Opinion

Dean's Desk: Legal education is navigating turbulent waters

May 8, 2013
Gary Roberts
On April 24, the McKinney School was privileged to host a plenary session of the American Bar Association Task Force that Randy Shepard is chairing on the future of legal education. It was an eye-opening, interesting and, at the same time, unsettling day.
More

Technology Untangled: Display your iPad on the big screen at trial

May 8, 2013
Stephen Bour
The iPad is a convenient and useful personal device for many daily work (and play) activities. However, when it comes time to show what is on your 9.7-inch screen and share it with others, the iPad can use a little help.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Judges need to take control of cultural standing

May 8, 2013
David Dreyer
Have you ever Googled “lawyer dog”? If you do, be prepared to see a limitless line of websites all featuring identical photos of the same canine seated behind his desk, along with various one-liners related to the law, dogs and just silliness.
More

Federal Bar Update: Supreme Court takes rare steps on procedural decisions

May 8, 2013
John Maley
With its limited docket, the U.S. Supreme Court rarely decides procedural issues, focusing instead on weighty constitutional issues or resolving split interpretations of federal statutes. This term, however, the Supreme Court has addressed several procedural issues.
More

DTCI: As attorneys, conflict is our business

May 8, 2013
From DTCI
This is not a call for more “civility.” To be candid, I have heard that so many times from so many people that it has lost all significance to me.
More

Hammerle on ... ‘Mud,’ ‘No’

May 8, 2013
Robert Hammerle
It wasn’t that long ago that I would have given Matthew McConaughey the same chance of receiving an Oscar nomination as the Supreme Leader of North Korea receiving a Nobel Peace Prize. Times haven’t changed on the Korean Peninsula, but they certainly have in Hollywood.
More

Lucas: 2013 Leadership in Law Award winners revealed

April 24, 2013
Kelly Lucas
Through the profiles in the Leadership in Law award supplement, it is our goal to introduce IL readers to the men and women behind the public and professional personas.
More

Hammerle on ... '42'

April 24, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Before reviewing the movie "42," Bob Hammerle pays tribute to the recent passing of Roger Ebert, Jonathan Winters and Annette Funicello.
More

Dean's Desk: IU Maurer professor’s legacy lives on at law school

April 10, 2013
Hannah Buxbaum
Two months ago, the Maurer School of Law lost an esteemed colleague, friend and teacher who touched the lives of more than 6,000 of our alumni during his 33 years at the law school.
More

Living Fit: Get ready for summer

April 10, 2013
Sharon McGoff
I know what you’re thinking – the task of getting in shape is all too daunting, and I don’t have time to do it because there are too many areas in my wellness plan that need focus. I hear you! So, together, let’s set a plan for taking small steps NOW to make big progress by June 1.
More

INBOX: Voter Experience Project

April 10, 2013
A letter to the editor looks at Marion County's voting technology.
More

DTCI: Rookie seminar will take defense practice to new levels

April 10, 2013
From DTCI
Are you ready to learn what you really need to know to practice defense law? Well, the DTCI is ready to teach you!
More

Sidebars: Unassuming storefront houses flavorful Mexican food

April 10, 2013
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give La Escollera 3.25 gavels!
More

Federal Bar Update: Pilot program for discovery in employment cases

March 27, 2013
John Maley
In the Southern District of Indiana, if you are litigating an adverse-action employment case you might be part of a pilot program that aims to streamline and tailor discovery and scheduling.
More

Quality of Life: Embrace the gray days of March

March 27, 2013
Jonna Kane MacDougall
As far as I can tell, March has no redeeming qualities. Of course, it’s the month for basketball and spring break, but beyond that, there isn’t much to recommend – especially if you are in Indiana. Since I’m a native Hoosier, my familiarity with March in other locales is somewhat limited.
More

Mediation confidentiality; ADR rules review coming

March 27, 2013
The Indiana Supreme Court reiterated in its opinion that Indiana has not adopted the UMA. They also acknowledged that the two amici organizations have further worked to create a task force to review the rules for Alternative Dispute Resolution (now formally recognized by the court).
More

Hammerle on ... 'West of Memphis,' 'Emperor'

March 27, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends that all lawyers go see the documentary "West of Memphis."
More

Start Page: Interruption addiction takes focus to break

March 27, 2013
Kim Brand
Time management systems used to be popular. They are irrelevant now because you don’t have any time to manage.
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame Law in Chicago shows promise

March 13, 2013
Nell Jessup Netwon
Chicago is the No. 1 destination for Notre Dame Law School graduates, followed closely by Washington, D.C., New York City and Los Angeles, with Indianapolis rounding out the top five. But while many NDLS students plan to practice law in a major metropolitan area, until recently there were limited opportunities for them to explore and experience what it is actually like to practice law in a big city.
More

Technology Untangled: App lets you use iPad as an extra PC display

March 13, 2013
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at another way to deploy an extra display by using the portable device you likely carry with you everywhere: your iPad.
More

Lucas: Another year older and, hopefully, wiser

March 13, 2013
Kelly Lucas
As they say, time flies when you are having fun. I’ve found that it also seems to stampede past when you are very busy. Both have been the case for the staff of the Indiana Lawyer. But time moves on, which is a good thing, and with this issue of the paper Indiana Lawyer turns another year older.
More

DTCI: Early mentors influenced me as an attorney

March 13, 2013
From DTCI
How did I turn out like this? After practicing law for 32 years, I decided it was time to look back and examine the reasons that I behave certain ways.
More

Hammerle on 'Jack the Giant Slayer,' 'Identity Thief'

March 13, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle offers his grandson to those who lack the nerve to see "Jack the Giant Slayer" alone. All he needs is popcorn.
More

Sidebars: Unique Pure Eatery offers options for all types of diners

February 27, 2013
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Pure Eatery 3.5 gavels!
More

Hammerle on ... 'Life of Pi'; 'Silver Linings Playbook'

February 27, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle reviews two movies who recently won awards at the 2013 Oscars.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Oh my lordy Therapist Oniha of the winexbackspell@gmail.com I GOT Briggs BACK. Im so excited, It only took 2days for him to come home. bless divinity and bless god. i must be dreaming as i never thoughts he would be back to me after all this time. I am so much shock and just cant believe my eyes. thank you thank you thank you from the bottom of my heart,he always kiss and hug me now at all times,am so happy my heart is back to me with your help Therapist Oniha.

  2. Hail to our Constitutional Law Expert in the Executive Office! “What you’re not paying attention to is the fact that I just took an action to change the law,” Obama said.

  3. What is this, the Ind Supreme Court thinking that there is a separation of powers and limited enumerated powers as delegated by a dusty old document? Such eighteen century thinking, so rare and unwanted by the elites in this modern age. Dictate to us, dictate over us, the massess are chanting! George Soros agrees. Time to change with times Ind Supreme Court, says all President Snows. Rule by executive decree is the new black.

  4. I made the same argument before a commission of the Indiana Supreme Court and then to the fedeal district and federal appellate courts. Fell flat. So very glad to read that some judges still beleive that evidentiary foundations matter.

  5. KUDOS to the Indiana Supreme Court for realizing that some bureacracies need to go to the stake. Recall what RWR said: "No government ever voluntarily reduces itself in size. Government programs, once launched, never disappear. Actually, a government bureau is the nearest thing to eternal life we'll ever see on this earth!" NOW ... what next to this rare and inspiring chopping block? Well, the Commission on Gender and Race (but not religion!?!) is way overdue. And some other Board's could be cut with a positive for State and the reputation of the Indiana judiciary.

ADVERTISEMENT