Marion Co. interview schedule revised after 3 candidates withdraw

  • Print
Listen to this story

Subscriber Benefit

As a subscriber you can listen to articles at work, in the car, or while you work out. Subscribe Now
This audio file is brought to you by
Loading audio file, please wait.
  • 0.25
  • 0.50
  • 0.75
  • 1.00
  • 1.25
  • 1.50
  • 1.75
  • 2.00
IL file photo

The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee has updated its interview schedule for two vacancies on the Marion Superior Court following the withdrawal of three applicants.

A total of 23 candidates were initially scheduled to interview with the committee on Friday and Monday, but that number is now 20 after candidates Valerie Harvey, Patricia McCrory and John Lowery withdrew their applications.

The remaining 20 candidates will meet with the committee in 20-minute increments as they vie to replace the late Judge Shatrese Flowers, who died Nov. 5, and Judge Heather Welch, who is retiring in February.  The vacancies are in the Criminal and Family divisions.

The interviews are open to the public.

Following the interviews, the committee will meet in executive session before holding a public vote on which applicants will advance to the next step in the process of filling the vacancy. Ultimately, the committee will submit six names to Gov. Eric Holcomb — three for each vacancy — who will make the final appointments.

The updated interview schedule is as follows:

Friday, Dec. 15

9:20-9:40 a.m. – Daniel Tomson

9:40-10:00 a.m. – Magistrate Judge James Snyder

10:15-10:35 a.m. – Andrew Blaiklock

10:35-10:55 a.m. – David Ziemba

10:55-11:15 a.m. – Karen Rominger

11:30-11:50 a.m. – Magistrate Judge Marie Kern

11:50-12:10 p.m. – Gregory Bowes

12:10-12:30 p.m. – Linda Major

1:40-2 p.m. – Pamela Grant-Taylor

2-2:20 p.m. – Magistrate Judge Terrance Tharpe

2:20-2:40 p.m. – Kathleen Meek

2:55-3:15 p.m. – Magistrate Judge Ian Stewart

3:15-3:35 p.m. – Magistrate Judge Katharine “Katie” Melnick

3:35-3:55 p.m. – Jacob Rigney

Monday, Dec. 18

9-9:20 a.m. – Amanda Wishin

9:20-9:40 a.m. – Linda Klain

9:40-10 a.m. – Magistrate Judge Tara Melton

10:15-10:35 a.m. – Magistrate Judge Pauline “Polly” Beeson

10:35-10:55 a.m. – Katherine Zuran

10:55-11:15 a.m. – Eleanor Finnell

11:15-11:35 a.m. – Emily Borchert

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}