All appeals judges retained by voters

  • Print

The four Indiana appellate judges up for retention this year received approval from voters Tuesday.

Indiana Chief Justice Loretta Rush and Indiana Tax Judge Martha Wentworth each received nearly 69 percent “yes” votes as to whether each should be retained; Indiana Supreme Court Justice Mark Massa and Indiana Court of Appeals Judge Rudolph Pyle III each received around 67 percent “yes” votes.

More than 1 million ballots were cast regarding Rush’s retention. Voters cast nearly 1 million each for the remaining judges up for retention.

Massa, Rush and Pyle were appointed to their respective courts in 2012; Wentworth was appointed to the Tax Court in January 2011.

Once appointed to court, a judge or justice must stand for retention at the first statewide general election after the justice or judge has served for two full years.

If retained, the appeals judge will then be on the retention ballot every 10 years.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}