Opinion

Mediation confidentiality; ADR rules review coming

March 27, 2013
The Indiana Supreme Court reiterated in its opinion that Indiana has not adopted the UMA. They also acknowledged that the two amici organizations have further worked to create a task force to review the rules for Alternative Dispute Resolution (now formally recognized by the court).
More

Hammerle on ... 'West of Memphis,' 'Emperor'

March 27, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle recommends that all lawyers go see the documentary "West of Memphis."
More

Start Page: Interruption addiction takes focus to break

March 27, 2013
Kim Brand
Time management systems used to be popular. They are irrelevant now because you don’t have any time to manage.
More

Dean's Desk: Notre Dame Law in Chicago shows promise

March 13, 2013
Nell Jessup Netwon
Chicago is the No. 1 destination for Notre Dame Law School graduates, followed closely by Washington, D.C., New York City and Los Angeles, with Indianapolis rounding out the top five. But while many NDLS students plan to practice law in a major metropolitan area, until recently there were limited opportunities for them to explore and experience what it is actually like to practice law in a big city.
More

Technology Untangled: App lets you use iPad as an extra PC display

March 13, 2013
Stephen Bour
Today we will look at another way to deploy an extra display by using the portable device you likely carry with you everywhere: your iPad.
More

Lucas: Another year older and, hopefully, wiser

March 13, 2013
Kelly Lucas
As they say, time flies when you are having fun. I’ve found that it also seems to stampede past when you are very busy. Both have been the case for the staff of the Indiana Lawyer. But time moves on, which is a good thing, and with this issue of the paper Indiana Lawyer turns another year older.
More

DTCI: Early mentors influenced me as an attorney

March 13, 2013
From DTCI
How did I turn out like this? After practicing law for 32 years, I decided it was time to look back and examine the reasons that I behave certain ways.
More

Hammerle on 'Jack the Giant Slayer,' 'Identity Thief'

March 13, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle offers his grandson to those who lack the nerve to see "Jack the Giant Slayer" alone. All he needs is popcorn.
More

Sidebars: Unique Pure Eatery offers options for all types of diners

February 27, 2013
Jennifer Lukemeyer, Fred Vaiana
We give Pure Eatery 3.5 gavels!
More

Hammerle on ... 'Life of Pi'; 'Silver Linings Playbook'

February 27, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle reviews two movies who recently won awards at the 2013 Oscars.
More

Maley: Updated series is valuable for practitioners

February 27, 2013
John Maley
As the practice has moved from law-firm libraries to online research on laptops and iPads, there remains a place for comprehensive, in-depth and practical treatises and practice guides. Since 1998, Westlaw’s Business and Commercial Litigation in Federal Courts has been just such a valuable resource.
More

Start Page: Master of your domain

February 13, 2013
Kim Brand
You may ask: “What is a domain and why would I want one?” Let me assure you that you have one and you want to keep it.
More

Hammerle on ... 'Zero Dark Thirty'

February 13, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Director Kathryn Bigelow’s excellent saga about the quest to kill Osama bin Laden tells a larger story. Can we honor the dead of 9/11 by copying the moral depravity of their killers?
More

And the Winner is: Hammerle's Preliminary 2013 Oscar Picks

February 13, 2013
Robert Hammerle
Read attorney Bob Hammerle's picks for this year's Oscars.
More

Lucas: Had a tough day? Escape to the movies!

February 13, 2013
Kelly Lucas
With this issue of IL, we begin presenting movie reviews by Indianapolis criminal defense lawyer Bob Hammerle. Bob is known to many lawyers and businesspeople for his passion about cinema and his colorful commentary about the latest shows to hit the theaters.
More

Dean's Desk: A new curriculum at Valparaiso Law School

February 13, 2013
Jay Conison
Law schools have two natures. On the one hand, they are graduate academic programs, generally in universities. On the other hand, a law school is a path to a career. Through the educational program and other services, it develops professional skills in students and supports their entry into law or other professional practice.
More

BGBC: Understand how the new tax law affects you

January 30, 2013
On Jan. 2, 2013, President Barack Obama signed into law the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012. We’ve compiled some key takeaways from the Act so you have a better understanding of how it affects your clients and you
More

Indiana Lawyer launches ‘Lawyers on the Move’ email

January 30, 2013
Kelly Lucas
We're excited about bringing readers another opportunity to learn about and maintain connections with lawyers around the state.
More

Steuerwald: Lawmakers rewriting Indiana's outdated criminal code

January 30, 2013
Rewriting Indiana’s criminal code is an issue that my colleagues and I have spent years analyzing. The code has been enhanced in the past, but there has not been a significant overhaul since 1977.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Judges are good government partners

January 30, 2013
David Dreyer
Judge David Dreyer writes a letter to Gov. Mike Pence about how to make people more legally literate.
More

LaBret: Demystifying online reputation defense

January 30, 2013
Jabez LaBret writes about how lawyers can control what shows up about them in online searches.
More

Technology Untangled: Add communication flexibility to tablets and smartphones

January 16, 2013
Stephen Bour
I was looking for ways to make Wi-Fi tablets more versatile as communication tools and found several interesting applications. Today we will look at apps to turn your Wi-Fi tablet, or iPod Touch, into a push-to-talk (PTT) walkie-talkie, a device for standard SMS texting, and even a free wireless telephone.
More

Badger: Using arbitration clauses to reduce potential liability risk

January 16, 2013
Steven Badger
In the first part of this column, I outlined the advantages and disadvantages of arbitration as an alternative to litigation in court and concluded that neither arbitration nor litigation is preferable in all situations. This second part provides more specific suggestions on when to use arbitration in certain high-risk, “bet-the-company” situations.
More

Federal Bar Update: Southern District of Indiana adopts rule amendments

January 16, 2013
John Maley
The Southern District has amended several Local Rules. These were approved in late December and took effect Jan. 1.
More

Lucas: 2013 brings opportunities to effect change

January 2, 2013
Kelly Lucas
As I write the first of my 2013 columns, my inclination is to put on my rose-colored glasses and look with optimism toward the year ahead. While I feel that I am truly a glass-half-full kind of gal, I am also a realist and not a fan of people who stick their heads in the sand and pretend things are OK when they are not.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. All the lawyers involved in this don't add up to a hill of beans; mostly yes-men punching their tickets for future advancement. REMF types. Window dressing. Who in this mess was a real hero? the whistleblower that let the public know about the torture, whom the US sent to Jail. John Kyriakou. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/26/us/ex-officer-for-cia-is-sentenced-in-leak-case.html?_r=0 Now, considering that Torture is Illegal, considering that during Vietnam a soldier was court-martialed and imprisoned for waterboarding, why has the whistleblower gone to jail but none of the torturers have been held to account? It's amazing that Uncle Sam's sunk lower than Vietnam. But that's where we're at. An even more unjust and pointless war conducted in an even more bogus manner. this from npr: "On Jan. 21, 1968, The Washington Post ran a front-page photo of a U.S. soldier supervising the waterboarding of a captured North Vietnamese soldier. The caption said the technique induced "a flooding sense of suffocation and drowning, meant to make him talk." The picture led to an Army investigation and, two months later, the court martial of the soldier." Today, the US itself has become lawless.

  2. "Brain Damage" alright.... The lunatic is on the grass/ The lunatic is on the grass/ Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs/ Got to keep the loonies on the path.... The lunatic is in the hall/ The lunatics are in my hall/ The paper holds their folded faces to the floor/ And every day the paper boy brings more/ And if the dam breaks open many years too soon/ And if there is no room upon the hill/ And if your head explodes with dark forbodings too/ I'll see you on the dark side of the moon!!!

  3. It is amazing how selectively courts can read cases and how two very similar factpatterns can result in quite different renderings. I cited this very same argument in Brown v. Bowman, lost. I guess it is panel, panel, panel when one is on appeal. Sad thing is, I had Sykes. Same argument, she went the opposite. Her Rooker-Feldman jurisprudence is now decidedly unintelligible.

  4. November, 2014, I was charged with OWI/Endangering a person. I was not given a Breathalyzer test and the arresting officer did not believe that alcohol was in any way involved. I was self-overmedicated with prescription medications. I was taken to local hospital for blood draw to be sent to State Tox Lab. My attorney gave me a cookie-cutter plea which amounts to an ALCOHOL-related charge. Totally unacceptable!! HOW can I get my TOX report from the state lab???

  5. My mother got temporary guardianship of my children in 2012. my husband and I got divorced 2015 the judge ordered me to have full custody of all my children. Does this mean the temporary guardianship is over? I'm confused because my divorce papers say I have custody and he gets visits and i get to claim the kids every year on my taxes. So just wondered since I have in black and white that I have custody if I can go get my kids from my moms and not go to jail?

ADVERTISEMENT