Vollmer, Bryant honored by Evansville Bar Association

April 23, 2018

Two women attorneys described as “silent leaders” were recognized by the Evansville Bar Association Friday for their service and contribution to the legal community.

Susan Vollmer, former director of the EBA and the Evansville Bar Foundation from 2008 to 2018, received the James Bethel Gresham Freedom Award. Michele Bryant, partner at Wooden McLaughlin LLP, received the Doran Perdue Service Award.

The pair were recognized as part of the EBA’s annual Law Day celebration.

"This year’s award recipients are two of the silent leaders in our bar association and we can’t thank them enough for all they do,” said Clay Havill, president of the Evansville Bar Association. “They exemplify what it means to be a member of our bar association.”

Vollmer oversaw continuing legal education programming and events hosted by the bar association plus helped boost the association’s membership to the highest level in its 107-year history. Also, she serves on the board of directors for the Volunteer Lawyer Program and is involved in other community activities.

Bryant is currently chair of the Lawyer Assistance Program and a member of both the EBA and EBF board of directors. In addition, she is the past president of the Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana and has served on the DTCI amicus committee.

Outside of the legal profession, Bryant is an active member of Kiwanis, where she is instrumental in the high school scholarship program and serves on the board of trustees for Aldersgate United Methodist Church.

The Gresham Freedom Award is named after James Bethel Gresham, who lived in Evansville and is believed to be the first American soldier to die in combat during World War I. The award honors those individuals who have distinguished themselves in activities or careers that have elevated respect for the law, promoted freedom or otherwise furthered the ideals for which Law Day is recognized and celebrated.

The Perdue Service Award is named in honor of Doran Perdue, EBA president from 1982 to 1983, who expanded countless hours on behalf of EBA to open the office, fund the staff and formalize the association. The award honors the EBA members who have provided outstanding service to the association during the preceding year or outstanding service on an association project, committee or section.




Recent Articles by IL Staff