Opinion

Inbox: Attorney proposes refund if student fails bar exam twice

January 15, 2014
Attorney Robert C. Thompson Jr. writes, "In response to Dean Klein’s article, “Law Schools can’t be good, fast and cheap,” I take exception to his premise."
More

Inside the Criminal Case: Technology aids review of questioning technique

January 15, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
Danielle Kelly v. State is the first time that the Indiana Supreme Court has addressed law enforcement’s use of the “question first, Mirandize second” questioning technique. 997 N.E.2d 1045 (Ind. 2013). Kelly also provides additional focus on the role technology plays in the changing scope of suspect/law enforcement interaction.
More

Federal Bar Update: Court launches new website, case management plan

January 15, 2014
John Maley
The Southern District’s website is revamped, with a new and improved look and feel. The case opinion search feature remains and allows searching by judge and/or date. It can be a useful tool to get recent standards, for instance, on common issues.
More

Living Fit: Maintain No Gain participants stay lean

January 15, 2014
Sharon McGoff
I hope you realize anyone can make positive changes to their health, no matter the circumstances that impede your path. I hope you enlist the help of a buddy or coach to help motivate you to gain new habits and lose destructive behaviors.
More

Hammerle On…'American Hustle,' 'Inside Llewyn Davis,' 'Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues,' 'The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug'

January 1, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says don't be surprised if David O. Russell’s “American Hustle” wins Oscar’s top prize.
More

Hammerle On …'Philomena,' 'Nebraska'

December 18, 2013
Robert Hammerle
The unforgettable Judi Dench makes “Philomena” a triumph. Based on a book written by Martin Sixsmith, played here by Steve Coogan, Dench embodies Philomena, an aging Irish woman wrestling with profound regret.
More

Technology Untangled: Transfer photos and files between devices with just a bump

December 18, 2013
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at a cross-platform application called Bump.
More

Sidebars: Fried chicken stands out at Vincennes eatery

December 18, 2013
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
Our trio sauntered over to the Dogwood Barbeque after late-morning court for lunch based upon the recommendation of Knox County Deputy Prosecutor Joe Burton. Joe must like to eat because this buffet-style restaurant serves up massive quantities of food for a reasonable price.
More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about confidentiality

December 18, 2013
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
While social media has not mandated the creation of new ethical guidelines, it does make it easier to commit an ethical foul.
More

Federal Bar Update: Rule 45 amendments on subpoenas took effect Dec. 1

December 18, 2013
John Maley
Amendments took effect Dec. 1 to Rule 45 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Also, amendments took effect to several of the Southern District of Indiana’s Local Rules.
More

Gallagher: Does USPTO favor an international model?

December 4, 2013
In the new first-to-file system, the person who filed a patent application first would receive the benefit of getting the 20-year monopoly. However, there appear to be more subtle changes geared toward an international/European model that could substantially affect an inventor’s ability to obtain a patent in the United States, although these changes could be limited in duration.
More

Start Page: Is your data in the cloud really out of (your) control?

December 4, 2013
In today’s rapidly changing technology environment, programmers update software frequently. Your choice: accept the changes or move on. When was the last time you went more than a day without an update request from your smartphone?
More

INBOX: State bar needs to speak up on marriage equality

December 4, 2013
Shawn Marie Boyne writes that the Indiana State Bar Association needs to speak up in defense of marriage equality like the American Bar Association has.
More

Indiana Judges Association: 'You can't eat the Constitution'

December 4, 2013
David Dreyer
Like most judges, Shay Minton’s achievements were numerous, but largely unmeasured.
More

Hammerle on ... 'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire','Dallas Buyers Club'

December 4, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle roots for Jennifer Lawrence's Katniss Everdeen in the newest "Hunger Games" movie.
More

Gibson: Managing drug and medical device mass-tort litigation

November 20, 2013
A common mistake is the belief that a mass tort and a class action are interchangeable terms. While the paths of class actions and mass torts may cross, they are separate and distinct legal proceedings.
More

Hammerle on…'12 Years a Slave,' 'Thor: The Dark World' and 'All is Lost'

November 20, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says forget what the critics say, "Thor: The Dark World" is a rollicking fun time.
More

Bell/Gaerte: 3 things to know about criticizing judges

November 20, 2013
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
The case of In the Matter of T.D., --- N.E.2d ----, 71S00-1104-DI-196 (Ind. Oct. 8, 2013), provided guidance to attorneys about judicial criticism.
More

DTCI: Don’t miss the 2013 annual meeting in Michigan City

November 20, 2013
From DTCI
This year the DTCI Annual Meeting will be held at the Blue Chip Casino in Michigan City. The conference begins at 10 a.m. Thursday, Nov. 21, and continues through 5 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 22. If you have not yet registered to attend, I strongly encourage you to pack your suitcase with casual clothes (and a little extra green for the casino) and head north to get all the CLE you need for the year at one conference for the reasonable price of $299.
More

Living Fit: ISBA ‘buddies’ with attorneys to stay fit during the holidays

November 20, 2013
Sharon McGoff
This year, do something different! Your Indiana State Bar Association has launched the Maintain No Gain Buddy Campaign. This is your chance to stay healthy during the holidays, maintain your current weight, receive daily health tweets from me to keep you going, and win a Fitbit Pedometer.
More

Dean's Desk: Law schools can't be good, fast and cheap

November 6, 2013
Andrew Klein
It is no secret that legal education has faced criticism in recent years. In fact, a virtual cottage industry has developed around the topic. Entire websites and blogs are devoted to the theme, some specializing in cynical and sarcastic commentary.
More

Start Page: Voices from the cloud

November 6, 2013
Kim Brand
VOIP offers many attractive features. Among them, “cloud based” access to your office phone system. Conferencing, voice mail-to-email, call attendant services, cheap long distance, find me/follow me, etc., are the new normal.
More

Finney: Is trial technology a reasonable and necessary expense?

November 6, 2013
Deanna Finney
A recent decision from the Nevada District Court, Clark County, demonstrated that technology at trial is a valued component and not merely a dog-and-pony show. The dispute at hand centered upon unpaid expenses for trial technology that had been deemed as not a “reasonable and necessary” expense.
More

Column: Decision provides protection from ERISA retaliation

November 6, 2013
The 7th Circuit Court of Appeals has issued a key decision affecting the rights of employees who complain internally to their employers about failures to properly fund employee benefit plans governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act.
More

Sidebars: Westville eatery delights with oven-baked items

November 6, 2013
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Olga’s Place Pizzeria & Restaurant 4 gavels!
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Hello Jackie, Please go to 'LILLY BLACK" GRANDPARENTS RIGHTS ADVOCATES NATIONAL DELEGATION of the USA. I have a post there where i will be requesting a meeting with the Indiana Senators. We all know there is power in numbers. Please say you will go or you can private message me. WE MUST NEVER GIVE UP ON OUR GRANDCHILDREN. WE ARE GETTING CLOSER.We have to stop this EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ABUSE. PLEASE JOIN ME IN THIS IMPORTANT FIGHT! THANK YOU JACKIE

  2. Hello KRISTI PAYNE, Please go to 'LILLY BLACK" & send a friend request into the INDIANA-GRANDPARENTS RIGHTS ADVOCATES NATIONAL DELEGATION of the USA.I have a post there i will be requesting a meeting with the Indiana Senators in October. We all know there is power in numbers, PLEASE say you will go!THIS EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ABUSE OF OUR GRANDCHILDREN HAS TO STOP!!!! WE CAN'T GIVE UP NO MATTER HOW MUCH WE ARE BEATEN DOWN. WE ARE GETTING CLOSER!!!!! PLEASE HELP ME BE A VOICE!!! THANK YOU KRISTI PAYNE

  3. Hello Cheryl, Please go to 'LILLY BLACK" & send a friend request into the INDIANA-GRANDPARENTS RIGHTS ADVOCATES NATIONAL DELEGATION of the USA.I have a post there i will be requesting a meeting with the Indiana Senators in October. We all know there is power in numbers, PLEASE say you will go!THIS EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ABUSE OF OUR GRANDCHILDREN HAS TO STOP!!!! WE CAN'T GIVE UP NO MATTER HOW MUCH WE ARE BEATEN DOWN. WE ARE GETTING CLOSER!!!!! THANK YOU CHERYL

  4. Hello Cheryl, Please go to 'LILLY BLACK" & send a friend request into the INDIANA-GRANDPARENTS RIGHTS ADVOCATES NATIONAL DELEGATION of the USA.I have a post there i will be requesting a meeting with the Indiana Senators in October. We all know there is power in numbers, PLEASE say you will go!THIS EMOTIONAL & MENTAL ABUSE OF OUR GRANDCHILDREN HAS TO STOP!!!! WE CAN'T GIVE UP NO MATTER HOW MUCH WE ARE BEATEN DOWN. WE ARE GETTING CLOSER!!!!! THANK YOU CHERYL

  5. Hello Eugenia, Please go to "LILLY BLACK" & send a friend request for the INDIANA-GRANDPARENTS RIGHTS ADVOCATES NATIONAL DELEGATION of the USA. I have a post where I'm requesting a meeting with the Senators of Indiana in OCTOBER.We all know there is power in numbers.Please sign up to go you can PM. We are getting closer LET US NEVER GIVE UP!!!!!! Thank You Eugenia

ADVERTISEMENT