City courts finishing e-filing rollout

  • Print

Electronic filing is now available in the Lake County Hobart City Court, one of just a handful of city courts finishing out the e-filing rollout.

By Nov. 26, e-filing will be mandatory for attorneys in the Hobart City Court for all subsequent and initial filings in case types that allow it.

Up next to implement voluntary e-filing are Dearborn County’s Lawrenceburg City Court and Johnson County’s Franklin City Court on Oct. 4 and Nov. 1, respectively. The Lawrenceburg City Court will be required to make the mandatory switch Dec. 3, and the Franklin City Court will follow Dec. 31.

Members of the legal community, state judiciary and Indiana Supreme Court celebrated the conclusion of a years-long rollout of e-filing statewide last month. The Supreme Court’s initial goal for the statewide rollout to be completed by the end of 2018 was extended to accommodate seven counties who wanted to first implement the Odyssey online case management system before making the e-filing transition.

Sullivan County was the last of Indiana’s 92 counties to make the digital switch back in August. Courts in that county will require mandatory e-filing Oct. 8.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}