Opinion

Indiana Judges Association: Judges are good government partners

January 30, 2013
David Dreyer
Judge David Dreyer writes a letter to Gov. Mike Pence about how to make people more legally literate.
More

LaBret: Demystifying online reputation defense

January 30, 2013
Jabez LaBret writes about how lawyers can control what shows up about them in online searches.
More

Technology Untangled: Add communication flexibility to tablets and smartphones

January 16, 2013
Stephen Bour
I was looking for ways to make Wi-Fi tablets more versatile as communication tools and found several interesting applications. Today we will look at apps to turn your Wi-Fi tablet, or iPod Touch, into a push-to-talk (PTT) walkie-talkie, a device for standard SMS texting, and even a free wireless telephone.
More

Badger: Using arbitration clauses to reduce potential liability risk

January 16, 2013
Steven Badger
In the first part of this column, I outlined the advantages and disadvantages of arbitration as an alternative to litigation in court and concluded that neither arbitration nor litigation is preferable in all situations. This second part provides more specific suggestions on when to use arbitration in certain high-risk, “bet-the-company” situations.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District of Indiana adopts rule amendments

January 16, 2013
John Maley
The Southern District has amended several Local Rules. These were approved in late December and took effect Jan. 1.
More

Lucas: 2013 brings opportunities to effect change

January 2, 2013
Kelly Lucas
As I write the first of my 2013 columns, my inclination is to put on my rose-colored glasses and look with optimism toward the year ahead. While I feel that I am truly a glass-half-full kind of gal, I am also a realist and not a fan of people who stick their heads in the sand and pretend things are OK when they are not.
More

Badger: To arbitrate or litigate, that is the question

January 2, 2013
Steven Badger
In my world of dispute resolution, one of the most basic questions is whether a particular business dispute should be resolved in arbitration or in a court of law. Like many of the questions I am frequently asked by clients, there is no simple answer that fits all occasions and situations.
More

McGoff: It is a new year, start creating a new 'you'

January 2, 2013
Sharon McGoff
Each year, as Jan. 1 approaches and we gaze in the mirror at the after effects of the holidays … dark circles under our eyes, too many cookies and an over-abundance of cocktail parties, we set our sights on resolutions. We vow that “this time” we are going to do it! However, the statistics show that over 80 percent of us who set New Year’s resolutions will fail.
More

Start Page: Top 5 New Year's (IT) resolutions for 2013

December 19, 2012
Kim Brand
Make this the year you get out of the poor-productivity ditch.
More

Technology Untangled: Easy video security with Internet cloud camera

December 19, 2012
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at a simple and effective Web-based network video security camera from D-Link that makes it easy to remotely monitor your home or office over the Internet.
More

Federal Bar Update: Rule changes, 7th Circuit procedural decisions

December 19, 2012
John Maley
As federal practitioners know, each Dec. 1 new federal rule amendments take effect. In most recent years there have been significant changes to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure each December.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Do media measure up in court coverage?

December 5, 2012
David Dreyer
We judges are obligated to actually ignore popular opinion or preference and apply the law, but we are further constrained to not discuss our decisions on talk shows or interviews. Yet, public confidence in courts is more important than any other branch of government because people need to believe in us or they will not believe or obey our rulings.
More

Quality of Life: Let your inner child out this holiday season

November 21, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Wouldn’t it be wonderful to live every moment in color, instead of black and white?
More

Sidebars: 'The Local' features the best of Indiana home-grown foods

November 21, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give the restaurant 3.5 gavels!
More

DTCI: Client relationships and effective case management

November 21, 2012
From DTCI
Both authors of this article recently had experiences in which our clients have shown us the true emotional impact that litigation can have on a new litigant.
More

Lucas: Dedication of clerks leads to smooth elections

November 21, 2012
Kelly Lucas
The 2012 elections are finally over. And while I think most people, with the possible exception of mail carriers and holiday Scrooges, are happy to have gift catalogs replace political flyers in their mailboxes, I would bet that no group is happier to see election season come to an end than the county clerks.
More

Book review: 'The Science of Attorney Advocacy'

November 21, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
Unlike other books I have recently reviewed, the book “The Science of Attorney Advocacy targets a different type of reader.
More

Finney: Overwhelmed by email? Try changing your outlook!

November 7, 2012
Deanna Finney explains how readers can use tools in their Outlook email program to make emails easier to manage.
More

Federal Bar Update: Northern, Southern District courts cleaning up local rulesRestricted Content

November 7, 2012
John Maley
Local Rule amendments are in the works in the Northern District and Southern District of Indiana, with amendments to take effect Jan. 1.
More

Lucas: More information is needed when judging the judges

October 24, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Up the street and around the corner from my Broad Ripple house, a yard sign caught my eye that didn’t involve the usual Democrat versus Republican political rhetoric. This simple, hand-painted sign called for the ouster of Supreme Court Justice Steven David.
More

DTCI: take the time to appreciate life's moments

October 24, 2012
Michele Bryant
I cannot imagine any professionals more obsessed with time than lawyers. While a great debate still rages as to whether the billable hour is dead, the fact remains that many lawyers continue to measure services to clients by a unit of time: the billable hour.
More

Sidebars: La Margarita is anything but traditional Mexican food

October 24, 2012
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give La Margarita 3 1/2 gavels!
More

Start Page: why the fax won't die

October 24, 2012
Kim Brand
The modern fax machine was introduced in 1964 by Xerox. Fast forward to today. Unless you use a typewriter, there are no other machines in your office that have remained essentially unchanged in form and function for almost 50 years. Fax is ubiquitous, reliable, simple and cheap. Why would you want to mess that up?
More

Nordstrom: Book offers little insight for experienced trial attorneys

October 10, 2012
Rodney Nordstrom
Rodney Nordstrom reviews "Winning the Jury's Attention: Presenting Evidence from Voir Dire to Closing."
More

Dean's Desk: Pro bono projects broaden opportunities, instill values

October 10, 2012
Hannah Buxbaum
Preparing students for the rigors and complexity of today’s legal profession requires schools to focus not only on doctrinal analysis, but also on the complete set of professional competencies that successful lawyers require. Toward that end, the faculty at the I.U. Maurer School of Law has adopted a series of initiatives aimed at expanding the range of experiential learning opportunities available to our students.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. I just wanted to point out that Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner, Senator Feinstein, former Senate majority leader Bill Frist, and former attorney general John Ashcroft are responsible for this rubbish. We need to keep a eye on these corrupt, arrogant, and incompetent fools.

  2. Well I guess our politicians have decided to give these idiot federal prosecutors unlimited power. Now if I guy bounces a fifty-dollar check, the U.S. attorney can intentionally wait for twenty-five years or so and have the check swabbed for DNA and file charges. These power hungry federal prosecutors now have unlimited power to mess with people. we can thank Wisconsin's Jim Sensenbrenner and Diane Feinstein, John Achcroft and Bill Frist for this one. Way to go, idiots.

  3. I wonder if the USSR had electronic voting machines that changed the ballot after it was cast? Oh well, at least we have a free media serving as vicious watchdog and exposing all of the rot in the system! (Insert rimshot)

  4. Jose, you are assuming those in power do not wish to be totalitarian. My experience has convinced me otherwise. Constitutionalists are nearly as rare as hens teeth among the powerbrokers "managing" us for The Glorious State. Oh, and your point is dead on, el correcta mundo. Keep the Founders’ (1791 & 1851) vision alive, my friend, even if most all others, and especially the ruling junta, chase only power and money (i.e. mammon)

  5. Hypocrisy in high places, absolute immunity handed out like Halloween treats (it is the stuff of which tyranny is made) and the belief that government agents are above the constitutions and cannot be held responsible for mere citizen is killing, perhaps has killed, The Republic. And yet those same power drunk statists just reel on down the hallway toward bureaucratic fascism.

ADVERTISEMENT