IndyBar: 2023 IndyBar Section/Division Award Recipients

  • Print

IndyBar is honored to announce the winners of these awards for 2023.

The Deborah J. Shook Award for Excellence in Family Law recognizes Family Law section members who have made contributions to the legal profession and community, specifically demonstrating a commitment to furthering knowledge of issues affecting families as they relate to the law. This year it is awarded to Shelley Haymaker, Attorney at Law.

The Michael C. Daniells E-Discovery Professional of the Year Award: The E-Discovery, Information Governance and Cybersecurity Section recognizes professionals who have positively contributed or stand out in the local sector. This year it is awarded to Doug Swetnam, Office of the Indiana Attorney General.

The Criminal Justice Section Lifetime Achievement Award is periodically presented to a seasoned public servant within Indy’s criminal justice community. It honors an individual who has worked tirelessly to make the criminal justice system a better place for everyone. This year the award is given to Fran Watson, Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law.

The Gil I. Berry Award is given to an outstanding member of the legal community by the Criminal Justice Section. It recognizes an exceptional nonlawyer in the criminal justice community in an attempt to shine a light on individuals who work, often behind the scenes, to make our community and profession a better place. This year’s it is jointly awarded to Donna Agal, Sherrie Gibson and Marie Southern who all work at the front desk in the Community Justice Center.

The Patricia Paxton Wagner Excellence in Estate Planning & Administration Award is periodically presented to an individual showing extraordinary efforts and positive achievements administering the law in a fair and efficient manner, achieving and maintaining high standards of prompt service, improving public knowledge and awareness of section-related laws, and working constructively for needed reform of these laws when warranted. This year the award is given to Claire Lewis, Law Office of Claire E. Lewis.

The Women & the Law Division Mentor Award recognizes a need to honor female attorneys who are on the path to becoming trailblazers while also demonstrating a commitment to mentor others. Recipients are not only future leaders in the legal profession, but they are also making a concerted effort to help mentor and train other future trailblazers. The 2023 award was given to Kellie Barr, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana, in February 2023.

The Young Lawyer of the Year Award is given to an IndyBar attorney member who is 36 years old or younger or has been in practice eight years or less and has made exceptional contributions to support the Young Lawyer Division and its activities or programs, is recognized as a good role model for the legal profession, and is deserving of special recognition. This year the award is given to Amanda Gallagher, Barnes & Thornburg LLP.

The Zeff Weiss Excellence in Real Estate Award is potentially awarded to a practicing or recently retired attorney or land use planner in the Indianapolis community who has made significant impacts in the legal and development community in the same manner the original recipient (Zeff Weiss) did throughout his career. This year’s award is given to Rory O’Bryan, Harrison & Moberly LLP.•

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}