Opinion

Waterfill: State court vs. federal court: Which venue is best?

May 20, 2015
What are the various considerations when determining between state and federal court?
More

Hammerle on ... the value of books

May 20, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle takes a break from reviewing movies to offer his thoughts on a book that involves Hollywood directors serving in World War II.
More

Start Page: Drag and drop your way to a more productive day

May 20, 2015
Seth Wilson
Lawyers live or die by deadlines, so if something’s on the calendar, there’s a good chance it will get done. This article will suggest a few ways we can harness the power of the Outlook Calendar to get things done and feel less stress.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Clarity can come with certain costs

May 20, 2015
David Dreyer
Judges are decidedly impartial, but not necessarily unequivocally impartial.
More

Bell/Whelan: 3 things to know about amended pro bono reporting rule

May 20, 2015
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
Rule 6.7, in effect for a mere four months, was recently amended by a Supreme Court order issued April 30, 2015, and effective immediately. The amendment provides additional clarity on what is expected of Indiana attorneys with respect to reporting pro bono service.
More

Dean's Desk: Stewart Fellows bring global experience to Indiana

May 6, 2015
Austen Parrish
Globalization, once the exclusive domain of so-called international lawyers, now touches many lawyers’ practices. For this reason, the IU Maurer School of Law has been on the forefront of offering global opportunities to our students.
More

Neutral Corner: Admitting mediation communications in bad-faith actions

May 6, 2015
John Van Winkle
Are statements, offers and demands made during a mediation admissible in a bad-faith case? This issue is presently pending before the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals and is being watched by many in the mediation community with the hope it will clarify to what extent exceptions will continue to be created to the mediation confidentiality statutes.
More

Technology Untangled: Remember this useful tip for fixing a computer

May 6, 2015
Stephen Bour
There is always so much new information to learn and absorb when utilizing and maintaining your computer. Sometimes, though, you can forget about some of the really good things you already know (or knew). After digging deep into a recent computer problem that appeared to be a major issue, I remembered to try an easy fix.
More

Michael: The importance of Article 7 of the Ind. Administrative Code

May 6, 2015
Article 7 of the Indiana Administrative Code provides standards, procedures and protections for students with disabilities and is a “lucky number” for attorneys to remember when it comes to clients and their educational needs.
More

Hammerle On…'The Water Diviner,' 'Ex Machina'

May 6, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle gives Russell Crowe credit for trying to match the power of "All Quiet on the Western Front" in his movie "The Water Diviner."
More

Lechleiter: PTO improves adversarial procedures for challenging patents

April 22, 2015
As the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office issues more and more patents each year, inevitably many companies will find themselves named as defendants in patent-infringement litigation.
More

McCauley: Are you prepared for a data breach litigation?

April 22, 2015
John McCauley
Data breaches can be very stressful events for an organization and counsel should be prepared to help a client navigate the complexities of a proper response. At the end of the day, maintaining the client’s ongoing relationship with its customers and its reputation in the marketplace should be the primary goal of the client and counsel.
More

Indiana Lawyer owner reflects on paper’s 25-year history

April 22, 2015
The Indiana Lawyer was launched 25 years ago with a quest to have a prestigious publication that would be educational and enjoyable, and have a positive impact on the legal community.
More

Making Rain: Use these tips to improve email etiquette

April 22, 2015
Dona Stohler
Maybe you are thinking, “What does email etiquette have to with business development?” Generally, quite a lot.
More

Living Fit: It's up to you to be happy

April 22, 2015
Sharon McGoff
For most of us, the answer to the question, “Are you happy?” depends upon who we’re with, our health, work life, finances and family dynamics.
More

Hammerle On… 'Fast & Furious 7,' 'While We're Young'

April 22, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says even if you have to wear a disguise, you should go see "Fast & Furious 7."
More

Dean's Desk: Preparing for a more specialized profession

April 8, 2015
Nell Jessup Netwon
The legal community is keenly aware of the trend toward ever-increasing specialization in the legal profession. The trend has picked up steam every year during the past decade.
More

Hammerle On… 'What We Do in the Shadows,' 'It Follows'

April 8, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "What We Do in the Shadows," a mockumentary about four vampires, is an inspiring bit of cinematic lunacy.
More

Stevenson: Construction contractor non-delegable duties: then & now

April 8, 2015
With over 200 years of history, the non-delegable duty doctrine is not likely to disappear. As with many long-standing legal principles, it will likely be molded to fit today’s complex construction world.
More

Quality of Life: Take steps toward a course for new beginnings

April 8, 2015
Jonna Kane MacDougall
While some behaviors may have helped us progress through life at one time, often they become limiting as we develop and mature. There are ways to change these patterns – to create new internal responses or maps, so to speak, so that you will move in a different direction from your old way of being.
More

Start Page: Tips to reduce email notification distraction

April 8, 2015
Seth Wilson
Love it or hate it, email is here to stay. With electronic filing, more of our practice becomes electronic every day.
More

Waggoner: What I’ve learned from lawyers gone bad

April 8, 2015
Recent news of Hoosier attorneys donating $100,000 to the victims of disgraced Indiana lawyer Bill Conour prompts several thoughts about bad lawyers and the consequences for those victims.
More

Hammerle On…'Chappie' and 'The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel'

March 25, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says “Chappie” was "everything that I didn’t think it would be."
More

Dean's Desk: Learning to write for the law

March 11, 2015
Andrea D. Lyon
One of the educational challenges facing those of us in higher education (not just law) is teaching writing. The entry of what is often referred to as the millennial generation into higher education has shown a marked decrease in prior opportunities to write, to be critiqued, and, sadly, even to have been instructed in the basics of grammar, sentence structure and syntax.
More

Lucas: Indiana Lawyer names 2015 Leadership in Law award winners

March 11, 2015
Kelly Lucas
Congratulations to our 2015 Leadership in Law Distinguished Barristers and Up and Coming Lawyers! This year’s group comprises an exceptional representation of legal talent, and Indiana Lawyer is pleased to have the opportunity to honor their work.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. So if I am reading it right, only if and when African American college students agree to receive checks labeling them as "Negroes" do they receive aid from the UNCF or the Quaker's Educational Fund? In other words, to borrow from the Indiana Appellate Court, "the [nonprofit] supposed to be [their] advocate, refers to [students] in a racially offensive manner. While there is no evidence that [the nonprofits] intended harm to [African American students], the harm was nonetheless inflicted. [Black students are] presented to [academia and future employers] in a racially offensive manner. For these reasons, [such] performance [is] deficient and also prejudice[ial]." Maybe even DEPLORABLE???

  2. I'm the poor soul who spent over 10 years in prison with many many other prisoners trying to kill me for being charged with a sex offense THAT I DID NOT COMMIT i was in jail for a battery charge for helping a friend leave a boyfriend who beat her I've been saying for over 28 years that i did not and would never hurt a child like that mine or anybody's child but NOBODY wants to believe that i might not be guilty of this horrible crime or think that when i say that ALL the paperwork concerning my conviction has strangely DISAPPEARED or even when the long beach judge re-sentenced me over 14 months on a already filed plea bargain out of another districts court then had it filed under a fake name so i could not find while trying to fight my conviction on appeal in a nut shell people are ALWAYS quick to believe the worst about some one well I DID NOT HURT ANY CHILD EVER IN MY LIFE AND HAVE SAID THIS FOR ALMOST 30 YEARS please if anybody can me get some kind of justice it would be greatly appreciated respectfully written wrongly accused Brian Valenti

  3. A high ranking Indiana supreme Court operative caught red handed leading a group using the uber offensive N word! She must denounce or be denounced! (Or not since she is an insider ... rules do not apply to them). Evidence here: http://m.indianacompanies.us/friends-educational-fund-for-negroes.364110.company.v2#top_info

  4. A high ranking bureaucrat with Ind sup court is heading up an organization celebrating the formal N word!!! She must resign and denounce! http://m.indianacompanies.us/friends-educational-fund-for-negroes.364110.company.v2#top_info

  5. ND2019, don't try to confuse the Left with facts. Their ideologies trump facts, trump due process, trump court rules, even trump federal statutes. I hold the proof if interested. Facts matter only to those who are not on an agenda-first mission.

ADVERTISEMENT