Johnson, Myers unanimously approved by judicial committee for U.S. attorney posts

  • Print

The U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary on Thursday approved the U.S. attorney nominees for the Northern and Southern districts of Indiana on a voice vote with none of the senators opposing the Hoosier lawyers.

Now the nominations of Clifford Johnson and Zachary Myers for the Northern and Southern districts, respectively, will head to the full Senate for a confirmation vote at a date to be announced.

Eight nominees for U.S. attorney positions across the country were included on the committee’s agenda. Committee Chair Sen. Dick Durbin, D-Illinois, described the candidates as having “significant prosecutorial experience” and being “well-positioned to serve.”

Johnson and Myers were among the seven whose nominations were voted on as a group by the members of the committee. Rachael Rollins, nominee for U.S. attorney for the District of Massachusetts, was held over for a vote next week.

If Johnson and Myers are confirmed, Indiana will still have a vacancy on the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Indiana. Judge Theresa Lazar Springmann took senior status in January 2021. She has served more than 25 years in the federal judiciary, first as a magistrate judge starting in 1995 and continuing until her appointment as judge in June 2003.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}