Selection committee urges retention of all Marion County judges

March 13, 2018

Each of the 17 Marion Superior Court judges who interviewed for retention this week should keep their posts for the next six years, the Marion County Judicial Selection Committee recommended Tuesday.

The recently created committee unanimously found all 17 applicants qualified for retention in office during a Tuesday vote. The judges participated in 20-minute interviews with the committee on Monday morning, Monday afternoon and Tuesday morning.

The panel recommended a “yes” vote for retention on the November Marion County ballot for these Superior Court judges: Lisa Borges, Linda Brown, Sheila Carlisle, John MT Chavis II, Steven Eichholtz, Alicia Gooden, Clayton Graham, John Hanley, Grant Hawkins, Amy Jones, James Joven, Helen Marchal, William Nelson, Clark Rogers, Jose Salinas, Mark Stoner and Heather Welch.

Tuesday’s recommendation that voters retain the judges occurred at 1 p.m., a little more than one hour after the second day of interviews was completed. In an interview with Indiana Lawyer, Indiana Supreme Court Justice Mark Massa and Indiana Court of Appeals Judge Cale Bradford, who lead the committee, said each of the applicants was knowledgeable, committed and flexible – qualities the committee will look for in its future work.

The 14-person Judicial Selection Committee will meet again in late April to discuss its next task: interviewing and selecting candidates to fill three upcoming vacancies in Marion County courts. Those interviews will be held on May 21 and 22 and will result in three names per vacancy – or nine names total – being sent to Gov. Eric Holcomb for consideration and final selection.

For more on the county’s first judicial retention interviews, read the March 21 issue of the Indiana Lawyer.


Recent Articles by Olivia Covington