St. Joseph judicial election bill out of committee

Back to TopCommentsE-mailPrintBookmark and Share

The bill requiring the non-partisan election of Superior Court judges in St. Joseph County has made it out of committee. The Committee on Courts and Criminal Code voted unanimously Wednesday to pass and adopt HB 1491, based on the roll call listed for the bill. The vote was filed today. HB 1491 provides judges will be elected to six-year terms. It also repeals other provisions concerning judicial retention elections in St. Joseph County.

Rep. Craig Fry, D-Mishawaka, who authored this bill, also sponsors HJR 9, which would require Indiana Supreme Court justices be elected instead of appointed and retained.


Post a comment to this story

We reserve the right to remove any post that we feel is obscene, profane, vulgar, racist, sexually explicit, abusive, or hateful.
You are legally responsible for what you post and your anonymity is not guaranteed.
Posts that insult, defame, threaten, harass or abuse other readers or people mentioned in Indiana Lawyer editorial content are also subject to removal. Please respect the privacy of individuals and refrain from posting personal information.
No solicitations, spamming or advertisements are allowed. Readers may post links to other informational websites that are relevant to the topic at hand, but please do not link to objectionable material.
We may remove messages that are unrelated to the topic, encourage illegal activity, use all capital letters or are unreadable.

Messages that are flagged by readers as objectionable will be reviewed and may or may not be removed. Please do not flag a post simply because you disagree with it.

Sponsored by
Subscribe to Indiana Lawyer