Opinion

Start Page: Disaster! It lurks around the corner – protect data now

September 12, 2012
Kim Brand
You are hanging by a thread and you don’t even know it. Your Internet connection is delivered by two wires that connect to a box on the outside of your office – and all that separates you from disaster is a cable removed from a jack on the wall.
More

Lucas: Make this the year to support civic education

September 12, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Indiana lawyers will have a unique opportunity to participate in a civic education program that will cast a national spotlight on our state and legal community. The 2013 National High School Mock Trial Championship will be held in Indianapolis May 9 to 11.
More

Cox: Avoid client problems by avoiding problem clients

September 12, 2012
Dina Cox
In this column, basic tips for preventing legal malpractice claims and other risk management strategies will be explored. Here are this author’s Top Ten client screening suggestions.
More

Federal Bar Update: Opinion provides insight on attorney fees in FDCPA casesRestricted Content

September 12, 2012
John Maley
Federal courts routinely determine fee petitions for prevailing parties in various fee-shifting cases. A recent opinion from Magistrate Judge Denise LaRue illustrates guiding principles here.
More

Technology Untangled: easy printing from phone or tablet

August 29, 2012
Stephen Bour
Stephen Bour writes about an app that makes it easy for Android users to print from their mobile devices.
More

DTCI: Throw your cell phone into the spaghetti bowl

August 29, 2012
From DTCI
James Strenski writes about why lawyers need to get away from their cell phones occasionally.
More

Quality of Life: Take action to make next year a better one

August 29, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
The drought has made MacDougall think about how people often say "next year will be better" but do nothing to make that happen.
More

Inbox: Society doesn't value genders equally

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Inbox: Sometimes it is enough to be 'good enough'

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Inbox: Personal values and experiences define 'all'

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Dean's Desk: Career planning innovation at Valparaiso Law

August 29, 2012
Jay Conison
This fall, Valparaiso Law is launching a new program that will help students organize their three years of career-related activities and complete the steps essential to fulfilling career goals. The program is provided through a mobile website named VOLT, which the school believe is the first of its kind.
More

Terms of Art: Musical background helps attorney connect with clients

August 15, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about attorney Trezanay Atikins, whose interests in music and sports led to her launching her own intellectual property firm.
More

Start Page: Tips to make Google searches more effective

August 15, 2012
Kim Brand
G-O-O-G-L-E will replace Q-W-E-R-T-Y on keyboards of the future. It has already replaced S-E-A-R-C-H. Problem is you probably aren’t very good at Google. Like a bad golf swing, without training, you just keep practicing the wrong swing and haven’t taken lessons.
More

More on Laurie Gray

August 10, 2012
I was raised in rural Indiana where good wives submit and obey and good children are seen and not heard. I went to college with the understanding that an educated good woman is a teacher or a nurse. So I became a high school teacher.
More

Federal Bar Update: No changes to federal rules this year

August 1, 2012
John Maley
Federal rule amendments take affect Dec. 1 of each year after a lengthy, time-consuming process of transmittal from the Judicial Conference to the Supreme Court and then to Congress. This coming December, for the first time in many years, there are no amendments on the horizon for the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, or Federal Rules of Evidence.
More

Lucas: In 2012, can women in the law really have it all?

August 1, 2012
Kelly Lucas
I wonder what it is really like to be a woman – or a man, for that matter – trying to balance the demands of work and family in today’s law firms. Let me know if you believe it is possible to work long hours but still have a balanced family life.
More

Inbox: Group advocates for court reporter to be used in pilot project

August 1, 2012
The Indiana Shorthand Reporters Association explains its concerns with a recently announced pilot project in courts involving video transcripts.
More

Lucas: The majority will ultimately do the right thing

July 18, 2012
Kelly Lucas
IL editor and publisher Kelly Lucas sees the silver lining when faced with crime.
More

Van Winkle: Decision pits mediation confidentiality against contract law

July 18, 2012
John Van Winkle
Attorney and mediator John Van Winkle discusses the difficulties that occur when mediation confidentiality provisions collide with long-established contract common law.
More

Lucas: Consider where you stand in the national debate

July 4, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Last week was a difficult one for those covering the news to avoid taking sides. The constitutionality of several very important issues – including the Arizona immigration law and the Affordable Care Act – were ruled on by the Supreme Court of the United States.
More

Adams: Relief for immigrant 'Dreamers' soon to be a reality

July 4, 2012
Just minutes before attending my first session of the second day of the American Immigration Lawyers Association annual conference in Nashville, Tenn., I began to receive a flood of emails and tweets on my phone about an announcement which would completely change the lives of an estimated 1.4 million immigrant youth, commonly called “Dreamers,” across the country and between 21,000 and 29,000 immigrant youth in Indiana.
More

DTCI: Note from the defense - Stop the 'unnecessary roughness'

July 4, 2012
From DTCI
While I am sure this writing could be deemed just another one that promotes civility, and while I am sure that there is a long list of ethical rules that promote that, too, I cite none here. I simply say this: Stop the (to use a football phrase) “unnecessary roughness.” I am hereby throwing a “flag on the play.”
More

BGBC Partners: Fraud can happen anywhere without prevention measures

July 4, 2012
Small businesses historically have suffered disproportionately larger losses due to fraud than larger organizations.
More

Start Page: 5 tips to better manage your digital data

June 20, 2012
Kim Brand
Kim Brand scolds you for your bloated inbox, chaotic file system and unkempt photos but offers tips to manage all that digital data.
More

Technology Untangled: Samsung 7-inch tablet fills a portable niche

June 6, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will review the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0. The first two things that caught my attention were the low $250 price and the small 7-inch size.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Family court judges never fail to surprise me with their irrational thinking. First of all any man who abuses his wife is not fit to be a parent. A man who can't control his anger should not be allowed around his child unsupervised period. Just because he's never been convicted of abusing his child doesn't mean he won't and maybe he hasn't but a man that has such poor judgement and control is not fit to parent without oversight - only a moron would think otherwise. Secondly, why should the mother have to pay? He's the one who made the poor decisions to abuse and he should be the one to pay the price - monetarily and otherwise. Yes it's sad that the little girl may be deprived of her father, but really what kind of father is he - the one that abuses her mother the one that can't even step up and do what's necessary on his own instead the abused mother is to pay for him???? What is this Judge thinking? Another example of how this world rewards bad behavior and punishes those who do right. Way to go Judge - NOT.

  2. Right on. Legalize it. We can take billions away from the drug cartels and help reduce violence in central America and more unwanted illegal immigration all in one fell swoop. cut taxes on the savings from needless incarcerations. On and stop eroding our fourth amendment freedom or whatever's left of it.

  3. "...a switch from crop production to hog production "does not constitute a significant change."??? REALLY?!?! Any judge that cannot see a significant difference between a plant and an animal needs to find another line of work.

  4. Why do so many lawyers get away with lying in court, Jamie Yoak?

  5. Future generations will be amazed that we prosecuted people for possessing a harmless plant. The New York Times came out in favor of legalization in Saturday's edition of the newspaper.

ADVERTISEMENT