Holcomb appoints judges in Howard, Vanderburg Cos., JNC member in St. Joe county

  • Print
IL file photo

Gov. Eric Holcomb this week announced judicial appointments in Howard and Vanderburgh counties, as well as an appointment to the St. Joseph County Judicial Nominating Commission.

Rebecca R. Vent has been appointed to Howard Superior Court 2 while Jillian Kratochvil has been appointed to Vanderburgh Superior Court 1.

Vent will be replacing Judge Brant J. Parry, who is stepping down Dec. 31.

Vent received her undergraduate degree from the University of Florida and her law degree from Ohio Northern University. She was admitted to the state bar in 1996.

She currently works in private practice in Kokomo and also volunteers as a guardian ad litem.

Additionally, since 2008, Vent has served as an attorney for the Kokomo School Corporation, and since 2012 has worked as a part-time public defender for children-in-need-of-services cases.

Previously, Vent served as a part-time deputy prosecutor in the Howard County Prosecutor’s Office and was a contract attorney for the Department of Child Services.

Kratochvil will be replacing Judge Brett J. Niemeier, who resigned Sept. 2.

Kratochvil earned her undergraduate degree from Indiana University and received her J.D. from Valparaiso University School of Law.

Kratochvil currently works as an attorney with Stoll Keeon Ogden PLLC in Evansville and has worked in private practice since 2014, when she was admitted to the state bar. Her practice has a primary focus of family law, and she serves as a family law mediator.

Kratochvil also assists in public defender cases in Posey County and accepts criminal appointments in the federal court. She is a member of the Vanderburgh County CASA Board, the Reitz Home Museum Bbard and the St. Vincent Learning Center.

Both Vent and Kratochvil will be sworn in as judges on a date to be determined.

In St. Joseph County, Holcomb appointed Mike Daigle of South Bend to the county’s JNC.

Daigle is the CEO and executive director of the St. Joseph County Airport Authority. He will serve on the commission until June 30, 2025.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}