IN Supreme Court amends OJA administrative rules

  • Print
Listen to this story

Subscriber Benefit

As a subscriber you can listen to articles at work, in the car, or while you work out. Subscribe Now
This audio file is brought to you by
Loading audio file, please wait.
  • 0.25
  • 0.50
  • 0.75
  • 1.00
  • 1.25
  • 1.50
  • 1.75
  • 2.00
The Indiana Supreme Court bench. (IL file photo)

The Indiana Supreme Court has amended rules to the Indiana Office of Judicial Administration, with the amendments removing certain sections and updating others of OJA’s Rule 20.

The amended section A reads, “The Office of Judicial Administration, pursuant to Indiana Code § 33-24-6-1, is headed by the CAO (Chief Administrative Officer) of the Indiana Supreme Court. OJA and the CAO assist the Chief Justice and the Court in discharging their constitutional responsibilities to serve as Indiana’s court of last resort, regulate the practice and profession of law, provide for the administration of justice, and supervise the exercise of jurisdiction by the other courts.”

The amendment removed section B, C and E and changed section D to section B, entitled “Organization of the Indiana Office of Administration.”

The new section B reads, “With the approval of the Supreme Court and Chief Justice, the CAO shall organize the IOJA’s work into such offices as are necessary and appoint appropriate personnel to manage and staff them.”

A newly added section C, entitled “Appellate Clerk” states, “The Clerk of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and Tax Court is subject to and governed by the policies and processes of OJA and the CAO with respect to personnel management and human resources; facilities and security; fiscal matters, such as budgeting, procurement, purchasing, and payment of claims; technology; public information, communications, and outreach, including website presence; negotiation, format, and execution of non-case-related contracts; and any other approved general policies and procedures.”

The amendments went into effect immediately on July 26.

Chief Justice Loretta Rush issued the order and all justices concurred.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}