Three magistrates named as finalists for Allen Superior vacancy

January 24, 2018

Three magistrate judges have been selected as finalists to fill an upcoming vacancy in the Allen Superior Court.

The Allen Superior Court Judicial Nominating Commission announced Wednesday it had selected magistrates Michael Douglass, Daniel Pappas and Andrea Trevino as finalists. Gov. Eric Holcomb has 60 days to appoint one of them to replace Allen Superior Judge Daniel G. Heath. Douglass and Pappas currently serve as magistrates in the county’s superior court, while Trevino serves in the circuit court.

The Allen County JNC interviewed nine applicants Tuesday and Wednesday to fill the vacancy that will be created when Heath retires on Feb. 28. Ten applications had applied, https://www.theindianalawyer.com/articles/45913-to-be-interviewed-forallen-countyjudgeship  but one candidate withdrew from consideration. An Indiana Supreme Court spokeswoman did not immediately return a message seeking the name of that candidate.

The appointment of the next Allen Superior judge will mark the governor’s second opportunity to select a judicial officer based on the recommendations of a judicial nominating commission. Last year, he selected then-Wabash Superior Judge Christopher Goff to become the 110th Indiana Supreme Court justice from a pool of three finalists that also included Clark Circuit Judge Vicki Carmichael and Boone Superior Judge Matthew Kincaid.  

Though Marion County is in the early days of utilizing a judicial selection committee to appoint and retain judges, the Allen County Judicial Nominating Commission has been operational since 1983. Its current members include are Holly Brady, Ben Eisbart, Angela Moellering, Paul Sturm, Mark Terrell and Douglas Ulmer. Indiana Supreme Court Justice Steven David chairs the commission.


Recent Articles by IL Staff