Opinion

DTCI: Legal questions abound for hands-free driving

July 15, 2015
Matthew Trainor
Although fully autonomous cars will take years to reach the general public, several car manufacturers already sell or have plans within the next year to begin selling cars with hands-free driving features.
More

I’d walk a mile for a cheeseburger – better make that six

July 15, 2015
Sharon McGoff
Do not despair and throw in the towel on your daily exercise routine because you don’t think you could ever burn enough calories to eat burgers. Exercise is, without a doubt, the best medicine for our bodies, minds and spirit.
More

Ponzi scheme remains white collar fraud of choice

July 15, 2015
Casey Higgs
Since the fall of Bernard Madoff, the Securities and Exchange Commission has upped its enforcement on Ponzi schemes.
More

Hammerle On…'Mad Max: Fury Road,' 'Me and Earl and the Dying Girl'

July 15, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that he's curious as to why "Me and Earl and the Dying Girl" won both major awards at last year's Sundance Film Festival.
More

Start Page: Secure your life with a password manager

July 1, 2015
Seth Wilson
This article will offer some suggestions on how to protect yourself using a password manager.
More

Hammerle on ...'Jurassic World,' 'Inside Out'

July 1, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle writes that "Jurassic World" poses a small, interesting questions for the obvious sequel. What if the U.S. could release Velociraptors of enemies like ISIS?
More

DTCI: Impact and questions from EPA draft study on fracking

June 17, 2015
From DTCI
Just shy of 600 pages with a 28-page executive summary to boot, the EPA report concludes that that the agency was unable to find “evidence that ‘mechanisms’ [identified in the report] have led to widespread, systemic impacts on drinking water resources in the United States."
More

Technology Untangled: Can software save money on printer ink?

June 17, 2015
Stephen Bour
There is some evidence suggesting that simply using a different font could save significant volumes of ink.
More

Klein: McKinney Law trains leaders for success in life sciences

June 17, 2015
Andrew Klein
In so many ways, Indianapolis helps us thrive. But the converse is also true. The McKinney School of Law is critical to Indianapolis’ success.
More

Hammerle On…'Spy,' 'The Connection'

June 17, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Robert Hammerle writes about "Spy" that international spies have not been this frenetic and madcap since Peter Sellers died.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: The duty to correct the trial court in a criminal case

June 17, 2015
James Bell, K. Michael Gaerte
Prosecutors and criminal defense lawyers need to know that there are times they are required to correct the trial court’s record.
More

Abrams: Engage with professionals to discover opportunities

June 3, 2015
Jeffrey Abrams
I would encourage recent law school graduates to remain optimistic, work hard and network with as many attorneys as you can find since you never know when the next law firm or employer will need to hire a recent graduate.
More

Federal Bar Update: Removing state-court actions to federal court

June 3, 2015
John Maley
Removal of state-court actions to federal court has provided a seemingly never-ending source of procedural disputes. Fortunately many of those mind-numbing issues have been resolved in the last several years by Congress and the courts, with the Supreme Court of the United States addressing one key issue recently.
More

Abeska: St. Joseph County Bar Foundation is hitting its stride

June 3, 2015
The St. Joseph County Bar Foundation's philanthropic efforts are made possible by support from attorneys and law firms, though fundraising remains a challenge for the board.
More

Quick: How to get noticed by the media

June 3, 2015
Swallow your pride. Sometimes the media doesn’t believe your law firm is as important as you do.
More

Kissel: Keeping the business in the family

June 3, 2015
Passing the family business to the next generation is likely to be one of the biggest projects of the owner’s lifetime. Family business succession is the process of transitioning the governance and ownership of a closely held business to the next generation.
More

Column: Using Facebook to provide notice for service of process

May 20, 2015
A recent study found that nearly 75 percent of all adults in the U.S. who use the Internet also have Facebook accounts. What if Facebook could soon have a major (positive) impact on litigation?
More

Waterfill: State court vs. federal court: Which venue is best?

May 20, 2015
What are the various considerations when determining between state and federal court?
More

Hammerle on ... the value of books

May 20, 2015
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle takes a break from reviewing movies to offer his thoughts on a book that involves Hollywood directors serving in World War II.
More

Start Page: Drag and drop your way to a more productive day

May 20, 2015
Seth Wilson
Lawyers live or die by deadlines, so if something’s on the calendar, there’s a good chance it will get done. This article will suggest a few ways we can harness the power of the Outlook Calendar to get things done and feel less stress.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Clarity can come with certain costs

May 20, 2015
David Dreyer
Judges are decidedly impartial, but not necessarily unequivocally impartial.
More

Bell/Whelan: 3 things to know about amended pro bono reporting rule

May 20, 2015
James Bell, Jessica Whelan
Rule 6.7, in effect for a mere four months, was recently amended by a Supreme Court order issued April 30, 2015, and effective immediately. The amendment provides additional clarity on what is expected of Indiana attorneys with respect to reporting pro bono service.
More

Dean's Desk: Stewart Fellows bring global experience to Indiana

May 6, 2015
Austen Parrish
Globalization, once the exclusive domain of so-called international lawyers, now touches many lawyers’ practices. For this reason, the IU Maurer School of Law has been on the forefront of offering global opportunities to our students.
More

Neutral Corner: Admitting mediation communications in bad-faith actions

May 6, 2015
John Van Winkle
Are statements, offers and demands made during a mediation admissible in a bad-faith case? This issue is presently pending before the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals and is being watched by many in the mediation community with the hope it will clarify to what extent exceptions will continue to be created to the mediation confidentiality statutes.
More

Technology Untangled: Remember this useful tip for fixing a computer

May 6, 2015
Stephen Bour
There is always so much new information to learn and absorb when utilizing and maintaining your computer. Sometimes, though, you can forget about some of the really good things you already know (or knew). After digging deep into a recent computer problem that appeared to be a major issue, I remembered to try an easy fix.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. Been there 4 months with 1 paycheck what can i do

  2. our hoa has not communicated any thing that takes place in their "executive meetings" not executive session. They make decisions in these meetings, do not have an agenda, do not notify association memebers and do not keep general meetings minutes. They do not communicate info of any kind to the member, except annual meeting, nobody attends or votes because they think the board is self serving. They keep a deposit fee from club house rental for inspection after someone uses it, there is no inspection I know becausee I rented it, they did not disclose to members that board memebers would be keeping this money, I know it is only 10 dollars but still it is not their money, they hire from within the board for paid positions, no advertising and no request for bids from anyone else, I atteended last annual meeting, went into executive session to elect officers in that session the president brought up the motion to give the secretary a raise of course they all agreed they hired her in, then the minutes stated that a diffeerent board member motioned to give this raise. This board is very clickish and has done things anyway they pleased for over 5 years, what recourse to members have to make changes in the boards conduct

  3. Where may I find an attorney working Pro Bono? Many issues with divorce, my Disability, distribution of IRA's, property, money's and pressured into agreement by my attorney. Leaving me far less than 5% of all after 15 years of marriage. No money to appeal, disabled living on disability income. Attorney's decision brought forward to judge, no evidence ever to finalize divorce. Just 2 weeks ago. Please help.

  4. For the record no one could answer the equal protection / substantive due process challenge I issued in the first post below. The lawless and accountable only to power bureaucrats never did either. All who interface with the Indiana law examiners or JLAP be warned.

  5. Hi there I really need help with getting my old divorce case back into court - I am still paying support on a 24 year old who has not been in school since age 16 - now living independent. My visitation with my 14 year old has never been modified; however, when convenient for her I can have him... I am paying past balance from over due support, yet earn several thousand dollars less. I would contact my original attorney but he basically molest me multiple times in Indy when I would visit.. Todd Woodmansee - I had just came out and had know idea what to do... I have heard he no longer practices. Please help1

ADVERTISEMENT