First Marion County judicial retention interviews begin Monday

March 9, 2018

Marion County’s new Judicial Selection Committee will begin the county’s first judicial retention interviews next week.

A group of 17 judges will sit for interviews with the 14-person committee on Monday and Tuesday. Chaired by Indiana Supreme Court Justice Mark Massa, the committee will make recommendations for retention based on a new merit selection process that replaced Marion County’s former judicial slating system.

The 17 judges whose terms expire in 2018 and who are seeking retention include: Lisa Borges, Linda Brown, Sheila Carlisle, John MT Chavis II, Steven Eichholtz, Alicia Gooden, Clayton Graham, John Hanley, Grant Hawkins, Amy Jones, James Joven, Helen Marchal, William Nelson, Clark Rogers, Jose Salinas, Mark Stoner and Heather Welch. The interviews are open to the public, and the full schedule can be found here.

Three Marion County Judges – Democrats Thomas Carroll and Rebekah Pierson-Treacy and Republican Michael Keele – will retire at the end of 2018 and, thus, will not go through the retention process. The Judicial Selection Committee is now accepting applications to fill those impending vacancies and will send three names for each vacancy to Gov. Eric Holcomb for consideration.


Recent Articles by IL Staff