13 Indiana counties to join Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative

Thirteen counties will join Indiana’s Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative this year, which will include 32 counties after the expansion is complete.

State funding will allow Cass, Grant, Hamilton, Harrison, Hendricks, Owen, Pulaski, Ripley, Scott, Starke, Steuben, Wabash, and Whitley counties to become JDAI sites. JDAI is a national juvenile justice reform initiative developed by the Annie E. Casey Foundation, which aims to improve outcomes for children in the justice system while ensuring public safety.

Chief Justice Loretta Rush spoke about JDAI in her State of the Judiciary address earlier this month, noting Indiana is the only state with a JDAI partnership with all three branches of government. This has resulted in lower recidivism rates, fewer minors being incarcerated and estimated savings of $15 million reported from the Department of Correction.

JDAI began in Indiana in 2006 and is overseen by an executive team of the Indiana Criminal Justice Institute, the Indiana Supreme Court, the Indiana Department of Correction, the Indiana Department of Child Services, and the Family and Social Services Administration Division of Mental Health and Addiction.


Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}