12 apply to Court of Appeals

April 2, 2018

The Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission has received applications from 12 applicants to fill an upcoming vacancy on the Indiana Court of Appeals.

The Indiana Supreme Court announced the names of the 12 applicants who applied to fill Judge Michael Barnes’ seat on the appellate bench on Monday. Barnes announced in January that he will retire in June.

The 12 applicants for the impending vacancy include:

  • Judge Jeanene Calabrese, Starke Circuit Court
  • Judge Randy Coffey, Steuben Circuit and Superior Court
  • Judge Deborah Domine, Elkhart Circuit Court
  • Lyle Hardman, South Bend
  • Judge Steven Hostetler, St. Joseph Superior Court
  • Brian Hurley, Valparaiso
  • Jamie Oss, LaPorte
  • Judge Graham Polando, St. Joseph Probate Court
  • Judge Elizabeth Tavitas, Lake Superior Court
  • Andrew Teel, Fort Wayne
  • John Tuskey, Mishawka
  • David Van Gilder, Fort Wayne

The Judicial Nominating Commission will meet in executive session to discuss applications on April 11. An interview schedule has not been announced.

Once interviews are complete, the JNC — led by Chief Justice Loretta Rush — will send the names of three candidates to Republican Gov. Eric Holcomb, who will make the final appointment. The last Court of Appeals appointment was made by then-Gov. Mike Pence, who selected Judge Robert Altice to succeed now-Senior Judge Ezra Friedlander in September 2015.


Recent Articles by IL Staff