Opinion

Start Page: Top 5 New Year's (IT) resolutions for 2013

December 19, 2012
Kim Brand
Make this the year you get out of the poor-productivity ditch.
More

Technology Untangled: Easy video security with Internet cloud camera

December 19, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at a simple and effective Web-based network video security camera from D-Link that makes it easy to remotely monitor your home or office over the Internet.
More

Federal Bar Update: Rule changes, 7th Circuit procedural decisions

December 19, 2012
John Maley
As federal practitioners know, each Dec. 1 new federal rule amendments take effect. In most recent years there have been significant changes to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure each December.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Do media measure up in court coverage?

December 5, 2012
David Dreyer
We judges are obligated to actually ignore popular opinion or preference and apply the law, but we are further constrained to not discuss our decisions on talk shows or interviews. Yet, public confidence in courts is more important than any other branch of government because people need to believe in us or they will not believe or obey our rulings.
More

Quality of Life: Let your inner child out this holiday season

November 21, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Wouldn’t it be wonderful to live every moment in color, instead of black and white?
More

Sidebars: 'The Local' features the best of Indiana home-grown foods

November 21, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give the restaurant 3.5 gavels!
More

DTCI: Client relationships and effective case management

November 21, 2012
From DTCI
Both authors of this article recently had experiences in which our clients have shown us the true emotional impact that litigation can have on a new litigant.
More

Lucas: Dedication of clerks leads to smooth elections

November 21, 2012
Kelly Lucas
The 2012 elections are finally over. And while I think most people, with the possible exception of mail carriers and holiday Scrooges, are happy to have gift catalogs replace political flyers in their mailboxes, I would bet that no group is happier to see election season come to an end than the county clerks.
More

Book review: 'The Science of Attorney Advocacy'

November 21, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
Unlike other books I have recently reviewed, the book “The Science of Attorney Advocacy targets a different type of reader.
More

Finney: Overwhelmed by email? Try changing your outlook!

November 7, 2012
Deanna Finney explains how readers can use tools in their Outlook email program to make emails easier to manage.
More

Federal Bar Update: Northern, Southern District courts cleaning up local rulesRestricted Content

November 7, 2012
John Maley
Local Rule amendments are in the works in the Northern District and Southern District of Indiana, with amendments to take effect Jan. 1.
More

Lucas: More information is needed when judging the judges

October 24, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Up the street and around the corner from my Broad Ripple house, a yard sign caught my eye that didn’t involve the usual Democrat versus Republican political rhetoric. This simple, hand-painted sign called for the ouster of Supreme Court Justice Steven David.
More

DTCI: take the time to appreciate life's moments

October 24, 2012
Michele Bryant
I cannot imagine any professionals more obsessed with time than lawyers. While a great debate still rages as to whether the billable hour is dead, the fact remains that many lawyers continue to measure services to clients by a unit of time: the billable hour.
More

Sidebars: La Margarita is anything but traditional Mexican food

October 24, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give La Margarita 3 1/2 gavels!
More

Start Page: why the fax won't die

October 24, 2012
Kim Brand
The modern fax machine was introduced in 1964 by Xerox. Fast forward to today. Unless you use a typewriter, there are no other machines in your office that have remained essentially unchanged in form and function for almost 50 years. Fax is ubiquitous, reliable, simple and cheap. Why would you want to mess that up?
More

Nordstrom: Book offers little insight for experienced trial attorneys

October 10, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
Rodney Nordstrom reviews "Winning the Jury's Attention: Presenting Evidence from Voir Dire to Closing."
More

Dean's Desk: Pro bono projects broaden opportunities, instill values

October 10, 2012
Hannah Buxbaum
Preparing students for the rigors and complexity of today’s legal profession requires schools to focus not only on doctrinal analysis, but also on the complete set of professional competencies that successful lawyers require. Toward that end, the faculty at the I.U. Maurer School of Law has adopted a series of initiatives aimed at expanding the range of experiential learning opportunities available to our students.
More

Lucas: Nominations for 2013 Leadership in Law awards being accepted

October 10, 2012
Kelly Lucas
I encourage you to nominate an up-and-coming lawyer or distinguished barrister who you admire. Time is limited, and I realize that when it comes to discretionary projects like completing a nomination form, while our intentions are good, our follow-through can fall short. But there is something about the feeling derived from taking the time – or making the time – to do something like this that is so satisfying.
More

Technology Untangled: Send and receive large files with ease

October 10, 2012
Stephen Bour
Using attachments in email is a common and simple method for sending files. There is, however, a problem when those attachments get too large. That is because there are file size limits on most email services for both sending and receiving attachments.
More

Bentley: Darden honored for impact, influence on legal community

September 26, 2012
On September 14, 2012, the Marion County Bar Association hosted a retirement dinner in honor of Judge Carr L. Darden, who retired as a full-time appellate judge from the Indiana Court of Appeals on his 75th birthday, July 21, 2012. The event was held at the downtown Indianapolis Marriott and included dinner, musical entertainment and remarks from several individuals to whom Judge Darden has served as a colleague, mentor, family member and friend.
More

Behind the News: '80s anti-takeover law helped sow Emmis win in court

September 26, 2012
Greg Andrews
Emmis Communications Corp.’s tactics as it plotted to strip preferred shareholders of their rights were “admittedly unusual,” Judge Sarah Evans Barker acknowledged in her Aug. 31 ruling that let the company go forward with a shareholder vote a few days later that did just that.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Could judicial Olympics cure court budget woes?

September 26, 2012
David Dreyer
Judge Dreyer comes up with a way to cure court budget woes and provide reality TV.
More

DTCI: 'Queen bee syndrome' in the workplace – true or false?

September 26, 2012
If you are a woman trying to make it to the top of a law firm, can you expect a higher-ranking female attorney to take you under her wing? Do you need to undermine other women in order to advance or treat other women as threats?
More

Sidebars: Coaches Tavern has made consistently good food for 10 years

September 26, 2012
We give Coaches Tavern 3 gavels!
More

Dean's Desk: Law students benefit from alumni's professional experience

September 12, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
One of the benefits of writing this column is that it gives me time to reflect on aspects of Notre Dame Law School that are known and appreciated in South Bend and among our graduates, but are perhaps not as well known to the Indiana bench and bar.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. My daughter was taken from my home at the end of June/2014. I said I would sign the safety plan but my husband would not. My husband said he would leave the house so my daughter could stay with me but the case worker said no her mind is made up she is taking my daughter. My daughter went to a friends and then the friend filed a restraining order which she was told by dcs if she did not then they would take my daughter away from her. The restraining order was not in effect until we were to go to court. Eventually it was dropped but for 2 months DCS refused to allow me to have any contact and was using the restraining order as the reason but it was not in effect. This was Dcs violating my rights. Please help me I don't have the money for an attorney. Can anyone take this case Pro Bono?

  2. If justice is not found in a court room, it's time to clean house!!! Even judges are accountable to a higher Judge!!!

  3. The small claims system, based on my recent and current usage of it, is not exactly a shining example of justice prevailing. The system appears slow and clunky and people involved seem uninterested in actually serving justice within a reasonable time frame. Any improvement in accountability and performance would gain a vote from me. Speaking of voting, what do the people know about judges and justice from the bench perspective. I think they have a tendency to "vote" for judges based on party affiliation or name coolness factor (like Stoner, for example!). I don't know what to do in my current situation other than grin and bear it, but my case is an example of things working neither smoothly, effectively nor expeditiously. After this experience I'd pay more to have the higher courts hear the case -- if I had the money. Oh the conundrum.

  4. My dear Smith, I was beginning to fear, from your absense, that some Obrien of the Nanny State had you in Room 101. So glad to see you back and speaking truth to power, old chum.

  5. here is one from Reason magazine. these are not my words, but they are legitimate concerns. http://reason.com/blog/2010/03/03/fearmongering-at-the-splc quote: "The Southern Poverty Law Center, which would paint a box of Wheaties as an extremist threat if it thought that would help it raise funds, has issued a new "intelligence report" announcing that "an astonishing 363 new Patriot groups appeared in 2009, with the totals going from 149 groups (including 42 militias) to 512 (127 of them militias) -- a 244% jump." To illustrate how dangerous these groups are, the Center cites some recent arrests of right-wing figures for planning or carrying out violent attacks. But it doesn't demonstrate that any of the arrestees were a part of the Patriot milieu, and indeed it includes some cases involving racist skinheads, who are another movement entirely. As far as the SPLC is concerned, though, skinheads and Birchers and Glenn Beck fans are all tied together in one big ball of scary. The group delights in finding tenuous ties between the tendencies it tracks, then describing its discoveries in as ominous a tone as possible." --- I wonder if all the republicans that belong to the ISBA would like to know who and why this outfit was called upon to receive such accolades. I remember when they were off calling Trent Lott a bigot too. Preposterous that this man was brought to an overwhelmingly republican state to speak. This is a nakedly partisan institution and it was a seriously bad choice.

ADVERTISEMENT