Opinion

Hammerle on ... 'City of Gold,' 'Hardcore Henry,' 'I Saw the Light,' 'Midnight Special'

April 20, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says you might consider looking up these movies for home viewing.
More

Making Rain: Allocating resources to keep your clients

April 20, 2016
Dona Stohler
Recent studies indicate that firms that increase client retention by just 5 percent grow revenues by 25 percent. Who wouldn’t vote for 25 percent more revenue?
More

Living Fit: Could you be diabetic and not know it?

April 20, 2016
Sharon McGoff
Type 2 diabetes cases have quadrupled in the past three decades, largely (pun intended) due to our lifestyle choices.
More

Hammerle On …

April 6, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Take Bob Hammerle's advice on the latest superhero blockbuster: Forget the hokey script and see "Batman v Superman" at an IMAX theater.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: When your client is speaking to others

March 23, 2016
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
“Say nothing.” This advice seems simple enough, but any attorney with a few years under his or her belt knows that the advice is often not heeded.
More

Editorial: Rule changes still lack needed transparency

March 23, 2016
IL Staff
A proposed overhaul of Admission and Discipline Rule 23 contains some good ideas among the 108 pages of side-by-side comparisons of the old and the new. But the proposals would do little to deprogram the Supreme Court Disciplinary Commission’s culture of confidentiality or boost public confidence in the agency that polices Indiana attorneys.
More

Federal Bar Update: Offers of judgment and class actions

March 23, 2016
John Maley
The U.S. Supreme Court recently held that an unaccepted offer of judgment under Rule 68 does not moot a class representative’s claim, even when the offer is made prior to class certification.
More

DTCI: Senate obstruction on appointments harms entire judiciary

March 23, 2016
From DTCI
Since the Republicans took control of the Senate after the 2014 elections, the Obama administration has made only one judicial appointment as Republican senators have refused to sign off ahead of time on nominees for judgeships in their states. This is in stark contrast to President Obama’s predecessors since Ronald Reagan who also faced a Senate controlled by the opposing party, yet appointed between 10-18 appellate judges in their last two years in office.
More

Plugged In: 3 easy ways to add value to PDF documents

March 23, 2016
Deanna Marquez
With a rise in the number of mobile-friendly offices, voluminous PDF files have quickly become the norm in today’s society. PDFs have retained popularity with their innate ability to easily share across operating systems, protect content and ensure formatting remains intact across platforms.
More

Hammerle On … 'Eddie the Eagle,' 'Zootopia'

March 23, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle wonders why the American public seems to reject inspiring films. Does everything have to be a cross between “Star Wars,” “The Avengers” and “Jurassic Park”?
More

Waterfill: EEOC alleges gender discrimination in 2 suits

March 23, 2016
Mark Waterfill
In light of development in gender discrimination cases, what should wise employment counsel advise clients to do?
More

Vlink: Should unions charge free-rider fees for grievances?

March 23, 2016
David VlinkMore

Waterhouse: An environmental justice challenge for Indiana

March 9, 2016
Sadly, many Indiana children are at an even greater risk than children in other states for lead poisoning.
More

Technology Untangled: Streamline Web research with the Pocket app

March 9, 2016
Stephen Bour
The Pocket app allows users to save and organize articles, websites, and videos and have them easily available for viewing later on any device at any time.
More

Nelson: Politics put U.S. Supreme Court precedent in peril

March 9, 2016
Jennifer Nelson
If you voted for President Barack Obama in 2012, sorry, but your vote no longer counts. That’s effectively what the Republican members of the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary said in a Feb. 23 letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell.
More

In-Box: Cellphone encryption

March 9, 2016
Prosecutor Todd Meyer writes why companies like Apple and Google should work with government agencies on criminal cases.
More

Protecting Your Practice: Organizing as a limited liability entity under Indiana A&D Rule 27

March 9, 2016
Practicing law with partners can bring tremendous benefit to you and your practice. Partners can provide intellectual collaboration, moral support, camaraderie, and help with business development. However, partnership carries risks as well as benefits.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Deadpool,' 'Race'

March 9, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Deadpool" is creative, pungent and unique.
More

Gardner: Judicial deference and the Clean Power Plan

March 9, 2016
Justice Scalia’s long and momentous career on the U.S. Supreme Court gave us innumerable important decisions (and scathing dissents) that have shaped the intersection of administrative and environmental law.
More

Start Page: Why you should consider Microsoft Office 365

February 24, 2016
Seth Wilson
Migrating to Office 365 is a decision that should be made with careful planning and consideration of the risks and benefits of a cloud-based system. That said, the trend toward using other people’s computers to lower your own operating costs will only continue in the future.
More

DTCI: Rights of refusal and ‘cooling-off periods’

February 24, 2016
Jason Massaro
I find myself often representing companies that are subject to all sorts of tangential laws that they must know about and adhere to. Many times these laws require certain notice requirements to the clients with whom my clients do business.
More

DeKoninck: A call to serve the hopeless in our communities

February 24, 2016
Through daily concerns over billable hours and client meetings, networking events and continuing education, it is easy for those in the legal field to forget our responsibility to serve those in need in the communities where we live and work.
More

In-Box: The Constitution, court vacancies

February 24, 2016
Letters to the editor reflect on the Constitution and supreme court vacancies.
More

Hammerle on ... Hammerle’s Oscar picks for 2016

February 24, 2016
Robert Hammerle
Once again, the Oscars are upon us, and this year the awards are filled with controversy. Diversity is the buzzword, and it is something that Hollywood needs to acknowledge and meaningfully consider.
More

Neutral Corner: Reaction to SCOTUS’ recent arbitration decision

February 10, 2016
John Van Winkle
Comments following the DirecTVdecision have been consistent: Unless Congress acts or the makeup of the court fundamentally changes, mandatory arbitration of consumer disputes and the corresponding limitations of some remedies (such as class actions) is here to stay.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. It really doesn't matter what the law IS, if law enforcement refuses to take reports (or take them seriously), if courts refuse to allow unrepresented parties to speak (especially in Small Claims, which is supposedly "informal"). It doesn't matter what the law IS, if constituents are unable to make effective contact or receive any meaningful response from their representatives. Two of our pets were unnecessarily killed; court records reflect that I "abandoned" them. Not so; when I was denied one of them (and my possessions, which by court order I was supposed to be able to remove), I went directly to the court. And earlier, when I tried to have the DV PO extended (it expired while the subject was on probation for violating it), the court denied any extension. The result? Same problems, less than eight hours after expiration. Ironic that the county sheriff was charged (and later pleaded to) with intimidation, but none of his officers seemed interested or capable of taking such a report from a private citizen. When I learned from one officer what I needed to do, I forwarded audio and transcript of one occurrence and my call to law enforcement (before the statute of limitations expired) to the prosecutor's office. I didn't even receive an acknowledgement. Earlier, I'd gone in to the prosecutor's office and been told that the officer's (written) report didn't match what I said occurred. Since I had the audio, I can only say that I have very little faith in Indiana government or law enforcement.

  2. One can only wonder whether Mr. Kimmel was paid for his work by Mr. Burgh ... or whether that bill fell to the citizens of Indiana, many of whom cannot afford attorneys for important matters. It really doesn't take a judge(s) to know that "pavement" can be considered a deadly weapon. It only takes a brain and some education or thought. I'm glad to see the conviction was upheld although sorry to see that the asphalt could even be considered "an issue".

  3. In response to bryanjbrown: thank you for your comment. I am familiar with Paul Ogden (and applaud his assistance to Shirley Justice) and have read of Gary Welsh's (strange) death (and have visited his blog on many occasions). I am not familiar with you (yet). I lived in Kosciusko county, where the sheriff was just removed after pleading in what seems a very "sweetheart" deal. Unfortunately, something NEEDS to change since the attorneys won't (en masse) stand up for ethics (rather making a show to please the "rules" and apparently the judges). I read that many attorneys are underemployed. Seems wisdom would be to cull the herd and get rid of the rotting apples in practice and on the bench, for everyone's sake as well as justice. I'd like to file an attorney complaint, but I have little faith in anything (other than the most flagrant and obvious) resulting in action. My own belief is that if this was medicine, there'd be maimed and injured all over and the carnage caused by "the profession" would be difficult to hide. One can dream ... meanwhile, back to figuring out to file a pro se "motion to dismiss" as well as another court required paper that Indiana is so fond of providing NO resources for (unlike many other states, who don't automatically assume that citizens involved in the court process are scumbags) so that maybe I can get the family law attorney - whose work left me with no settlement, no possessions and resulted in the death of two pets (etc ad nauseum) - to stop abusing the proceedings supplemental and small claims rules and using it as a vehicle for harassment and apparently, amusement.

  4. Been on social security sense sept 2011 2massive strokes open heart surgery and serious ovarian cancer and a blood clot in my lung all in 14 months. Got a letter in may saying that i didn't qualify and it was in form like i just applied ,called social security she said it don't make sense and you are still geting a check in june and i did ,now i get a check from my part D asking for payment for july because there will be no money for my membership, call my prescription coverage part D and confirmed no check will be there.went to social security they didn't want to answer whats going on just said i should of never been on it .no one knows where this letter came from was California im in virginia and been here sense my strokes and vcu filed for my disability i was in the hospital when they did it .It's like it was a error . My ,mothers social security was being handled in that office in California my sister was dealing with it and it had my social security number because she died last year and this letter came out of the same office and it came at the same time i got the letter for my mother benefits for death and they had the same date of being typed just one was on the mail Saturday and one on Monday. . I think it's a mistake and it should been fixed instead there just getting rid of me .i never got a formal letter saying when i was being tsken off.

  5. Employers should not have racially discriminating mind set. It has huge impact on the society what the big players do or don't do in the industry. Background check is conducted just to verify whether information provided by the prospective employee is correct or not. It doesn't have any direct combination with the rejection of the employees. If there is rejection, there should be something effective and full-proof things on the table that may keep the company or the people associated with it in jeopardy.

ADVERTISEMENT