Marion Co. Judicial Selection Committee to interview 25 applicants next week for Carlisle, Eichholtz vacancies

  • Print
The Indianapolis – Marion County Community Justice Center. (IL file photo)

The Marion County Judicial Selection Committee will interview 25 applicants next week for two open positions on the Marion Superior Court.

Chaired by Indiana Chief Justice Loretta Rush, the 14-member Marion County Judicial Selection Committee will conduct interviews Jan. 30 and 31 for the vacancies created by the retirements of Judges Sheila Carlisle of Court 29, Major Felony, Criminal Division, and Steven Eichholtz of Court 8, Probate Division. Carlisle and Eichholtz both retired effective Dec. 31, 2022.

The interviews are open to the public and will be held in the Supreme Court Conference, Room 319, in the Indiana Statehouse, 200 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, 46204.

The schedule is as follows:

Jan. 30

9:15 a.m. – 9:35 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Eleanor K. Finnell, Marion Circuit Court

9:35 a.m. – 9:55 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Ross F. Anderson, Marion Superior Court

10:10 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.: Charles F. Miller

10:30 a.m. – 10:50 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Marie L. Kern, Marion Superior Court

10:50 a.m. – 11:10 a.m.: Daniel S. Tomson

11:25 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.: Judge Garland E. Graves, Warren Township Small Claims Court

11:45 a.m. – 12:05 p.m.: Magistrate Judge Melanie L. Kendrick, Marion Superior Court

12:05 p.m. – 12:25 p.m.: Linda A. Major

1:40 p.m. – 2 p.m.: Magistrate Judge Joel A. Schneider, Marion Superior Court

2 p.m. – 2:20 p.m.: Jacob T. Rigney

2:20 p.m. – 2:40 p.m.: Amanda R. Wishin

2:55 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.: Jason L. Morris

3:15 p.m. – 3:35 p.m.: Magistrate Judge James K. Snyder, Marion Superior Court

3:35 p.m. – 3:55 p.m.: Gregory P. Bowes

4:10 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.: Magistrate Judge Ian L. Stewart, Marion Superior Court

Jan. 31

8:50 a.m. – 9:10 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Sarah F. Glasser, Marion Superior Court

9:10 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.: Magistrate Judge Matthew E. Symons, Marion Superior Court

9:45 a.m. – 10:05 a.m.: Daniel F. Thomas

10:05 a.m. – 10:25 a.m.: John A. Molloy III

10:25 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.: Hon. Travis E. Shields

11 a.m. – 11:20 a.m.: James R. Browne Jr.

11:20 a.m. – 11:40 a.m.: Stephen R. Creason

11:40 a.m. – 12 p.m.: Magistrate Judge Jason G. Reyome, Marion Superior Court

12:15 p.m. – 12:35 p.m.: Magistrate Judge David M. Hooper, Marion Superior Court

12:35 p.m. – 12:55 p.m.: Nathanial D. Walter

After the interviews, the committee will deliberate in a private executive session to consider the applicants’ legal education, writing, reputation in the practice of law and other pertinent information.

The committee will then publicly vote on the nominees for the two vacancies. The committee is tasked with submitting the names of the “three most qualified candidates” for each vacancy — six in total — to Gov. Eric Holcomb, who will make the final selection.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}