30 justice applicants bring varied backgrounds

  • Print

The lawyers and judges vying to become the next Indiana justice include a one-time Swiss Alps guide, an aerobics instructor, and a former Indiana University football player. At least three got their start working at McDonald’s, and more have lived in Rensselaer (three) than were born in Indianapolis (two).

applicant-admitted-chart.gifThose tidbits and much more are contained in the applications of the 30 people who want to replace Justice Brent Dickson on the Indiana Supreme Court. The applications were released Jan. 28, along with the schedule of public interviews of the applicants by the Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission on Feb. 17-19.

applicant-age-chart.gifWednesday, Feb. 17

9-10:15 a.m.: Executive session to consider applications


10:45-11:05 a.m.: Thomas P. Yoder, Barrett McNagny LLP, Fort Wayne

11:05-11:25 a.m.: Geoffrey G. Slaughter, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP, Indianapolis

applicant-school-chart.gif11:25-11:45 a.m.: Thomas E. Wheeler II, Frost Brown Todd LLC, Indianapolis

(Lunch – executive session)

1:30-1:50 p.m.: Judge Thomas J. Felts, Allen Circuit Court, Fort Wayne

1:50-2:10 p.m.: Peter J. Rusthoven, Barnes & Thornburg LLP, Indianapolis

2:10-2:30 p.m.: Judge Vicki L. Carmichael, Clark Circuit Court 4, New Albany


2:45-3:05 p.m.: David E. Cook, Indiana Alcohol & Tobacco Commission, Indianapolis

3:05-3:25 p.m.: Curtis E. Shirley, Indianapolis

applicants-map.gif3:25-3:45 p.m.: Mark A. Lienhoop, Newby Lewis Kaminski & Jones LLP, LaPorte

Thursday, Feb. 18

9:30-9:50 a.m.: Judge James R. Ahler, Jasper Superior Court, Rensselaer

9:50-10:10 a.m.: Judge Sally A. McLaughlin, Dearborn Superior Court 2, Lawrenceburg

10:10-10:30 a.m.: Judge Matthew C. Kincaid, Boone Superior Court 1, Lebanon


10:45-11:05 a.m.: Jaime M. Oss, Huelat Mack & Kreppein P.C., Michigan City

11:05-11:25 a.m.: Judge Larry W. Medlock, Washington Circuit Court, Salem

11:25-11:45 a.m.: John H. Shean, Shean Law Offices, Bloomington

(Lunch – executive session)

1:30-1:50 p.m.: Judge Steven L. Hostetler, St. Joseph Superior Court, South Bend

1:50-2:10 p.m.: Eugene N. Chipman Jr., Marshall County Prosecutor’s Office, Plymouth

2:10-2:30 p.m.: Leanna K. Weissmann, Lawrenceburg


2:45-3:05 p.m.: Judge Frances C. Gull, Allen Superior Court, Fort Wayne

3:05-3:25 p.m.: Judge Darrin M. Dolehanty, Wayne Superior Court 3, Richmond

3:25-3:45 p.m.: Elizabeth C. Green, Riley Bennett & Egloff LLP, Indianapolis

Friday, Feb. 19

9-9:20 a.m.: Bryce D. Owens, Owens and Owens, Pendleton

9:20-9:40 a.m.: Ted A. Waggoner, Peterson Waggoner & Perkins LLP, Rochester

9:40-10 a.m.: Judge Kit C. Crane, Henry Circuit Court 2, New Castle


10:15-10:35 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Paul R. Cherry, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Indiana, Hammond

10:35-10:55 a.m.: Rep. Thomas W. Washburne, Old National Bancorp, Evansville

10:55-11:15 a.m.: Indiana Solicitor General Thomas M. Fisher, Indianapolis


11:30-11:50 a.m.: Lyle R. Hardman, Hunt Suedhoff Kalamaros LLP, South Bend

11:50-12:10 p.m.: Karen A. Wyle, Karen A. Wyle Law Office, Bloomington

12:10-12:30 p.m.: Judge Steven R. Nation, Hamilton Superior Court 1, Noblesville


12:45 p.m.: Lunch and deliberations in executive session

The interviews are open to the public and will take place at the Indiana State House in Room 319.

The commission, led by Chief Justice Loretta Rush and consisting of three lawyers and three lay members from around the state, is tasked with finding the most qualified candidates to replace the retiring justice. Dickson, the second-longest-tenured justice in Indiana history, announced he will assume senior judge status April 29, after 30 years on the bench.The commission will narrow the 30 candidates to a list of semifinalists who will be interviewed in a second round March 3-4. The commission then will narrow the candidates to three, submitting the finalists to Gov. Mike Pence, who then will have 60 days to make an appointment.•

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}