New laws on slowpoke drivers, rape charges taking effect

The religious objections bill that sparked threats to boycott Indiana is the highest-profile state law taking effect Wednesday, but several dozen others also are officially going on the books.

Among those is a requirement that drivers in the left lanes of multi-lane highways move over for faster vehicles or risk $500 fines.

The minimum age to obtain a driver's license is dropping by three months to 16 years and three months for those who've completed driver education classes.

Another change will allow rape charges to be filed after the five-year statute of limitations has expired if authorities find new DNA evidence or the attacker confesses. That change comes after a man admitted in 2013 to raping an Indianapolis college student nine years earlier but couldn't be prosecuted.

A complete list of new laws in Indiana for 2015 is available here.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}