Marion Co. judicial interviews altered after 1 candidate withdraws, another becomes unavailable

  • Print
Listen to this story

Subscriber Benefit

As a subscriber you can listen to articles at work, in the car, or while you work out. Subscribe Now
This audio file is brought to you by
Loading audio file, please wait.
  • 0.25
  • 0.50
  • 0.75
  • 1.00
  • 1.25
  • 1.50
  • 1.75
  • 2.00
IL file photo

Editor’s note: This article has been updated.

Changes have been made to the Marion County judicial interviews set for this week after one candidate withdrew her application and another became unavailable for his scheduled interview.

An updated news release from the Indiana Supreme Court says Meagan Dial-McDonough has withdrawn her application to fill one of two vacancies on the Marion Superior Court, created by the retirements of Judges Elizabeth Christ and Marcel Pratt.

Pratt is retiring effective May 31 and Christ retired April 1. Both judges were from the Criminal Division, but the Marion Superior Court Executive Committee decided to transition the two courts vacated by the retiring judges to the Family Division.

The news release also says Gregory Bowes — originally scheduled for an interview on Thursday — is not available to be interviewed during the schedule time but remains under consideration for the vacancies. A Supreme Court staffer told Indiana Lawyer in an email that Bowes is not available to sit for an interview due to a “personal conflict.”

The email also said Dial-McDonough did not provide a reason for her withdrawal.

The updated interview schedule is as follows:


9-9:20 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Kelly Scanlan

9:20-9:40 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Marie Kern

9:55-10:15 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Katie Melnick

10:15-10:35 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Stefanie Crawford

10:35-10:55 a.m.: Magistrate Judge James Snyder

11:10-11:30 a.m.: Pamela Grant-Taylor

11:30-11:50 a.m.: Linda Major

11:50 a.m.-12:10p.m.: Bryan Stoffel

1:30-1:50 p.m.: Magistrate Judge Joel Schneider

1:50-2:10 p.m.: Magistrate Judge Melanie Kendrick

2:10-2:30 p.m.: Magistrate Judge Diane Cowger

2:45-3:05 p.m.: Valerie Johnson

3:05-3:25 p.m.: Kenneth Riggins


9-9:20 a.m.: Valerie Harvey

9:20-9:40 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Eleanor Finnell

9:55-10:15 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Ian Stewart

10:15-10:35 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Tara Melton

10:35-10:55 a.m.: Daniel Tomson

11:10-11:30 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Pauline Beeson

11:30-11:50 a.m.: Philip Sheward

The interviews are open to the public and will be held in the Supreme Court Conference Room, Room 319, in the Indiana Statehouse, 200 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, 46204.

After all interviews, the Marion County Judicial Selection Committee will go into executive session to consider applicants, then hold a public vote.

Ultimately, the committee must select three finalists for each vacancy, for a total of six finalists. It will then submit the names of the finalists to Gov. Eric Holcomb, who will have 60 days to appoint judges to fill each vacancy.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}