Rush named next chief justice

Back to TopCommentsE-mailPrintBookmark and Share

Loretta Rush was selected the next chief justice of the Indiana Supreme Court Wednesday by the seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission.

Rush will succeed outgoing Chief Justice Brent Dickson, who announced earlier this year he would step down from the court’s leadership position by Sept. 1, but will remain on the court. Dickson, who as chief justice chairs the commission, must retire from the court when he turns 75 in July 2016.

She is the first female chief justice of the Indiana Supreme Court and only the second woman to serve on the bench.

The commission made its selection after interviews with each of the four other justices earlier Wednesday.

Read more about Indiana’s next chief justice online and in the Aug. 13 print edition of the Indiana Lawyer.


    LONG LIVE CHIEF JUSTICE LORETTA RUSH!!! This is a truly great day for Indiana!

Post a comment to this story

We reserve the right to remove any post that we feel is obscene, profane, vulgar, racist, sexually explicit, abusive, or hateful.
You are legally responsible for what you post and your anonymity is not guaranteed.
Posts that insult, defame, threaten, harass or abuse other readers or people mentioned in Indiana Lawyer editorial content are also subject to removal. Please respect the privacy of individuals and refrain from posting personal information.
No solicitations, spamming or advertisements are allowed. Readers may post links to other informational websites that are relevant to the topic at hand, but please do not link to objectionable material.
We may remove messages that are unrelated to the topic, encourage illegal activity, use all capital letters or are unreadable.

Messages that are flagged by readers as objectionable will be reviewed and may or may not be removed. Please do not flag a post simply because you disagree with it.

Sponsored by
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer