Supreme Court certifies 3 senior judges

Three northern Indiana trial court judges have been approved for senior judge certification.

The Indiana Supreme Court on Thuirsday certified senior judge status for St. Joseph Superior Judge David C. Chapleau, former Allen Superior Judge Charles F. Pratt and Randolph Superior Judge Peter D. Haviza.

Pratt retired from the Allen Superior Court effective Saturday. His senior judge certification is effective through Dec. 31.

Three finalists have been nominated to succeed Pratt: Allen Circuit Magistrate Judge Ashley Hand and Allen Superior magistrate judges Sherry Hartzler and Lori Morgan. Indiana Gov. Eric Holcomb will make the final selection on Pratt’s successor.

Haviza retired from the Randolph Superior Court Dec. 29, according to the Winchester News Gazette. He was succeeded by Judge Dale Arnett, who ran unopposed in November to fill Haviza’s seat.

Chapleau was retained with a 77.5% favorable vote in November before seeking senior judge status. The Supreme Court’s order does not explain why Chapleau sought senior judge status, nor has the court announced a vacancy in his seat on the St. Joseph Superior Court bench that would be filled through a merit selection process.

Like Pratt, Haviza and Chapleau will retain senior judge status through Dec. 31.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}