Cass County adopts e-filing; Elkhart up next

July 18, 2016

Cass County became the 10th in the state to implement electronic filing in its Circuit and Superior courts Monday, and the rollout of e-filing will continue next Monday when Elkhart County begins to offer the service.

The courthouse in Logansport joins others in Indiana scheduled to switch to electronic filing by the end of 2018. E-filing became mandatory July 1 in the Indiana Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Tax Court, and in Hamilton Circuit and Superior courts.

By Sept. 16, e-filing will be mandatory for subsequent filings in open cases in Cass and all other counties that have initiated voluntary e-filing to date. Those counties include Clark, Floyd, Harrison, Hendricks, Henry, Madison, Shelby and Wells.  Those counties, with the exception of Wells County courts, make the switch to mandatory e-filing Sept. 1. Wells County will begin Aug. 29.

Thirteen additional counties — including Marion, Johnson and Monroe — are scheduled to adopt voluntary e-filing by year’s end.  A schedule for rolling out e-filing in those counties is available here. Other counties are planned to go live with e-filing this year but have not yet set a roll-out date.


Recent Articles by IL Staff