13 applicants seek Marion Superior Court judgeship

Keywords Marion County
  • Print
Listen to this story

Subscriber Benefit

As a subscriber you can listen to articles at work, in the car, or while you work out. Subscribe Now
This audio file is brought to you by
Loading audio file, please wait.
  • 0.25
  • 0.50
  • 0.75
  • 1.00
  • 1.25
  • 1.50
  • 1.75
  • 2.00
(IL file photo)

The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee will interview 13 applicants next week for the vacancy created by Marion Superior Judge Cynthia Ayers’ retirement.

Six magistrates and seven attorneys have applied and will be interviewed on April 26.

The interviews are open to the public and will be held in the Indiana Supreme Court Conference Room in Statehouse Room 319, 200 W. Washington St.

After the interviews,  the selection committee will go into executive session to consider applicants, then hold a public vote.

Ultimately, the committee must select three finalists for the vacancy. It will then submit the names of the finalists to Gov. Eric Holcomb, who will have 60 days to appoint a new judge.

Here’s the interview schedule and list of applicants.

Friday, April 26
9 a.m.-9:20 a.m. – Magistrate Matthew Symons
9:20 a.m.-9:40 a.m. – James Jared, III
9:40 a.m.-10 a.m. – Magistrate Patricia McMath
10:15 a.m.-10:35 a.m. – Matthew Dodson
10:35 a.m.-10:55 a.m. – Magistrate Marcia Harper
10:55 a.m.-11:15 a.m. – Magistrate Travis Shields
11:30 a.m.-11:50 a.m. – Magistrate Sarah Glasser
11:50 a.m.-12:10 p.m. – Magistrate Tiffany Vivo
12:10 p.m.-12:30 p.m. – Daniel Thomas
1:40 p.m.-2 p.m. – Colin Flora
2 p.m.-2:20 p.m. – Justin Olson
2:35 p.m.-2:55 p.m. – John Molloy III
2:55 p.m.-3:15 p.m. – John Lowrey

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}