Supreme Court certifies 42 senior judges for 2019

The Indiana Supreme Court has certified or re-certified 42 judicial officers as senior judges for the coming year.

In a Monday order, the high court re-certified 33 senior judges to retain their senior judge status through Dec. 31, 2019. The 33 senior judges each met the qualifications for recertification under Indiana Code section 33-27-4-1.

Additionally, eight trial court judges and one magistrate received initial certification as senior judges, effective Jan. 2 through Dec. 31, 2019. The judges, who were found to be qualified for senior status under I.C. 33-23-3-2, include:

  • Clay Superior Judge James B. Akers
  • Warrick Superior Judge Robert R. Aylsworth
  • Cass Circuit Judge Leo T. Burns
  • Vanderburgh Superior Court Magistrate Sheila M. Corcoran
  • Former Henry Circuit Judge and former Supreme Court Chief Administrative Officer Mary G. Willis
  • Retiring Marion Superior Judge Michael D. Keele
  • Posey Circuit Judge James M. Redwine
  • Brown Circuit Judge Judith A. Stewart
  • White Circuit Judge Robert W. Thacker

All orders certifying and re-certifying 2019 senior judges can be read here.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}