on intellecutal property

December 16, 2015
What do startups and high-growth companies have in common? Intellectual property is their most valuable asset, separating one company from the others in a fiercely competitive tech environment.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Brooklyn,' 'Creed'

December 16, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says Sylvester Stallone is magnificent as an aging man searching for meaning in "Creed."
More

Lucas: And the ‘Practicing Law in Indiana’ survey says …

December 2, 2015
Kelly Lucas
Welcome to the Indiana Lawyer’s “survey issue”! I hope that you find the data revealed in the pages of this publication interesting and that it spurs conversation and serves as a catalyst for positive change in the legal community.
More

Quality of Life: Make sure to protect yourself from any type of ‘fall’

December 2, 2015
Jonna Kane MacDougall
At some point in life, you may have an experience that helps you to redefine your priorities. I had such an experience about three weeks ago, when I took a tumble, head first, down a long and steep staircase in my home.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: Gluten, grandpas and reasonable suspicion to stop a vehicle

December 2, 2015
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
“Back in our day,” reasonable suspicion for a traffic stop was based upon objective evidence that the suspect had committed a traffic violation.
More

Protecting Your Practice: Avoid problematic fee agreements

December 2, 2015
Neal Bowling, Dina Cox
It is crucial to have a clear, written agreement with your client explaining not just the scope of your services, but how you will be paid for those services. Be careful that you don’t run afoul of your professional obligations in that fee agreement or in your billing.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Trumbo,' 'Spotlight'

December 2, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Trumbo" is a study in American history that should not be forgotten.
More

O'Neil: Litigating in a paperless environment

November 18, 2015
If you walked down the hallway of the average law firm in the year 2000, what would you see? Paper, and a lot of it!
More

Making Rain: Abiding by rules 7.1 and 7.2 in a #DigitalWorld

November 18, 2015
Dona Stohler
Recently, I had the pleasure of attending an Indiana Lawyer CLE program on how lawyers and law firms should interpret the professional code of conduct regarding digital advertising and communications. My conclusion from the entire discussion is that there are a few things that are clear and there is a lot that is still pretty fuzzy.
More

Federal Bar Update: Significant rule changes coming Dec. 1

November 18, 2015
John Maley
Significant changes to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure take effect to civil cases filed on or after Dec. 1, or to cases already pending to the extent just and practicable. The Supreme Court of the United States approved these changes in April, and Congress has taken no action to stop them becoming effective.
More

Marquez: Take simple steps to save your assets

November 18, 2015
We have all been there at some point: having spent an inordinate amount of time getting a document phrased perfectly and in an instant it is all gone.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Room,' 'Spectre'

November 18, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Room" is a movie experience that you cannot help but dread.
More

Falcon: Are no-damage-for-delay clauses enforceable?

November 4, 2015
When the enforceability of a no-damage-for-delay clause is litigated in Indiana, practitioners commonly rely on the treatment of certain exceptions in other jurisdictions, while conceding that Indiana’s courts have not definitively weighed in. But is that position entirely accurate?
More

Reddick and Law: TIF financing and public-private partnerships on the rise

November 4, 2015
As the state of Indiana continues to search for new and innovative ways to recruit businesses to the area and create more jobs, the use of creative financing incentives such as tax increment financing and public-private partnerships, or P3s, has continued to be essential to development.
More

Bell/Whelan: 3 things to know about reporting ethics violations

November 4, 2015
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
If you’re like us, you’re a lawyer who enjoys giving advice to others. As attorneys who represent other attorneys in disciplinary matters, we often receive requests to give ethics advice to lawyers. As luck would have it, we like lawyers and generally enjoy giving advice to lawyers when we can.
More

Start Page: 3 reasons to consider using an Apple Watch

November 4, 2015
Seth Wilson
Lawyers need help managing the massive amounts of information we process on a daily basis. Wearable devices can help weed through the noise and filter the most important information to you when and where you need it.
More

Mellowitz: Judges should not ignore discovery violations

November 4, 2015
After 27 years in the trenches of civil litigation, most on behalf of injured plaintiffs, it is still shocking to see the blind eye that some judges turn toward even the most egregious violations of the discovery rules.
More

DTCI: Sealing confidential terms of compromise

November 4, 2015
From DTCI
Recently, a colleague and I were faced with the following issue in a wrongful death action after resolving all claims at mediation: Is an Indiana trial court permitted to seal and/or prevent public access to records required to be filed with the court related to the compromise of a plaintiff’s claim that include or otherwise identify confidential terms of the resolution?
More

Inbox: Young lawyers work togther

November 4, 2015
Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana recognizes hard work of young lawyers at Indiana Trial Lawyers Association.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Where may I find an attorney working Pro Bono? Many issues with divorce, my Disability, distribution of IRA's, property, money's and pressured into agreement by my attorney. Leaving me far less than 5% of all after 15 years of marriage. No money to appeal, disabled living on disability income. Attorney's decision brought forward to judge, no evidence ever to finalize divorce. Just 2 weeks ago. Please help.

  2. For the record no one could answer the equal protection / substantive due process challenge I issued in the first post below. The lawless and accountable only to power bureaucrats never did either. All who interface with the Indiana law examiners or JLAP be warned.

  3. Hi there I really need help with getting my old divorce case back into court - I am still paying support on a 24 year old who has not been in school since age 16 - now living independent. My visitation with my 14 year old has never been modified; however, when convenient for her I can have him... I am paying past balance from over due support, yet earn several thousand dollars less. I would contact my original attorney but he basically molest me multiple times in Indy when I would visit.. Todd Woodmansee - I had just came out and had know idea what to do... I have heard he no longer practices. Please help1

  4. Yes diversity is so very important. With justice Rucker off ... the court is too white. Still too male. No Hispanic justice. No LGBT justice. And there are other checkboxes missing as well. This will not do. I say hold the seat until a physically handicapped Black Lesbian of Hispanic heritage and eastern religious creed with bipolar issues can be located. Perhaps an international search, with a preference for third world candidates, is indicated. A non English speaker would surely increase our diversity quotient!!!

  5. First, I want to thank Justice Rucker for his many years of public service, not just at the appellate court level for over 25 years, but also when he served the people of Lake County as a Deputy Prosecutor, City Attorney for Gary, IN, and in private practice in a smaller, highly diverse community with a history of serious economic challenges, ethnic tensions, and recently publicized but apparently long-standing environmental health risks to some of its poorest residents. Congratulations for having the dedication & courage to practice law in areas many in our state might have considered too dangerous or too poor at different points in time. It was also courageous to step into a prominent and highly visible position of public service & respect in the early 1990's, remaining in a position that left you open to state-wide public scrutiny (without any glitches) for over 25 years. Yes, Hoosiers of all backgrounds can take pride in your many years of public service. But people of color who watched your ascent to the highest levels of state government no doubt felt even more as you transcended some real & perhaps some perceived social, economic, academic and professional barriers. You were living proof that, with hard work, dedication & a spirit of public service, a person who shared their same skin tone or came from the same county they grew up in could achieve great success. At the same time, perhaps unknowingly, you helped fellow members of the judiciary, court staff, litigants and the public better understand that differences that are only skin-deep neither define nor limit a person's character, abilities or prospects in life. You also helped others appreciate that people of different races & backgrounds can live and work together peacefully & productively for the greater good of all. Those are truths that didn't have to be written down in court opinions. Anyone paying attention could see that truth lived out every day you devoted to public service. I believe you have been a "trailblazer" in Indiana's legal community and its judiciary. I also embrace your belief that society's needs can be better served when people in positions of governmental power reflect the many complexions of the population that they serve. Whether through greater understanding across the existing racial spectrum or through the removal of some real and some perceived color-based, hope-crushing barriers to life opportunities & success, movement toward a more reflective representation of the population being governed will lead to greater and uninterrupted respect for laws designed to protect all peoples' rights to life, liberty & the pursuit of happiness. Thanks again for a job well-done & for the inevitable positive impact your service has had - and will continue to have - on countless Hoosiers of all backgrounds & colors.

ADVERTISEMENT