Opinion

Hammerle on ... 'Room,' 'Spectre'

November 18, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Room" is a movie experience that you cannot help but dread.
More

Falcon: Are no-damage-for-delay clauses enforceable?

November 4, 2015
When the enforceability of a no-damage-for-delay clause is litigated in Indiana, practitioners commonly rely on the treatment of certain exceptions in other jurisdictions, while conceding that Indiana’s courts have not definitively weighed in. But is that position entirely accurate?
More

Reddick and Law: TIF financing and public-private partnerships on the rise

November 4, 2015
As the state of Indiana continues to search for new and innovative ways to recruit businesses to the area and create more jobs, the use of creative financing incentives such as tax increment financing and public-private partnerships, or P3s, has continued to be essential to development.
More

Bell/Whelan: 3 things to know about reporting ethics violations

November 4, 2015
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
If you’re like us, you’re a lawyer who enjoys giving advice to others. As attorneys who represent other attorneys in disciplinary matters, we often receive requests to give ethics advice to lawyers. As luck would have it, we like lawyers and generally enjoy giving advice to lawyers when we can.
More

Start Page: 3 reasons to consider using an Apple Watch

November 4, 2015
Seth Wilson
Lawyers need help managing the massive amounts of information we process on a daily basis. Wearable devices can help weed through the noise and filter the most important information to you when and where you need it.
More

Mellowitz: Judges should not ignore discovery violations

November 4, 2015
After 27 years in the trenches of civil litigation, most on behalf of injured plaintiffs, it is still shocking to see the blind eye that some judges turn toward even the most egregious violations of the discovery rules.
More

DTCI: Sealing confidential terms of compromise

November 4, 2015
From DTCI
Recently, a colleague and I were faced with the following issue in a wrongful death action after resolving all claims at mediation: Is an Indiana trial court permitted to seal and/or prevent public access to records required to be filed with the court related to the compromise of a plaintiff’s claim that include or otherwise identify confidential terms of the resolution?
More

Inbox: Young lawyers work togther

November 4, 2015
Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana recognizes hard work of young lawyers at Indiana Trial Lawyers Association.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Bridge of Spies,' 'Freeheld'

November 4, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Hammerle says "Bridge of Spies" embodies every criminal defense lawyer's motto, "You brought the charge, now prove it!"
More

Thompson: Advice to myself when I was a young lawyer

November 4, 2015
After a spirited conversation with colleagues about the opportunity to time travel, I posed the discussion topic, “If you had the opportunity to travel back in time and talk with your younger self as a new attorney, what advice would you share about life as a lawyer?”
More

Jones: A millennial’s take on political involvement

November 4, 2015
More

Hammerle On ... 'The Walk,' 'The Martian,' 'Sicario'

October 21, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says legendary director Robert Zemeckis’ “The Walk” must be added to the list of great films in 2015.
More

Dean's Desk: Legal clinics cultivate essential lawyering skills

October 21, 2015
Andrea D. Lyon
I am certainly awarethat those of you reading this article know what legal clinics are and do – you all know that students in clinics learn how to interact with clients, opposing counsel and judges; but they also learn that actual clients are more important than they seem in casebooks and that their work makes a positive difference in their client’s lives.
More

Retzner: The family vacation home: harmony or chaos?

October 21, 2015
In most instances, vacation homes achieve the goal of family harmony. After the parents pass away, however, that family harmony can quickly turn to chaos.
More

Living Fit: 10 changes that make big strides for better health

October 21, 2015
Sharon McGoff
It is feasible and fairly simple to make a few small changes to enjoy a healthier body. If you take these steps, you will lose weight and feel energetic. Even if you just choose one of them, your health will improve over what it is today. No more excuses!
More

Technology Untangled: Making good use of older technology

October 21, 2015
Stephen Bour
Sometimes there is wisdom in making better use of things we already have or in choosing gently used items. This article will look at some recent examples of where I chose not to automatically go with the newest technology and will detail how those choices worked out.
More

Dean's Desk: Surveys give insight on graduates’ careers

October 7, 2015
Nell Jessup Netwon
Lately I have been spending some fruitful hours reviewing a treasure trove of data collected by a 12-year-long longitudinal study of law graduates who passed the bar in the year 2000. The survey results are available in a publication called “After the JD.” I commend it to your attention.
More

Indiana Judges Association: The online life of judges requires prudence

October 7, 2015
David Dreyer
We legal professionals have a unique role to translate ancient theorems into optic fiber. Along with that obligation arises a longstanding devotion to ensuring the world understands what law is and has always been: an imperfect process to determine “facts” and apply the rules.
More

DTCI: Second chair is not second fiddle

October 7, 2015
From DTCI
I had the privilege of being the second chair at my first jury trial in March of this year. As I begin preparations for my next trial as second chair, I have been reflecting on what I learned the first go-round. I share my thoughts here with the hope that they will help other young attorneys – or even a seasoned attorney when he or she mentors young attorneys.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: New playbook for prosecuting white collar crime

October 7, 2015
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
There is a theme that permeates the news reporting of the 2008 financial crisis: no one went to jail as a consequence. In possible reaction to this theme, the U.S. Department of Justice recently issued a bulletin that has since been referred to as the “Yates Memo.”
More

Hammerle On … 'Grandma,''Black Mass'

October 7, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that "Black Mass" demonstrates the downside of our national character.
More

Neutral Corner: Mediation communications in legal malpractice actions

October 7, 2015
John Van Winkle
The legal malpractice case of Cassel v. Superior Court of Los Angeles County, 244 P. 3d 1080 (2011), continues to ricochet through the California mediation community and court system, and the issue it raised is now headed to the Legislature.
More

Start Page: to-do list adjustments to help beat procrastination

September 23, 2015
Seth Wilson
While a legal pad and pen are forms of technology, and can be very effective, you should be tracking your to- do’s with digital tools.
More

Reuben didn’t forget when local club turned him away

September 23, 2015
Mickey Maurer
Note my musings on friend Larry Reuben on the occasion of the spring opening of the Riviera Club pool.
More

Hammerle On... 'A Walk in the Woods', 'Meru', 'Jimmy's Hall'

September 23, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes of "A Walk in the Woods": "Despite negative reviews, this film should be seen by everyone over 50 or anyone wondering what it will be like at that age."
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. So if I am reading it right, only if and when African American college students agree to receive checks labeling them as "Negroes" do they receive aid from the UNCF or the Quaker's Educational Fund? In other words, to borrow from the Indiana Appellate Court, "the [nonprofit] supposed to be [their] advocate, refers to [students] in a racially offensive manner. While there is no evidence that [the nonprofits] intended harm to [African American students], the harm was nonetheless inflicted. [Black students are] presented to [academia and future employers] in a racially offensive manner. For these reasons, [such] performance [is] deficient and also prejudice[ial]." Maybe even DEPLORABLE???

  2. I'm the poor soul who spent over 10 years in prison with many many other prisoners trying to kill me for being charged with a sex offense THAT I DID NOT COMMIT i was in jail for a battery charge for helping a friend leave a boyfriend who beat her I've been saying for over 28 years that i did not and would never hurt a child like that mine or anybody's child but NOBODY wants to believe that i might not be guilty of this horrible crime or think that when i say that ALL the paperwork concerning my conviction has strangely DISAPPEARED or even when the long beach judge re-sentenced me over 14 months on a already filed plea bargain out of another districts court then had it filed under a fake name so i could not find while trying to fight my conviction on appeal in a nut shell people are ALWAYS quick to believe the worst about some one well I DID NOT HURT ANY CHILD EVER IN MY LIFE AND HAVE SAID THIS FOR ALMOST 30 YEARS please if anybody can me get some kind of justice it would be greatly appreciated respectfully written wrongly accused Brian Valenti

  3. A high ranking Indiana supreme Court operative caught red handed leading a group using the uber offensive N word! She must denounce or be denounced! (Or not since she is an insider ... rules do not apply to them). Evidence here: http://m.indianacompanies.us/friends-educational-fund-for-negroes.364110.company.v2#top_info

  4. A high ranking bureaucrat with Ind sup court is heading up an organization celebrating the formal N word!!! She must resign and denounce! http://m.indianacompanies.us/friends-educational-fund-for-negroes.364110.company.v2#top_info

  5. ND2019, don't try to confuse the Left with facts. Their ideologies trump facts, trump due process, trump court rules, even trump federal statutes. I hold the proof if interested. Facts matter only to those who are not on an agenda-first mission.

ADVERTISEMENT