Opinion

Technology Untangled: Apps for safe travels and finding lost phones

December 17, 2014
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at two smartphone applications that could be helpful to you this holiday season.
More

Hammerle On… 'Beyond the Lights,' 'The Homesman,' and 'Horrible Bosses 2'

December 17, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says don't waste your time on "Horrible Bosses 2."
More

Dean's Desk: Educating, supporting those called to the law

December 3, 2014
Andrea D. Lyon
The legal system plays a foundational role in a free society, and those who are called to this profession have an exciting opportunity to demonstrate their humanity while serving others.
More

2014 DTCI Amicus Report

December 3, 2014
From DTCI
In 2014, the Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana’s Amicus Committee participated in a number of interesting appeals, several of which have not yet been decided. The cases DTCI became involved in this year addressed a variety of evidentiary and other issues that are of interest to the defense bar.
More

Indiana Judges Association: The legal profession's Top Ten list of legal quotes

December 3, 2014
David Dreyer

Drawing upon Mr. David Letterman’s famous comic premise – the Top Ten List – we judges and lawyers would do well to take a similar look at our professional selves. So, for what it’s worth, see this judge’s Top Ten legal quotes, starting with No. 1 (and explanations). Of course, very few of them were said by lawyers.

More

Hammerle on ... 'Whiplash,' 'The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1'

December 3, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Whiplash" is a startling movie with an Oscar-worthy screenplay that assaults your senses.
More

Start Page: Tame your email inbox using flags, rules and search folders

December 3, 2014
Seth Wilson
I have a confession: I struggle to keep up with all the inputs in my life. Something is constantly seeking my attention – people, phone, texts, email and social media.
More

Dean's Desk: Truly integrated experiential education

November 19, 2014
andre douglas pond cummings
Legal education has lost its way. While many law schools seek to update and modernize their approach through the adoption of some required skills instruction and the addition of clinical experiences for more of their students, a significantly more aggressive approach is necessary to reform legal education fully and prepare law students to enter the practice of law today.
More

Leonard: Proposed rule expands safe harbors under federal Anti-Kickback Statute

November 19, 2014
The United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General recently published a proposed rule seeking to add new safe harbors to the Anti-Kickback Statute, as well as amend certain existing safe harbors within the rule.
More

DTCI: Is technology killing the work-life balance?

November 19, 2014
From DTCI
I will admit that when I first started practicing law, there were no BlackBerry phones, iPhones or tablets allowing one to access email at any time of the day, anywhere in the world. I also could not access the system in our office while at home or some other remote location. Now that all of these options are available to us, I can’t help but wonder is technology killing the ability to balance work with life?
More

Quality of Life: Volunteer to live a longer and healthier life

November 19, 2014
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Not only do the recipients of the volunteers’ time and effort benefit, but studies have shown that the volunteers themselves benefit as well.
More

Bell: 3 things to know when leaving a law firm

November 19, 2014
James Bell
According to the all-reliable Internet, the economy is improving. That may mean lawyers will soon be moving from their secure jobs to (possibly perceived) greener pastures. The act of leaving a law firm implicates several Rules of Professional Conduct that both law firm management and departing attorneys should be aware of. Here are three things to know about leaving a law firm.
More

Dean's Desk: Partnerships prep students for Indiana legal careers

November 5, 2014
Austen Parrish
A growing economy needs all kinds of professional support – including leaders who have been trained in law and know how to problem-solve. That’s why we have developed several new programs at the IU Maurer School of Law designed to attract the best and brightest students to our school, introduce them to the growing global economy – and, we hope, keep them in the Hoosier State.
More

Finney: Top 5 Word tips every legal professional should know

November 5, 2014
Deanna Marquez
Regardless of practice area, Microsoft Word is an application that most of us spend significant time utilizing. Unfortunately, it is often amidst looming deadlines, preventing us from having time to truly explore features that could ultimately make us more efficient.
More

A View from Gitmo: An update on USS Cole case and other proceedings

November 5, 2014
Indiana Court of Appeals Judge Patricia Riley offers an update on proceedings happening at Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.
More

Sidebars: Detour from courthouse for impressive pizza and soda combo

November 5, 2014
Fred Vaiana
Rare is the restaurant that impresses with every dish. I mean every aspect of every dish, including, believe it or not, the fountain soda drinks. At least on one glorious September evening with my family, Coalition Pizza was that restaurant.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: Contempt, punctuality and expressing yourself to a court

October 22, 2014
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
We advise our clients that unfortunately, delays can be part of the court experience. However, one thing we have never advised our clients to do is “tell the court how you really feel.” Or, as Dave Chappelle would say, we have never advised our clients to “keep it real” with the court.
More

Laurin: Well-crafted contracts can avoid subrogation disputes

October 22, 2014
Most Indiana construction law practitioners would probably agree that Indiana caselaw on construction issues is hardly robust. One exception is cases that address the enforceability of waiver of subrogation provisions (usually under AIA contracts) to prevent claims for damage to the “Work” (again usually as defined by AIA contracts) when a builder’s risk policy should or does cover the damage.
More

Singer/Jones: A survival guide for zombie construction projects

October 22, 2014
In real estate and construction, zombies really are all around us. Structures with no life inside scar the real estate landscape in every major city – the abandoned automobile-parts manufacturing facility; the half-completed condo building; the vacant video store with its giant, empty parking lot; the literal hole in the ground surrounded by rusted construction fencing and graffiti – all threatening the health and safety of the structures and inhabitants around them.
More

Federal Bar Update: Minor rule changes and attorney-client privilege

October 22, 2014
John Maley
Any amendments to various federal rules always take effect Dec. 1. Some years there are significant changes, other years few or no amendments are in play. This December is very modest in terms of federal rule amendments.
More

DTCI: Proceed with caution and civility during depositions

October 22, 2014
As a young lawyer, I have quickly learned that this friction between our duties to our clients and our duty to behave civilly becomes overly apparent at depositions. Without a doubt, depositions are an extremely effective and widely used discovery tool. They present great opportunity to gain valuable facts that can be used against an opponent. That being said, they also present great opportunity for incivility, especially because depositions are generally held outside a judge’s supervision.
More

Living Fit: Sitting is killing you, so get moving

October 22, 2014
Sharon McGoff
How is a chair like a cigarette? They can both kill us.
More

Start Page: Take a few (more) steps toward a ‘paper-less’ office

October 22, 2014
Seth Wilson
Law firms will likely never be completely paperless (i.e., completely electronic). A good goal for firms, courts and attorneys is to use less paper and be more “paper-less.” This article presents four steps you can take to reduce the use of, and reliance on, paper in practice.
More

Hammerle On… 'Gone Girl,' 'The Judge'

October 22, 2014
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Judge" can't be saved by the appearance of brilliant actors Robert Downey Jr., Robert Duvall and Vera Farmiga.
More

Technology Untangled: Document scanning in the palm of your hand

October 8, 2014
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at an application that allows your smartphone to function as a surprisingly capable portable document scanner, capturing images of higher quality and much greater utility than a typical .JPG photo capture.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. On a related note, I offered the ICLU my cases against the BLE repeatedly, and sought their amici aid repeatedly as well. Crickets. Usually not even a response. I am guessing they do not do allegations of anti-Christian bias? No matter how glaring? I have posted on other links the amicus brief that did get filed (search this ezine, e.g., Kansas attorney), read the Thomas More Society brief to note what the ACLU ran from like vampires from garlic. An Examiner pledged to advance diversity and inclusion came right out on the record and demanded that I choose Man's law or God's law. I wonder, had I been asked to swear off Allah ... what result then, ICLU? Had I been found of bad character and fitness for advocating sexual deviance, what result then ICLU? Had I been lifetime banned for posting left of center statements denigrating the US Constitution, what result ICLU? Hey, we all know don't we? Rather Biased.

  2. It was mentioned in the article that there have been numerous CLE events to train attorneys on e-filing. I would like someone to provide a list of those events, because I have not seen any such events in east central Indiana, and since Hamilton County is one of the counties where e-filing is mandatory, one would expect some instruction in this area. Come on, people, give some instruction, not just applause!

  3. This law is troubling in two respects: First, why wasn't the law reviewed "with the intention of getting all the facts surrounding the legislation and its actual impact on the marketplace" BEFORE it was passed and signed? Seems a bit backwards to me (even acknowledging that this is the Indiana state legislature we're talking about. Second, what is it with the laws in this state that seem to create artificial monopolies in various industries? Besides this one, the other law that comes to mind is the legislation that governed the granting of licenses to firms that wanted to set up craft distilleries. The licensing was limited to only those entities that were already in the craft beer brewing business. Republicans in this state talk a big game when it comes to being "business friendly". They're friendly alright . . . to certain businesses.

  4. Gretchen, Asia, Roberto, Tonia, Shannon, Cheri, Nicholas, Sondra, Carey, Laura ... my heart breaks for you, reaching out in a forum in which you are ignored by a professional suffering through both compassion fatigue and the love of filthy lucre. Most if not all of you seek a warm blooded Hoosier attorney unafraid to take on the government and plead that government officials have acted unconstitutionally to try to save a family and/or rescue children in need and/or press individual rights against the Leviathan state. I know an attorney from Kansas who has taken such cases across the country, arguing before half of the federal courts of appeal and presenting cases to the US S.Ct. numerous times seeking cert. Unfortunately, due to his zeal for the constitutional rights of peasants and willingness to confront powerful government bureaucrats seemingly violating the same ... he was denied character and fitness certification to join the Indiana bar, even after he was cleared to sit for, and passed, both the bar exam and ethics exam. And was even admitted to the Indiana federal bar! NOW KNOW THIS .... you will face headwinds and difficulties in locating a zealously motivated Hoosier attorney to face off against powerful government agents who violate the constitution, for those who do so tend to end up as marginalized as Paul Odgen, who was driven from the profession. So beware, many are mere expensive lapdogs, the kind of breed who will gladly take a large retainer, but then fail to press against the status quo and powers that be when told to heel to. It is a common belief among some in Indiana that those attorneys who truly fight the power and rigorously confront corruption often end up, actually or metaphorically, in real life or at least as to their careers, as dead as the late, great Gary Welch. All of that said, I wish you the very best in finding a Hoosier attorney with a fighting spirit to press your rights as far as you can, for you do have rights against government actors, no matter what said actors may tell you otherwise. Attorneys outside the elitist camp are often better fighters that those owing the powers that be for their salaries, corner offices and end of year bonuses. So do not be afraid to retain a green horn or unconnected lawyer, many of them are fine men and woman who are yet untainted by the "unique" Hoosier system.

  5. I am not the John below. He is a journalist and talk show host who knows me through my years working in Kansas government. I did no ask John to post the note below ...

ADVERTISEMENT