Justices appoint new members to JLAP advisory committee

Replacements have been selected to fill upcoming vacancies on the Judges and Lawyers Assistance Program Advisory Committee, the Indiana Supreme Court has announced.

New appointments come as the end draws near for several members who have served on the committee, according to a Friday order. Terms for retired Bartholomew Circuit Judge Stephen Heimann, U.S. Magistrate Judge Tim Baker, and Evansville attorney David Sanders will expire Dec. 31. In addition, the high court said Indianapolis attorney Cassandra McNair is unable to complete her current term, which is set to expire Dec. 31, 2021.

Supreme Court justices selected Wayne Superior Court Judge Darrin Dolehanty to replace Heimann, U.S. Magistrate Judge Matthew Brookman to replace Baker, Evansville attorney Teresa McKeethen to replace Sanders and Indianapolis attorney Angka Hinshaw to replace McNair.

Dolehanty, Brookman and McKeethen’s terms will commence Jan. 1 and run through Dec. 31, 2022, or when a successor is appointed. Hinshaw will complete McNair’s term and subsequently serve a term in her own right beginning Jan. 1, 2022, through Dec. 31, 2024.

In addition, the Supreme Court reappointed retired Monroe Circuit Judge Marc Kellams, Inge Van der Cruysse, Bloomington, and Robert William Jonas Jr., South Bend, to terms on the committee beginning Jan.1 and expiring Dec. 31, 2022, or when a successor is appointed.

JLAP offers confidential assistance to judges, lawyers and law students experiencing issues that could impact their quality of life or ability to practice law. The committee oversees JLAP’s work.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets in {{ count_down }} days.