Last Indiana county open for voluntary e-filing

  • Print

Electronic filing is available in each of Indiana’s 92 counties now that Sullivan County rolled out voluntary e-filing this month.

Sullivan Circuit and Superior Courts were the last to make the e-filing transition across Indiana’s 92 counties, implementing voluntary e-filing Friday and concluding the statewide rollout in county courts.

E-filing will become mandatory in Sullivan County on Oct. 8. Preceding Sullivan County in making the transition to e-filing were Clinton and Pike counties, who implemented mandatory e-filing July 16.

The statewide digital switch, introduced by the Indiana Supreme Court in 2015, was initially set for completion by the end of 2018. But seven counties – Wayne, Putnam, Miami, Howard, Clinton, Pike and Sullivan – pushed their e-filing rollouts to 2019 to accommodate their transition to the Odyssey online case management system.

As of January, only Pike and Sullivan counties had not yet deployed Odyssey but were set to do so before making the switch to e-filing.

Now, only one court – the Hobart City Court in Lake County – is scheduled to make the e-filing transition. The city court will move to voluntary e-filing Sept. 27 and mandatory e-filing Nov. 26.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}