Opinion

Lucas: Consider where you stand in the national debate

July 4, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Last week was a difficult one for those covering the news to avoid taking sides. The constitutionality of several very important issues – including the Arizona immigration law and the Affordable Care Act – were ruled on by the Supreme Court of the United States.
More

Adams: Relief for immigrant 'Dreamers' soon to be a reality

July 4, 2012
Just minutes before attending my first session of the second day of the American Immigration Lawyers Association annual conference in Nashville, Tenn., I began to receive a flood of emails and tweets on my phone about an announcement which would completely change the lives of an estimated 1.4 million immigrant youth, commonly called “Dreamers,” across the country and between 21,000 and 29,000 immigrant youth in Indiana.
More

DTCI: Note from the defense - Stop the 'unnecessary roughness'

July 4, 2012
From DTCI
While I am sure this writing could be deemed just another one that promotes civility, and while I am sure that there is a long list of ethical rules that promote that, too, I cite none here. I simply say this: Stop the (to use a football phrase) “unnecessary roughness.” I am hereby throwing a “flag on the play.”
More

BGBC Partners: Fraud can happen anywhere without prevention measures

July 4, 2012
Small businesses historically have suffered disproportionately larger losses due to fraud than larger organizations.
More

Start Page: 5 tips to better manage your digital data

June 20, 2012
Kim Brand
Kim Brand scolds you for your bloated inbox, chaotic file system and unkempt photos but offers tips to manage all that digital data.
More

Technology Untangled: Samsung 7-inch tablet fills a portable niche

June 6, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will review the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0. The first two things that caught my attention were the low $250 price and the small 7-inch size.
More

Federal Bar Update: 6-month update on changes to removal statutesRestricted Content

June 6, 2012
John Maley
As readers will recall, the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act of 2011 took effect Jan. 6. Since the act took effect, it has been cited by name in 13 reported decisions, most of which simply deal with the effective date of the act.
More

Finney: Give power to your point at trial

May 23, 2012
Deanna Finney writes about using PowerPoint as a trial presentation tool.
More

Column: Practical and legal differences of class and mass actions

May 23, 2012
Scott Starr and Mario Massillamany write about what to consider when decided whether to file a class- or mass-action case.
More

Lucas: Judges say all young lawyers face challenges

May 23, 2012
Kelly Lucas
My seat at the recent Indiana Supreme Court Bar Admission Ceremony provided a perfect vantage point to witness the mix of emotions young lawyers feel when they have the opportunity to present themselves for the first time to members of the state’s highest-ranking courts.
More

Sidebars: Indianapolis pizza place provides different lunch option

May 23, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Coal Pizza Company 3.25 gavels!
More

Behind the News: Vaunted attorney Conour has lots of explaining to do

May 23, 2012
Greg Andrews
A large question looms in the wake of the April 27 announcement that Bill Conour has been charged in a federal criminal complaint with misappropriating more than $2.5 million in client funds from December 2000 to March 2012. If the 64-year-old is indeed guilty of the wire-fraud charge he faces, where did all the money go?
More

Terms of Art: effecting viral social change

May 9, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about Indianapolis attorney Kenan L. Farrell and his work with the arts community.
More

McGoff: Go on vacation

May 9, 2012
Sharon McGoff writes about why our bodies need vacations and how to take one.
More

Inbox: Balancing the scales of justice

May 9, 2012
A letter from Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller on his brother, a well-known criminal defense attorney.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Is it time for an electoral college for judges?

May 9, 2012
David Dreyer
Some people just do not like judges. But according to Indiana University Maurer School of Law professor Charles Geyh, most people do – at least up to a point.
More

DTCI: Take a moment to breathe before hitting 'send'

May 9, 2012
Robert Thornburg writes about civility among the legal profession.
More

Start Page: Going paperless doesn't have to be painful

May 9, 2012
Kim Brand
You promised your-self this would be the year you went “paperless.” The year is half over. How’s that working out for you?
More

Indiana Lawyer announces Leadership in Law honorees

April 25, 2012
Kelly Lucas
The nominations received tell the story of impressive court victories and decisions that have had an impact on Indiana law. But even more telling is the passion that comes through in many of the nomination packets and letters of recommendation from colleagues, peers and even adversaries who say they are better lawyers for having worked with the individual nominated.
More

Sidebars: Restaurant's sandwiches fail to impress diners

April 25, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Forkey's in Martinsville 1.5 gavels!
More

Dean's Desk: Effective legal education depends on strong partnerships

April 11, 2012
Hannah Buxbaum
To be effective and relevant, law education must provide students with a bridge to a legal career. Building this bridge between law schools and law practice calls for strong and successful partnerships among law schools, practicing lawyers and other professionals. At Indiana University Maurer School of Law, we are committed to the pursuit of these partnerships.
More

Start Page: Follow 5 email commandments to streamline use

April 11, 2012
Kim Brand
You are an email sinner. Follow these 5 email commandments to turn your email messaging life around.
More

Federal Bar Update: Uniform Case Management Plan changesRestricted Content

April 11, 2012
John Maley
The Southern District of Indiana recently modified two sections of the court’s Uniform Case Management Plan regarding experts.
More

Quality of Life: 10 tips for living a happier and healthier lifeRestricted Content

March 28, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
It is March, so if you are like me, all of your New Year’s resolutions have been abandoned.
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame expands course, clinical offerings

March 14, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
Dean Nell Jessup Newton writes about how Notre Dame Law School is working to prepare students for the practice of law.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Frankly, it is tragic that you are even considering going to an expensive, unaccredited "law school." It is extremely difficult to get a job with a degree from a real school. If you are going to make the investment of time, money, and tears into law school, it should not be to a place that won't actually enable you to practice law when you graduate.

  2. As a lawyer who grew up in Fort Wayne (but went to a real law school), it is not that hard to find a mentor in the legal community without your school's assistance. One does not need to pay tens of thousands of dollars to go to an unaccredited legal diploma mill to get a mentor. Having a mentor means precisely nothing if you cannot get a job upon graduation, and considering that the legal job market is utterly terrible, these students from Indiana Tech are going to be adrift after graduation.

  3. 700,000 to 800,000 Americans are arrested for marijuana possession each year in the US. Do we need a new justice center if we decriminalize marijuana by having the City Council enact a $100 fine for marijuana possession and have the money go towards road repair?

  4. I am sorry to hear this.

  5. I tried a case in Judge Barker's court many years ago and I recall it vividly as a highlight of my career. I don't get in federal court very often but found myself back there again last Summer. We had both aged a bit but I must say she was just as I had remembered her. Authoritative, organized and yes, human ...with a good sense of humor. I also appreciated that even though we were dealing with difficult criminal cases, she treated my clients with dignity and understanding. My clients certainly respected her. Thanks for this nice article. Congratulations to Judge Barker for reaching another milestone in a remarkable career.

ADVERTISEMENT