Opinion

Hammerle on ... 'Le Week-End,' 'The Lunchbox'

May 21, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Lunchbox" is a tiny movie that reminds everyone that love is often found as a result of happy accidents.
More

Cochran/West: How to advise employees about government investigators

May 21, 2014
In-house attorneys advise employees on many topics, but do the employees of your company know what to do during a government investigation?
More

Tough Talks: Having difficult conversations about delicate situations

May 21, 2014
People – regardless of the industry – avoid having tough conversations.  They haven’t had “the talk” because there just hasn’t been the right time, or the issue hasn’t affected his or her work. But it may be best to rock the boat today, because tomorrow or next week or next month, it’s going to rock the entire company.
More

Sidebars: Café's limited menu features fresh, high-quality food

May 21, 2014
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Fred Vaiana gives Blue Moon Café 3.25 gavels!
More

Hammerle On … 'The Railway Man,' 'Under the Skin'

May 7, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Under the Skin" gives all aliens a bad name.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: SCOTUS rules anonymous 911 call reliable

May 7, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The Supreme Court of the United States recently held that an anonymous call to 911 was sufficient to initiate a traffic stop in certain specific circumstances. Navarette v. California, 2014 U.S. Lexis 2930 (2014). The decision set off a minor shockwave in the media with reports that the 5-4 opinion eroded Fourth Amendment protection.
More

Noyes: A short phone call can change the dynamic of a case

May 7, 2014
Jon Noyes encourages attorneys to network in order to gain insight and litigation strategies.
More

Foos: Microsoft Surface Pro for the mobile attorney

May 7, 2014
Robert Foos Jr. writes about how the Microsoft Surface Pro caught his eye as an alternative to the Apple iPad.
More

Badger: Supreme Court will hear death records dispute

May 7, 2014
Steven Badger
The Indiana Supreme Court will hear oral argument May 8 in a dispute over public access to county death records. The case, Evansville Courier & Press v. Vanderburgh County Health Department, raises the issue of whether a county health department’s death certificates, including the cause of death, are public records under the Indiana Access to Public Records Act.
More

Federal Bar Update: Free CLE, hyperlinks and award nominations

May 7, 2014
John Maley
As noted previously, a new pilot program was underway in the Southern District of Indiana for including hyperlinks in briefs.
More

Finney: 8 steps to evaluating and selecting your firm’s software

May 7, 2014
Deanna Finney
Oftentimes firms select software based upon performance during a software demonstration rather than evaluating what will provide the best results for specific firm needs. Finding the right software requires identification of job requirements including process workflows prior to selecting the tool.
More

Trimble: Avoiding and dealing with pessimism in mediation

April 23, 2014
More

Technology Untangled: Google Chromecast designed for entertainment, not business

April 23, 2014
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at an inexpensive device from Google designed to facilitate video streaming.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Judging from the mountaintop

April 23, 2014
David Dreyer
If judges wore wigs in the United States, there might be a marked increase, I say, in public confidence in our courts. Hopefully, it would not be outweighed by any marked increase in public satire, but it could not be any worse than the judge shows now on daytime TV. The public always needs to understand that courts are serious and judges are different. More importantly, it is necessary to understand why.
More

Inbox - 4/23/14

April 23, 2014
A reader asks the legal community to stop using the term "homosexual" because of its history.
More

Whaley: 'Multi-jurisdictional' cases complicate attorney-client privilege analysis

April 23, 2014
Litigators in discovery practice are certainly used to wrestling with attorney-client privilege decisions, which are interesting and challenging enough even when the case involves parties and a court that all share the same “citizenship.” But how is the analysis affected when the parties, the court and perhaps the source of the requested information (such as a non-party) are in different states?
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame dean provides perspective on ‘grading the graders’

April 9, 2014
Nell Jessup Netwon
Dean Nell Jessup Newton writes about how when she performs faculty reviews each spring, she is humbled by the amount of work undertaken by her colleagues to mentor students, contribute to the development of the law, increase the academic reputation of the law school, and build a great community.
More

Living Fit: Create a better work-life balance

April 9, 2014
Sharon McGoff
One of the main questions Sharon McGoff is asked as a wellness coach is, “How do I find balance in my life between work and home?”
More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about responding to disciplinary grievances

April 9, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
At some point, you may have the wonderful opportunity to respond to a disciplinary grievance. With that in mind, here are three things to know about responding to a disciplinary commission grievance.
More

Cox: Time records and billings are important risk management tools

April 9, 2014
Dina Cox
It’s sad but true: The work product of an attorney that clients study most closely is the attorney’s bill. Dina Cox says because of this close scrutiny, coupled with your own standards of professionalism, it is important that your time records and any invoice for services sent to the client be clear, detailed and accurate.
More

DTCI: Kick off your heels with the new Women in the Law Division

April 9, 2014
From DTCI
While there is no right or wrong answer, mentoring and networking can go a long way in helping women feel like they are not alone in their personal and professional lives. DTCI wants to make this even easier by expanding the available network of strong and successful women lawyers. DTCI has created the Women in the Law Division.
More

Hammerle On… 'Noah,' 'The Grand Budapest Hotel'

April 9, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says the beauty of “Noah” is that it forces you to look into mankind’s soul. Our Creator has to be disgusted with our lack of progress.
More

Dean's Desk: Are we satisfied with the color of the legal profession?

March 26, 2014
Ivan Bodensteiner
Ivan Bodensteiner writes about why it is difficult to achieve racial equity within law schools and the profession.
More

Adams: Is Indy Rezone long overdue or cutting edge?

March 26, 2014
David Adams writes that unless you are a land use lawyer, you may not know that there are some very interesting things happening with Indianapolis’ city zoning ordinance and associated development regulations.
More

Start Page: Make the most of your 24 hours with workflow planning

March 26, 2014
Seth Wilson
Lawyers are hardworking professionals. But, most feel like there is more work to get done than is possible in the 24 hours everyone has each day.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. No second amendment, pro life, pro traditional marriage, reagan or trump tshirts will be sold either. And you cannot draw Mohammed even in your own notebook. And you must wear a helmet at all times while at the fair. And no lawyer jokes can be told except in the designated protest area. And next year no crucifixes, since they are uber offensive to all but Catholics. Have a nice bland day here in the Lego movie. Remember ... Everything is awesome comrades.

  2. Thank you for this post . I just bought a LG External DVD It came with Cyber pwr 2 go . It would not play on Lenovo Idea pad w/8.1 . Your recommended free VLC worked great .

  3. All these sites putting up all the crap they do making Brent Look like A Monster like he's not a good person . First off th fight actually started not because of Brent but because of one of his friends then when the fight popped off his friend ran like a coward which left Brent to fend for himself .It IS NOT a crime to defend yourself 3 of them and 1 of him . just so happened he was a better fighter. I'm Brent s wife so I know him personally and up close . He's a very caring kind loving man . He's not abusive in any way . He is a loving father and really shouldn't be where he is not for self defense . Now because of one of his stupid friends trying to show off and turning out to be nothing but a coward and leaving Brent to be jumped by 3 men not only is Brent suffering but Me his wife , his kids abd step kidshis mom and brother his family is left to live without him abd suffering in more ways then one . that man was and still is my smile ....he's the one real thing I've ever had in my life .....f@#@ You Lafayette court system . Learn to do your jobs right he maybe should have gotten that year for misdemeanor battery but that s it . not one person can stand to me and tell me if u we're in a fight facing 3 men and u just by yourself u wouldn't fight back that you wouldn't do everything u could to walk away to ur family ur kids That's what Brent is guilty of trying to defend himself against 3 men he wanted to go home tohisfamily worse then they did he just happened to be a better fighter and he got the best of th others . what would you do ? Stand there lay there and be stomped and beaten or would u give it everything u got and fight back ? I'd of done the same only I'm so smallid of probably shot or stabbed or picked up something to use as a weapon . if it was me or them I'd do everything I could to make sure I was going to live that I would make it hone to see my kids and husband . I Love You Brent Anthony Forever & Always .....Soul 1 baby

  4. Good points, although this man did have a dog in the legal fight as that it was his mother on trial ... and he a dependent. As for parking spaces, handicap spots for pregnant women sure makes sense to me ... er, I mean pregnant men or women. (Please, I meant to include pregnant men the first time, not Room 101 again, please not Room 101 again. I love BB)

  5. I have no doubt that the ADA and related laws provide that many disabilities must be addressed. The question, however, is "by whom?" Many people get dealt bad cards by life. Some are deaf. Some are blind. Some are crippled. Why is it the business of the state to "collectivize" these problems and to force those who are NOT so afflicted to pay for those who are? The fact that this litigant was a mere spectator and not a party is chilling. What happens when somebody who speaks only East Bazurkistanish wants a translator so that he can "understand" the proceedings in a case in which he has NO interest? Do I and all other taxpayers have to cough up? It would seem so. ADA should be amended to provide a simple rule: "Your handicap, YOUR problem". This would apply particularly to handicapped parking spaces, where it seems that if the "handicap" is an ingrown toenail, the government comes rushing in to assist the poor downtrodden victim. I would grant wounded vets (IED victims come to mind in particular) a pass on this.. but others? Nope.

ADVERTISEMENT