Opinion

Hammerle on ... 'Bridge of Spies,' 'Freeheld'

November 4, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Hammerle says "Bridge of Spies" embodies every criminal defense lawyer's motto, "You brought the charge, now prove it!"
More

Thompson: Advice to myself when I was a young lawyer

November 4, 2015
After a spirited conversation with colleagues about the opportunity to time travel, I posed the discussion topic, “If you had the opportunity to travel back in time and talk with your younger self as a new attorney, what advice would you share about life as a lawyer?”
More

Jones: A millennial’s take on political involvement

November 4, 2015
More

Hammerle On ... 'The Walk,' 'The Martian,' 'Sicario'

October 21, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says legendary director Robert Zemeckis’ “The Walk” must be added to the list of great films in 2015.
More

Dean's Desk: Legal clinics cultivate essential lawyering skills

October 21, 2015
Andrea D. Lyon
I am certainly awarethat those of you reading this article know what legal clinics are and do – you all know that students in clinics learn how to interact with clients, opposing counsel and judges; but they also learn that actual clients are more important than they seem in casebooks and that their work makes a positive difference in their client’s lives.
More

Retzner: The family vacation home: harmony or chaos?

October 21, 2015
In most instances, vacation homes achieve the goal of family harmony. After the parents pass away, however, that family harmony can quickly turn to chaos.
More

Living Fit: 10 changes that make big strides for better health

October 21, 2015
Sharon McGoff
It is feasible and fairly simple to make a few small changes to enjoy a healthier body. If you take these steps, you will lose weight and feel energetic. Even if you just choose one of them, your health will improve over what it is today. No more excuses!
More

Technology Untangled: Making good use of older technology

October 21, 2015
Stephen Bour
Sometimes there is wisdom in making better use of things we already have or in choosing gently used items. This article will look at some recent examples of where I chose not to automatically go with the newest technology and will detail how those choices worked out.
More

Dean's Desk: Surveys give insight on graduates’ careers

October 7, 2015
Nell Jessup Netwon
Lately I have been spending some fruitful hours reviewing a treasure trove of data collected by a 12-year-long longitudinal study of law graduates who passed the bar in the year 2000. The survey results are available in a publication called “After the JD.” I commend it to your attention.
More

Indiana Judges Association: The online life of judges requires prudence

October 7, 2015
David Dreyer
We legal professionals have a unique role to translate ancient theorems into optic fiber. Along with that obligation arises a longstanding devotion to ensuring the world understands what law is and has always been: an imperfect process to determine “facts” and apply the rules.
More

DTCI: Second chair is not second fiddle

October 7, 2015
From DTCI
I had the privilege of being the second chair at my first jury trial in March of this year. As I begin preparations for my next trial as second chair, I have been reflecting on what I learned the first go-round. I share my thoughts here with the hope that they will help other young attorneys – or even a seasoned attorney when he or she mentors young attorneys.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: New playbook for prosecuting white collar crime

October 7, 2015
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
There is a theme that permeates the news reporting of the 2008 financial crisis: no one went to jail as a consequence. In possible reaction to this theme, the U.S. Department of Justice recently issued a bulletin that has since been referred to as the “Yates Memo.”
More

Hammerle On … 'Grandma,''Black Mass'

October 7, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that "Black Mass" demonstrates the downside of our national character.
More

Neutral Corner: Mediation communications in legal malpractice actions

October 7, 2015
John Van Winkle
The legal malpractice case of Cassel v. Superior Court of Los Angeles County, 244 P. 3d 1080 (2011), continues to ricochet through the California mediation community and court system, and the issue it raised is now headed to the Legislature.
More

Start Page: to-do list adjustments to help beat procrastination

September 23, 2015
Seth Wilson
While a legal pad and pen are forms of technology, and can be very effective, you should be tracking your to- do’s with digital tools.
More

Reuben didn’t forget when local club turned him away

September 23, 2015
Mickey Maurer
Note my musings on friend Larry Reuben on the occasion of the spring opening of the Riviera Club pool.
More

Hammerle On... 'A Walk in the Woods', 'Meru', 'Jimmy's Hall'

September 23, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes of "A Walk in the Woods": "Despite negative reviews, this film should be seen by everyone over 50 or anyone wondering what it will be like at that age."
More

3 things to know about the ethics of files

September 9, 2015
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
A formal opinion recently issued by the American Bar Association’s Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility sheds light on what materials belong to the client.
More

DTCI: Candor toward tribunal trumps attorney-client privilege

September 9, 2015
Jamie Oss
The requirement for candor toward the tribunal is set forth in Indiana Rule of Professional Conduct 3.3, and it qualifies the attorney-client privilege.
More

Nothing is more important to democracy than civic literacy

September 9, 2015
Kelly Sharp
As we approach the 228th anniversary of the signing of the U.S. Constitution this Sept. 17, we might consider where civic literacy is taking place.
More

Hammerle On... 'Best of Enemies', 'The End of the Tour'

September 9, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The End of the Tour": "This film does a disservice to both Mr. Wallace and the audience. How could brilliance be displayed in such a dull fashion?"
More

Hammerle On... 'Straight Outta Compton', 'The Man from U.N.C.L.E.'

August 26, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The Man from U.N.C.L.E.": "Be prepared to say, 'I really enjoyed it, although I can't say I liked it.'"
More

Start Page: Scanning solutions

August 12, 2015
Seth Wilson
Mobile device scanning doesn’t take long to learn and helps when you wish you had a copy machine nearby.
More

Hammerle On... 'Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation', 'The Stanford Prison Experiment'

August 12, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes in regard to "The Stanford Prison Experiment": "If the re-creation of an event is destructive, think what the actual event is like."
More

Hammerle On…'Mr. Holmes', 'Testament of Youth'

July 29, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that "Mr. Holmes" is a tiny film that will remind many of you why guys like him love the cinema.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Where may I find an attorney working Pro Bono? Many issues with divorce, my Disability, distribution of IRA's, property, money's and pressured into agreement by my attorney. Leaving me far less than 5% of all after 15 years of marriage. No money to appeal, disabled living on disability income. Attorney's decision brought forward to judge, no evidence ever to finalize divorce. Just 2 weeks ago. Please help.

  2. For the record no one could answer the equal protection / substantive due process challenge I issued in the first post below. The lawless and accountable only to power bureaucrats never did either. All who interface with the Indiana law examiners or JLAP be warned.

  3. Hi there I really need help with getting my old divorce case back into court - I am still paying support on a 24 year old who has not been in school since age 16 - now living independent. My visitation with my 14 year old has never been modified; however, when convenient for her I can have him... I am paying past balance from over due support, yet earn several thousand dollars less. I would contact my original attorney but he basically molest me multiple times in Indy when I would visit.. Todd Woodmansee - I had just came out and had know idea what to do... I have heard he no longer practices. Please help1

  4. Yes diversity is so very important. With justice Rucker off ... the court is too white. Still too male. No Hispanic justice. No LGBT justice. And there are other checkboxes missing as well. This will not do. I say hold the seat until a physically handicapped Black Lesbian of Hispanic heritage and eastern religious creed with bipolar issues can be located. Perhaps an international search, with a preference for third world candidates, is indicated. A non English speaker would surely increase our diversity quotient!!!

  5. First, I want to thank Justice Rucker for his many years of public service, not just at the appellate court level for over 25 years, but also when he served the people of Lake County as a Deputy Prosecutor, City Attorney for Gary, IN, and in private practice in a smaller, highly diverse community with a history of serious economic challenges, ethnic tensions, and recently publicized but apparently long-standing environmental health risks to some of its poorest residents. Congratulations for having the dedication & courage to practice law in areas many in our state might have considered too dangerous or too poor at different points in time. It was also courageous to step into a prominent and highly visible position of public service & respect in the early 1990's, remaining in a position that left you open to state-wide public scrutiny (without any glitches) for over 25 years. Yes, Hoosiers of all backgrounds can take pride in your many years of public service. But people of color who watched your ascent to the highest levels of state government no doubt felt even more as you transcended some real & perhaps some perceived social, economic, academic and professional barriers. You were living proof that, with hard work, dedication & a spirit of public service, a person who shared their same skin tone or came from the same county they grew up in could achieve great success. At the same time, perhaps unknowingly, you helped fellow members of the judiciary, court staff, litigants and the public better understand that differences that are only skin-deep neither define nor limit a person's character, abilities or prospects in life. You also helped others appreciate that people of different races & backgrounds can live and work together peacefully & productively for the greater good of all. Those are truths that didn't have to be written down in court opinions. Anyone paying attention could see that truth lived out every day you devoted to public service. I believe you have been a "trailblazer" in Indiana's legal community and its judiciary. I also embrace your belief that society's needs can be better served when people in positions of governmental power reflect the many complexions of the population that they serve. Whether through greater understanding across the existing racial spectrum or through the removal of some real and some perceived color-based, hope-crushing barriers to life opportunities & success, movement toward a more reflective representation of the population being governed will lead to greater and uninterrupted respect for laws designed to protect all peoples' rights to life, liberty & the pursuit of happiness. Thanks again for a job well-done & for the inevitable positive impact your service has had - and will continue to have - on countless Hoosiers of all backgrounds & colors.

ADVERTISEMENT