Opinion

Quality of Life: Let your inner child out this holiday season

November 21, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Wouldn’t it be wonderful to live every moment in color, instead of black and white?
More

Sidebars: 'The Local' features the best of Indiana home-grown foods

November 21, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give the restaurant 3.5 gavels!
More

DTCI: Client relationships and effective case management

November 21, 2012
From DTCI
Both authors of this article recently had experiences in which our clients have shown us the true emotional impact that litigation can have on a new litigant.
More

Lucas: Dedication of clerks leads to smooth elections

November 21, 2012
Kelly Lucas
The 2012 elections are finally over. And while I think most people, with the possible exception of mail carriers and holiday Scrooges, are happy to have gift catalogs replace political flyers in their mailboxes, I would bet that no group is happier to see election season come to an end than the county clerks.
More

Book review: 'The Science of Attorney Advocacy'

November 21, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
Unlike other books I have recently reviewed, the book “The Science of Attorney Advocacy targets a different type of reader.
More

Finney: Overwhelmed by email? Try changing your outlook!

November 7, 2012
Deanna Finney explains how readers can use tools in their Outlook email program to make emails easier to manage.
More

Federal Bar Update: Northern, Southern District courts cleaning up local rulesRestricted Content

November 7, 2012
John Maley
Local Rule amendments are in the works in the Northern District and Southern District of Indiana, with amendments to take effect Jan. 1.
More

Lucas: More information is needed when judging the judges

October 24, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Up the street and around the corner from my Broad Ripple house, a yard sign caught my eye that didn’t involve the usual Democrat versus Republican political rhetoric. This simple, hand-painted sign called for the ouster of Supreme Court Justice Steven David.
More

DTCI: take the time to appreciate life's moments

October 24, 2012
Michele Bryant
I cannot imagine any professionals more obsessed with time than lawyers. While a great debate still rages as to whether the billable hour is dead, the fact remains that many lawyers continue to measure services to clients by a unit of time: the billable hour.
More

Sidebars: La Margarita is anything but traditional Mexican food

October 24, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give La Margarita 3 1/2 gavels!
More

Start Page: why the fax won't die

October 24, 2012
Kim Brand
The modern fax machine was introduced in 1964 by Xerox. Fast forward to today. Unless you use a typewriter, there are no other machines in your office that have remained essentially unchanged in form and function for almost 50 years. Fax is ubiquitous, reliable, simple and cheap. Why would you want to mess that up?
More

Nordstrom: Book offers little insight for experienced trial attorneys

October 10, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
Rodney Nordstrom reviews "Winning the Jury's Attention: Presenting Evidence from Voir Dire to Closing."
More

Dean's Desk: Pro bono projects broaden opportunities, instill values

October 10, 2012
Hannah Buxbaum
Preparing students for the rigors and complexity of today’s legal profession requires schools to focus not only on doctrinal analysis, but also on the complete set of professional competencies that successful lawyers require. Toward that end, the faculty at the I.U. Maurer School of Law has adopted a series of initiatives aimed at expanding the range of experiential learning opportunities available to our students.
More

Lucas: Nominations for 2013 Leadership in Law awards being accepted

October 10, 2012
Kelly Lucas
I encourage you to nominate an up-and-coming lawyer or distinguished barrister who you admire. Time is limited, and I realize that when it comes to discretionary projects like completing a nomination form, while our intentions are good, our follow-through can fall short. But there is something about the feeling derived from taking the time – or making the time – to do something like this that is so satisfying.
More

Technology Untangled: Send and receive large files with ease

October 10, 2012
Stephen Bour
Using attachments in email is a common and simple method for sending files. There is, however, a problem when those attachments get too large. That is because there are file size limits on most email services for both sending and receiving attachments.
More

Bentley: Darden honored for impact, influence on legal community

September 26, 2012
On September 14, 2012, the Marion County Bar Association hosted a retirement dinner in honor of Judge Carr L. Darden, who retired as a full-time appellate judge from the Indiana Court of Appeals on his 75th birthday, July 21, 2012. The event was held at the downtown Indianapolis Marriott and included dinner, musical entertainment and remarks from several individuals to whom Judge Darden has served as a colleague, mentor, family member and friend.
More

Behind the News: '80s anti-takeover law helped sow Emmis win in court

September 26, 2012
Greg Andrews
Emmis Communications Corp.’s tactics as it plotted to strip preferred shareholders of their rights were “admittedly unusual,” Judge Sarah Evans Barker acknowledged in her Aug. 31 ruling that let the company go forward with a shareholder vote a few days later that did just that.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Could judicial Olympics cure court budget woes?

September 26, 2012
David Dreyer
Judge Dreyer comes up with a way to cure court budget woes and provide reality TV.
More

DTCI: 'Queen bee syndrome' in the workplace – true or false?

September 26, 2012
If you are a woman trying to make it to the top of a law firm, can you expect a higher-ranking female attorney to take you under her wing? Do you need to undermine other women in order to advance or treat other women as threats?
More

Sidebars: Coaches Tavern has made consistently good food for 10 years

September 26, 2012
We give Coaches Tavern 3 gavels!
More

Dean's Desk: Law students benefit from alumni's professional experience

September 12, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
One of the benefits of writing this column is that it gives me time to reflect on aspects of Notre Dame Law School that are known and appreciated in South Bend and among our graduates, but are perhaps not as well known to the Indiana bench and bar.
More

Start Page: Disaster! It lurks around the corner – protect data now

September 12, 2012
Kim Brand
You are hanging by a thread and you don’t even know it. Your Internet connection is delivered by two wires that connect to a box on the outside of your office – and all that separates you from disaster is a cable removed from a jack on the wall.
More

Lucas: Make this the year to support civic education

September 12, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Indiana lawyers will have a unique opportunity to participate in a civic education program that will cast a national spotlight on our state and legal community. The 2013 National High School Mock Trial Championship will be held in Indianapolis May 9 to 11.
More

Cox: Avoid client problems by avoiding problem clients

September 12, 2012
Dina Cox
In this column, basic tips for preventing legal malpractice claims and other risk management strategies will be explored. Here are this author’s Top Ten client screening suggestions.
More

Federal Bar Update: Opinion provides insight on attorney fees in FDCPA casesRestricted Content

September 12, 2012
John Maley
Federal courts routinely determine fee petitions for prevailing parties in various fee-shifting cases. A recent opinion from Magistrate Judge Denise LaRue illustrates guiding principles here.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. The fee increase would be livable except for the 11% increase in spending at the Disciplinary Commission. The Commission should be focused on true public harm rather than going on witch hunts against lawyers who dare to criticize judges.

  2. Marijuana is safer than alcohol. AT the time the 1937 Marijuana Tax Act was enacted all major pharmaceutical companies in the US sold marijuana products. 11 Presidents of the US have smoked marijuana. Smoking it does not increase the likelihood that you will get lung cancer. There are numerous reports of canabis oil killing many kinds of incurable cancer. (See Rick Simpson's Oil on the internet or facebook).

  3. The US has 5% of the world's population and 25% of the world's prisoners. Far too many people are sentenced for far too many years in prison. Many of the federal prisoners are sentenced for marijuana violations. Marijuana is safer than alcohol.

  4. My daughter was married less than a week and her new hubbys picture was on tv for drugs and now I havent't seen my granddaughters since st patricks day. when my daughter left her marriage from her childrens Father she lived with me with my grand daughters and that was ok but I called her on the new hubby who is in jail and said didn't want this around my grandkids not unreasonable request and I get shut out for her mistake

  5. From the perspective of a practicing attorney, it sounds like this masters degree in law for non-attorneys will be useless to anyone who gets it. "However, Ted Waggoner, chair of the ISBA’s Legal Education Conclave, sees the potential for the degree program to actually help attorneys do their jobs better. He pointed to his practice at Peterson Waggoner & Perkins LLP in Rochester and how some clients ask their attorneys to do work, such as filling out insurance forms, that they could do themselves. Waggoner believes the individuals with the legal master’s degrees could do the routine, mundane business thus freeing the lawyers to do the substantive legal work." That is simply insulting to suggest that someone with a masters degree would work in a role that is subpar to even an administrative assistant. Even someone with just a certificate or associate's degree in paralegal studies would be overqualified to sit around helping clients fill out forms. Anyone who has a business background that they think would be enhanced by having a legal background will just go to law school, or get an MBA (which typically includes a business law class that gives a generic, broad overview of legal concepts). No business-savvy person would ever seriously consider this ridiculous master of law for non-lawyers degree. It reeks of desperation. The only people I see getting it are the ones who did not get into law school, who see the degree as something to add to their transcript in hopes of getting into a JD program down the road.

ADVERTISEMENT