Opinion

BGBC: ‘RAIDS’ may be behind spouse’s drop in income

July 17, 2013
In family disputes, we’re often faced with a dilemma in which the supporting spouse’s income suddenly and/or dramatically decreases without valid support or explanation. In the valuation industry, this disorder is commonly known as “R.A.I.D.S.” or Recently Acquired Income Deficiency Syndrome.
More

Sidebars: Fort Wayne eatery provides tasty respite from depositions

July 3, 2013
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Don Hall’s Old Gas House 3 gavels!
More

Bell/Gaerte: SCOTUS guides trial courts’ involvement in plea offers

July 3, 2013
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
In the last term, the United States Supreme Court, in Missouri v. Frye, 132 S. Ct. 1399 (2012), took a small step toward inviting trial courts into plea negotiations.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District starts pilot program for employment cases

July 3, 2013
John Maley
The Southern District of Indiana has been experimenting this year with a pilot program for certain employment cases. The only eligible cases are individual Title VII, ADA and ADEA actions.
More

Hammerle on … 'The East,' 'The Purge'

July 3, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends you see "The East" to find out how domestic terrorists can be the good guys.
More

Lucas: Ever wonder ‘What do reporters really want?’

June 19, 2013
Kelly Lucas
Lucas offers a few suggestions to a list created about what reporters want - and don't want - when interviewing attorneys.
More

Start Page: Prepare your firm for a disaster before one strikes

June 19, 2013
Kim Brand
You don’t need to be a technology expert to understand disaster planning. In fact, it may be an advantage not to be.
More

Hammerle on … 'Frances Ha,' 'Fast & Furious 6'

June 19, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Hammerle's take on "Frances Ha": This is a movie that every woman should see who remembers the thrill and torment of being 27.
More

DTCI: Perception and psychology shape interactions

June 5, 2013
Kevin Tyra
Kevin Tyra takes a look at how how perception and psychology shape interactions in general, and interactions among adverse lawyers in particular.
More

Cox: Implement a system of checks to avoid conflicts of interest

June 5, 2013
Dina Cox
Loyalty and independence of judgment are essential to the effective representation of a client. A conflict of interest may make it impossible to exercise these essentials, or it may create an appearance that is injurious to the health of the lawyer-client relationship.
More

Hammerle on ... 'The Company You Keep', 'Star Trek Into Darkness'

June 5, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says that "Start Trek Into Darkness" captures all the goofy charm that made the TV series so lovable.
More

Technology Untangled: GoPro action cam for work and summer fun

June 5, 2013
Stephen Bour
The summer vacation season is upon us, so today’s article will review a camera that you may find both useful and fun for your summer adventures. This camera is also useful for video documentation functions at work. It provides a superior video to the typical cell phone.
More

Inbox: Court guts medical hearsay exception for children

May 22, 2013
Laurie Gray, a former prosecutor, writes about the recent Indiana Supreme Court decision's impact on medical hearsay exception for child victims.
More

Hammerle on...'The Great Gatsby,' 'Iron Man 3'

May 22, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends you see "The Great Gatsby" on the big screen.
More

Start Page: Fighting interruption addiction, continued

May 22, 2013
Kim Brand
In my last column, I confessed I was addicted to interruptions: email, voice mail, texts, phone calls, Twitter feeds, etc. Studies have shown multitasking lowers IQ.
More

Finney: The OneNote tool you actually need

May 22, 2013
In this on-demand era of instant gratification, we expect that information should always be at our fingertips. Our time is precious and we all want others to respect that fact; in return doesn’t that mean we should all be respectful of the time that others give to us?
More

Dean's Desk: Legal education is navigating turbulent waters

May 8, 2013
Gary Roberts
On April 24, the McKinney School was privileged to host a plenary session of the American Bar Association Task Force that Randy Shepard is chairing on the future of legal education. It was an eye-opening, interesting and, at the same time, unsettling day.
More

Technology Untangled: Display your iPad on the big screen at trial

May 8, 2013
Stephen Bour
The iPad is a convenient and useful personal device for many daily work (and play) activities. However, when it comes time to show what is on your 9.7-inch screen and share it with others, the iPad can use a little help.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Judges need to take control of cultural standing

May 8, 2013
David Dreyer
Have you ever Googled “lawyer dog”? If you do, be prepared to see a limitless line of websites all featuring identical photos of the same canine seated behind his desk, along with various one-liners related to the law, dogs and just silliness.
More

Federal Bar Update: Supreme Court takes rare steps on procedural decisions

May 8, 2013
John Maley
With its limited docket, the U.S. Supreme Court rarely decides procedural issues, focusing instead on weighty constitutional issues or resolving split interpretations of federal statutes. This term, however, the Supreme Court has addressed several procedural issues.
More

DTCI: As attorneys, conflict is our business

May 8, 2013
From DTCI
This is not a call for more “civility.” To be candid, I have heard that so many times from so many people that it has lost all significance to me.
More

Hammerle on ... ‘Mud,’ ‘No’

May 8, 2013
Robert Hammerle
It wasn’t that long ago that I would have given Matthew McConaughey the same chance of receiving an Oscar nomination as the Supreme Leader of North Korea receiving a Nobel Peace Prize. Times haven’t changed on the Korean Peninsula, but they certainly have in Hollywood.
More

Lucas: 2013 Leadership in Law Award winners revealed

April 24, 2013
Kelly Lucas
Through the profiles in the Leadership in Law award supplement, it is our goal to introduce IL readers to the men and women behind the public and professional personas.
More

Hammerle on ... '42'

April 24, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Before reviewing the movie "42," Bob Hammerle pays tribute to the recent passing of Roger Ebert, Jonathan Winters and Annette Funicello.
More

Dean's Desk: IU Maurer professor’s legacy lives on at law school

April 10, 2013
Hannah Buxbaum
Two months ago, the Maurer School of Law lost an esteemed colleague, friend and teacher who touched the lives of more than 6,000 of our alumni during his 33 years at the law school.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
2015 Distinguished Barrister &
Up and Coming Lawyer Reception

Tuesday, May 5, 2015 • 4:30 - 7:00 pm
Learn More


ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Sociologist of religion Peter Berger once said that the US is a “nation of Indians ruled by Swedes.” He meant an irreligious elite ruling a religious people, as that Sweden is the world’s least religious country and India the most religious. The idea is that American social elites tend to be much less religious than just about everyone else in the country. If this is true, it helps explain the controversy raking Indiana over Hollywood, San Fran, NYC, academia and downtown Indy hot coals. Nevermind logic, nevermind it is just the 1993 fed bill did, forget the Founders, abandon of historic dedication to religious liberty. The Swedes rule. You cannot argue with elitists. They have the power, they will use the power, sit down and shut up or feel the power. I know firsthand, having been dealt blows from the elite's high and mighty hands often as a mere religious plebe.

  2. I need helping gaining custody of my 5 and 1 year old from my alcoholic girlfriend. This should be an easy case for any lawyer to win... I've just never had the courage to take her that far. She has a record of public intox and other things. She has no job and no where to live othe than with me. But after 5 years of trying to help her with her bad habit, she has put our kids in danger by driving after drinking with them... She got detained yesterday and the police chief released my kids to me from the police station. I live paycheck to paycheck and Im under alot of stress dealing with this situation. Can anyone please help?

  3. The more a state tries to force people to associate, who don't like each other and simply want to lead separate lives, the more that state invalidates itself....... This conflict has shown clearly that the advocates of "tolerance" are themselves intolerant, the advocates of "diversity" intend to inflict themselves on an unwilling majority by force if necessary, until that people complies and relents and allows itself to be made homogenous with the politically correct preferences of the diversity-lobbies. Let's clearly understand, this is force versus force and democracy has nothing to do with this. Democracy is a false god in the first place, even if it is a valid ideal for politics, but it is becoming ever more just an empty slogan that just suckers a bunch of cattle into paying their taxes and volunteering for stupid wars.

  4. I would like to discuss a commercial litigation case. If you handle such cases, respond for more details.

  5. Great analysis, Elizabeth. Thank you for demonstrating that abortion leads, in logic and acceptance of practice, directly to infanticide. Women of the world unite, you have only your offspring to lose!

ADVERTISEMENT