Opinion

Start Page: Microsoft Word for lawyers: Give me a (section) break

May 17, 2017
Seth Wilson
This article will show you how to apply two types of page numbering in one document. Future articles will build on this skill to help you craft complex Microsoft Word documents.
More

Indiana Judges Association: Justice Rucker: A lifetime of substantial justice

May 17, 2017
David Dreyer
Justice Rucker showed there are ways a court can be sympathetic without the benefit of law or procedure and benefit a party even when they don’t “win.”
More

DTCI: Corporate, in-house counsel tell why they belong to DTCI

May 17, 2017
Kevin Tyra
To all corporate counsel and in-house counsel (as well as all defense trial counsel): Please consider joining DTCI if you are not already a member and attending DTCI programming, starting with the 50th anniversary annual conference in November.
More

Hammerle on ...'Their Finest,' 'Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2'

May 17, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2." is an enchanting film not to be missed.
More

Cunningham: 5 tips to survive a Daubert challenge  

May 17, 2017
The Daubert standard is one area of the law that concerns attorneys and financial damages experts alike. For a financial expert, no other measure in the federal court system goes to the core of a financial expert’s competence and thoroughness in his or her work product like the Daubert standard. For a trial attorney, a case can often be jeopardized if a Daubert challenge to an expert is successful.
More

Schocke: Tech saves money, attracts talent, keeps employees happy

May 17, 2017
Although legal research has become more efficient, most attorneys still work in the traditional office while sitting at a desk. However, with tools like widespread broadband access, videoconferencing and file sharing systems, it begs the question as to whether the large office footprints and office settings are truly necessary to achieve success.
More

Editor's Perspective: Indiana Lawyer honors outstanding Hoosier attorneys

May 3, 2017
Jennifer Nelson
Let me introduce you to 30 people who will undoubtedly impress you — this year’s Leadership in Law Award winners.
More

Quality of Life: Fight feeling overwhelmed by focusing on just 1 thing

May 3, 2017
Jonna Kane MacDougall
Any number of things can make us feel overwhelmed. The cause could be work, friends, enemies, outside commitments, family responsibilities, clutter, financial problems, inundation by social media, traditional media, news, fake news, or any combination thereof.
More

JLAP: One person’s story of alcohol addiction, recovery

May 3, 2017
Read a first-person account about one lawyer's struggle with alcohol addiction and help received through JLAP.
More

Bradley: What to consider when preparing for mediation

May 3, 2017
Coming to the negotiating table can be stressful, not only for the parties but also for the lawyers involved. Here are some tips based on my experiences for what both sides can do to have a successful mediation.
More

Hays/Raman: Do not treat mediation as routine and ordinary

May 3, 2017
Thomas Hays
Preparation is the key to success. As lawyers and advocates for our clients, this is not a foreign concept to any of us. However, when it comes to mediation, attorneys sometimes forget this key advice.
More

Tech Untangled: Signal Private Messenger provides encrypted texting and more

May 3, 2017
Stephen Bour
I was looking for an easy-to-use encrypted messaging app specifically for texting, and Signal popped up on several searches.
More

Hammerle on… 'Gifted,' 'The Promise'

May 3, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says the love story in "The Promise" distracts from its powerful theme.
More

Neutral Corner: Trials may be vanishing but not the need for mediation

May 3, 2017
John Van Winkle
The phenomenon known as the “vanishing trial” has been a topic of serious discussion, and in some quarters, serious concern, since statistics showing a marked decline in the number of criminal and civil trials were first reported in 2004.
More

Boots: IP audits, management programs have value

April 19, 2017
An IP audit maximizes the value of the organization’s IP assets, mitigates IP liabilities and supports an effective IP management program, which is often made an integral part of its strategic planning.
More

Schantz: Software patents — the phoenix of patent subject matter

April 19, 2017
The Supreme Court shook the foundations of the software patent world in 2012 (Mayo v. Prometheus) and 2014 (Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International), leaving business leaders (and their patent attorneys) to wonder whether — or even hope that — software patents were dead.
More

Making Rain: Avoid being just another vendor

April 19, 2017
Dona Stohler
As a lawyer or law firm, you may have recently experienced a conversation with one or more of your clients that included being, in your opinion, treated like a vendor. This is never the position you want to be in with your client.
More

Living Fit: Why we ‘choke’ and tips on how to avoid it

April 19, 2017
Sharon Buechler
Much like your house can be child-proofed, your memory can be stress-proofed!
More

DTCI: A virtual office for the legal profession?

April 19, 2017
While some law firms have already implemented policies that allow work-from-home arrangements on a part-time or full-time basis, it has not yet become the norm in our profession. However, could this be the wave of the future?
More

Dean's Desk: Guarding Legal Services Corp. from Trump budget cuts

April 5, 2017
Andrea D. Lyon
While Legal Services Corp. has been demonized in various ways over the years as troublemakers or leftist political actors, studies tell us that providing access to basic services produces economic benefits for state and local governments.
More

Eye on the Profession: Lawyer succession planning is easier said than done

April 5, 2017
John Trimble
It is fair to say that there may be no hotter topic in the legal world right now than succession planning.
More

Start Page: Microsoft Word for the legal profession — format defaults

April 5, 2017
Seth Wilson
Can Microsoft Word help you maintain competence and avoid procrastination? Yes, if you take some time to make your software tools work for you.
More

Hammerle on… 'The Shack,' 'Beauty and the Beast'

April 5, 2017
Robert Hammerle
Bob Hammerle says "The Shack" felt like an emotional and moral reawakening.
More

Inside the Criminal Case: Race, talking to jurors and impeachment

March 22, 2017
James Bell
As is typical in these articles, nine years of hard work by attorneys is summarized in three paragraphs and some writer like me says, “eventually this case landed before the United States Supreme Court.”
More

Adolay: The consequences of improper employee classification

March 22, 2017
A dangerous yet continued way of thinking by some companies is that the company can enter into a contract with an individual and call it an independent contractor agreement, agree on how that agreement will be structured, and be protected from liability normally attributed to an employer. This misconception carries a potential for significant damages for the company and its decision-makers.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer
  1. File under the Sociology of Hoosier Discipline ... “We will be answering the complaint in due course and defending against the commission’s allegations,” said Indianapolis attorney Don Lundberg, who’s representing Hudson in her disciplinary case. FOR THOSE WHO DO NOT KNOW ... Lundberg ran the statist attorney disciplinary machinery in Indy for decades, and is now the "go to guy" for those who can afford him .... the ultimate insider for the well-to-do and/or connected who find themselves in the crosshairs. It would appear that this former prosecutor knows how the game is played in Circle City ... and is sacrificing accordingly. See more on that here ... http://www.theindianalawyer.com/supreme-court-reprimands-attorney-for-falsifying-hours-worked/PARAMS/article/43757 Legal sociologists could have a field day here ... I wonder why such things are never studied? Is a sacrifice to the well connected former regulators a de facto bribe? Such questions, if probed, could bring about a more just world, a more equal playing field, less Stalinist governance. All of the things that our preambles tell us to value could be advanced if only sunshine reached into such dark worlds. As a great jurist once wrote: "Publicity is justly commended as a remedy for social and industrial diseases. Sunlight is said to be the best of disinfectants; electric light the most efficient policeman." Other People's Money—and How Bankers Use It (1914). Ah, but I am certifiable, according to the Indiana authorities, according to the ISC it can be read, for believing such trite things and for advancing such unwanted thoughts. As a great albeit fictional and broken resistance leaders once wrote: "I am the dead." Winston Smith Let us all be dead to the idea of maintaining a patently unjust legal order.

  2. The Department of Education still has over $100 million of ITT Education Services money in the form of $100+ million Letters of Credit. That money was supposed to be used by The DOE to help students. The DOE did nothing to help students. The DOE essentially stole the money from ITT Tech and still has the money. The trustee should be going after the DOE to get the money back for people who are owed that money, including shareholders.

  3. Do you know who the sponsor of the last-minute amendment was?

  4. Law firms of over 50 don't deliver good value, thats what this survey really tells you. Anybody that has seen what they bill for compared to what they deliver knows that already, however.

  5. My husband left me and the kids for 2 years, i did everything humanly possible to get him back i prayed i even fasted nothing worked out. i was so diver-stated, i was left with nothing no money to pay for kids up keep. my life was tearing apart. i head that he was trying to get married to another lady in Italy, i look for urgent help then i found Dr.Mack in the internet by accident, i was skeptical because i don’t really believe he can bring husband back because its too long we have contacted each other, we only comment on each other status on Facebook and when ever he come online he has never talks anything about coming back to me, i really had to give Dr.Mack a chance to help me out, luckily for me he was God sent and has made everything like a dream to me, Dr.Mack told me that everything will be fine, i called him and he assured me that my Husband will return, i was having so many doubt but now i am happy,i can’t believe it my husband broke up with his Italian lady and he is now back to me and he can’t even stay a minute without me, all he said to me was that he want me back, i am really happy and i cried so much because it was unbelievable, i am really happy and my entire family are happy for me but they never know whats the secret behind this…i want you all divorce lady or single mother, unhappy relationship to please contact this man for help and everything will be fine i really guarantee you….if you want to contact him you can reach him through dr.mac@yahoo. com..,

ADVERTISEMENT