Opinion

Start Page: Make the most of your 24 hours with workflow planning

March 26, 2014
Seth Wilson
Lawyers are hardworking professionals. But, most feel like there is more work to get done than is possible in the 24 hours everyone has each day.
More

Quality of Life: Don’t be a slug when dealing with a workplace bully

March 26, 2014
Jonna Kane MacDougall
According to a 2010 survey by the Workplace Bullying Institute, a nonprofit organization in Bellingham, Wash., 35 percent of American workers reported being bullied at work.
More

Sidebars: Delicious comfort food is made with care at Indy eatery

March 26, 2014
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give DeeGusto’s Southern Cooking 3 1/2 gavels!
More

Hammerle On … 'Mr. Peabody & Sherman,' '300: Rise of an Empire'

March 26, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says the leader of the Persian naval fleet in "300: Rise of an Empire" is not the kind of woman you would bring home to your mother.
More

Boulukos: Guiding clients through an executive intervention

March 12, 2014
When an executive’s substance abuse triggers a personal and professional free fall, colleagues may be slow to recognize that the bottom is coming – and fast. At some point, and hopefully before permanent damage has been done, the fact that the leader has become a liability is impossible to ignore.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: Can a defendant be convicted for being ‘annoying?’

March 12, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
In 2012, the General Assembly amended Indiana’s public intoxication statute to provide, in part, that a person was guilty of public intoxication if the individual is intoxicated “in a public place” and “annoys … another person.” Indiana Code §7.1-5-1-3(a)(4). But what constitutes “annoying?”
More

DTCI: What happened to practicing ‘civil’ litigation?

March 12, 2014
From DTCI
It is unusual to open a lawyers’ magazine without seeing an article about civility. What happened to “civil” litigation? It must be like the weather – a lot of people are writing about it, but no one seems to be doing anything about it.
More

Federal Bar Update: ND requires e-filing; SD launches hyperlink pilot

March 12, 2014
John Maley
Effective Feb. 24, all new complaints and removals in the Northern District of Indiana must be e-filed.
More

Hammerle On … '3 Days to Kill' and 'Non-Stop'

March 12, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle reviews two action movies where the heroes are aging, alcoholic men with lost hopes and dreams. Is there any question why both are male trial lawyers' dream films?
More

Dean's Desk: Legal education partners enhance law school experience

February 26, 2014
Peter Alexander
At Indiana Tech Law School, we have decided to partner with our local legal community in order to break out of the mold of the “traditional law school.” The judges and lawyers in Northeast Indiana and Northwest Ohio have been invited to invest themselves in the success of our school and in the professional development of our students, and they have stepped up in a big way to help us.
More

Pashos: Is cost-of-service regulation relevant in today's world?

February 26, 2014
Today, public utilities are experiencing significant cost increases, due to issues such as federal environmental and other mandates, and the need to upgrade decades-old infrastructure. These cost pressures, combined with fast-paced technology, market changes and other states’ experimentation with retail deregulation, are causing policymakers and others to ask whether cost-of-service regulation remains relevant or whether deregulation might be a preferable alternative.
More

Ladendorf: Footage protected by work-product doctrine

February 26, 2014
My law firm recently confronted the discoverability of settlement documentary footage in a case involving a tractor-trailer collision in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Indiana, Hammond Division. Our firm retained an outside vendor to assist in the preparation of a “settlement video brochure” to present at the federal settlement conference. The video depicted the human toll of the plaintiff’s catastrophic injuries through lay and expert witness statements and home videos.
More

Technology Untangled: Windows 8.1’s good points bundled with annoyances

February 26, 2014
Stephen Bour
If you read no further than this paragraph, here is the most important advice I have to offer. Be sure to choose a laptop that has a touch-enabled screen. Windows 8.1 is clearly designed to work best with a 10-point multi-touch screen.
More

Hammerle On … 'The Lego Movie,' 'The Monuments Men'

February 26, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle believes "The Lego Movie" should be nominated for an Oscar next year.
More

Essley: The land of (health care lien) confusion

February 12, 2014
Eric Essley writes about a few of the health care-related lien statutes often encountered and/or cited by the plaintiff’s bar and their in-house/defense counterparts when trying to settle claims.
More

Lucas: Our current gun control approach is not working

February 12, 2014
Kelly Lucas
While I am not arguing against a person’s right to own guns or protect himself from threat, here is the question I can not shake: When does one person’s right to own a gun trump another person’s right to return home alive? In fiercely protecting one, we are clearly not doing enough to ensure the other.
More

DTCI: 'Caring for' family under FMLA

February 12, 2014

What happens when a family member is diagnosed with a terminal illness and begins the somber review of their bucket list, noticing that a trip to Las Vegas is still unchecked? Would taking time to accompany and care for that family member be included in the definition of caring for under the FMLA?

More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about withdrawing from a case

February 12, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
Unfortunately, there comes a time in some attorney-client relationships when breakup is inevitable. You may have tried to “work things out” with your client, but things only got worse. So what do you do?
More

Start Page: Tips for catching up after snow days

February 12, 2014
We’re already over a month in to 2014. So far, the weather has wreaked havoc on school and work schedules. If you are like me, the list of things to accomplish has only gotten longer as a result. The solution? Use your technology tools more efficiently. Here are three concepts and related tips to help you (and me) dig out and catch up.
More

Hammerle on ... 'American Hustle' leads favorites for 2014 Oscars

February 12, 2014
Robert Hammerle
It's that time of the year when Bob Hammerle makes his Oscar picks. See if you agree with his choices.
More

Papageorge: Predictive coding gaining support in courts

January 29, 2014
Attorneys now are faced with the monumental task of collecting, reviewing and producing their own client’s electronic documents while also reviewing the opposing side’s electronic documents. This can lead to uncomfortable conversations with clients regarding the significant cost of the process.
More

Inbox: Attorney responds to letter suggesting refunds for failing bar exam

January 29, 2014
In reply to Mr. Robert C. Thompson, Jr.’s proposal in the “Viewpoint” column that law schools issue full refunds when alumni fail the Bar Exam twice, attorney Sally Hubbard respectfully disagrees.
More

Indiana Judges Association: What you need to know about state judges

January 29, 2014
David Dreyer
While there may (or may not) be a big difference between horses and humans, there may not be any difference between horse judging and human judging. After all, judging is a fundamental objective endeavor.
More

Hammerle On … 'Lone Survivor,' 'August: Osage County'

January 29, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Lone Survivor" is a powerful, heartbreaking film that simply has to be seen.
More

BGBC: Court agrees with IRS that advanced client expenses are loans

January 29, 2014
An important U.S. Tax Court ruling last year may affect you and your law firm. The case settled a long-standing dispute between attorneys and the Internal Revenue Service regarding advanced client expenses for lawyers who handle cases on a contingency basis.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. George Grant ripped the mask off of Planned Parenthood in this fantastic read clear back in the 90's. http://www.amazon.com/Grand-Illusions-Legacy-Planned-Parenthood/dp/1581820577 Time has rendered this abortion industry goliath neither kinder nor gentler.

  2. Because one post with all of their names just would not do? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EvGJvzwKqg0

  3. Hello Jackie, Please go to 'LILLY BLACK" GRANDPARENTS RIGHTS ADVOCATES NATIONAL DELEGATION of the USA. I have a post there where i will be requesting a meeting with the Indiana Senators. We all know there is power in numbers. Please say you will go or you can private message me. WE MUST NEVER GIVE UP ON OUR GRANDCHILDREN. WE ARE GETTING CLOSER.We have to stop this EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ABUSE. PLEASE JOIN ME IN THIS IMPORTANT FIGHT! THANK YOU JACKIE

  4. Hello KRISTI PAYNE, Please go to 'LILLY BLACK" & send a friend request into the INDIANA-GRANDPARENTS RIGHTS ADVOCATES NATIONAL DELEGATION of the USA.I have a post there i will be requesting a meeting with the Indiana Senators in October. We all know there is power in numbers, PLEASE say you will go!THIS EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ABUSE OF OUR GRANDCHILDREN HAS TO STOP!!!! WE CAN'T GIVE UP NO MATTER HOW MUCH WE ARE BEATEN DOWN. WE ARE GETTING CLOSER!!!!! PLEASE HELP ME BE A VOICE!!! THANK YOU KRISTI PAYNE

  5. Hello Cheryl, Please go to 'LILLY BLACK" & send a friend request into the INDIANA-GRANDPARENTS RIGHTS ADVOCATES NATIONAL DELEGATION of the USA.I have a post there i will be requesting a meeting with the Indiana Senators in October. We all know there is power in numbers, PLEASE say you will go!THIS EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ABUSE OF OUR GRANDCHILDREN HAS TO STOP!!!! WE CAN'T GIVE UP NO MATTER HOW MUCH WE ARE BEATEN DOWN. WE ARE GETTING CLOSER!!!!! THANK YOU CHERYL

ADVERTISEMENT