12 selected as Court of Appeals semifinalists

Editor’s note: This story has been updated.

The Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission has selected 12 of applicants as semifinalists to succeed Judge James Kirsch on the Indiana Court of Appeals.

The JNC voted Friday evening to advance the semifinalists to a second round of interviews. The semifinalists include:

  • Stephanie K. Bibbs
  • Stephen R. Creason
  • Judge Mark K. Dudley, Madison Circuit Court
  • Judge Paul A. Felix, Hamilton Circuit Court
  • Elizabeth C. Green
  • Derek R. Molter
  • Judge Timothy W. Oakes, Marion Superior Court
  • Judge Brant J. Parry, Howard Superior Court
  • Patrick W. Price
  • Zachary J. Stock
  • Judge Lisa L. Swaim, Cass Superior Court
  • Judge Heather A. Welch, Marion Superior Court

The seven-member commission interviewed 23 candidates Thursday and Friday to succeed Kirsch, who is retiring in September. The other candidates interviewed but not selected as semifinalists were:

  • Judge Jonathan Brown, Hamilton Superior Court
  • Brad A. Catlin
  • Judge Kurt M. Eisgruber, Marion Superior Court
  • Judge Faith A. Graham, Tippecanoe Superior Court
  • Judge James A. Joven, Marion Superior Court
  • Cynthia E. Lasher
  • Judge Patricia C. McMath, Marion Superior Court
  • Patricia P. McCrory
  • Judge Gary L. Miller, Marion Superior Court
  • Bryce D. Owens
  • Paul C. Sweeney

The semifinalists will be interviewed on June 8. The JNC will ultimately narrow the pool of applicants to three finalists, who will be submitted to Gov. Eric Holcomb for selection. The Court of Appeals has 15 judges.

Coverage of Friday’s interviews will be available Monday. Live coverage from both days is available on Twitter at @Indiana_Lawyer.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets in {{ count_down }} days.