IPAC elects Washington County prosecutor as chairman

Keywords Prosecutors
  • Print
Listen to this story

Subscriber Benefit

As a subscriber you can listen to articles at work, in the car, or while you work out. Subscribe Now
This audio file is brought to you by
Loading audio file, please wait.
  • 0.25
  • 0.50
  • 0.75
  • 1.00
  • 1.25
  • 1.50
  • 1.75
  • 2.00

A southern Indiana prosecutor who previously chaired the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council’s board of directors will lead the organization again.

Washington County Prosecutor Dustin Houchin was elected to the post and a two-year term on the board Thursday during the IPAC/Indiana Attorney General 2017 Summer Conference in Bloomington. He previously chaired the IPAC board in 2014.

Other officers elected for 2017 are Kenneth Cotter, St. Joseph County prosecutor, vice chairman; and Lisa Swaim, Cass County prosecutor, secretary/treasurer.

Along with Houchin and Swaim, other prosecutors elected to a two-year term were Bruce Aukerman (Vermillion County), Terry Curry (Marion County) and outgoing chairman Daniel Murrie (Daviess County). Along with Cotter, prosecutors elected for a one-year term are Jeffrey L. Arnold (Delaware County), Christopher Gaal (Monroe County), William Hartley Jr. (Wabash County) and Anthony Quinn (Dubois County). Boone County Prosecutor Todd Meyer will serve as the board’s at-large member to the IPAC executive committee.

About 130 elected and appointed prosecutors, deputy prosecutors and deputy attorneys general attended the three-day conference that included training on prosecuting strangulation and cases involving abusive head trauma, as well as sessions on ethics, criminal appeals, identity theft, domestic violence, felony diversions and other matters.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}