LaPorte County joins 40 others in allowing e-filing

LaPorte Circuit and Superior courts went live with e-filing Friday, becoming the 41st county to have either voluntary or mandatory e-filing in Indiana.

Jefferson Circuit and Superior courts started allowing e-filing on Wednesday. E-filing will become mandatory for all filings in those counties in June. Currently, only in Hamilton County must both initial and subsequent filings be done electronically.

The majority of counties where e-filing is available but not yet mandatory, including Allen, Clark, Hendricks, Marion, and Vanderburgh counties, will make the switch to requiring e-filing of all filings May 5.

Twenty more counties are scheduled to implement voluntary e-filing by the end of the year, as well as Carmel City Court and Warren Township Small Claims Court in Marion County.

The state’s appellate courts also have mandatory e-filing for subsequent filings. No date has been announced for when those courts will require initial filings be done electronically.

The e-filing schedule is available on the state courts’ website.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}