IndyBar: G. Pearson Smith Receives the 2017 Patricia Paxton Wagner Award

smith-g-pearson Smith

G. Pearson Smith, Bose McKinney & Evans LLP, has been named the 2017 recipient of the IndyBar Estate Planning & Administration Section’s Patricia Paxton Wagner Award for Excellence in Estate Planning and Administration. This award is bestowed annually by the section on a discretionary basis to an estate planning professional selected by the section’s executive committee. Recipients are noted as having “extraordinary efforts and positive achievements” in one or more of four categories relating to estate planning and administration law by the committee.

Previous recipients of the award have included Robert H. Everitt, trust officer with NBD Bank and later First Indiana Trust and M&I Bank; the late Charles J. Deiter, judge of the Marion County probate court; and attorney Aline Anderson.

Pearson was formerly the chair of the IndyBar’s Tax Section and was a member of the IndyBar’s Estate Planning Administration Executive Committee. In addition, he is a Fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel and has been certified as an Indiana Trust and Estate Lawyer by the Indiana Trust and Estate Specialty Board (TESB).

Patricia Paxton (Pat) Wagner, for whom the award is named, was a prominent and universally respected trust officer with the various banks that eventually became Bank One and then JPMorgan Chase. She was a 1978 alumna of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law, and died in July 2004.

Celebrate all of Smith’s accomplishments as he is honored at this year’s Estate Planning & Administration Section Holiday Party on December 12. Register online at•

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}