Opinion

Lucas: Nominations for 2013 Leadership in Law awards being accepted

October 10, 2012
Kelly Lucas
I encourage you to nominate an up-and-coming lawyer or distinguished barrister who you admire. Time is limited, and I realize that when it comes to discretionary projects like completing a nomination form, while our intentions are good, our follow-through can fall short. But there is something about the feeling derived from taking the time – or making the time – to do something like this that is so satisfying.
More

Technology Untangled: Send and receive large files with ease

October 10, 2012
Stephen Bour
Using attachments in email is a common and simple method for sending files. There is, however, a problem when those attachments get too large. That is because there are file size limits on most email services for both sending and receiving attachments.
More

Bentley: Darden honored for impact, influence on legal community

September 26, 2012
On September 14, 2012, the Marion County Bar Association hosted a retirement dinner in honor of Judge Carr L. Darden, who retired as a full-time appellate judge from the Indiana Court of Appeals on his 75th birthday, July 21, 2012. The event was held at the downtown Indianapolis Marriott and included dinner, musical entertainment and remarks from several individuals to whom Judge Darden has served as a colleague, mentor, family member and friend.
More

Behind the News: '80s anti-takeover law helped sow Emmis win in court

September 26, 2012
Greg Andrews
Emmis Communications Corp.’s tactics as it plotted to strip preferred shareholders of their rights were “admittedly unusual,” Judge Sarah Evans Barker acknowledged in her Aug. 31 ruling that let the company go forward with a shareholder vote a few days later that did just that.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Could judicial Olympics cure court budget woes?

September 26, 2012
David Dreyer
Judge Dreyer comes up with a way to cure court budget woes and provide reality TV.
More

DTCI: 'Queen bee syndrome' in the workplace – true or false?

September 26, 2012
If you are a woman trying to make it to the top of a law firm, can you expect a higher-ranking female attorney to take you under her wing? Do you need to undermine other women in order to advance or treat other women as threats?
More

Sidebars: Coaches Tavern has made consistently good food for 10 years

September 26, 2012
We give Coaches Tavern 3 gavels!
More

Dean's Desk: Law students benefit from alumni's professional experience

September 12, 2012
Nell Jessup Netwon
One of the benefits of writing this column is that it gives me time to reflect on aspects of Notre Dame Law School that are known and appreciated in South Bend and among our graduates, but are perhaps not as well known to the Indiana bench and bar.
More

Start Page: Disaster! It lurks around the corner – protect data now

September 12, 2012
Kim Brand
You are hanging by a thread and you don’t even know it. Your Internet connection is delivered by two wires that connect to a box on the outside of your office – and all that separates you from disaster is a cable removed from a jack on the wall.
More

Lucas: Make this the year to support civic education

September 12, 2012
Kelly Lucas
Indiana lawyers will have a unique opportunity to participate in a civic education program that will cast a national spotlight on our state and legal community. The 2013 National High School Mock Trial Championship will be held in Indianapolis May 9 to 11.
More

Cox: Avoid client problems by avoiding problem clients

September 12, 2012
Dina Cox
In this column, basic tips for preventing legal malpractice claims and other risk management strategies will be explored. Here are this author’s Top Ten client screening suggestions.
More

Federal Bar Update: Opinion provides insight on attorney fees in FDCPA casesRestricted Content

September 12, 2012
John Maley
Federal courts routinely determine fee petitions for prevailing parties in various fee-shifting cases. A recent opinion from Magistrate Judge Denise LaRue illustrates guiding principles here.
More

Technology Untangled: easy printing from phone or tablet

August 29, 2012
Stephen Bour
Stephen Bour writes about an app that makes it easy for Android users to print from their mobile devices.
More

DTCI: Throw your cell phone into the spaghetti bowl

August 29, 2012
From DTCI
James Strenski writes about why lawyers need to get away from their cell phones occasionally.
More

Quality of Life: Take action to make next year a better one

August 29, 2012
Jonna Kane MacDougall
The drought has made MacDougall think about how people often say "next year will be better" but do nothing to make that happen.
More

Inbox: Society doesn't value genders equally

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Inbox: Sometimes it is enough to be 'good enough'

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Inbox: Personal values and experiences define 'all'

August 29, 2012
A letter in response to editor Kelly Lucas' editorial on whether women in the law can have it all.
More

Dean's Desk: Career planning innovation at Valparaiso Law

August 29, 2012
Jay Conison
This fall, Valparaiso Law is launching a new program that will help students organize their three years of career-related activities and complete the steps essential to fulfilling career goals. The program is provided through a mobile website named VOLT, which the school believe is the first of its kind.
More

Terms of Art: Musical background helps attorney connect with clients

August 15, 2012
Wandini Riggins
Wandini Riggins writes about attorney Trezanay Atikins, whose interests in music and sports led to her launching her own intellectual property firm.
More

Start Page: Tips to make Google searches more effective

August 15, 2012
Kim Brand
G-O-O-G-L-E will replace Q-W-E-R-T-Y on keyboards of the future. It has already replaced S-E-A-R-C-H. Problem is you probably aren’t very good at Google. Like a bad golf swing, without training, you just keep practicing the wrong swing and haven’t taken lessons.
More

More on Laurie Gray

August 10, 2012
I was raised in rural Indiana where good wives submit and obey and good children are seen and not heard. I went to college with the understanding that an educated good woman is a teacher or a nurse. So I became a high school teacher.
More

Federal Bar Update: No changes to federal rules this year

August 1, 2012
John Maley
Federal rule amendments take affect Dec. 1 of each year after a lengthy, time-consuming process of transmittal from the Judicial Conference to the Supreme Court and then to Congress. This coming December, for the first time in many years, there are no amendments on the horizon for the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, or Federal Rules of Evidence.
More

Lucas: In 2012, can women in the law really have it all?

August 1, 2012
Kelly Lucas
I wonder what it is really like to be a woman – or a man, for that matter – trying to balance the demands of work and family in today’s law firms. Let me know if you believe it is possible to work long hours but still have a balanced family life.
More

Inbox: Group advocates for court reporter to be used in pilot project

August 1, 2012
The Indiana Shorthand Reporters Association explains its concerns with a recently announced pilot project in courts involving video transcripts.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Indiana State Bar Association

Indianapolis Bar Association

Evansville Bar Association

Allen County Bar Association

Indiana Lawyer on Facebook

facebook
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. It appears the police and prosecutors are allowed to change the rules halfway through the game to suit themselves. I am surprised that the congress has not yet eliminated the right to a trial in cases involving any type of forensic evidence. That would suit their foolish law and order police state views. I say we eliminate the statute of limitations for crimes committed by members of congress and other government employees. Of course they would never do that. They are all corrupt cowards!!!

  2. Poor Judge Brown probably thought that by slavishly serving the godz of the age her violations of 18th century concepts like due process and the rule of law would be overlooked. Mayhaps she was merely a Judge ahead of her time?

  3. in a lawyer discipline case Judge Brown, now removed, was presiding over a hearing about a lawyer accused of the supposedly heinous ethical violation of saying the words "Illegal immigrant." (IN re Barker) http://www.in.gov/judiciary/files/order-discipline-2013-55S00-1008-DI-429.pdf .... I wonder if when we compare the egregious violations of due process by Judge Brown, to her chiding of another lawyer for politically incorrectness, if there are any conclusions to be drawn about what kind of person, what kind of judge, what kind of apparatchik, is busy implementing the agenda of political correctness and making off-limits legit advocacy about an adverse party in a suit whose illegal alien status is relevant? I am just asking the question, the reader can make own conclsuion. Oh wait-- did I use the wrong adjective-- let me rephrase that, um undocumented alien?

  4. of course the bigger questions of whether or not the people want to pay for ANY bussing is off limits, due to the Supreme Court protecting the people from DEMOCRACY. Several decades hence from desegregation and bussing plans and we STILL need to be taking all this taxpayer money to combat mostly-imagined "discrimination" in the most obviously failed social program of the postwar period.

  5. You can put your photos anywhere you like... When someone steals it they know it doesn't belong to them. And, a man getting a divorce is automatically not a nice guy...? That's ridiculous. Since when is need of money a conflict of interest? That would mean that no one should have a job unless they are already financially solvent without a job... A photographer is also under no obligation to use a watermark (again, people know when a photo doesn't belong to them) or provide contact information. Hey, he didn't make it easy for me to pay him so I'll just take it! Well heck, might as well walk out of the grocery store with a cart full of food because the lines are too long and you don't find that convenient. "Only in Indiana." Oh, now you're passing judgement on an entire state... What state do you live in? I need to characterize everyone in your state as ignorant and opinionated. And the final bit of ignorance; assuming a photo anyone would want is lucky and then how much does your camera have to cost to make it a good photo, in your obviously relevant opinion?

ADVERTISEMENT