Judges to join students in Constitution Day celebration

September 14, 2015

Indiana appellate and trial court judges along with Indiana Supreme Court attorneys will be celebrating Constitution Day by visiting with more than 2,500 students across the state.

To mark the anniversary of the signing of the U.S. Constitution (Sept. 17, 1787), about 400 students from seven school in central Indiana are scheduled to attend the Supreme Court’s oral arguments on Sept. 17 from 9 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.

Also, judges will visit classrooms around the state to teach students about the role of a judge in applying the law. The program will engage the students and have them consider when a juvenile should be waived to adult court.

Judges will be presenting the program in the following counties:

Judge Blaine Akers at Northview High School

Judge Brad Jacobs at Charlestown High School

Judge Sally McLaughlin

Magistrate David Najjar at Durbin Elementary School and Fishers High School

Judge Mary Willis at New Castle High School

Juvenile Referee Erik May at Kokomo Center Schools

Judge Bruce Markel III at Seymour Middle School

Judge Julie Cantrell at Solon Robinson Elementary and Andrean High School
Judge John Sedia at Scott Middle School

Judge Thomas Alevizos at LaPorte High School
Magistrate Jonathan Forker at LaPorte High School
Magistrate Nancy Gettinger
Judge Kathleen Lang at Boston Middle School
Magistrate Pamela Munsey at LaPorte High School

Court of Appeals Judge Robert Altice at Perry Meridian High School
Magistrate Diana Burleson at Cathedral High School
Commissioner John Christ at Cathedral High School
Supreme Court Attorney Michael Commons at Sidener Academy
Judge Barbara Crawford at Cathedral High School
Judge Kurt Eisgruber at Bishop Chatard High School
Commissioner Therese Hannah at St. Roch Catholic School
Judge Sheryl Lynch at Snacks Crossing Elementary School
Judge Helen Marchal at Amy Beverland Elementary and the Math and Science Academy
Supreme Court Attorney Libby Milliken at Sidener Academy
Judge Tim Oakes at St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School
Court of Appeals Judge Patricia Riley at Cathedral High School
Judge Heather Welch at Cathedral High School and St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School

Judge Tim Spahr at Peru High School

Judge Jeryl Leach
Judge Kelsey Hanlon at Owen Valley Middle School
Judge Lori Thatcher-Quillen at Owen Valley Middle School

Judge Charles Bridges at Greencastle Middle School

Judge David Riggins at Triton Central High School

St. Joseph
Judge Steven Hostetler at Penn High School
Judge Elizabeth Hurley at Penn High School

Judge Randy Williams at McCutcheon High School

Judge Christopher Newton

Judge Charles Todd Jr. at Hagerstown Jr.-Sr. High School

The Community Relations Committee of the Indiana Judicial Conference is a partner in this outreach project.   


Recent Articles by Marilyn Odendahl