IndyBar: Recognition Awards Honor Indy’s Leading Legal Professionals

Each year, professionals throughout the Indy legal community are honored by the IndyBar at the annual Recognition Breakfast. This year’s event will take place on Tuesday, November 21 at Meridian Hills Country Club, where the efforts and dedication of a variety of IndyBar members will be recognized. Registration for the breakfast is now open at

The recipient of the President’s Award for Service to the Association is the Membership Value Task Force, led by chair Reynold Berry of Rubin & Levin PC. This work group has dedicated significant time and effort to researching and evaluating membership benefits and services and crafting innovative new membership options that will launch in early 2018.

Members of the work group are:

Chair: Reynold Berry, Rubin & Levin PC

Justin Allen, Plews Shadley Racher & Braun LLP

Sara Blevins, Lewis & Kappes

Jayna Cacioppo, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Courtney Chilcote Corley, Chilcote Kibbe & Hillery PC

Lindsay Rei Falkenberg, Kids’ Voice of Indiana

Laura Gorman, Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Pamela Grant-Taylor, Law Office of Pamela Grant Taylor

Alexander Limontes, Law Office of William W. Hurst

Elizabeth Polleys Burden, Department of Workforce Development

Elizabeth Shuster, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Commissioner James Snyder, Marion Superior Court

The IndyBar Bar Exam Improvements Task Force will be honored with the Board of Directors Award. This task force, a collaborative effort of the Indianapolis Bar Association, Indiana State Bar Association, and Marion County Bar Association, underwent an 18-month study and issued an 82-page report that offered comprehensive analysis and recommendations on assessing competency to be admitted to practice law in the State of Indiana. Co-Chairs Hon. Jane Magnus Stinson of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana and John Maley of Barnes & Thornburg LLP will accept the award on behalf of the 23-member task force.

Magistrate Judge Tim A. Baker of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Indiana was recently nominated by United States Supreme Court Chief Justice John G. Roberts to the Board of Directors of the Federal Judicial Center, a recognition of his “exemplary and unwavering” commitment to judicial education. Judge Baker’s nomination was approved by a vote of the Judicial Confernece of the United States, and he will receive the association’s Dr. Morton Finney Jr. Award for Excellence in Legal Education to honor this accomplishment and his long-standing dedication to legal education.

Also to be recognized at the breakfast is IndyBar Young Lawyer of the Year, Julie Mahomed of Calumet Specialty Products Partners LP. Mahomed currently serves as chair of the IndyBar Young Lawyers Division following several years of involvement with both the division and the IndyBar Health Care & Life Sciences Section.

Congratulations to these worthy recipients!•

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}